Customer Reviews


369 Reviews
5 star:
 (238)
4 star:
 (75)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chicken FUN!
"Chicken Run" (the latest from Aardman Studios, the makers of the 'Wallace and Gromit' films) is simply the most delightful, visually amazing, and FUN animated movie since Disney's "The Lion King." Other studios (notably Warner Brothers) have tried to take a bite out of Disney's pie-share of the kid-movie market, but Aardman and Dreamworks have...
Published on August 16, 2000 by John DiBello

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fun animated film
Though not on a level with "Toy Story 2," DreamWorks' animated hit "Chicken Run" provides enough originality of concept and expertise of execution to score as fun, high-spirited entertainment for the whole family. Borrowing heavily from the 1963 classic "The Great Escape," "Chicken Run" cleverly envisions a British poultry farm as a barbed-wired camp in which a group of...
Published on December 16, 2000 by Roland E. Zwick


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chicken FUN!, August 16, 2000
By 
"Chicken Run" (the latest from Aardman Studios, the makers of the 'Wallace and Gromit' films) is simply the most delightful, visually amazing, and FUN animated movie since Disney's "The Lion King." Other studios (notably Warner Brothers) have tried to take a bite out of Disney's pie-share of the kid-movie market, but Aardman and Dreamworks have done it best in this charming, hilarious, and edge-of-your-seat thrilling animated fantasy about a group of hens trying to break out of a chicken farm. Running the farm with an evil eye and an iron ax are the villainous Mrs. Tweedie and her henpecked (literally) husband, who's sure those chickens are plotting escape. The voices are perfect, from Julia Sawalha and Joan Horrocks from "Absolutely Fabulous" as chickens to Mel Gibson as the "flying" rooster Rocky. I want to recommend that every parent take their kids to see this one: unlike many other recent cartoons, this one is completely suitable for all but the very youngest children (there's some tense moments in a chase at the end, and a little threatening to the chickens with an ax), but even better, this will delight and amuse the adults with its clever animation, perfect voice-casting, witty visual allusions to famous movies like "The Great Escape," "The Bridge over the River Kwai," and "Raiders of the Lost Ark," and Indiana Jones-type thrills that range from a chase inside an automatic chicken pie-making machine to a dramatic and climatic escape that is reminiscent of, but even improves on, the high-energy chase sequences of Aardman's "Wallace and Gromit" films. The moral lessons (you can succeed better with teamwork; stand by your friends) are pointed but gentle, without hitting kids over the head. I can't recommend this one highly enough, folks, whatever age you are. And if you head out of the theater and go eat a chicken pot pie, you have a much, much, harder heart than mine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hogan's Heroes Meets The Great Escape !!, November 27, 2000
By 
This review is from: Chicken Run (DVD)
Poultry in motion ! What a great movie, there's more entertainment in the opening credits than most movies have in total.
I was totally impressed by the entire movie. The characters are fanastic, the plot is really funny and the stop film animation is superb.
Ginger keeps plotting to escape the Tweedy's egg farm. Mishap after mishap mirror Hogan's Heroes. There's even the coal box outside the Tweedy's where Ginger spends her time in the "cooler" after each failed escape attempt.
Rocky the 'flying' Rooster arrives to "save the day". That's as much as I'll say about the plot. EGGselent family entertainment!
