Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pirate and the star
The Pirate and the Star by Mich ael Yu
Illustrated colorful children's book about Timmy, a boy who dreams of living a pirates life. His mom can get him to sleep if she tells him
a story of a tough pirate. He listens and he finds he is exactly like the pirate: wearing his pirate hat, holding the telescope in his hand and wearing an eye patch.
When the storm...
Published 12 months ago by Jbarr5 (julie Barrett)

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Okay
Didn't keep the kids interest, but it was a nice story nonetheless. It was worth the .99 in the end.
Published 20 months ago by Sean from New England


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pirate and the star, August 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Children's Picture Book - The Pirate and the Star ( A Gorgeous Illustrated Bedtime Children's Picture Book ) (Kindle Edition)
The Pirate and the Star by Mich ael Yu
Illustrated colorful children's book about Timmy, a boy who dreams of living a pirates life. His mom can get him to sleep if she tells him
a story of a tough pirate. He listens and he finds he is exactly like the pirate: wearing his pirate hat, holding the telescope in his hand and wearing an eye patch.
When the storm hits and his boat breaks he spots an island to swim to.
He has the chance to help an old woman and he's lost everything and the Star will grant him a wish. He helps but the Star has other plans-more things for him to do first.
More riddles and adventures for the pirate... Book allows you to imagine what you would do in the same circumstances.
Love the travel and adventures and most importantly the imaginations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The pirate and the star, November 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Children's Picture Book - The Pirate and the Star ( A Gorgeous Illustrated Bedtime Children's Picture Book ) (Kindle Edition)
Great read and a funny story. A nice short story to read before bed time. Highly recommend this story book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Greatest Pirate Ever", May 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Children's Picture Book - The Pirate and the Star ( A Gorgeous Illustrated Bedtime Children's Picture Book ) (Kindle Edition)
Colorful drawings in this short story.. Timmy loves to play pirate and has all of the tools of the trade!

This book teaches that one should help others in assistance.

Even a troll and a riddle near the end.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It was good, May 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Children's Picture Book - The Pirate and the Star ( A Gorgeous Illustrated Bedtime Children's Picture Book ) (Kindle Edition)
My 6 yr. old son said it was good so he gave the book 4 stars. It was good, and I recommend this book for 5 yrs. old to 9 yrs. old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very cool book, May 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Children's Picture Book - The Pirate and the Star ( A Gorgeous Illustrated Bedtime Children's Picture Book ) (Kindle Edition)
I really like the idea of this book, the storyline on this book, etc. The images are very good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Night Sweet Timmy! Bon Voyage Pirate!, April 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Children's Picture Book - The Pirate and the Star ( A Gorgeous Illustrated Bedtime Children's Picture Book ) (Kindle Edition)
Two stories in one. Timmy, wants to grow up and explore the world, he also loves being a pirate. One night his mother tells him a story about the "greatest" pirate ever.

The Pirate is exploring the world when he is caught in a storm and stranded on an island. One night he wishes upon a star, the star tells him she will grant him a wish if he does something for her.

I found the story to be fun, engaging and also a lesson tale in helping others. The illustrations I found bright, colorful, cheerful and engaging. The illustrations were done by Eftimie Delia, I found a depth or perhaps a better would be layers in her illustrations that I have not seen in some of Michael Yu's other stories. The expressions on Timmy's face as he listens to his mother are very expressive. The shading and shadowing is also very well done. The art truly enhances this story.

While I had a few issues with the story itself i.e how did the Pirate sale an ocean ship all by himself, the adventure of the story came through loud and clear.

The ratio of illustrations to story seems a bit low for a beginning reader, but not too low if the story is being read to the child.

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS STORY.

Formatting Issues

I viewed this on:

17"screen using the Cloud Reader: I had to play with the settings as I could not get illustrations and the proper word segments to appear on one page for the entire book, even on the smallest setting for font and largest margins. As the illustrations are very well done, it might be worth putting the margins on second largest to get the better picture size and on the smallest font that is comfortable to read, so as to get the most possible words on the page.

iPad. I found the experience of reading this story to be much better on the iPad2. After playing with the formats as with the Cloud Reader. I found I liked putting the story on 2 column, the margins on the smallest size, and the font on the 2nd smallest size. This allowed me to read the entire portion per illustration. Then I would expand the illustration to full screen size. It gave me the best of both having large illustrations, and then when reading, I could have an entire segment on one page, with the illustration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The pirate and the star, February 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Children's Picture Book - The Pirate and the Star ( A Gorgeous Illustrated Bedtime Children's Picture Book ) (Kindle Edition)
Very Good book. My kids both enjoyed it a lot. The pictures were nice. I would recommend this book to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely eBook, December 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Children's Picture Book - The Pirate and the Star ( A Gorgeous Illustrated Bedtime Children's Picture Book ) (Kindle Edition)
Yet again, Michael and Rachel Yu release a lovely and engaging children's story. "The Pirate and the Star" is sure to be loved by any young reader; this is the third Fat Moon book I've read with my six-year-old brother and he cannot wait for the next one. The book includes a witty and fun story with beautiful and colorful pictures, along with energetic characters that'll absorb the reader. I heavily recommend this to any buyer with a fondness of children's books.

10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A winner, December 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Children's Picture Book - The Pirate and the Star ( A Gorgeous Illustrated Bedtime Children's Picture Book ) (Kindle Edition)
I really like all of the Michael Yu books I have read to my nephew so far. The illustrations are always delightful and this one is no different. It is a story about a pirate and a wishing star... but it is also about how helping others brings about your own happiness. I love these books. Fun to read and not preachy but the always have a nice message to teach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Bedtime Story!, August 11, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (El Paso, TX, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Children's Picture Book - The Pirate and the Star ( A Gorgeous Illustrated Bedtime Children's Picture Book ) (Kindle Edition)
I acquired this little story in hopes of reading it to my twin grandsons when I meet them! The story, along with the beautiful illustrations, are absolutely captivating! Very well written for its intended target audience. The message I took from the tale is that helping others will ultimately give you the desires of your heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.