Customer Reviews


163 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


96 of 107 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chloe: An interesting look at redemption
Atom Egoyan's new film Chloe tells a story that's been told many times before, the tale of the woman scorned. But the new perspective that Egoyan brings to the erotic thriller genre, that makes it more original and provocative than any film I've seen this year.

Julianne Moore's portrayal of the heroine, Catherine Stewart, is near perfect. Moore has really been...
Published on April 3, 2010 by M. Bullions

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing yet Flawed
A film that works as both a mild psychological thriller and a brief portrait of a marriage in tatters, Chloe is grounded solely by its otherwise stellar cast. Rising star Amanda Seyfried plays the titular character, an alluring icy blond escort who is hired by Catherine (Julianne Moore), a doctor who suspects that her professor husband David (Liam Neeson) is cheating her...
Published on August 27, 2010 by S. McGee


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

96 of 107 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chloe: An interesting look at redemption, April 3, 2010
By 
This review is from: Chloe (DVD)
Atom Egoyan's new film Chloe tells a story that's been told many times before, the tale of the woman scorned. But the new perspective that Egoyan brings to the erotic thriller genre, that makes it more original and provocative than any film I've seen this year.

Julianne Moore's portrayal of the heroine, Catherine Stewart, is near perfect. Moore has really been at the top of her game lately. In A Single Man, she played a character that she also brought great depth to, despite having only about fifteen minutes of air-time. In Chloe, she plays an upper middle-class gynecologist, who has been married to David (Liam Neeson) for many years. She suspects that he's having an affair, after noticing his flirtacious banter with a waitress, and after missing a flight, and his surprise birthday party. And just like that, her long simmering suspicions rise to the surface.

Finding no answer other than infidelity, she hires an escort, played by Amanda Seyfried, in the title role, to seduce her husband, to see his reaction. She finds herself "directing" she and her husband's encounters, giving Chloe notes on how to react to certain things that her husband says and does. Ergo, the fireworks start, and needless to say, lies are told and people get hurt.

This is Julianne Moore's best work in years. She has a knack for giving emotionally devastating performances, and she's in top form here. Her ability to say so much with saying so little, never ceases to amaze me. But the true star here is Amanda Seyfried, who gives the performance of her career. Her repertoire includes mostly comedies, like Mean Girls and Mamma Mia, but the amount of dramatic depth that she brings to the table is unbelievable. Playing a complicated character, you never know what her next move is, and it's interesting to see where it goes, ultimately until the earth-shattering conclusion. Seyfried's large, expressive eyes, tell you what her character is going through, and it's another case, where so much is said, when so little is actually spoken. The supporting cast, of course, includes Liam Neeson, who is always excellent, as Catherine's philandering husband, and he essentially does his job. There's not a whole lot of room in this picture, for his character to evolve. More attention is paid to the female leads.

What separates this from the countless stories of mistrust and infidelity, is the eerie and surprisingly profound tone that Egoyan brings to the table. It's a very mature, classy, smart film that deals with trust, loyalty, and love, and how, after so long, love can vanish, and an emotion can take over that you never would have expected to feel. And plus the settings are gorgeous. Jim Lambie, the set decorator of films like Heaven on Earth, and Egoyan's Adoration, brings a modern sense of traditionalism to the look of the film, especially the main setting of the Stewart household. And, also, the score, masterfully composed by Mychael Danna, brings out so much emotion, and tension to the table. Shattering orchestra crescendos, in pivotal scenes, bring more feeling, and intensity to the overall tone of the picture.

