Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


239 of 245 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Tactics Book: Good Balance between Explanation and Number of Examples
This is an excellent tactics book for the "advanced beginner" or even low-end "intermediate" chess player who wants a good general book on important tactical themes. In my personal opinion I fee tactics books and opening chess trap books are the two best ways to improve your tactical abilities all around. Improve pattern recognition! The key to doing well from beginner to...
Published on July 31, 2006 by Jason Fisher

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average book of chess tactics
Despite the glossy cover and the association with Susan Polgar, this is an unremarkable book of tactical chess problems that should nonetheless help the club player (USCF 1200-1800) improve.

The problems themselves are fine, though players who have solved other collections of tactics will recognize many of the puzzles. There are a few errors - mainly of the...
Published 1 month ago by Nels Nelson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

239 of 245 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Tactics Book: Good Balance between Explanation and Number of Examples, July 31, 2006
This review is from: Chess Tactics for Champions: A step-by-step guide to using tactics and combinations the Polgar way (Paperback)
This is an excellent tactics book for the "advanced beginner" or even low-end "intermediate" chess player who wants a good general book on important tactical themes. In my personal opinion I fee tactics books and opening chess trap books are the two best ways to improve your tactical abilities all around. Improve pattern recognition! The key to doing well from beginner to intermediate ability!

This book has excellent clarity and the example positions are carefully selected which is why this is a 5 star book for it's intended audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


291 of 308 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks for the referral - this is the other good book!, August 14, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Chess Tactics for Champions: A step-by-step guide to using tactics and combinations the Polgar way (Paperback)
Amazon.com shows a suggested book with the one you are looking at. This has helped me get my dad to buy several good books on chess. After getting and really liking "Winning Chess Traps for Juniors" (five stars and great) it had this book suggested and I got it (five stars and great). I want to thank thes authors for writing such great books on tactics and chess traps (actually books along the same line in many ways) and amazon.com for making good referrals!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 94 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learn by doing, June 14, 2006
By 
Anthony Ragan (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chess Tactics for Champions: A step-by-step guide to using tactics and combinations the Polgar way (Paperback)
This is an excellent book on tactics by Susan Polgar. The teaching method is simple: after giving a few examples of the particular tactic in question, including one from her own games, Susan then tells the student to complete 25-50 exercises of varying difficulty. Each revolves around the tactic highlghted in the chapter. It's the same teaching method an old Latin instructor used to drill verb conjugations into our heads: repetition and practice. Eventually, the subject (whether the third conjugation or chess tactics) becomes almost a reflex action. With that goal in mind, I think she has succeeded marvellously.

The only drawback to the book in my opinion is the shortness of the prose sections; I would have preferred a bit more explanation. But, perhaps that's the point: after some quick examples, what you need is practice and training, not more lecture. Still, I would pair this book with Seirawan's "Winning Chess Tactics," which has more explanations, as a perfect 1-2 combination for learning tactics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Book, May 1, 2006
This review is from: Chess Tactics for Champions: A step-by-step guide to using tactics and combinations the Polgar way (Paperback)
This is one of the more "attractive" chess books I've ever seen. The information in this book is pretty good. Nothing groundbreaking..(Pins, Zugs, Draws, Skewers, etc.) Thus, you can find the same themes in other books. But, the major plus about this book is that it is simply "pleasing to the eyes!" Very easy to read. The words and illustrations are cute. That is a bonus, because you can get tired of studying these type of books...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is This More Than Just Another Tactics Puzzle Book?, March 1, 2007
This review is from: Chess Tactics for Champions: A step-by-step guide to using tactics and combinations the Polgar way (Paperback)
This book doesn't offer much more than your typical tactics puzzle book; but if you have you buy a puzzle book, you will not go wrong with this one. Besides the usual organization into chapters such as Forks and Double Attacks, Deflection, Discovery, Double Check, Skewers, Trapping, Decoys, Intermediate Moves, Pawn Promotion, Back-Rank Problems, Attacking the King, Mate in 2, Mate in 3, Mate in 4, etc., Polgar and Truong offer some extra chapters such as Sibling Positions, Traps and Counter Traps, and Famous Combinations that make this book unique to the tactics puzzle genre. In the Siblings chapter, we are introduced to postions that have very small differences, but differences that are big enough to make a huge difference in the evaluation and move selection. This is good practice for the beginning student (it also forces you to appreciate positional subtleties). The Traps and Counter Traps chapter also forces the appreciation of subtleties, because one transposition of moves could mean losing a won ballgame. The Famous Combos chapter rounds out the book with a set of classic combos every aspiring chess student should study at least once.

