Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Off to College Essentials Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 4, 2004
I personally love this book and find it to be much more interesting, and in some ways informative, than a similar book I have which is a bit more clinical in its approach. It's full of personal anecdotes and lots of advice that I enjoyed. And why should anyone get mad just because the two white, male professors said they have not noticed any discrimination against women in their fields? They don't say there isn't any, and indeed, give some statistics and information to say there probably *is* discrimination, but of a more covert manner than in the past. This book has a chapter that my other book doesn't on counteroffers and moving around in academia, how to negotiate family and the 'two-body' problem, and other more intimate advice than some other books give. The authors seem to recognize that academics is not all about publishing, teaching, and service. It involves many other aspects of your life, and they touch on them. That said, a 3-hour chat with 3 of your own professors may be just as informative as this book, but the problem is getting your professors to sit down and have that chat with you! Here you get those 3 hours for a low price and can consult them later. I like the fact that these 3 don't hold themselves up as ultimate authorities, but simply as 3 different viewpoints of an academic life.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2008
As a PhD student, I would say that this book is more useful for two groups of people: 1) those who are thinking of going through a phd program and becoming professors, and 2) for advanced phd students who are getting to the job market. This book is lacking in useful advice for funding, staging the phd progress and conducting research, which is why I originally bought it. (It might be better titled as "guide to the academic job market and working conditions")

Also, the conversational style of dialog between the three professors straight-up bugs me, like they couldn't find an editor to synthesize their opinions in a clear fashion. Sometimes the attribution of stories and experiences to the particular professor is good, but most of the time, it's just distracting.

Good points are things like the major major concern about going for all kinds of funding and not racking up a hundred thousand dollars in student loans if you're not in law or medical school. Also problems of being a female academic and balancing career track with marriage/family goals.

So in all, good advice, but you really have to wade through the tedious conversational style to get to the gems. (Now some people might like that format, but ask any good ethnographer- you shouldn't include every single part of what people say when you write up your research.)
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2013
The authors share their experience in the development of their own careers and the observations they have made along the way for American research universities (U of Chicago) and four-year colleges (Knox). I have recommended this book to a number of my doctoral students or young assistant professors, and it is full of sound advice and insight. Of most importance is that the authors offer an analysis of the social and intellectual context of an academic career. It is this guidebook to thinking about one's own role, place, department, ideals that is invaluable: for instance, what is the "culture" of the institution you've joined (which may be quite different from your graduate program)? Find an area in your teaching or research that you are excited about, and focus on your passions. Beware of the demands on your time in your role as a professor which are irrelevant to your earning tenure. it is unrealistic to expect that anyone will have candid mentors every step of the way in their career, and these authors lend you a bridge from job seeking as a graduate student to tenure. The book compiles interviews with the authors, and is highly readable. Although it was published more than a decade ago (2011), things haven't changed too much. They have changed, some, however: showing skill in on-line education, for instance, is a plus because most older faculty don't want to offer on-line courses but in response to administrative pressure they know their department will be expected to meet this demand; appearing entrepreneurial in winning external funding, with federal funding in virtual decline; publishing in on-line only journals - it is very important for authors who have published in these outlets to be able to demonstrate a peer review process. Also, fewer and fewer departments are hiring tenure-track faculty, as they did in the 90's', and a "career" as adjunct or "clinical" or lecturer has become more common.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2013
This book is indispensable for those considering a PhD. Much of the academy is shrouded in mystery and informal processes that seem almost mystical. The Chicago Guide to Your Academic Career brings things back to earth, making them much less daunting for prospective scholars.

With the advice in this guide, I overcame much personal doubt and am moving toward a lifetime of scholarship.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2008
Earlier this year, I was having trouble deciding whether what I could get in academia was what I wanted out of life (I have been out of college and working for 2 years).

This book was a very big help in making that decision. The multiple perspectives from all 3 authors helps place the emphasis on the fact that you need to weigh all the factors to make these decisions about your academic career.

After seeing some of the positives and negatives of academic life in this book, I am convinced that the positives of what I can do in my career will far outweigh the negatives. And in the future, I will be able to refer back to this book when I need to be reminded of things about the dissertation, the job search, etc.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2012
This slim volume gives direct and friendly advise on how to succeed in the academic pipeline. The writing is clear, informative, and honest, giving an insiders view on what to expect when considering a career as a research scientist. I will recommend it my own kids when the time comes for them to navigate their way into grad school. Thanks to the author Dr. Chakrabarty for taking the time to put this basic street knowledge into black and white.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2014
I wish I had bought this book when I first started graduate school. But know I can recommend it to my students as a general guide for scientists in training.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2016
All should read while considering applying for a PhD programme.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2015
Good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2003
The format of this book is that the 3 authors - each who have had associations with the University of Chicago - take turns answering questions. Each one gives personal opinions about choosing to pursue graduate studies, the dissertation, the job hunt, aspects of tenure and the academy. Their viewpoints are somewhat narrow and I found the two male academics to be somewhat offensive at times. For example, when asked about the extent of discrimination in academia, both white males say that they have never seen any overt or covert discrimination!
I think that there are more comprehensive and less biased sources of the general information the authors provide.
To begin with, you would do better to sit down with three members of your department and ask the same questions.
33 comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse