Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars French book
Book is easy to follow with vocabulary at the end of each section. There are not many changes from the 3rd Edition. Different verbs and vocabulary are introduced in each lesson with exercises to work on in a class setting or as homework. This edition will cover several levels of French.
Published on July 23, 2012 by Diane

versus
72 of 74 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ALERT TO STUDENTS!
For students needing this textbook for a class that uses the MyFrenchLab, DO NOT PURCHASE THIS BOOK! I bought this book new from Amazon specifically because it was advertised as the MyFrenchLab edition. However, I found that it does not provide an access code for logging onto the MyFrenchLab website. I will have to either purchase an access code on the Pearson website for...
Published on September 2, 2009 by C. Roff


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 74 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ALERT TO STUDENTS!, September 2, 2009
This review is from: Chez nous: Branché sur le monde francophone (4th Edition) (Hardcover)
For students needing this textbook for a class that uses the MyFrenchLab, DO NOT PURCHASE THIS BOOK! I bought this book new from Amazon specifically because it was advertised as the MyFrenchLab edition. However, I found that it does not provide an access code for logging onto the MyFrenchLab website. I will have to either purchase an access code on the Pearson website for $88 or get a new book at my university's bookstore for about $180. That puts the cost of the textbook at over $200, more than a new one would have cost at my university's overpriced bookstore!

While this textbook references the MyFrenchLab resources provided online, it is not a full package. You will have to purchase MyFrenchLab separately. I recommend either you buy this book used for a much lower price and buy the access code on the Pearson website or go ahead and buy it new. Don't get ripped off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The book is great.....BUT:, February 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chez nous: Branché sur le monde francophone (4th Edition) (Hardcover)
This book is great! However, be aware that this textbook requires ONLINE coursework! You need to purchase a separate membership through the publisher if the textbook you purchase online doesn't have the membership code included. I ended up getting a great deal on my textbook, compared to the campus bookstore price, only to find out in class that I needed to purchase the membership code, too. I ended up paying the same price for the book and the code together, that I would have paid at the campus bookstore in one purchase anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars French book, July 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chez nous: Branché sur le monde francophone (4th Edition) (Hardcover)
Book is easy to follow with vocabulary at the end of each section. There are not many changes from the 3rd Edition. Different verbs and vocabulary are introduced in each lesson with exercises to work on in a class setting or as homework. This edition will cover several levels of French.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars some confusion, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chez nous: Branché sur le monde francophone (4th Edition) (Hardcover)
Apparently there is the 4th Edition, this one which is sold in my campus bookstore, and there is the 4th Edition with a bunch of extras including a code that you can use to access online resources. However, even if just using the printed book, there are some differences (titles, specific cultural content, etc.). Just so you know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise., February 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chez nous: Branché sur le monde francophone (4th Edition) (Hardcover)
The book arrived well within the time specified, and was in better-than-expected condition. I have absolutely no complaints with anything, including the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good choice to learn French, December 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chez nous: Branché sur le monde francophone (4th Edition) (Hardcover)
The book is in great quality, well finished pages, summary of French rules in excellent condition. The learning process is effective as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I am using it to tutor someone who hasn't had ..., September 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chez nous: Branché sur le monde francophone (4th Edition) (Hardcover)
I am using it to tutor someone who hasn't had French in awhile. The book is a little outdated but is thorough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for college, February 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chez nous: Branché sur le monde francophone (4th Edition) (Hardcover)
Needed for French class at college, was in good condition and used it a lot for my class, good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wasn't actually for me, September 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chez nous: Branché sur le monde francophone (4th Edition) (Hardcover)
Not sure if this is actually worth the 5 stars, but I bought this for my girlfriend who needed it for a French class she is taking this semester. It was cheaper than what the school was selling it for and I have gotten no complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars arrived quickly, May 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chez nous: Branché sur le monde francophone (4th Edition) (Hardcover)
New product as promised, didn't come packaged with the online access code though, so I had to buy it separately which was like $90, which was a bit of a bummer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Chez nous: Branché sur le monde francophone (4th Edition)
Chez nous: Branché sur le monde francophone (4th Edition) by Albert Valdman (Hardcover - January 23, 2009)
Used & New from: $5.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.