The extras are pretty cool too! Truly an EGGsquisite dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Two-Year-Old Loves It, November 11, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Chicken Run (DVD)
There are not many movies out there that can equally entertain thirty-somethings and toddlers, but this one does! Grab your popcorn and get ready for pure, wholesome family fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An EGG-cellent EGG-scape Animation, November 16, 2000
By 
Craig Bonney (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chicken Run (DVD)
Well, what an absolute joy and surprise this movie turned out to be. I was dumb-founded from start to finish as to how the animators actually created this magical stop-motion picture. In the past three days I have watched this disc over and over again, not tiring of it at all. The story (ala "Stalag 17" and "The Great Escape") is simple yet effective. A group of English hens constantly plot and scheme to escape from their chicken farm, run by the tyrannical Mrs Tweedy (the voice of Miranda Richardson), before they are turned into chicken pies. Their only hope comes in the shape of a cocky, plucky American rooster named Rocky Roads (Mel Gibson in his best performance to date). "Chicken Run" is filled with great adult one-liners and jokes and is packed with every war/escape movie cliche know to this genre. It will also appeal to the little ones. The disc is great value. The DTS soundtrack is pretty awesome and really kicks into power when the chicken pie oven blasts into action....WOW! The video transfer is crystal clear, which adds an extra dimension to the clay models. The extras are fun also. The "Chicken Panic" button is very cute, "The Making Of" docos (there are two) are VERY interesting and informative, and there is great information about the movie hidden throughout the menus....you have to find them! The highlight of the disc is the voice of Jane Horrocks ("Little Voice" and Bubble from "Ab Fab") who steals the show as Babs the dumb hen! She's hysterical. Make sure you buy this disc for your DVD library. You won't be disappointed! If this movie doesn't win an Oscar at next year's Academy Awards....I'll give up poultry for life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films of 2000., December 22, 2000
By 
tvtv3 "tvtv3" (Sorento, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chicken Run [VHS] (VHS Tape)
CHICKEN RUN is a great movie. It is one of the best movies of 2000. It is a film that contains a lot of humor for both children and adults. The movie is made by the people responsible for WALLACE AND GROMIT and if you enjoy those films, you will probably enjoy CHICKEN RUN.
One of my favorite things about the film is to trying to figure out all the different parodies and allusions made to other films, televison, and pop culture. The basic plot line of the story is taken from THE GREAT ESCAPE. There are a couple of great scenes, and lines for that matter, stolen directly from STAR WARS and RAIDERS OF THE LOST ARK. Other films that are alluded to include STALAG 17, BRAVEHEART, SCHINDLER'S LIST, along with the television series STAR TREK.
The movie's pace is fairly quick and the characters are more substantial than the normal cardboard cut-out characters of many other animated films. All in all, CHICKEN RUN is a film that gives you a run worth your time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The wonders of clay, November 1, 2000
This review is from: Chicken Run [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I'll admit I almost became a vegetarian after witnessing those poor yet engaging chickens starring in the excellent (yes, I decided against the bad pun, EGG-cellent) movie "Chicken Run." I think I was expecting something brainless yet less offensive than the other fare when I chose this movie, but I'm glad I did. It's only fair that I say one of the major appeals of this movie was it's spoofing of "The Great Escape," one of my favorite WWII movies. However, even if I had never seen that classic, "Chicken Run" would have been highly appealing. Clay animation, quality clay animation is under-represented. Visually, this movie was astounding. The humor was appropriate for all levels of comprehension, without boring an adult audience. In fact, an adult might find this movie far more amusing than a child, but let's not deprive anyone of the priveldge of seeing this film. The voices were very well chosen (I love the accents), including a surprising Mel Gibson. One reason I enjoyed this movie was because I did not immediately recognize a voice and associate it with the person, as happens when celebrities provide the voices for other animated films. In this, the voice was that of the character, which kept my distractions down. The plot was really very original, despite the spoof quality. Overall, GREAT movie... and I can't wait to see what they come up with next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chicken Run, June 21, 2000
