Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Positively Inspirational
Get this book if you're looking for some pick-me-up, inspirational stories. The book is divided up into ten chapters, with each chapter consisting of about ten short, inspirational stories. The ten chapters (categories) are:

-Words that Changed My Life -Overcoming Adversity
-Health Challenges -Attitude Adjustments
-Every Day Is Special -Silver...
Published on September 7, 2011 by C. Martin

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many stories about how to overcome an illness and ...
Too many stories about how to overcome an illness and move on with your life. I was looking for something more about everyday people trying to stay positive when life keeps pushing you down. Similar to the "Bridesmaids" scene when life is beating you down.
Published 4 months ago by Hugh McCloskey


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Positively Inspirational, September 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chicken Soup for the Soul: Think Positive: 101 Inspirational Stories about Counting Your Blessings and Having a Positive Attitude (Paperback)
Get this book if you're looking for some pick-me-up, inspirational stories. The book is divided up into ten chapters, with each chapter consisting of about ten short, inspirational stories. The ten chapters (categories) are:

-Words that Changed My Life -Overcoming Adversity
-Health Challenges -Attitude Adjustments
-Every Day Is Special -Silver Linings
-Role Models -Moving Forward
-Counting Your Blessings -Gratitude

As you can see, there's a pretty broad range of topics, and as I mentioned before, the stories are short, with most being around 4 or so pages each. I liked this, because I have kind of a hectic schedule most days, and don't get much time to sit around reading inspirational books. However with this book, you can read a couple of the stories in just a few minutes, and then take away some great messages to think about for the rest of the day. So if you're looking for a few quick words of inspiration now and then, I highly recommend checking this one out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comment from Deborah Norville, October 10, 2010
This review is from: Chicken Soup for the Soul: Think Positive: 101 Inspirational Stories about Counting Your Blessings and Having a Positive Attitude (Paperback)
(I know, it's a funny "Amazon" name - 'Knit Girl' )Far be in from me to submit a "review" for a book for which I have contributed the foreward, but I wanted to share a note I received via email from a lady who is exactly the reason a book like "Chicken Soup for the Soul: Think Positive" was created. I wont reveal her name, but here is her message in its entirety.

Dear Deborah,
I woke up this morning and could not get past my sadness. I cried all morning and then I remembered seeing you on GMA on Friday with the new book Think Positive. My life has been beyond overwhelming these days with a health issue with my Dad. I find myself turning to all the negative things in my life rather than reveling in all the reasons I have to be grateful. I hae (sic) read a few stories and I am hoping I can find the positive in my life everyday. I will try to turn to this book often. When the book needs me or when I need the book.

I have followed you over the years from one of the first times you filled in on the Today show. I loved the foreword in the book and I am hoping to take these words and "Change my thoughts so I can change the world" At least turn my own ship into a more positive direction. Thank you. I am hoping this will be the turning point in my life.

My best,

XXXXXXXXXX

How great that in the middle of her turmoil, this lady found some words of hope, wisdom, and a sense that she's not alone in her struggle. None of us are -- though at times, we may all feel quite alone. And indeed BE alone. But the short vignettes in Think Positive are meant to put you in a ever so slightly brighter mindset -- which then makes it easier to conjure up those positive thoughts, great ideas, superb strategies to get us through our troubles. We all have troubles -- but we all have blessings too. This book aims to help you remember THOSE. I hope it helps you -- and I hope that you let me hear from you too! You can email me here: [...] (copy and paste into your browser.)

Here's to brighter days! Deborah
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for hard time!!, October 12, 2010
By 
Melanie Hardy "melandruss" (Columbiana,Alabama United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chicken Soup for the Soul: Think Positive: 101 Inspirational Stories about Counting Your Blessings and Having a Positive Attitude (Paperback)
This book comes at a much needed time. When our economy is in bad shape, natural disasters are everywhere, and the negative outweighs the positive every time we turn on the television, computer, or radio.

These stories truly show people who have been given "lemons" and made "lemonade". The book has blessed me, and I have given several as gifts, which have in turn blessed friends and family.

These stories are gems of faith, and can help anyone feel better when going through a rough time.

The writers are gifted, and share much needed uplifting stories. This book is a must read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational Stories To Warm the Heart and Soul, April 17, 2014
Another great Chicken Soup book. I saw a lot of Zen thinking in this book. It showed me, once again, that acceptance of a situation, concentration on the present moment, and enjoyment of the good, positive aspects of all circumstances helps us to rise above difficulties. Some of the authors have illnesses or disabilities which would depress many people. Would you see the positive side of Alzheimer's Disease? Could you still be happy if you had macular degeneration and were slowly going blind? Could you have Asperger Syndrome and still want to travel the world knowing that you were directionally-challenged? I don't think I've ever made it through a Chicken Soup book without crying. And this book was no exception. It was so moving. I am a person who tries to look for the silver lining, but I often fall short, and this book has helped me to look for the beauty in all circumstances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No to Nay-sayers and Hooray to Yay-sayers!, October 7, 2010
This review is from: Chicken Soup for the Soul: Think Positive: 101 Inspirational Stories about Counting Your Blessings and Having a Positive Attitude (Paperback)
We've been drowning in doom and gloom long enough. Now that Thanksgiving nears, it's time to reframe our attitudes. Since I received my contributor's copy, this latest Chicken Soup book helps me start each morning looking on the bright side. Deborah Norville quotes Norman Vincent Peale in her introduction, "Change your thoughts and you change your world." I believe it.
My story, "From Nuisance to Blessing" relates how I started to look at my late husband's scruffy mutt with new eyes when I realized that I wasn't the only one who missed Ken. Taking twenty minutes a day, Natty and I now have a little quality time together strolling the Loop...and I've lost fifteen pounds since the end of March. That's not easy at my age, and I have this dog to thank for it. Jeannie Lancaster's tale is a treasure. You can't possibly read "Dancing in the Rain" and remain surly! And for a good giggle, catch Annmarie B. Tait's treasure, "Living in Barbie's Dream House."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book!, December 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chicken Soup for the Soul: Think Positive: 101 Inspirational Stories about Counting Your Blessings and Having a Positive Attitude (Paperback)
I read this book when I was going through a hard time and it really helped me to focus on the good in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Think Positive chicken Soup For The Soul, December 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chicken Soup for the Soul: Think Positive: 101 Inspirational Stories about Counting Your Blessings and Having a Positive Attitude (Paperback)
Great book it came right on time. Much cheaper than the bookstore! Would recommend to everyone. So easy to go on computer order and know it will be here on time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, May 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chicken Soup for the Soul: Think Positive: 101 Inspirational Stories about Counting Your Blessings and Having a Positive Attitude (Paperback)
I bought a copy of this book for a friend and got a copy for myself. I love it and highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, July 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was really influenced by this book and it helped me during tough times. I would recommend to anyone needing a little motivation:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chicken Soup for the Soul, June 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chicken Soup for the Soul: Think Positive: 101 Inspirational Stories about Counting Your Blessings and Having a Positive Attitude (Paperback)
You will never go wrong with any of Jack Canfield's Chicken Soup for the Soul books. This is such a pleasure to read and always so inspiring. I often read them, then pass them on to friends and family members. These are excellent books for gifts for someone shut in, recovering or just needing some encouragement. I absolutely love these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.