But, in the end, it's Egoyan's patient and thoughtful pacing, and an excellent performance by Amanda Seyfried that really stand out. It's a very mature, intricate experience that takes its time with developing each character, and brings a stunning conclusion that sets it apart from other stories of its kind. Its portrayal of lust and erotic desire, and the vulnerability of love, itself, will leave you breathless. Egoyan's use of an elegant, gliding camera, traps his characters against windows and mirrors, to signify how trapped a person can feel in their own life. And Egoyan's ability to never tell a story on one level, and his knack for adding layer, after layer to each character, makes the effect that the film has all the more effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars awesomely sexy, August 18, 2010
This review is from: Chloe (DVD)
i thought it had a really good cast and that the dynamic between the characters was really good too. it was nice to see amanda seyfried doing a new kind of role and she did an excellent job at portraying "chloe". julianne moore is pretty much awesome in whatever she does and this was no different. liam neeson wasn't there for some of the shooting because of natasha richardson's skiing accident; but he managed to film all his scenes over a short period of time. i thought this movie was very good (including the storyline) and very sexy too. you aren't really sure what is going on (the truth) until near the end of the movie. the sex scenes are also very hot. i recommend at least giving it a chance and not to be fooled by the negative reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing yet Flawed, August 27, 2010
By 
S. McGee (Brandon, Fl USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chloe (Amazon Instant Video)
A film that works as both a mild psychological thriller and a brief portrait of a marriage in tatters, Chloe is grounded solely by its otherwise stellar cast. Rising star Amanda Seyfried plays the titular character, an alluring icy blond escort who is hired by Catherine (Julianne Moore), a doctor who suspects that her professor husband David (Liam Neeson) is cheating her. Chloe's job is simple; lure the husband into a compromising position and see if he takes the bait. But what begins as a simple plan quickly turns into something much more complex and potentially devastating for all parties involved. The mounting tension among the film's two core relationships promises much during the film's running time, but it drifts into its third act in a manner that ultimately sabotages the story and keeps it from becoming something truly memorable, ending with more of a whisper versus a bang. While it cleverly uses the classic psycho-sexual thriller Fatal Attraction as a worthy framework, Chloe took the premise and gave it a refreshing twist and that alone is worth giving it a rental viewing. Aside from that, view the film for what should be regarded as Amanda Seyfried's breakout performance. If anything should be remembered after walking away, it's that the young doe-eyed actress definitely has the talent to pull of a serious role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chloe is so hot, ... and dangerous., November 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chloe [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
There are numerous fatal attraction movies out there, and you're thinking who needs another? How many Rocky sequels (7) do we need, right? As every movie takes some aspects from its predecessors, the majority of movie releases are rarely original material, and hence exist a degree of predictability. But somehow this flick is one grabs you and with an artistic creation that impacts your mind, and will still linger.

The French is the unmatched nativity of erotic thrillers, so the Americans had to borrow some of Nathalie (this movie's predecessor), and it worked out brilliantly here. Add that to smooth, natural characters who play so well, they're all very believable, and a plot where a thin line exists with every decision these characters make. The storyline is like a ride to place these characters as a catalyst or template to frame yourself in.

The whole premise or driving force is the irony that even though Catherine was being "cheated on," she was the one in power, control, and decision making (calling the shots) in the "business transaction" boss of hiring Chloe. Catherine had the div's (inside scoop) of her husband David's every actions/reactions. Chloe is weakened by the succumbed-damnation in her chain of desire for Catherine. However, it is Catherine who becomes snarled and tangled in her own web. This futility is like a never ending battle of self desire, control and empowerment. And we the audience are sucked in as well. I'll leave the rest of the details for your own unearthing.

What made the story so believable is the incredible all around production of this movie, from the flawless acting, to the directing (Atom Epoyan), and impeccably perfect blu ray HD picture. Any old home can be remodeled and updated to modern style, so can an outdated crafted redo of Fatal Attraction 1987 subjected to an extreme makeover transformation into Chole 2010 storyline, made to succeed in any movie weekend night attention.

This all-star cast is ideal for their roles: Catherine (Julieanne Moore) plays an OBGYN doctor, David (Liam Neeson) a college professor, and Chloe (Amanda Seyfried) escort. Highly recommended. Blu-ray extras has 2 deleted scenes, a trailer, plus a 25-min "behind the scenes, making of" clip. Perfect 1080p transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mistrust, like many doors, sees us sometimes walk through, October 5, 2010
By 
Donna Haston "BondfireInSpace" (Over the Sea, Under the Ocean) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chloe (DVD)
A chance meeting sets some things into motion - one of those being the testing of a husband's faith. See, a married man misses a flight home, missing his surprise party in the process. This makes his wife wonder what he was up to, and a text with a picture of a young girl makes her wonder even more. solution: in the bathroom, on a night out, the wife meets a girl named Chloe. She seems nice enough and claims to be clean and that sets the wife's mind into motion. she decides to take Chloes and get her to tempt her husband. The problem is that she doesn't know Chloe or know anything about what she wants at all, making things turn out to be - complex and then some.

When I sat down to watch Chloe, I thought I had already seen a million movies like it. The cheating husband and the not-so-blind wife, the person hired to bring it all into focus, and then the drama. The problem was that this is not the story at all - it only seems to be.

I personally liked the cast to this movie and, honestly, I thought the twist with excellent. I cannot talk about it much, but can say with certainty that I really didn't see it all coming. There were a few parts i thought I knew and a few i could have guessed, but this movie was complex because humans are complex. It also talks about so many things that we forget; sometimes there can be purity in so many things, emotions in even the toughest seeming rock, and when we forget that we sometimes forget pieces of who we want to be.

