Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Lacuna Coil Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Outdoor Recreation

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars23
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The fourth novel in the Children of the Lamp series features the terracotta warriors, thousands of six foot tall clay statues buried with the Chinese Emperor of Qin, somewhere back in 210 BC. These statues were for protection as well as to ensure that the Emperor had a full army at his disposal in the afterlife. As the story goes, someone is reanimating these ancient warriors, and possessing them with evil spirits.

Meanwhile, on the good Djinn side, Djinn twins John and Phillipa Gaunt, their Uncle Nimrod and the crew head off to find Faustina Sachertorte (who is in the Djinn equivalent of suspended animation) in the hopes of reviving her to take the place of the twins' mother as the hard-hearted and extremely logical Blue Djinn of Babylon. This requires careful planning, because their father is under a Methusaleh binding that makes him age rapidly once the twins aren't at home, which of course they aren't.

Back on the other side, Faustina's brother Dybbuk is acting up, misusing his powers in exchange for fifteen minutes of fame as the next (and much improved) David Copperfield. Unfortunately his antics are noticed by his father, Iblis, the leader of the Ifrit (a.k.a. the really bad Djinn) and before he realizes it, Dybbuk is being used to set up a really big scam that could change the balance of good and evil.

Better than book three, Cobra King Of Kathmandu (Children Of The Lamp), this one takes the reader to exotic locations with exotic food, contains a lot of surprises, and features two very famous gentlemen from the past. The action-packed adventure comes to a dramatic pause at the end, which is clearly not the end of the story, but the way forward to the next book. Fans of the series won't be disappointed with this one.

Rated: 4.5 stars

Children Of The Lamp: The Akhenaten Adventure (Children Of The Lamp)

Blue Djinn of Babylon (Children of the Lamp (Paperback))

Amanda Richards, April 23, 2008
66 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2007
This is the best Children OF the Lamp book yet. There are many twists and turns throughout the plot.... and i cannot wait for the next book.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2013
This book had everything, I've enjoyed all the books in this series so far and I recommend it . Some other series I have enjoyed are the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan as well as the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2014
If you like the genre of mystery, is good for adults too. I have read the whole series along with my children. I find them interesting and fun. It is a light read. Nice away from the stress of everyday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2007
i LOVE these books....such a great series....awesome characters...and each book is better than the last. i hope the author has many more planned!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2008
When John and Philippa first see their father after returning from an adventure in Nepal and India, they are shocked to find him changed into a very old man. Mr. Gaunt had been a normal human until his wife Layla --- one of the most powerful djinns in the world --- put him under a Methuselah spell. She hopes this will keep her children by his side and prevent the djinn twins from following her to Babylon, where she is going to assume the position of "Blue Djinn of Babylon."

Unbeknownst to Layla, however, John and Philippa temporarily had been replaced by imitations so they could pursue other adventures. To reverse the aging process, they must get help and are faced with some very serious decisions: How will they be able to leave their father under such circumstances? And how can they get their mother back home and prevent her from becoming the Blue Djinn of Babylon?

Djinns cannot be discouraged easily. And before you know it, after a few setbacks --- such as a terrible accident in which their beloved housekeeper ends up unconscious in the hospital --- help arrives on a whirlwind, in the person of the strange magical djinn Marion Morrison. Nurse Marion wears cowboy boots and has "two beady gray eyes that she was able to control so that she could look in two different directions at the same time."

In a complicated and wild story, the twins embark on yet another adventure as they try to find the true Blue Djinn of Babylon (Faustina, who has lost her body somewhere in England) and help her brother Dybbuk (who is on the brink of joining forces with the dark side after he discovers that his father is none other than Iblis, the most evil djinn in the world). Their Uncle John, the butler Mr. Groanin and the kindly old djinn Mr. Rakshasas join them. Using their abilities to go in and out of bodies, make transformations and other magical djinn skills, they find themselves in a series of mysterious mishaps involving disappearing people, ancient Chinese terracotta warriors who are being controlled by evil forces, haunted museums, robberies and even some unexpected help from none other than Marco Polo!

Readers will be surprised to see what happens to John and Philippa's mother, how the abilities of a little nun help them, and how an erupting volcano changes everything. The twins have their work cut out for them in yet another exciting tale from P. B. Kerr's bestselling Children of the Lamp series.

--- Reviewed by Sally M. Tibbetts
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2011
I LOVE the Children of the Lamp series!!! This book is EXCELLENT!!! It's a fun, easy, very interesting read. I am addicted to the series and currently on Book 5! I am collecting them for my kids to read when they get a bit older. Love, love, love them!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2008
Middle school into high school readers and many an advanced elementary grade level reader will relish CHILDREN OF THE LAMP's 4th book DAY OF THE DJINN WARRIORS, which has the twins on a journey to save their mother from her destiny as the Blue Djinn of Babylon, and their father from a dangerous curse. A worldwide journey leads to discovery of an evil force which has awakened a new breed of warrior to the world in this find blend of mystery and fantasy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2008
I absolutely love P.B. Kerr's series about these children! This is another book in a refreshing series. I have recommended it to both students and adults!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2013
Grandchildren loved the story and have shared it with others. I was a popular gift item I would recommend to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse