Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Chew, Vol. 5: Major League Chew
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars20
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 7, 2012
Okay. Picture this. Tony Chu wearing a kilt. Riding a segway.

If you're still reading this and not out buying the latest volume of Chew, you must not be acquainted with this wonderfully weird series about an FDA agent with a very strange gift. - (See Chew, Vol. 1: Taster's Choice)

It's a great day! Even Mike Applebee's sweat stains are smiling. Why? Because the bane of Mike's existence, Chu, has been demoted to traffic. Hence, the kilt/segway thing. But, this is Chu we're talking about here. Things will begin to get wacky before the ink on his first parking ticket has dried.

This is a great addition to the series. You'll see plenty of familiar faces popping up in the book. Those astoundingly top-heavy gals from the USDA are back. So is sportswriter Dan, Amelia's insanely jealous and insanely insane ex-beau from the last installment. And two of my favorite things - coffee and chocolate - play a big part in the action.

Where else can you find baseball, Elvis impersonators, butter sculpture, and severed limbs all in one slim, colorful volume.

Welcome back, Chew.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2015
I'm so glad I took a chance on Chew. I really think it keeps getting better with each volume. The story continues to unfold and keeps up the pace. We learn more about Tony's ability as well as his daughter's. This volume keeps up with the fun, humor and action of the other ones. The art is great and a style that really goes well with the tone of the book. I love noticing all the little things in the background too. Makes me chuckle.

If you read Chew before you probably know how much fun it is. This volume will not let you down. Pick it up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2013
I've been avidly following Chew, due to the fascinating abilities and subtly-different take on the USA. However, this volume takes it a bit far with the gore. Normally I enjoy comics that don't shy away from the gore, as I'm a big fan of The Boys and The Punisher: Max. This edition, though, goes a bit far on the corpse-eating and it starts to feel gratuitous.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Tony Chu and his daughter Olive are kidnapped - by different people for different reasons. Tony is taken for his cibopathic abilities in revealing the sordid details of famous dead baseball players while Olive is taken by Mason Savoy to be trained to fight a larger fight against a mysterious and powerful enemy.

Chew 5 is the first book in the series which I haven't fallen in love with 100% and that might be for a couple of reasons. First off Tony and John Colby are broken up and sent to different departments in the police force for no real reason which felt a bit contrived. Second, there seem to be more and more people with weird eating powers being introduced by the book. Also, the book doesn't really play a big part in the overall story arc, it's more of a side road and standalone book; but I wanted to find out more about the main story.

That said, there's still all of the elements fans of the series love like the whacky storylines. In one, a chocolate sculptor is so good at sculpting objects from chocolate that they attain the characteristics of that object. In another, a murderous barrista serves up coffee that makes you kill. And of course the wonderful image of seeing Tony in a kilt on a Segway.

Rob Guillory's artwork is still mesmerizingly brilliant. He goes further in this book, cramming in loads of detail in the panels so there are figures of pop culture in the background, along with lots of fun graffiti and side-jokes in between the letters.

Chew remains one of the best and most original comics series going at the moment and "Major League Chew" will tick most of the boxes fans of the series love it for. Here's hoping John Layman's original interesting storyline isn't lost in later books.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2012
Like every trade paperback before it, this volume of "Chew" doesn't pull any punches, either with the humor *or* the ghastliness. Tony Chu is taken prisoner by his girlfriend's sadistic ex, and forced to - well, let's just say that what he makes Tony eat isn't too fresh...and hasn't been for several decades. John Layman and Rob Guillory are killing it here at nearly the middle of the book. Can't wait to see where it goes from here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2012
Volume 5 was my least favorite of the series so far, but with how much I love all the other volumes that's not really a bad thing. It's still great, just not as eventful as the others. But for anybody that's already read the others, you'll still love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2015
Chew is such an amazingly fun idea that doesn't make any sense on paper but it works every time. John Layman crafts a marvelous tale involving the strangest characters with the most unique powers. Every book is loaded with the oddest ideas but they always succeed. The dialogue is hilarious. Rob Guillory's art is just as funny and a perfect match for the story. Overall, a fantastic read that moves very fast making you want more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2013
...and making Agent Chu eat it.

The story is truly sick and inspired. The volume divides its attention b/w Chu and his #### (hashtags to prevent a spoiler for those who haven't read Vol. 4).

Rob's art just keeps getting better. I don't know of another penciler whose style is in the same universe as Rob's. It is worth picking up Vol.5 just to admire the pages. As for John Layman, what hasn't been said already? He's truly a story-telling master.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2012
If things couldn't more crazy, this volume introduces to the powers of Tony's daughter! I don't want to give too much away, but if you already have the other four volumes, you'd be a fool not to pick this up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2012
This seemed like a bridge arc leading up to overthing coming to a boil. Still on of the best independent style books on the market. If you like comics you owe it to yourseld to give this a taste.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.