Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT TOOL FOR ADVANCED STUDENTS
First, I would like to say that i'm really happy with my purchase.

I bought the cards vol1 and vol2 by amazon, both are great, excellent price-value, and exceeded my expectations.

Second, this cards are not for begginers, are not to learn by yourself, you have to know pinyin and have some formal instruction before use this cards, in particular with...
Published on November 18, 2005 by Carolina Hernandez Diaz

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Font incredibly small
I liked the idea and the layout, unfortunatley, they have used a font which is incredibly difficult to read.
Published on May 6, 2007 by Christopher Benoist


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT TOOL FOR ADVANCED STUDENTS, November 18, 2005
This review is from: Chinese in a Flash Volume 2 (Tuttle Flash Cards) (Cards)
First, I would like to say that i'm really happy with my purchase.

I bought the cards vol1 and vol2 by amazon, both are great, excellent price-value, and exceeded my expectations.

Second, this cards are not for begginers, are not to learn by yourself, you have to know pinyin and have some formal instruction before use this cards, in particular with volume 2, that introduces more complicated symbols .

Third, can help you with simplified chinese and traditional.

Fourth, each card include valuable information as:

1.-Meaning

2.-Pinyin

3.-Radical

4.-Chinese Proverb or expression that use that word in pinyin/hanzi/english.-

5.-3 or 4 common words that includes the symbol (pinyin/hanzi/english)

However, the volume 2 doesn't include the order of the strokes.

Volume 1 includes the order. I have no idea the volumes why are different, or i received and older version of volume 2, but for me it's the only lack of this cards.-

Finally, the cards are in package that has the shape of a book. That it's great to carry the cards everywhere.

This it's important for me because i used other cards before and the box was a nightmare, every day the box opened in my purse, and i have to order de 500 cards by number again.

I totally recommend this volume.

Sincerely

Carolina from the south of the world

PD: Sorry for my english, i speak spanish and some chinese
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful Tool for Learning Chinese Characters, October 30, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chinese in a Flash Volume 2 (Tuttle Flash Cards) (Cards)
Since I have both "Chinese in a Flash" and "Chinese Character Flashcards 888" flashcard sets, I wanted to offer a comparison between the two.

Flashcards 888 are organized in the order of frequency of use of characters; Chinese in a Flash are arranged in the order of frequency and complexity. Someone learning Chinese language is more likely to encounter characters in the order presented in Chinese in a Flash cards.

Flashcards 888 are of a sturdier quality than Chinese in a Flash cards.

Both are approximately the same size.

Both have radicals mentioned. On Flashcards 888, radicals are provided in the upper right corner on the front of the card; on Chinese in a Flash cards, beside the radical is also noted the name of the character as well as character components.

On Flashcards 888, you'll also find a stroke order, helpful to know when you practice writing characters; Chinese in a Flash cards, do not provide a stroke order.

Both sets also mention several character combinations, together with their pronounciation in pinyin and the meaning in English.

Chinese in a Flash also provide a sample sentence where the particular character / word is used; Flashcards 888 don't.

Flashcards come in one set of 888 cards; Chinese in Flash come in two sets of 448 cards.

I am very happy with both sets and enjoy using them both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Printing error on this set of cards, February 27, 2006
This review is from: Chinese in a Flash Volume 2 (Tuttle Flash Cards) (Cards)
Vol. 2 of Chinese in a Flash (flashcards) has a printing error. The top of the front of the cards is the same edge as the top of the back of the cards. This means you cannot "flip" the card by holding it on the side to read the back of the card. Vol. 1 of this set is printed correctly so you you can flip them by holding the side of the card. This makes it a real pain when trying to mix cards from both sets. Tuttle Publishing realizes this problem and corrected cards will be available the end of April 2006. Tuttle may be contacted for an excahnge if you already have the misprinted second set. Otherwise these cards have been useful to me when used with the asociated books in my study of Chinese characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners., May 8, 2007
By 
D. Beck (Dallas, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chinese in a Flash Volume 2 (Tuttle Flash Cards) (Cards)
I am learning Chinese & these flashcards are great! They are a very nice size to carry around, plus they have several different words listed at the bottom of the card that also use the character. They show the simplified & original character. The biggest plus for me is they show you the order in which to write the character (they only show order on the simplified character)! I would highly recommend these cards if you are learning Mandarin Chinese.

