Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gift of Adventure
Deb Troehler's maiden opus is rich material. Teachers, parents and children can successfully mine this little story for many treasures. Educators and parents will welcome a story that is well thought-out and meticulously seeded with so many launching points for lessons, activities, and curious questions. Chipo's Gift is twice as precious because children are given a very...
Published on March 12, 2009

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed
I bought this book to use as part of our month long study on butterflies and other insects because 1) it had excellent reviews, 2) I found a lesson plan online for it and 3) I thought it would be inspiring. We didn't find it inspiring at all. Chipo does not follow his dream (other than to climb to the top of the tree). He accidentally gets trapped in a suitcase and...
Published on March 30, 2012 by Maty


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gift of Adventure, March 12, 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Chipo's Gift (Paperback)
Deb Troehler's maiden opus is rich material. Teachers, parents and children can successfully mine this little story for many treasures. Educators and parents will welcome a story that is well thought-out and meticulously seeded with so many launching points for lessons, activities, and curious questions. Chipo's Gift is twice as precious because children are given a very engaging story to wrap their minds around. From a simple story line, Deb Troehler weaves a delightful tale that will send children to interesting places, shift their perspective, and inspire them to explore their gifts.

Chipo is a mopane worm living in a mopani tree with her other brothers and sisters. She and her brothers and sisters lived the simple life of eating mopani leaves everyday until the day of their long sleep, which would turn them into mopane moths like their elders. Chipo however is more curious and more daring than her brothers and sisters. Who else but a curious little worm would discover that rain the night before plus the morning sun would cause beautiful jeweled droplets of different colors at the top of her mopani tree!

That curiosity starts her off on an extraordinary trip. The start of Chipo's adventure, when she sees the "two trees with leaves of every color imaginable" for the first time, became my favorite part of the story because of how the writing and the illustration was sequenced in the book. The tree is described in the previous page, and as I turned to the next page to see its picture I let out a surprised "oh!" and knew Chipo was on her way to very new and different places. Throughout the adventure, Chipo's curiosity never flags, her adventurous spirit never wanes, and her family is ever in her heart. Readers will be charmed by this spunky little creature and will root for her every step of the way.

I admired how compact yet rich this story was. Aside from touching on geography and biology, the author's website also offers a number of exercises and activities that build skills in art, math and science. I was so pleased at how comprehensive an experience the author tried to create for this book that I actually searched for Deb Troehler online to understand the creative process she pursued. My search was to satisfy my own curiosity, but the desire to launch off to other interesting pursuits of new knowledge inspired by so charming a story is something readers (and those being read aloud to) will experience. I can sense the power of this story: it is a launching pad for new adventures of the young mind.

Whether it is to look up South Africa, inspire young minds to value their gifts and explore their world, or check the author's website to look at educational activities tied to the story, readers of Chipo's Gift will set out on a bigger adventure than they expected from a simple story, just like our little mopani heroine did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-warming, August 22, 2008
By 
This review is from: Chipo's Gift (Paperback)
Chipo's gift is a heart-warming tale about taking risks, adapting to unexpected circumstances, and the ultimate resiliency of nature (and the human spirit). Very often young children see themselves as unimportant, unable to accomplish tasks thrust upon them, and unwilling to strive through and surpass diffucult cirumstances. The youth of today theoretically live in their own cocoon, anticipating a future that seems daunting and uncertain. Just as Chipo is surprised and amazed at his own reflection in the puddle, children will one day find their own special gift awaitng them on the "other side of childhood." Adults and young people alike will enjoy the message of hope found in a small (and seemingly insignificant) mopane worm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring Tale for Young and Old, April 25, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chipo's Gift (Paperback)
Deb Troehler has created a very sweet and inspiring tale with CHIPO'S GIFT. Set initially in South Africa, the little worm lives a peaceful life, but seeks more, and is eventually whisked away to a faraway land. She had been happy in her treetop home, relishing the beauty of the trees, and especially of the rainbow colors she saw each morning reflected in the dew drops. She looked forward to the time that she would awake from her "long sleep" to become a beautiful adult, with colorful wings, and to be able to soar around freely to explore more of the world's beauty.

