Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute
Cute book for a little girl. My 7 year old enjoyed reading it before bed time. It may have been a bit too easy though.
Published 23 months ago by Angela Duckett

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very cute illustrations, only like 3 pages about Spring
Owls are very in right now and it's nice to see a book with an adorable owl character, especially since I downloaded this today for free.

It's very cute and very pretty, but unfortunately, it is a tad underwhelming... especially since it is titled "Petal Loves Springtime" but starts in the fall and goes through winter, which takes the majority of the...
Published 6 months ago by Joan G.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute, January 26, 2013
This review is from: Children's Book - Petal Loves Springtime (Petal the Owl 2) (Kindle Edition)
Cute book for a little girl. My 7 year old enjoyed reading it before bed time. It may have been a bit too easy though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sweet story, January 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Children's Book - Petal Loves Springtime (Petal the Owl 2) (Kindle Edition)
My six yr old loves this owl series. The stories are the perfect reading level for 5-7 yr olds. Cute pictures too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So sweet, January 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Children's Book - Petal Loves Springtime (Petal the Owl 2) (Kindle Edition)
The story is very simple while still being very sweet but the true magnificence here is the artwork. I love how much detail and thought was put into every picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So sweet, January 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Children's Book - Petal Loves Springtime (Petal the Owl 2) (Kindle Edition)
Very cutely illustrated, this book is about Petal the owl waiting on her favorite season to arrive and what she likes to do once it's here.

This is the first Petal book I have read and I look forward to reading more. My kids are grown but I'm thinking of grandkids and am collecting some books I like that I could read with them on day.

Also this kind of short, sweet an beautifully illustrated book appeals to me as well. A quick an peaceful read with my breakfast this morning :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sweet little owl book, January 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Children's Book - Petal Loves Springtime (Petal the Owl 2) (Kindle Edition)
This book has lovely illustrations and an adorable little owl named petal as the main character. Young children will delight in the easy verse this book offers and no doubt wish to read it multiple times. Very nice book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reader, November 4, 2012
By 
Carme Sevenster (Brisbane, AUSTRALIA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Children's Book - Petal Loves Springtime (Petal the Owl 2) (Kindle Edition)
The story line is good, and the illustrations are very beautiful. Petal is a very beautiful little character.

If I can make one suggestion it would be to make the font type more plain, for example Arial - it makes it easier for little kids who want to read it themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Petal Loves Springtime (Petal the Owl), June 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Children's Book - Petal Loves Springtime (Petal the Owl 2) (Kindle Edition)
Petal is still going strong in this third colorful book. Petal finds something to like about each season. These books will be pulled off the shelf time and again because they are such fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adorable!, May 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Children's Book - Petal Loves Springtime (Petal the Owl 2) (Kindle Edition)
This book is bright and vibrant. My 4 yr old loves for me to read it over and over to her. A real treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very cute illustrations, only like 3 pages about Spring, June 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Children's Book - Petal Loves Springtime (Petal the Owl 2) (Kindle Edition)
Owls are very in right now and it's nice to see a book with an adorable owl character, especially since I downloaded this today for free.

It's very cute and very pretty, but unfortunately, it is a tad underwhelming... especially since it is titled "Petal Loves Springtime" but starts in the fall and goes through winter, which takes the majority of the book (only 11 actual pages of content), leaving very little actually about spring... and also leaves me with another issue. Since three of the four seasons were discussed in this book, it would only make sense to also include summer, which could be a talking point (for younger kids, similar to asking "What color are those flowers?" or "what type of animal is Petal?") with the youngsters ("Do you remember the four seasons from the book?")

I just think that if you're going to write a book about spring, make it about spring. If you're going to go through three of the seasons, why not just do all of them?

And finally, as a final complaint, the writing itself was not very exciting. Sure, younger kids might be entertained by the bright colors and seeing a cute owl character perched on a tree or flying above the branches (there's not actually a very wide visual range in this book, but the illustrations are still the best thing about it..) but I definitely cannot imagine this being a very memorable book for the kids, or one of the ones they want to hear over and over. There's nothing especially clever about it, there is no real action or conflict, just Petal waiting for spring and being oh so unique.

Honestly, if the owl wasn't so cute, this book probably wouldn't even be getting 3 stars from me... but it was free, and even if the writing itself is boring, I can still use it to go over colors and other things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Winter would soon be here. 'Brrrrrrr' she shivers, February 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Children's Book - Petal Loves Springtime (Petal the Owl 2) (Kindle Edition)
I own several of the "Petal" books by Joy Findlay and thought about reviewing "Petal's First Winter" given we're in the middle of the season but frankly I've had about enough winter and am looking forward to springtime instead (maybe that's why the winter book is a dollar less - haha!) Cute book with nice illustrations, and I am rather surprised you could purchase a Petal the Owl replica plush toy to go along with the story for your youngster if you desire. Lastly, I share Petal's sentiment "She is waiting for her favourite season of the year, the one she loves the most. Springtime is here at last." If only that were true now! (Part of my Children's Book Marathon on 2/27/2014 to try to look thru the thousand books I had downloaded the last 6 months).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.