Volume 2 does not repeat words from Vol. 1, but just builds a bigger vocabulary. This is very helpful as you advance in learning Mandarin Chinese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Font incredibly small, May 6, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chinese in a Flash Volume 2 (Tuttle Flash Cards) (Cards)
I liked the idea and the layout, unfortunatley, they have used a font which is incredibly difficult to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great second step in learning Chinese characters, December 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chinese in a Flash Volume 2 (Tuttle Flash Cards) (Cards)
These cards most likely will be your second purchase in your study of written Chinese if you have previously purchased the 1st iteration of Tuttle cards. The character progression is thoughtful and gradual as the first set as you begin common words and progress to more difficult ones.

The cards are made of the same high-quality card-stock that the first set was made of that doesn't wear easily; I have carried the cards around in my pocket for months with a rubber-band around them without noticeable damage to the cards.

The cards do no come with a carrying case which would be beneficial to keep them organized. I found a small plastic case which fit the cards almost perfectly from another flashcard set that I had purchased; I cannot remember the name of the product as the plastic case is the only thing that has survived.

I recommend a thorough study of spoken Chinese before moving on to written as it will give you a better understanding of how the words that you are learning on the cards are used in context. The example sentences are great but are not all-inclusive of the situations in which certain words can be used.

A great product overall and I would highly recommend to any student of the Chinese language. The pinyin for pronunciation on these cards is for Mandarin Chinese but the meaning of many of the characters also reflects the Cantonese meaning as well (though the pinyin for that dialect is not included on this particular set of cards).

Happy Studying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FLASH CARDS...CHINESE, December 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chinese in a Flash Volume 2 (Tuttle Flash Cards) (Cards)
THESE ARE JUST WONDERFUL.....GET THEM ALL. ALSO, THE OLDER BOOKS WILL EXPLAIN HOW THESE WORDS MEAN WHAT THEY DO.....IF YOU ARE INTERESTED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok... But could be much better, May 29, 2013
By 
karene (woodland hills, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chinese in a Flash Volume 2 (Tuttle Flash Cards) (Cards)
First off, being able to purchase pre-printed flashcards is great. I have purchased both volumes - one and two. And having had around two years of formal instruction in a class setting and a few years of self study this is my take on these cards:

I'm only writing this review because these cards are a bit frustrating. Like I said, the preprinted cards save me a lot of time, but the way they have translated the words makes it difficult to understand what the words mean. The example sentences use the sample character in a way that is unnecessarily complicated- making it difficult to understand how I could use the word. I'm simply memorizing characters without grasping the real meaning of the word. Furthermore, when I input the characters into google translate, I often find different meanings. It seems like they are written by a native speaker but not double checked by someone who is a non-native. But they could have made it a bit easier to understand how to use the words properly. They could have also used simpler vocabulary in these sentences. These cards would be better for someone with a solid intermediate understanding of the characters. Someone who is already familiar with how these words are used and needs to polish off their knowledge - These would be great.

I thought I would share this experience to others, but also the publishers if they happen to read this. Please make the examples and the sample phrases more simple and ultimately more clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The cards would be MUCH more useful if they were larger, January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chinese in a Flash Volume 2 (Tuttle Flash Cards) (Cards)
I should not have to wear glasses to read the text on these cards. There is fine print on them. That's probably OK if you are sitting at a desk and are formally looking at these, but when you are on the go and glancing at them, you need the text to be larger. You need to see it easily. It would be easier to memorize if it were easy to see at a glance, rather than a steady stare...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great flash cards, October 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chinese in a Flash Volume 2 (Tuttle Flash Cards) (Cards)
Im very glad with this bought, its helping me to improved my study of chinese and the best its that I can take it to everewhere I go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Chinese in a Flash Volume 2 (Tuttle Flash Cards)
Chinese in a Flash Volume 2 (Tuttle Flash Cards) by Philip Yungkin Lee (Cards - June 15, 2004)
Used & New from: $8.21
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.