When she followed her curiosity higher and higher into the tree top, she was thrilled by the beauty she saw, but she slipped and fell into a tree with leaves of "every color imaginable." What a surprise for Chipo, and for the reader to turn the page and see, that she had landed on a clothesline filled with beautiful, colorful African garments!

Before she knew it, she found herself in a strange and different land. The illustration, which showed clearly her voyage from the south of Africa to North America, added that geographical detail to enrich the story. The little worm's ability to adapt and be resourceful is a lesson for us all, as life throws us unexpected curves. At the end, she wakes from her "long sleep" to discover her own beautiful wing colors reflected in a puddle of water. SHE had become the beauty she sought, and now SHE could soar. Such a gift, to realize one's special talents. This lesson, that everyone has special gifts to develop, is an encourgaging one for young children.

Having taught kindergarten (yes, raising caterpillars, of course!), the elementary grades, and middle school English and history, I know this tale would be appreciated by many ages, at many levels. The illustrations, done by the author herself, are colorful and detailed, luring young children in to study and imagine. Charming and well-written, this would be a good addition to home and school libraries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stories for Children Magazine 5 Star Review, June 3, 2009
This review is from: Chipo's Gift (Paperback)
REVIEWED BY: Wayne S. Walker, reviewer with Stories for Children Magazine

Do you know what a mopane worm is and where it can be found? Chipo is an ordinary mopane worm who lives on the South African plain with her brothers and sisters in their mopani tree. She eats leaves and plays with the elder moths. While she knows that she must grow strong and be ready for her long sleep, she is very curious and not totally satisfied with her life. One day, after a rainstorm, she sees a rainbow as the sun reflects off the water droplets, so she climbs higher and higher to find another rainbow. There she notices a pair of "trees" much different from hers with "leaves" that are very colorful. When she goes to investigate, she is accidentally sent on an amazing journey that leads to a new life. What is going to happen to Chipo? And will she be able to adapt?

The name "Chipo" comes from the African nation of Zimbabwe and means "gift." Most of us think of a gift as just a present, but as children have this book read to them, they will learn that a gift can be much more than that. Sometimes a "gift" is an opportunity. Even though Chico's new life is not exactly what she had imagined, she learns to make the best of what occurs. Children will be encouraged to follow their dreams as well. Also, the story contains interesting information about the habitat and life cycle of mopane worms. Author Deb Troehler is a former special education teacher, and her website contains free educational resources, which include a multi-disciplinary thematic unit with extension activities for parents and teachers to use with children. Chipo's Gift is a fascinating book that I believe children will really enjoy, and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story about following your dreams!, September 15, 2008
This review is from: Chipo's Gift (Paperback)
What a wonderful lesson to teach children and adults! Chipo is a mopane worm that realizes that sometimes you have to take some risks and follow your dreams to truly be happy. Ms. Troehler also points out that we all have a special gift waiting to be explored. What a delightful story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful little story, October 11, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chipo's Gift (Paperback)
This story was so inspiring and special for both myself and my 5 yr old granddaughter. Recommend this highly! Gorgeous illustrations, sweet story, an A++++ read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chipo's Gift, August 28, 2008
By 
This review is from: Chipo's Gift (Paperback)
Absolutely wonderful book for children and adults alike. Great life experiences in there. Everyone needs to read this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed, March 30, 2012
By 
Maty "matylovesbooks" (Long Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chipo's Gift (Paperback)
I bought this book to use as part of our month long study on butterflies and other insects because 1) it had excellent reviews, 2) I found a lesson plan online for it and 3) I thought it would be inspiring. We didn't find it inspiring at all. Chipo does not follow his dream (other than to climb to the top of the tree). He accidentally gets trapped in a suitcase and shipped to the USA, never to see his family again. It was not his choice, or his bravery that got him there. It was pure dumb luck, wrong place at the wrong time! My children sort of felt sad for him.

What's more, do not use this book as part of a study unless you are studying this type of South African moth, because he doesn't make a cocoon or crysalis. He burrows into the ground!

Very disappointed in the "storyline" of this book and surprised by the reviews!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Chipo's Gift
Chipo's Gift by Deb Troehler (Paperback - August 12, 2008)
$7.65 $6.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.