Customer Reviews


320 Reviews
5 star:
 (175)
4 star:
 (84)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dewee Day Dem Bal Ah Give me the 20th Anniversary Edition I Beg of You. Comparison of DVDs below.
A worthy edition of Child's Play hits shelves on September 9th as a nice appetizer before Halloween which is most horror fans version of Christmas. What better gift then a good guy doll.

Chucky has become a horror icon over the years. Directed by horror contributor Tom Holland who also directed Fright Night. Holland also wrote Psycho II and the screenplays...
Published on June 23, 2008 by Mike Liddell

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars GREAT MOVIE!!!...WHEN I WAS 9 YEARS OLD.
When I was a 9 years old kid, this movie really scared me. Not because of the concept of a killer doll, but because the idea of using black magic to transport a human soul into a cute doll is quite disturbing. I thought this movie was one of the best horror films ever made. Plus, Chucky is a very charismatic dude, so I liked this movie a lot.
13 years later, and many...
Published on February 5, 2004 by Alejandro Cortes


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dewee Day Dem Bal Ah Give me the 20th Anniversary Edition I Beg of You. Comparison of DVDs below., June 23, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A worthy edition of Child's Play hits shelves on September 9th as a nice appetizer before Halloween which is most horror fans version of Christmas. What better gift then a good guy doll.

Chucky has become a horror icon over the years. Directed by horror contributor Tom Holland who also directed Fright Night. Holland also wrote Psycho II and the screenplays for the brutal Class of 1984 and the classic 80s film Cloak & Dagger. Another horror regular Brad Dourif and that voice, he makes Chucky a doll version of Samuel L. Jackson's, Jules, from Pulp Fiction. Most notably his response to being thrown in the fire. Dourif along with the Fx team helped create one of the best doll horror movies. Other good one's that come to mind are the Zuni fetish doll from Trilogy of Terror and Stuart Gordon's Dolls.

The original dvd:
Originally Child's Play contained a non widescreen edition. As for special features it contained a collectible behind the scenes booklet that wasn't very collectible. If you'd like a real write up on Child's Play check out the somewhat new magazine HorrorHound. In issue #10 they do a in depth retrospective on the Child's Play series. I highly recommend this magazine as well, unlike Fangoria it does more articles on horror over the years instead of just new stuff.

The 20th Anniversary Edition:
Special Features
- Commentary track with creator/writer Don Mancini and producer David Kirschner.
- A second track with FX guru Kevin Yagher, Catherine Hicks (Kevin's wife; they met on the film), and now-grown-up Alex Vincent.
- A third track with Mancini and Chucky (Brad Dourif voicing in character).
- The film itself is presented in 1.85:1 anamorphic widescreen.
- Making-of documentary blending archival footage with new, on-camera interviews with Mancini, Kirschner, Yagher, Hicks, Vincent, Chris Sarandon, John Lafia and Brad Dourif.
All this commentary should blow away the 1 page "collectible" piece of paper with the original dvd release.

I'd also recommend to those who like the series, which I do, (there a fun time) to pick up Chucky - The Killer DVD Collection, for those into cover art there is a doll of Chucky coming out of the cover with various weapons he can choose from on the side.

Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watch out: Chucky will get ya!, February 29, 2000
This review is from: Child's Play [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A serial killer has mysterious disappeared from the cops and found tumbled into a toy store after being shot by one of the policeman. He must find something to transfer his soul into another form of a body that will keep him alive until he can a living host. So he finds one of the childrens most favorite dolls known as the Good Guy dolls. He tranfers his soul into the doll and find a person to retransfer it into a human. If you ask me, I'd say this movie had suprisingly good special effects in the movie. Especially on the Chucky doll. Brad Douif does a great job on the voice of Chucky as he goes killing people without anyone knowing who he really is, except for the fact that he is a walking, talking, stalking, doll. The trouble starts as a little boy's dream was to get a Good Guy doll for Christmas and so the mother starts to panic, that she can't find one. But a strange man as just apparently had a Good Guy doll for sale. When the little boy gets the doll for Christmas...and well, you should know what happens from then on! Chucky's back, Jack!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best..., September 23, 2007
This review is from: Child's Play (DVD)
This is the best Child's Play/Chucky movie of all time! It was actuallly HORROR and scared me when I was a kid. This movie deserves to be bought, great acting, great entertainment, great horror. Watch this!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MY LIVING DOLL, June 21, 2005
By 
This review is from: Child's Play (DVD)
Yes, this is the one that started it all, way back in 1988, and has survived through the years to give us SEED OF CHUCKY this year. Tom Holland, who gave us the delightfully campy FRIGHT NIGHT, also helmed this first in the Chucky series. Considering this is pre CGI, the effects are very good, and the story creepy in itself. Chucky of course is the embodiment of a serial killer, played with delightful relish by Brad Dourif. Killed by detective Chris Sarandon (who was also in FRIGHT NIGHT), the madman uses a voodoo chant to send his spirit into a Good Guy doll in the toy store in which he is killed. Single mom Catherine Hicks (quite good in her role) buys the doll for her son's birthday. Best friend and babysitter Dinah Manoff (Soap) is the first victim to feel the wrath of the vengeful Chucky. Holland keeps things moving quickly and the movie has some fairly suspenseful moments; the Chucky doll is a real killer! Obviously, the sequels couldn't keep up the innovative thrills of this first movie, but CHILD'S PLAY is a vintage horror thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chucky is still the King of killer dolls, August 6, 2000
This review is from: Child's Play [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Note: does contain spoilers.
Child's Play is an excellent slasher movie that introduced Earth to the world of killer dolls.It also introduced us to Chucky,the king of murderous play things.CP has a lot going for it.The story for it's time was highly original and added a very refreshing twist to the slasher genre.It isn't very original anymore due to countless imatations that have followed (Puppet Master,Small Soldiers,etc).The special F/X,though a bit corny compared to some of the advanced F/X these days,are still great.The Chucky F/X are terrific,and to this day I still wonder how he did all those crazy things (imploding house,returning as a burnt zombie doll,etc).The music is also wonderful.It's very suspensful,and adds an additional element of fear.The acting is brilliant. Brad Dourif is devilishly good as the voice of Chucky.The human actors are very convincing as well.And although many people say CP is very funny,beware.Unlike the three sequels that followed, the original CP has plenty of thrills and chills.The beginning and ending sequences really freaked me out when I first saw this. It still does oftentimes.The photography is also slightly "filthy",adding some more suspense.The three following sequels did not have a "filthy" picture.There are some pretty humorous moments too,but CP relies more on scares than humor.Overall, Child's Play is a brilliant slasher movie that's a very welcome addition to a horror fan's library.It may be a bit childish for some considering that the star of the show is a doll,and gore hounds may be a bit disappointed as the level of gore isn't very high (though some killing scenes are gross,like the voodoo doll sequence and Chucky's demise).Also,Chucky has hardly any one-liners,which in Child's Play 2-4 are absolutely loveable. Still,this is a slasher flick well worth your time and cash. Buy it.
Rated R for some gory slasher violence and language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DOES THE KILLER DOLL SCHTICK WORK??, September 12, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Child's Play (DVD)
Well, I've always thought that certain dolls looked creepy, and Tom Holland and Don Mancini have certainly taken advantage of that minor phobia and created a film called Child's Play. In order to come up with a "convincing" reason to why this doll has sprang into animation and gone on a killing spree, it deals with the subject of voodoo. Charles Lee Ray, better known as Chucky, was a serial killer imbibed in the arts of voodoo and black magic. Maybe that characteristic about him was intended to augment the intensity, but you might overlook it except during the times when he's murmuring that foreign vocabulary. Anyway, during an attempted escape from a detective, Chucky is shot and pretty soon dying. He needs to transfer his soul into another body in order to preserve his life. It turns out the only available body is that of an ugly, My Buddy rip-off doll, known as Good Guys. You can figure out what happens from there. The Good Guy dolls are apparently the Pokemons and Tickle Me Elmos in the movie, and a distinctive young child named Andy Barclay wants one. His mother, a jewelry shop worker, buys a doll from a peddler... and then the weird stuff starts happening. After a series of murders, young Andy is believed to be mentally disturbed when he stays firm in the belief that Chucky can walk and talk like any normal person can. The detective who shot down Chucky, soon becomes the protector and advocate of the Barclay family.
Okay, it's a cheesy premise. The fact that Chucky is a killer doll might intrigue some, might make most laugh. But, really, if you watch it, you'll see that it's a very stylish horror film. I always believe that its strong point was how it obscured Chucky for a good enough portion of the film, revealing him in full motion at the height of intensity. Now that is what I call masterful directing on behalf of a horror film. Holland, as horror fans know, directed Fright Night and wrote Psycho 2. If it weren't for the directing and maybe even the writing, this movie would have been a complete disaster. The acting is nothing to brag about. I also think this movie is quite good because it overcomes a great obstacle: how does a tiny doll kill all these people? Well, it all has to do with Chucky's obscurity. He hides around, messes around with people's heads, and then springs out at them when they least expect it. Chucky is not given a lot of strength in this film- he is just clever and diabolic.
Keep in mind that I am not rating this film with three stars because I think it is a worthwhile movie for mass audiences. I am simply rating it so high because I have a favoritism to horror flicks. Child's Play is nowhere near the best horror film, but hey, it's great for sleepovers and is never truly boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic horror film, with tons of laughs!, January 19, 2000
This is an absolutely great horror movie, that will make you laugh out loud. The " Child's Play " series has always been a fun series to watch, with it's wonderful gore, wonderful humor and ofcourse the wonderful Chucky! I always have had a great time laughing while watching these movies. And I can't wait for the next film. I mean it's so funny watching Chucky killing people, because he's so little, and it's also so funny that in every one of these films he's ultimately determined! Chucky is just a wondeful horror villain. Chucky has been spawned by the great horror villains, Freddy, Jason, Michael Myers, Leatherface, Norman Bates, Pinhead etc. And coming along with these other great horror villains of many sequels, Chucky has even homaged them in " Bride Of Chucky. " Well, here's your plot to the film that introduced the little one! Andy Barclay's this little fan of the GOOD GUYS t.v. show. He watches it all the time. And when it's revealed that GOOD GUY dolls are being released, he's just gotta have one! Eventually his mother, played by Katherine Hicks, purchases one of the GOOD GUY dolls off of a homeless man. Only, this doll isn't your ordinary hug-buddy, he's been possessed by the soul of the lake-shore strangler, Charles Lee Ray a.k.a. Chucky. And all hell breaks loose!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars By far the best Chucky movie!, October 31, 2004
By 
Jim "Pimmy" (LINDENHURST, NY, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Child's Play (DVD)
Andy is a young boy who has no friends and wants this talking doll who's saying is "friends till the end". It is his dream birthday present and his mom manages to get him one from a bum off the street. The doll just happens to be possessed by a dead serial killer. The boy and the mom slowly realize this. Once they realize that the doll is evil and is killing people they need to try to convince other people including a cop played by Chris Sarandin (Fright Night). Chucky also wants out of doll form and eventually trys to get in Andy's body by chanting some special voo doo words lol. Anyway this movie is far more smart, scary and original than the sequels. The sequels just get dumber and dumber. Actually seeing the doll make these evil faces and cursing the first scene that Chucky reveals himself to the mother is both fun and scary. Now seeing him curse and be mean in the new movies is played out and just not scary any more. All the originality and freshness can only be found in this movie. I mean now Chucky has a wife he got pregnant, dolls have sperm ? lol. So that's about as dumb the sequels got and can get after this smart and scary original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars GREAT MOVIE!!!...WHEN I WAS 9 YEARS OLD., February 5, 2004
This review is from: Child's Play (DVD)
When I was a 9 years old kid, this movie really scared me. Not because of the concept of a killer doll, but because the idea of using black magic to transport a human soul into a cute doll is quite disturbing. I thought this movie was one of the best horror films ever made. Plus, Chucky is a very charismatic dude, so I liked this movie a lot.
13 years later, and many movies later, I realized that even if the concept sounds great on paper, "Child's Play" is a flawed movie.
After seen this movie about 10 times since I was a kid, I discover 6 basic rules you should know about Chucky:
1).- CHUCKY WILL OVERPOWER YOU: Even if you weight 30 times more than him, he is capable of knock you down with his hands, he can throw you from a window, he can beat you with a baseball bat or a hammer, he can choke you to death with his tiny, soft hand, he doesn't even need two hands, with only one hand he will finish your life.
2).- CHUCKY HAS SHARP TEETHES: his rubber teethes are so strong that his bite is worst than the bite of a rabid dog. He will provoke you a deep wound on your arm.
3).- CHUCKY CAN TALK: even if Chucky doesn't have vocal chords, he can talk, he can scream, he can recite voodoo spells, he can pack the sky with dark clouds and frightening lightnings while he transfers his soul into your body.
4).- CHUCKY IS FAST: No matter how fast you can run, he will outrun you with his short, soft legs. Also he can reach the top of a building in less than a minute, and he will sneak into your apartment to kill you.
5).- CHUCKY CAN OPEN DOORS: Chucky is short, but he still is able of reaching high locks, high windows, high elevator controls. Also he can sneak into your car, even if you lock the door.
6).- CHUCKY CAN BLEED: As time goes by, Chucky becomes more and more human, he can feel the pain, he can bleed, but the only way to kill him is if you shoot him exactly in the center of his heart. It doesn't matter if you chop his head, cut his arms and legs, or if you burn his entire body, he will come back until you destroy his human heart.
BONUS: Hide your female dolls, because Chucky could leave your doll pregnant, and his evil, plastic son will attack you with his sharp teethes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great horror film. Best Living doll movie ever., December 18, 2000
This review is from: Child's Play (DVD)
I really love this movie. First of all, it ended that terrible my buddy phase with children. I remembered my sister had one of the "My Buddy" dolls (which look like Chucky) and once she saw the TV commerical for this movie she threw it away in the fireplace. I don't blame her, Chucky is very scary at some sequences in this movie. The director probably intended that, because almost every one is scared of dolls. I mean look at them with their human like eyes, they look like they're thinking about something, it really disturbs me. So let's talk about the actually movie now. The opening sequence introduces you to Chucky, a serial killer who is in quite a bind with the police as of now. At the end of the chase Chucky ends up in a toy store and is shot. His dying words are a strange voodoo curse (which strangely resemble the ingredients of Arby's food) that transfer his soul to another body. The body is, you guessed it a doll. Then, the film is interrupted with a CHEESY CARTOON! You have to see the good guy doll commercial, you won't forget it anytime soon. So, some dorky child witnesses this atrocity and for some strange, unknown reason he wants to buy a good guy doll. His mom goes to her favorite toy buying source, some ugly stinky HOBO! Yes sir, I turn to hobos for my consumer needs as well. Anyway, she buys a good guy doll from the old heffer and brings it to her overjoyed little squirt. Soon after STRANGE THINGS begin to occur. (Ex: The boy asks if his doll can...WATCH THE 9'OCLOCK NEWS HOW SHOCKING!) Anyway some people start dying and murder by murder they begin to realize that the hobo ripped them off...BIG TIME! Some very scary stuff though in this movie. A reccommended buy for anyone with even a remote interest in horror.
Scariest Moment (thrill spoiler): Catherine Hicks picks up the doll and looks in it's back only to reveal it never had batteries in it. Then Chucky's head spins around and screams, "I'm CHUCKY WANNA PLAY?" That scene made me turn off the movie for a while so i could relax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Child's Play [Blu-ray]
Child's Play [Blu-ray] by Child's Play (Blu-ray - 2011)
$16.99 $11.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.