Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


132 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheyenne Bodie, Tall in the Saddle
The Cheyenne show is a fabulous trip to the Golden Age of television, to the days when the western genre was simple and pure, when manicheism was well established, good guys versus bad guys. We must urge Warner Bros. to release the second season of Cheyenne as soon as possible. The previous one was released on June 6, 06, so now it is the right time for a new release. The...
Published on August 3, 2007 by Luiz A. Sampaio

versus
24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DVD-R's...High Price...??
Ok, so they want $60 a season for a set that is DVD-R. No Thanks. I prefer a printed disc and normally shy away from the double sided, I have never purchased a set that has been burned.

Correct me if I'm wrong but isnt that what the bootleggers do?? Burn sets on DVD-R's?? I'm not saying this is an illegal set, just saying it seems awful cheap to me...
Published on March 19, 2011 by Chris Oxx


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

132 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheyenne Bodie, Tall in the Saddle, August 3, 2007
By 
This review is from: Cheyenne: The Complete Second Season (5 Disc) (DVD)
The Cheyenne show is a fabulous trip to the Golden Age of television, to the days when the western genre was simple and pure, when manicheism was well established, good guys versus bad guys. We must urge Warner Bros. to release the second season of Cheyenne as soon as possible. The previous one was released on June 6, 06, so now it is the right time for a new release. The first season of Cheyenne was indeed very good, but the second one is much, much better in all aspects. Season one had only 15 episodes and each ran about 40 minutes each. Season two has 20 episodes running about 50 minutes each. The writing is much better for season two. The famous Cheyenne logo (Cheyenne's bust and the mountainous background)and the familiar theme song by William Lana & Stan Jones, both lacking in the first season, are largely featured starting with season two. The episodes also carry beautiful designs for the initial and final credits.
And finally a word about Clint Walker. He is a better actor in this season, proving that he was one of best western stars for television.
The second and third seasons of Cheyenne are the outstanding years of the show, a must to everybody that loved the great TV westerns of the 50s and 60s, and also a must to people that never had the opportunity to watch those fantastic and innocent shows of yesterday.
The episodes of the second season (1956/57)are as follow:
1 - The Dark Rider (guests: Diane Brewster, Myron Healey)
2 - The Long Winter
3 - Death Deals the Hand (guests: Leo Gordon, Arthur Hunnicut)
4 - The Bounty Killer (guest: Andrew Duggan)
5 - The Law Man
6 - The Mustang Trail (guest: Diane Brewster)
7 - Lone Gun (guests: Nancy Hale, Bob Steele)
8 - The Trap
9 - The Iron Trail (guest: Dennis Hopper)
10 - Land Beyond the Law (guest: Andrew Duggan)
11 - Test of Courage
12 - War Party (guest: Angie Dickinson)
13 - Deadline (guest: Ann Robinson)
14 - Big Ghost Basin (guest: Merry Anders)
15 - Born Bad
16 - The Brand (guest: Edward Byrnes)
17 - Decision at Gunsight (guests: John Carradine, Marie Windsor)
18 - The Spanish Grant (guests: Peggy Castle, Douglas Kennedy)
19 - Hard Bargain (guest: Richard Crenna)
20 - The Broken Pledge (guest: John Dehner)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheyenne, The Complete Second Season, October 8, 2007
By 
GL (Laguna Hills, CA.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cheyenne: The Complete Second Season (5 Disc) (DVD)
Hurray! Warner Brothers is finally going to release season two of Cheyenne. I realize that the market for this western series may be limited, but has anyone noticed that there were close to 70 positive reviews of the first season? That is more than a whole lot of recent, supposedly more popular television shows, of more recent vintage. There is a large "over 50" market for this show and the WB people need to take advantage of it!

