Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


177 of 183 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect for the beginner!! (just get better instructions!!)
Chess is one of those very rare games that takes minutes to learn, but a lifetime to master. It's never played the same way twice, even among grandmasters and close friends. It requires (and encourages!!) the ability to think ahead and plan carefully, and is enjoyed by people as young as 5 and as old as 125. It's a complicated game where you have to mange and plan the...
Published on May 24, 2001 by Amazon Customer

versus
39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for a (very) limited time
My 5 year old son is learning to play chess, so this set seemed perfect for him. All pieces are marked on the bottom with their proper movement (not their value as stated in an earlier review). This will be useful for a period of time.

But I must mention that the pieces and board are very, very flimsy. For a game as enduring as chess, the life of this set...
Published on December 27, 2006 by R. Storms


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

177 of 183 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect for the beginner!! (just get better instructions!!), May 24, 2001
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Chess Teacher (styles may vary) (Toy)
Chess is one of those very rare games that takes minutes to learn, but a lifetime to master. It's never played the same way twice, even among grandmasters and close friends. It requires (and encourages!!) the ability to think ahead and plan carefully, and is enjoyed by people as young as 5 and as old as 125. It's a complicated game where you have to mange and plan the moves of your own 16 pieces while keeping a sharp lookout on your opponent's 16 pieces.
Learning the moves is usually the first difficult step that beginners take. All the different pieces move in different ways and have different rules to their movement, so this set has pieces with large bases with the most pertinent information stamped on it. The piece's name, how many spaces it can move at one time and the directions of movement are stamped on the base. As another reviewer noted, the numbers do NOT correspond to a piece's inherent point value in the game, so a player will have to think before setting up for a capture: is it worth risking a rook for a knight?? Maybe not.
Strategies like this are also missing from the instruction booklet that is amazingly thin and poorly written for what is supposed to be an educator chess set. I would recommend getting another book on introductory chess altogether if there are two beginners coming to the board. I've found this board to be the MOST helpful when an experienced player is teaching a beginner the rules and movements of the pieces. That way, the experienced player can point out difficulties or poor moves ("uh, you don't want to move there because you'll open yourself up to check"), while the beginner can get a better feel for the pieces and their movements.
A strategy that is rarely (if ever!) suggested outside of children's chess clubs and that is also missing here in the instruction book is to begin slowly. When I teach chess, especially with children, I begin with only a few pieces on the board, like rooks and bishops and the king, so the learner can get an idea how the pieces move and to better understand the GOAL of the game, which is checkmate (checkmate confuses a lot of children who think the goal of the game is to CAPTURE the king, not make it impossible for the king to make a legal move). As the learner gets better, I substitute or add additional pieces to the game until eventually we have the standard board setup. It's at this stage, especially, that an educator set is helpful--LOTS of stuff is on that board and it's pretty cluttered by midgame. By knowing how your OWN pieces move (and how far they can move), you can understand how your opponent's pieces move.
I had a set like this when I was a child and the pieces were much more stylized back then-the knight didn't look so much like a horse as a weird, squished mask-like thing. I'm pleased to see that the manufacturer has revamped the design of the pieces themselves, and would encourage them to revamp their instructions as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for a (very) limited time, December 27, 2006
This review is from: Chess Teacher (styles may vary) (Toy)
My 5 year old son is learning to play chess, so this set seemed perfect for him. All pieces are marked on the bottom with their proper movement (not their value as stated in an earlier review). This will be useful for a period of time.

But I must mention that the pieces and board are very, very flimsy. For a game as enduring as chess, the life of this set will be fleeting. The board can only hold up on a perfectly flat surface. The pieces feel very cheap because they are hollow. The queen chipped her base within the first couple of uses.

As soon as we can move on to a more substantial set, we will get rid of this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Helpful to learn moves, but instructions are very weak, January 4, 2001
By 
Laura Schmuck (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Chess Teacher (styles may vary) (Toy)
My 6 yr old son really enjoys checkers, so I thought he would like this game too. He does, but after just playing a few times we have run into a couple of situations where I was unsure of the rules, and the rule booklet did not help at all (i.e. my son's move inadvertently left his king open and put it in check, the rules do not say what to do in this situation). I had to look to the internet for the answers. The diagrams for the possible moves are quite helpful for my son (I have very basic knowledge) and he really enjoys the game, so I would recommend it, but I wish the manufacturer would improve the rule booklet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chess Teacher Review, August 4, 2005
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Chess Teacher (styles may vary) (Toy)
I like everything about this product. It gives the experienced player more patience with the less experienced. Although I do have to comment on the incorrect picture on the box! Follow the enclosed instructions and you'll do great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 70 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Teacher needs a teacher, August 4, 2000
By 
Douglas Swiggum (Fitchburg, WI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Chess Teacher (styles may vary) (Toy)
In general, I would support Mr. Farr's product review.
I would add the following observations: First, the photograph of the set shows an illegal position. It is not very helpful for the beginner player to be misled in this way.
Second, Mr. Farr's review indicates that the pieces are labelled with their "value". Actually, it appears that they are marked with the number of squares that they may move. The piece value or strength would actually be much more valuable information for the beginner. It would be more helpful to know that you were about to make a bad trade of a Queen (Val:9) for a Rook (Val:5) instead of an apparently equal trade of a Queen (Moves:7) for a Rook (Moves:7).
Nonetheless, this set may be helpful for the player who insists that they cannot remember how the pieces move. But only for a short time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Chess Teacher, August 22, 2005
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Chess Teacher (styles may vary) (Toy)
I bought this toy for my 7 year old son to teach him how to play chess. I am tempted to hide the board to keep him from beating everyone! He and his grandfather now regularly enjoy several games on this teaching board.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Concept and instructions are great, but bargain price means bargain quality materials, June 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chess Teacher (styles may vary) (Toy)
I ordered this because my kindergartener enjoyed trying to play with some of the other kids during inside recess this winter.