Each chapter has about twenty-five puzzles, ranging in difficulty. The positions are not as difficult as Reinfeld's 1001 books, but they are hard enough for training purposes, and work well for the student. I went through this book when I was rated in the low 1800s, and the positions kept me alert. I didn't get bored.

The typos and mistakes are minimul. I noticed one or two positions that didn't correspond with their intended solutions, but it was only one or two. they didn't interfere with my enjoyment of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books on tactics, May 18, 2006
By 
Javier (Laredo, TX) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chess Tactics for Champions: A step-by-step guide to using tactics and combinations the Polgar way (Paperback)
This is a perfect book for intermediate players, especially younger people between 800-1600. There're many instructional chapters that can't be found in any other book on tactics. A very well written book! I would rate this as one of the top 5 books on tactics of all time. The layout is also very easy for the eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch book, May 2, 2006
By 
This review is from: Chess Tactics for Champions: A step-by-step guide to using tactics and combinations the Polgar way (Paperback)
Susan Polgar is a Grandmaster, winner of 4 Women's World Championships, a gender barrier breaker, a Chess Ambassador, and World Record Simul holder. Her sisters Judit and Sofia were trained by their father and his methods produced the strongest women players in history. So how does this benefit you?

If you are a beginner to intermediate player [<1600 rating] then this book is for you. It will teach you countless tactical themes from offense to defense. This method works! This book is far superior to Bobby Fischer teaches chess in that there are more diagrams, more themes, and a lot more very important subjects. This, with the plethora of examples, makes this the book to get.

Remember, chess is 99% tactics, so practicing all the puzzles over and over will improve your ability to see tactics and not drop pieces to them. I cannot recommend this book enough for those wanting to get serious about their chess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect follow up to WC's Guide to Chess, August 30, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Chess Tactics for Champions: A step-by-step guide to using tactics and combinations the Polgar way (Paperback)
The first book I read was World Champion's Guide to Chess. I learned a lot from it. This is an excellent follow up to that one. The format is very similar. There're plenty of excellent examples. Just about any tactical motif is in the book. I think this book is good for anyone from about 700-1400.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RECOMMENDED? Absolutely!, April 14, 2006
By 
Petra (Fort Lee, NJ) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chess Tactics for Champions: A step-by-step guide to using tactics and combinations the Polgar way (Paperback)
I have been playing in chess tournaments for many years and have seen, read and used many books on tactics.

I have yet to come across any book that even comes close to Chess Tactics for Champions that has all of these important tactical motifs. There're many good parts:

1. Ease of understanding of the material presented through a logical step-by-step (in more than twenty lessons) sensible approach.

2. Comprehensiveness. This book has a lot of materials. It is jammed packed with everything an intermediate players would need to know when it comes to tactics.

3. This is a good book for both children who are at an age that they can read right on up to and including adults. I recommend it for parents who want their children (or even adults) to get better.

RECOMMENDED? Absolutely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on tactics for intermediate players, April 14, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Chess Tactics for Champions: A step-by-step guide to using tactics and combinations the Polgar way (Paperback)
Another fantastic tactical book. Ms. Polgar has done a fantastic job putting examples in easy to understand sequence. There are many different unique types of tactics here. I learned a lot from it. This has to be the best instructional book on tactics for intermediate players. This is the continuation to World Champion's Guide to Chess. I can't wait for the next volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Chess Tactics for Champions: A step-by-step guide to using tactics and combinations the Polgar way
$18.99 $14.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.