Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Just-Right Chick
Not another book about a fat young lady, the million diets she's been on and how miserable her life is? Nope. This lady is fun, interesting and smart. I enjoyed this book a lot and even went back to read certain parts again. Witty, funny and even thought provoking, this is a book for anybody of any weight!
Published 16 months ago by Karen Dyer

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eye-Opening
We meet Trish Collins as she is on top of her world. Finally, a perfect size zero, she has a great job at an ad agency representing TREND, the most sought-after fashion magazine. She has a great relationship with her boyfriend, who is also the personal trainer who helped her get a toned and muscular body. She isn't hurting for anything....

The book then goes...
Published on November 28, 2010 by Sandra Kirkland


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eye-Opening, November 28, 2010
By 
Sandra Kirkland (High Point, North Carolina United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: FAT CHICK (Paperback)
We meet Trish Collins as she is on top of her world. Finally, a perfect size zero, she has a great job at an ad agency representing TREND, the most sought-after fashion magazine. She has a great relationship with her boyfriend, who is also the personal trainer who helped her get a toned and muscular body. She isn't hurting for anything....

The book then goes back and portrays Trish's life when she was fat. Losing her father early, she stuffed her pain with food. She continues to eat until she is large, every taunt and male rejection just fueling her appetite as she turns again and again to the friend that never rejects, food.

Finally, she has had enough and decides this is the time she will make a real difference. She joins a program, joins a gym, and over months, gets thin and thinner and thinner. Her life is now perfect, or is it?

Lorraine Duffy Merkl has created a woman that will find a touchpoint with most women. Most of us have wished for thinner bodies or wished we were even thinner, typing our self-worth to how many pounds show on the scale and what size we can buy in the department store. She shows Trish's struggles with sterotypical rejections and then flips the mirror and shows the pros and cons of being super-thin. The writing is breezy and the characters sometimes shallow, but this is intentional on the author's part as she shows the archtypes that rule women's places in society. This book is recommended for women readers and males that want to understand the enormous part weight and self-image play in almost every woman's life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Just-Right Chick, June 5, 2013
By 
Karen Dyer (Bellingham, WA, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fat Chick, a novel (Kindle Edition)
Not another book about a fat young lady, the million diets she's been on and how miserable her life is? Nope. This lady is fun, interesting and smart. I enjoyed this book a lot and even went back to read certain parts again. Witty, funny and even thought provoking, this is a book for anybody of any weight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fat chick, May 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fat Chick, a novel (Kindle Edition)
in this world most of us can relate to Fat Chick we put things on hold until the goal weight. We will be happy at a goal size existing while we wait rather than living
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, April 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fat Chick, a novel (Kindle Edition)
So well written that I finished it in 2 days! I will definitely be looking to read her other novels as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved "Fat Chick." It's a Winner!!", December 8, 2009
By 
This review is from: FAT CHICK (Paperback)
"Fat Chick" is a NY story, but Lorraine Duffy Merkl has written a "debut" novel that speaks to any and every woman who has ever been touched at some point in their lives, by the American obsessions with dieting, body image, youth culture, sex, and the striving for success, and that probably includes all of us! The book addresses this wide range of themes with intelligence, insight, compassion, and wit. It's definitely a page turner. Once I started it, I couldn't put it down. The writing was totally lively and great fun to read, lots of NY hip language, with witty chapter headings like " "Eat and Run," "Heavy Hitter," and "Weigh Your Words."

Trish Collins, our heroine, works for an upscale, high-powered advertising agency in New York. She has to deal with a grueling schedule, huge egos (mostly male), younger, thinner actress/model types who can't wait to replace her, boyfriends who relate only to her body image, but are clueless about anything else about her, and a mother whose idea of love is to practically force-feed her on their visits. Sound familiar? Trish is a stand-in for all of us who have had to "fight the fat" forever!

Lorraine Duffy Merkl writes with an insider's savvy. She worked in the advertising field for twenty years and knows that world and how it all works.

I'll stop right there and leave the rest to you, for your reading pleasure. You're going to love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved It!, February 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FAT CHICK (Paperback)
Lorraine Duffy Merkl's first novel, FAT Chick, is a very well written and an enjoyable read.

It brings you into the fast paced world of advertising which doesn't always bring out the best in people.

FAT CHICK is a many faceted book. It saddens your heart, makes you laugh and is also uplifting. The main character, Trish Collins, goes through a personality change as her weight diminishes. However, you find yourself looking at the negative traits that she has developed, because of her weight loss, in your own personality. It makes you more aware of your own flaws and gives you the incentive to work on them, and hopefully you too can becomes a better person.

Read this wonderful novel and find out how Trich finally turns her life around!

Gloria Bolendz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a really great read, February 2, 2010
By 
M. Bailey (cincinnati, ohio) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: FAT CHICK (Paperback)
i really liked this book! chick lit? Yes? without a soul? No! this book is a witty, honest and revealing peek into the life of a young ad exec. it has a bit of a sex in the city vibe, but it's much more accessible. a great read for anyone who has struggled with parental relationships, body image, friendships, or romantic relationships (and who hasn't?). i found myself really liking trish, the main character, and wondering how her life unfolds. i'll also note that although the focus of the book seems to be food and dieting and/or overeating, it really isn't. it's so much more than that. food is only the symptom here, this book is about life. fingers crossed for a sequel!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great and fun read....., January 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FAT CHICK (Paperback)
Fat Chick I -- I thoroughly enjoyed the book's main character Trish, a young professional and her dramatic journey coping with her weight and self-esteem issues and the extremes of how she dealt with them. In the end Trish finds herself and what really matters in life.

The author is very clever and witty in how she depicts her character Trish. I laughed out loud many times while reading this book as I could relate on so many levels. I recommend this book to all the women out there struggling for balance in their life but also because the book is so humorously written. Really a fun read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The New Bridget Jones, April 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FAT CHICK (Paperback)
Single women everywhere will find a kindred spirit in Trish Collins. She engages the reader with a theme we all relate to - weight and self esteem. Trish is sharp and talented and has so much going on in her life - but the nagging feeling of self doubt threatens to sabotage it all. Witty dialogue and skilled character development keep this book from being predictable, and has the reader rooting for Trish while she experiences life's inevitable ups and downs. Pack this book in your beach bag or bring it to your next book club meeting...the world of chick lit has found its new heroine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and poignant, March 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FAT CHICK (Paperback)
"Fat Chick" takes the reader along the self-awareness journey of Trish Collins, who learns the hard way that what matters is who you really are and not who others perceive you to be. Lorraine Duffy Merkl's portrayal of Trish's struggles, both emotional and physical, come to life against the backdrop of the intense NYC advertising world. "Fat Chick" is funny, sad and enlightening with a powerful message about accepting the best version of yourself, flaws and all. I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fat Chick, a novel
Fat Chick, a novel by Lorraine Duffy Merkl
$2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.