The creators of the British animated classic "Wallace and Gromit" bring their magic to a full length feature. It's an ingenious little adventure that follows the hopes and dreams of a chicken named Ginger (Julia Sawalha). Her dream is to escape Mrs. Tweedy's chicken farm. She claims she can do it on her own but what bewilders her is that she is afraid for all her fellow fowl within the coop. So their plan focuses upon all of them in one huge jail-break. Ginger's prayers seem to be answered when a "flying" rooster named Rocky (Mel Gibson) drops into the coop after escaping a traveling circus. Meanwhile Mrs. Tweedy (Miranda Richardson) develops a plan to turn her little farm into a massive "chicken pot pie" factory forcing Ginger and Rocky to teach all the others to fly before they become pies. What makes "Chicken Run" so ingenious was how the animators made us want to be apart of the chicken world. We fall head over heals involved with these chickens and their daily lives. Coupled with that involvement, "Chicken Run" also cleverly delivers us into a "prison breakout" movie filled with humor, and excitement. "Chicken Run" is a pure delight. For many people this will be their first experimentation with a full length animated feature involving clay. The clay for me helps reflect the tones and dimensions of the characters. In some ways I think it aids a lot in the audience's involvement in the chicken world. Placing aside the claymation and those magnificent machines, "Chicken Run" also brings back a lot of classic Hollywood moments in the films setting. There are scenes which remind us a lot of the classic World War 2 prison movies. Films like the "Great Escape", "Stalag 17" and even the misadventures of "Hogan's Heroes". What I liked about those film references here is that they weren't here to poke fun at the films but to play homage. The references also aid the audience in diving deeper into the film and its delight. If you remember "Wallace and Gromit" then you may recall all their huge machines which helped enchant their everyday lives. From the rocket-ship to the sheep shearing machine, "Chicken Run" has these kinds of machines which have always amazed me in their transformation and assembly. How do they dream up these wondrous machines? (4.5 of 5) So Says the Soothsayer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'll never eat chicken again!, July 12, 2000
By 
This movie was fantastic. I have never seen anything like it. While taking place on a small English farm in a Stalag 17 style, a hen house of chickens warm your heart and make you laugh at the same time. After reading the other reviews, I won't waste space describing the plot. Being only an hour and a half long, Chicken Run is able to capture your attention and hold it all the way through. The attention to detail is awesome! Although I was startled at first to see a chicken with teeth, after viewing the movie I must admit that was one of the details that makes the film so refreshing and funny. Even in the slow parts (there aren't many) it is entertaining enough to listen to chickens with British accents. Priceless! A must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Egg-straordinary!, August 18, 2000
This charming and funny film was the surprise hit of summer 2000 and deserves a place in every home. "Chicken Run" deals with the troubles of a flock of chickens on Tweady's Farm, which is about to be mechanized for greater profit. Evil Mrs. Tweady has just invested in an enormous machine which will kill the chickens, skin them, and make them into Mrs. Tweady's "homemade" pies.
When things look their worst, a Yank hero (voice of Mel Gibson) comes cannonballing into their avian roost. Gibson is the never-say-die type and he convinces he can teach the chickens how to escape by flying away. By the end of the movie the chickens do fly, literally and metaphorically, but not in the way you'd think.
"Chicken Run" is not a computer-generated movie. It was filmed in stop-action, a painstaking process similar to claymation, where inert figures have to be moved a tiny, tiny amount and photographed one frame at a time. This film took years to produce, but the quality is up there on the screen.
Don't think that "Chicken Run" is just a kid's movie. There's a lot of throwaway wit that adults (and even grandparents) will enjoy. For example, the most heroic chickens inhabit coop (stalag) 17. And while Mr. Tweady can see the chickens planning their escape, every time he gets Mrs. Tweady to take a look she only sees the birds clucking and pecking. (Think of Gladys Kravitz on "Bewitched"!) All in all, a superior film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top 10 movie of the year to many critics, December 20, 2000
This review is from: Chicken Run (DVD)
This movie is a lot of fun, and very similar humor to the Wallace & Grommet shorts. Fans of "Absolutely Fabulous" will recognize the main chicken (Saphron from Ab Fab) and the air-headed chicken (Bubbles from Ab Fab--how appropriate!). Very witty British humor, and humorous animation style throughout. You will want to watch it again the next day after seeing it. Tons of extra features. Adults will probably find this funnier than younger viewers, who will probably be wrapped up in the storyline alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Chicken Run (Import-Germany, Region Free Blu-ray)
Used & New from: $10.36
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.