Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a Steam Activation code
This is a Steam account activation. You must log in to Steam and
1) select 'Games' menu
2) select 'Activate a product on Steam'
3) enter your code

Worked like a charm after that. Took me forever to figure out HOW to enter the code.
Published 12 months ago by Sipmacallan

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars needs more classes
need more classes. too laggy but is a good game. there is not enough weapons one of my fav games
Published 7 months ago by Owen Pichette


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a Steam Activation code, September 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chivalry: Medieval Warfare [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
This is a Steam account activation. You must log in to Steam and
1) select 'Games' menu
2) select 'Activate a product on Steam'
3) enter your code

Worked like a charm after that. Took me forever to figure out HOW to enter the code.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep coming back for more, April 25, 2014
By 
Matt (California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chivalry: Medieval Warfare [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I put 200 hours into this game and then left it to play other games; but when those games get boring, I find myself always going back to Chivalry. Why? There is no other game where you can put your melee slashing skills to the test against other player controlled characters. Sure there is War of the Rose, but even then the mechanics are much different and less satisfying and less tactics involved.

I find myself finding new tactics to slash my opponents and dodge their attacks. If you are tired of point and shoot first-person/third-person games, then this one is for you. Let me explain a little how your skill and diversity of combos can affect gameplay. Example one: Vanguard. He is a medium armored soldier, with heavier weaponry. He is faster than the knight, but slower than the other two classes. He has the longest weapons: Spears, poleaxes, bastard swords. These weapons are slower but tend to do more damage. The trick is getting a strike in on your opponent. My favorite weapon with the Vanguard is the long, crooked bastard sword. It is the longest two-handed weapon in the game. Normally, you can't get a strike in before someone can use a single-handed weapon to cut your head. However, this game is based on skill, strategy and tactics. You could wait until you are with an ally and then you can get some hits in on your opponent. Or you could wait until your opponent is distracted and come up from behind. Or, you can crouch and swing overhead, causing the edge of the sword near the hilt to hit his head before he knows what has happened. Or, you can crouch and duck to avoid a horizontal swing and then get yours in while he is rebounded from the missed attack. Or, you can do an alternate swing from the left hand, turn slightly to the right to make contact with the sword sooner. Or, you could start an attack, feint, which stops the attack; the opponent goes to block, then his defenses come down and you get in your attack. Or, you kick him, knock him off balance and then attack. Or, you start you long swing, but tilt away from your opponent so the swing comes in later; he misstimes your attack and goes to parry too soon; then he is open to attack. Or, you can run away from the opponent, start your swing while running away, then turn back on him half-way through the swing and make contact. There are so many other tactics and ways you can dodge, block, parry, and attack that this game is just play fun.

Short story: if you value skill based games, this is the best one I have comes across to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hours of fun for a great price., March 5, 2014
This review is from: Chivalry: Medieval Warfare [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
If you can snag this game during a Steam sale like I did, you can get it for as cheap as $6. Hours and hours of fun. There aren't really any other games like it. First person slasher, great real-time combat. There is so much potential for new player created maps etc. I compare it to Day of Defeat, but with swords and arrows instead of WW2 guns. Good amount of gore and bodies, great sound and atmosphere. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarity ensues., February 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chivalry: Medieval Warfare [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
First: don't expect an entirely polished product. I've encountered some bugs in my hundred or so hours -- most problematic, the servers stopped saving my level progression at level 5, so I essentially restart every day at that point (although my weapons unlock normally). TB's been working to fix a number of them, but it still won't be a glitch-free experience.

Having said that, this game is hands down, bar none, the funniest MP game I've ever played (and it's solely MP here). This is helped along by one of the best online communities I've encountered. Serious servers can be found if you look, and every single pub match I've played has been accepting and friendly. Free-for-all, in particular, is hilarious; momentary alliances are formed as one opponent roars, "Kill the archer!," seconds before a rogue vanguard charges in to decapitate them all. And there's nothing quite like the experience of dueling a pink-clad knight who constantly taunts you with jeers of "Nay, my lord."

The game is not entirely balanced; a man-at-arms in the hands of a skilled player is almost unbeatable, the vanguard charge is a bit too OP, and the knight's health is way too high, but I've found that this generally adds to the fun rather than takes away from it (so long as you have the right mindset). Skill is there for the taking, too, once you progress beyond LMB spamming to more advanced tactics.

The graphics are fairly spot on; the audio mostly gets out of the way (with the exception of the knight's voice-commands, which are some of my favorite voice-commands in any game -- right up there with the heavy in TF2). The mechanics are tight -- hits and blocks feel solid, swings feel responsive.

Like I said above, don't expect any SP -- there isn't any, excluding the tutorial. But if what you're looking for is chaotic, hilarious medieval-themed combat, don't look any further than this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, User Friendly, Jump into Action., January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chivalry: Medieval Warfare [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
This is a great game. Put your knight--or archer, pikeman, and man-at-arms--suit on and jump back into a Renaissance Faire. Graphics are realistic with blood effects I would assume are true to life. You can clop off peoples heads, arms, and legs--even shout a battle cry. Combo moves and move your weapon with the click of a mouse. Move the mouse around mid-attack to guid your strike. Very user friendly and functional. The game is hilarious as well as it is being a historical simulation. Just give it a try or watch some YouTube videos before you do.

I tried it out via a Steam Free 2 Play weekend. I loved it, so I bought it when I had the opportunity. This game will provide you a fun experience.

Note: It takes some time to get very good with the weaponry, as it is not like a Call of Duty point and shoot, arcade game. Some may find their first few fights frustrating but will eventually get the hang of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard but fun, December 21, 2013
This review is from: Chivalry: Medieval Warfare [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Chivalry has easily one of the hardest learning curves that I have came across in a game, yet also one of the most rewarding ones. The graphics are quite good too just be sure to know that it's heavily multiplayer based and there is no singleplayer mode at all. Definitely worth the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chivalry: Medieval Warfare Review by Dad's Gaming Addiction, October 30, 2013
This review is from: Chivalry: Medieval Warfare [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
In the end, "Chivalry: Medieval Warfare" makes me want to watch the siege battles in the Lord of the Rings movies again for the umpteenth time this year. It's a great way to unwind for the day without having to think too much, but the combat mechanics will still keep you engaged nonetheless. I'm not a big fan of games that feature multiplayer arenas (mainly because I'm terrible at them), but I took to this particular one almost right away. It is unique and a lot of fun to play, even if you find yourself at the wrong end of a longsword more often than not. This game is best played online, with friends. A not-so-friendly interface / manual will make newcomers scratch their heads in regards to how to access certain features and there are still bugs to be worked out. The "create game" feature feels like an afterthought as it is missing some vital settings, but the game shines where it needs to. Bottom line: whether you're a fan of the medieval era like myself or in need of a new multiplayer arena fix, "Chivalry: Medieval Warfare" won't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Game, January 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chivalry: Medieval Warfare [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Very enjoyable game. Hacking and slashing makes a refreshing change to all the shooters that are around. Loses a star for the rank up/weapon unlock bug.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Medieval meets value., November 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chivalry: Medieval Warfare [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
This game for the price is awesome, have spent countless hours playing and slashing my way to victory. There is a learning curve but don't get frustrated, stick with it and you will over time become better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my most favorite games!, October 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chivalry: Medieval Warfare [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I spend way more hours than I care to admit playing this game. The melee combat system is very intuitive and everything's well balanced. For anyone looking for anything a bit different then "Brown and Grey Desert Shooter 349" this is exactly what you're looking for! The community is still very active so it's easy to find servers with good ping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare [Online Game Code]
$24.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.