Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another corn
its nice to know he is still walking behind the rows..... of corn. this definitely refreshes the series and takes us back to the fields
Published 1 month ago by J. Baxter

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pointless
A young married couple Tim (Tim Rock) and Allie (Kelen Coleman), whose car has broken down in the middle of nowhere, end up staying for a night at house of a mysterious man `Preacher' (Billy Drago) living with his Ukrainian wife Helen (Barbara Nedeljakova). At night the two uninvited guests begin to suspect that there is someone - a child maybe - in the barn. Then some...
Published on April 10, 2012 by Tsuyoshi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pointless, April 10, 2012
A young married couple Tim (Tim Rock) and Allie (Kelen Coleman), whose car has broken down in the middle of nowhere, end up staying for a night at house of a mysterious man `Preacher' (Billy Drago) living with his Ukrainian wife Helen (Barbara Nedeljakova). At night the two uninvited guests begin to suspect that there is someone - a child maybe - in the barn. Then some supernatural things start to happen. But are Tim and Allie seeing what they see?

It seems "Children of the Corn: Genesis" had to be made very quickly. The story of the low-budget film doesn't make much sense. The actors sleepwalk through their parts. The film is not very scary, but that is not the worst part of it. It is, in short, that no one who is involved in making the film seems to really care.

Except the brief opening chapter, in which Billy Drago's character, a young solider returning from Vietnam, witnesses something horrible, the film's disjointed story has little to no relation to what happened in Gatlin, Nebraska. Set in present-day California, the story of "Children of the Corn: Genesis" is almost pointless as a sequel or first chapter of a possible new series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'M FIGHTING EVIL, September 3, 2011
From the title I thought this was going to be a prequel, but I quickly figured out "Genesis" refers to the book of Genesis and perhaps a play on the word for the beginning of evil. The movie opens in 1973 with a returning soldier from Vietnam. He comes home to an eerie setting, one we would expect from the series.

The movie then jumps to present day as a couple (she is pregnant) are stranded in the desert far from civilization. They seek shelter at a farm run by a strange overly religious man (Billy Drago) and his mail order bride (Barbara Nedeljakova) who seems to want out. They spend the night with it being Sunday and options are few. They are warned NOT to go snooping around. Soon aforesaid pregnant wife (Kelen Coleman) is out at night looking around in the barn which looks like a "Children of the Corn" barn. She also discovers a child whimpering behind a locked door...hubby (Tim Rock) must do something, but the corn has other ideas.

I didn't think the ending was as good as the rest of the film. The movie doesn't have a whole bunch of kids running a community and killing adults as we have become used to. The title utilizes aspects of the series to set up for a squeal.

F-bomb, brief nudity, sexual situation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another corn, June 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
its nice to know he is still walking behind the rows..... of corn. this definitely refreshes the series and takes us back to the fields
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, even for direct-to-DVD, May 27, 2012
This film is abysmal. I was rooting for both protagonists (if you can call them that) to die 30 minutes in. As horror movie fans, we should feel offended that this drivel was even produced. I can't even imagine how Stephen King feels having his name in the opening credits (even if it's just to say the film is based on his ideas). The pregnant woman is not believable in her role and is so profoundly stupid the scariest part of the movie is thinking that she is procreating and keeping her gene pool going. Scenes play out in illogical and stupid ways. For example in one particular scene, the pregnant woman is violently thrown against a wall and then trapped in a creepy house by an evil, supernatural force. Upon recovering, her reaction isn't fear or shock that she just experienced a supernatural force and saw proof of an evil power bent on her destruction; she doesn't want to discuss escape or question what's happening...no, instead she wants to scream at her boyfriend/husband about a rumor of infidelity. Unrealistic considering the circumstances. In another scene the woman's boyfriend asks her "Did you see them drug our coffee or give us hallucienegetics!?". What kind of question is that?? Is she going to respond "Yes, I saw them pouring drugs into our iced tea when we got here but I didn't think that it was important enough to mention.". In the film's climax the man is speeding down the highway while cars are falling off of one of those 18- wheelers that transport automobiles. He swerves the first one, then another, and rather than pull over like anyone who is not completely retarded would, he tries to re-enact Grand Theft Auto and continues to speed down the highway swerving like a maniac until he crashes. The girl is then abducted by a "town crazy" in the middle of the busy highway in broad daylight. Does she scream? Does she cry out for help? Fight against him? No, she sobs softly. That's it.

This movie is absolute garbage. Also of note there really aren't any "Children of the Corn" in it. Do yourself a favor and avoid this idiotic drivel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a let down, November 25, 2011
i love these movies, but me personally i was thrown off by this one. this movie is that it let me down. the movie was good just didn't fit into the children of the corn movies, but you watch it for urself. the movie is good just very different from the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars He Who Wears Out His Welcome, June 20, 2014
By 
David Girod (Westminster, Maryland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I want to punch this movie in the face. I've now watched all 9 (9???????) "Children of the Corn" movies, and I have to say that any good will I had toward this series after the original and first three sequels is long gone.

The storyline seems oddly close to "Manos: Hands of Fate". In the California desert a young couple's car breaks down and they seek refuge at a dilapidated farm house. Once inside they find an odd man and his mail order Russian wife. At this point they are held hostage by the odd couple who have a kid locked up in the shed out back. That's it....the whole thing is them trying to escape from the house. You may be asking yourself "Where are the children?" Or "Where is the corn?"...the simple answer is...don't bother. There is,no connection between this story and King's tale.

Horrible movie, that has nothing to offer but annoyance. Avoid this one like a disease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars poor movie, May 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this movie doesnt fit with the other corn videos. none of the kids kill nor are there any fights of any kind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast Delivery,, April 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good transaction & fast delivery. No problems with seller.
Anything to do with Stephen King & his books I'm going to buy. I read all his books & he is a very talented mystery/horror writer with a very good imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars goes great with my set, February 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have other the others and I wanted to complete the series. it came fast and I am happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Collection must., December 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Any Children of the Corn fan needs this for their collection. It was a pretty good story line worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Children of the Corn-Genesis [Blu-ray]
Children of the Corn-Genesis [Blu-ray] by Joel Soisson (Blu-ray - 2011)
$22.99 $8.04
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.