Pros:
-The pieces are large and lightweight so easy for little fingers to maneuver.
-The printed arrows made it pretty easy for the kids to remember which pieces can move where after you give them an little demonstration. Although the number of spaces allowed is not as easy to display and the pawns try to include both allowed movements on the front and use parentheses, which confused my little guy. Reading is not really necessary for them to understand the directions and # of spaces.
- The included printed directions are pretty good. They cover the the basics for each piece, the order of play, the objective, and "castling" in an 8-page foldout sheet. They have good diagrams for each of the chessmen, including the move-reminders printed on the piece, to show where each piece may move. It shows the individual piece on a chessboard and then marks little x's on all the squares that would be an option for that piece in a single move. The Knight is diagramed to show he can jump pieces and the Pawn is placed on board to show that it's first move may be either 1 or 2 forward. The brief paragraph below diagram helps expand the information.

Neutrals:
-The board fold up into fourths, so it is about a 7" square. However, this makes it harder to get to lay flat when opened to play and a little tricky for my son to figure out which way the flaps need to go to fold for storage.

Cons:
- The pieces are very lightweight plastic so that they feel a little cheap and not super durable.
- The chessmen in the used and battered set at his school came with felt pads on the bottom, but the open-ended pieces in this set are uncovered (even though there is a groove that looks like it is meant to hold a bottom plate) and the edges are a bit sharp so I worry about them scratching my table. I definitely won't be letting him use them on our friend's fancy hardwood chessboard.
- The chessboard is fairly low-grade game board cardboard with a faux-wood sticker for the top.
- The box is probably not going to last us very long. It is very thin cardboard (like a store-brand kids' shoebox) and it opens from the side instead of a top-loading lid or flip-top box. It is hard to get everything back in the box easily and the sides bulge out so it doesn't stack well even though the dimensions make it more shelf-friendly than a traditional box with lid for a fold-in-half chessboard are.

Conclusion: While not perfect, we're keeping the game. We may replace it someday, but probably I'll just consider this our cheap "training wheels" set and graduate to regular chessmen instead. I like the concept a lot and am glad I ordered a set like this. And it is probably worth the <$15 price I paid. However, I wish I had known that the pieces wouldn't have padded bases and that the box would be so cheap. I would recommend the idea of this product but think it would be worth it to pay a little extra for chessmen that won't scratch and maybe a nicer box and board. Seeing the product in person would have helped, but 1) I don't live in a town big enough to carry a somewhat specialty item and 2) I wouldn't have gotten the rock bottom internet price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Arrived Missing a piece!, December 27, 2012
By 
J. Shaw (Cape Coral, FL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chess Teacher (styles may vary) (Toy)
I was pretty surprised to find that I was missing a piece considering the package was sealed. I contacted the manufacturer but have not heard anything back yet. My daughter really wanted to learn to play chess & I'm hoping they respond soon so she can start learning. Other than that, I like that the "directions" are printed right on the pieces. Helps a lot since my daughter can't read yet.

Feb 22, 2013 - As of this writing, the company has STILL not responded to my frequent requests to replace the missing piece. This was a total waste of money because having arrived defective, my daughter has not had an opportunity to learn the game at all. I am VERY disappointed in the manufacturer for not standing by it's product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality. Don't expect a lot., March 27, 2014
By 
Phoenix Tong (Belmont, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chess Teacher (styles may vary) (Toy)
Poor quality, the broad folds into a quarter of the size with a cut along one radius. The chess piece are thin hollow plastic. But you get what you pay for. The teacher part is a joke. I bought this and "no stress chess". We enjoy the latter much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tool for Teaching Chess, March 14, 2006
By 
Vetailer (Pittsburgh, USA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chess Teacher (styles may vary) (Toy)
I highly recommend this chess set. My 6-year-old was very interested in learning chess, but my husband and I didn't know how to play. This set helped all of us learn together. The best way to learn more complex strategies, like castling, is by playing against good chess players, but this set gave us a great start!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Chess Teacher (styles may vary)
Chess Teacher (styles may vary) by Cardinal Industries
$14.99 $12.24
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.