GL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hurry Up Warner Brothers!, August 22, 2007
This review is from: Cheyenne: The Complete Second Season (5 Disc) (DVD)
After the tremendous success of the first season's sales, Warner Brothers should not wait any longer and release the second season of this great Western series. Those of us who are old enough to have watched Cheyenne are not getting any younger. Let's hope that season 2 has another interview with the great Clint Walker. It's always a joy to hear and see the "big guy".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheyenne Bodie is still riding!, January 17, 2011
By 
The second season of Cheyenne was finally released. It is in 2 volumes (5 discs each), but both parts are currently available and all 20 episodes of the season are reproduced in high quality. This is the best season of Cheyenne (season 3 is also in the same level) and it is a must to all western fans and to people who watched television in the 50s and 60s. It was originally aired from September 11, 56 thru June 4, 57. These episodes have many important guest stars, people now retired or deceased: James Garner, Angie Dickinson, Peggie Castle, Ruchard Crenna, Merry Anders, Dennis Hoppe, Edward Byrnes, John Carradine, etc.
Hollywood was really unfair to Clint Walker. He was underestimated as an actor. Today, when we watch the Cheyenne series, or Fort Dobbs, or Yellowstone Kelly, or Gold of the Seven Saints, we can see how good he was when portraing a westerner. I don't think he could have done well in soap operas or in any Shakespearean drama, but in western movies he was perfect, as good as John Wayne, Gary Cooper or Randolph Scott. Clint certainly deserved a better chance in Hollywood in the old days, when the western genre was still alive.
All Cheyenne fans are now waiting for the third season. Hurry up, Warner Archive and make Big Clint ride again for another 20 episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheyenne Season 2 ...Can't wait anymore, WB, August 3, 2007
This review is from: Cheyenne: The Complete Second Season (5 Disc) (DVD)
Hey WB, how much longer do we have to wait for Cheyenne Season 2??? It's about time you released it to all the loyal fans who bought Season 1. So HURRY UP! I'll be first in line to pre-order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great First Season, September 30, 2007
By 
Pat S (Rapid City, SD) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cheyenne: The Complete Second Season (5 Disc) (DVD)
I enjoyed the first season of Cheyenne on DVD. It brought back many memories of my youth. I think that Clint Walker is a great cowboy actor and made the series very realistic in its portrayal of the old west. I really look forward to the second season being released. I hope it will be soon. Pat S, USA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come on Warner Bros!, August 18, 2007
This review is from: Cheyenne: The Complete Second Season (5 Disc) (DVD)
Please let us have the second season of Cheyennne! The first was a real appetiser but I cannot wait to hear that memorable theme tune again - the one that started in season two. Great black and white prints and great star in clint walker. Come on guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time's A-Wastin" !, March 5, 2009
This review is from: Cheyenne: The Complete Second Season (5 Disc) (DVD)
Attention pinheads at WB and Sam's:
The economy's bad, but wanna make some EASY MONEY?
1) Release Season 2 of Cheyenne
2) Sell it at Sam's
I could never find Season 1 at Sam's-the Holy Mecca of Baby Boomers. What they did have was every piece of crap from the last season of TV. While we, the Generation that loved this show are standing here with CASH IN HAND (or Paypal) waiting, waiting, and waiting. And as we shuffle off to the last sunset, YOU'RE LOSING REVENUE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clint Walker-Cheyenne-Great American, August 30, 2008
By 
This review is from: Cheyenne: The Complete Second Season (5 Disc) (DVD)
Clint Walker is Cheyenne. This series is intelligent,witty,has action and portrays the best of America. And Clint Walker makes it work because he is an honest actor that always gave us our money's worth.Cheyenne was an adult western that any age group could watch be entertained and has many lessons about doing the right thing that a man would do. I love to watch it with my 11 and 13 year old boys for that reason.We really have no good role models on Tv anymore except for perhaps Jack Bauer.Anyway may long live Clint Walker and please bring on Cheyenne 2nd season in time for Christmas 08.
Rafael Contreras Jr
Ps I am such a fan of Cheyenne that since I manufacture men's shirts in the USA under D'Accord label that I reproduced the beautiful saddle stiched shirt he wore on Cheyenne and sent it to him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHEYENNE SECOND SEASON, October 17, 2007
By 
This review is from: Cheyenne: The Complete Second Season (5 Disc) (DVD)
I hate to be the bearer of bad news but just because it says "SIGN UP TO BE NOTIFIED WHEN THIS PRODUCT BECOMES AVAILABLE" does not mean its going to be released.
This does not come from WARNER BROS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cheyenne: The Complete Second Season  (5 Disc)
$59.99 $39.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.