Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horse Lovers Come Forth, November 4, 2004
By 
Erika Sorocco (Southern California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chestnut (Hardcover)
A long time ago, in a city by the sea, a delivery-man named Mr. Decker, owned a horse named Chestnut who helped to pull the delivery wagon all over town. People would eagerly await the early morning arrival of Mr. Decker and Chestnut, for they relied on them very much to help supply their businesses with goods. One morning Mr. Decker falls asleep after chaining Chestnut to the delivery wagon, and loading it with goods. Now Chestnut must take matters into his own hooves, and deliver the goods before it is too late.

I am a huge horse lover, so CHESTNUT was a book that I just knew that I had to have. Constance W. McGeorge's lovely prose bring the story to life, describing the delightful scenery found around Chestnut, while the gorgeous illustrations by Mary Whyte keep you mesmerized from the very first page, to the very last. Overall this is a gorgeous new children's book. Especially for horse lovers.

Erika Sorocco

Book Review Columnist for The Community Bugle Newspaper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book about a Haflinger Horse, February 11, 2008
By 
Startanew2 "Startanew2" (Rural Northeast Ohio - like Mayberry!) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chestnut (Hardcover)
If you have or know someone who has a haflinger horse, then this book is for you. Drop dead gorgeous watercolor paintings illustrate this book. The storyline is completely believable if you have ever owned a Haflinger Horse. They are a special breed, and this book really does them justice. You won't fall asleep reading it to your little ones!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, January 15, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chestnut (Hardcover)
I purchased this book because Mary Whyte was the illustrator. The book is really good and, of course, the illustrations are wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Chestnut saves the day, August 28, 2012
By 
Vera (North Carolina, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chestnut (Hardcover)
Sit down with your favorite child age 3 to 8 and just look at Chestnut the horse on the cover of "Chestnut" the book. He looks work-weary but gentle and he has a delightful tousled white mane. Now open the book and meet "Chestnut."

Our story begins with Chestnut ready to take Mr. Decker on his delivery rounds early in the morning. And today is a special day - the birthday of the mayor's daughter, Jenny. Much needs to be delivered to make Jenny's day special.

But alas, Mr. Decker is work-weary, too, and he falls asleep. No amount of whinnies or stomping of hoofs wakes Mr. Decker, so Chestnut sets out on his own to make the deliveries. Author Constance W. McGeorge weaves a delightful story that is detailed yet simple and understandable for the young child to grasp.

The lovely watercolors by Mary Whyte are soft, detailed with each two-page spread opening up the 19th century scenes of a pleasant, easy-going seacoast town.

Published in 2004 the book has a timeless appeal to capture the attention and delight of a young audience.

DISCLOSURE: I was provided a complimentary copy of Chestnut to facilitate a review of my honest opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charming horse story, beautiful art!, June 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chestnut (Hardcover)
I am always on the lookout for good horse stories to read to my daughter. She loves them (and I must admit I do too!).
Chestnut is a charming, sweet story filled with lovely watercolor pictures.
As his owner takes a nap, Chestnut goes on his usual morning delivery rounds and "saves the day" for a little girls's birthday party.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful book, March 3, 2011
By 
mom in NC (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chestnut (Hardcover)
This book has beautiful illustrations and a sweet animal story about a horse that must make deliveries alone after its owner falls asleep. The deliveries are made in the pre-dawn of a long-ago Savannah morning. The picture of the fire horses racing by is very dramatic, and was slightly scary for my 3-year-old at first. Glimpses of city life in the background are interesting, and depict both black and white residents going about their daily business.
Especially good for girls who love horses, as the on-time deliveries must be made to allow a little girl to have her birthday party.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love horses???, February 10, 2011
This review is from: Chestnut (Hardcover)
This is a truly engaging story about a beautiful work horse. Georgeous illustrations accompany a wonderful story about a regal horse who calmly makes the necessary deliveries to customers while his owner sleeps. The reader gets a feel for a well trained work horse carrying out his daily routine in days of old. Beautifully told, it is a story for children capable of listening to a longer tale. This is not a typical picture book, but the story and pistures are so engrossing everyone will enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars geat book, July 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chestnut (Hardcover)
This is a great childres's horse book. My granddaughter had it from the library and loved it so much, I had to buy her her own copy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chestnut, March 30, 2009
This review is from: Chestnut (Hardcover)
What a beautiful story! The illustrations are lovely and the story is fun for young children who love horses, and even for children who don't. Chestnut is a work horse with a big heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous illustrations and a cute story, August 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chestnut (Hardcover)
Gorgeous pictures and a sweet story make this picture book memorable and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Chestnut
Chestnut by Constance W. McGeorge (Hardcover - September 30, 2004)
$16.95 $14.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.