If you have yet to see this movie, you shouldn't wait. It is good and it is interesting and it can surprise you. I watched with singularity in my focus, not knowing, and the end paid me back for that. I personally laughed when i noticed how wrong I was, too, and thought "I am soo glad I caught this." Watch it and see what I mean - you will be drawn into it all when you see the thing in action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Erotic Thriller/Character Drama, with Great Performances..., September 27, 2010
This review is from: Chloe (DVD)
Atom Egoyan's "Chloe" will not appeal to all tastes, despite a healthy dose of eroticism (and tasteful nudity), as it is really an examination of love, aging and insecurity, and how our imagination fills in the blanks when passion wanes. The thriller aspect is actually quite predictable, and a bit disappointing, but it doesn't take away from what truly makes the film work; the terrific triangle of Julianne Moore, Liam Neeson, and, in a breakout performance, Amanda Seyfried, in the title role.

Moore is a gynecologist slipping into middle age, with a still-hunky college professor husband (Neeson), and a teen-aged son who hates her (Max Thieriot, in a role which, unfortunately, largely ended up on the cutting room floor). When hubby skips out on his surprise birthday party, and she finds a photo of him with a sexy student on his cell phone, she assumes the worst; rather than simply confront him, she hires a cute young prostitute (Seyfried), to seduce him, and prove his infidelity. Seyfried confirms Moore's darkest fears, saying that he, albeit reluctantly, responded to her advances. Rather than cut things off, however, Moore, aroused by the thought of her husband's actions, pays to continue the seduction. A bizarre romantic triangle plays out; the hooker provides erotically-charged, graphic details, while becoming increasingly attracted to the wife, who, in her anguished, yet obvious physical arousal by the accounts, responds to the sexual advances of the hooker. Seyfried conveys all this with a combination of sexual savvy and wide-eyed wonder, and watching her bend the sophisticated Moore to her own sexual will, leading to a very intimate, well-played seduction scene, is ultimately, the real climax of the film.

Unfortunately, the plot then slides into melodrama, involving the husband and son, loads of guilt, unrequited love, and predictable tragedy. It is a let-down, as I said, but certainly doesn't ruin the overall pleasure of this film.

Atom Egoyan's films are always well-crafted and provocative; this is a rare case of the director working from someone else's screenplay (by "Secretary" screenwriter Erin Cressida Wilson), and the end result, while flawed, is still superior to most of what I've seen on screens over the past couple of years. Certainly worth owning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ATYPICAL SUSPENSE WITH SURPRISING MOTIVATIONS, November 4, 2010
This review is from: Chloe (DVD)
I'm a sucker for any film with Julianne Moore (A Single Man), and I'm a Liam Neeson fan, too, as in Taken (Single-Disc Extended Edition). After watching Amanda Seyfried in Mamma Mia! The Movie (Widescreen), I became intrigued by her skills as well.

I thought about the aspects of this film that appealed to me the most. I noticed that Julianne Moore's characterization of the wife suspecting her husband was somewhat unusual. She was detached, unemotional, and almost as if she were totally unaffected by the outcome, whatever it might be.

But as we drew further into her psyche and her connections, I began to realize that this somewhat "scientific" approach was in character for Catherine, the doctor; the woman, the betrayed wife, would appear later. At that time, we would see her feelings, her insecurities, and how much she mourned the connection she once had with her husband.

What we do learn, too, is that Chloe's version of events, as she describes them to Catherine, are not necessarily the truth. Perhaps it is the truth as she sees it. We come to understand her motivations more as we near the end of the story.

Psychological suspense keeps this film moving, taking us to some unexpected places.

What will Chloe do in the end to ratchet up the thrills for the viewers? And how far will Catherine go to protect what is hers?

This is not a movie for the faint of heart or those who like pretty Hollywood endings. But I was not bored during any part of this one, and as the thrills unfolded, I was excited and rooting for more.

I loved the settings, too, and could tell right away that this was not an American city. At the end, I learned that it was filmed in Toronto.

I would give Chloe four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chloe or Nathalie?, July 15, 2012
By 
Galina (Virginia, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chloe (DVD)
"Chloe" (2009) directed by Atom Agoyan is the remake of the French film Nathalie... (2003) made by Anne Fontaine with Fanny Ardant, Emmanuelle Béart, and Gérard Depardieu, as three participants of erotic thrilling psychological drama. Chloe follows the Nathalie's footsteps quite closely. The difference is in the final act, and I prefer Nathalie's ending. All Atom Agoyan and the rest of Chloe's creators had to do to make it a truly great movie -was just to remake step by step the French original. The most amazing thing about Nathalie... was its palpable erotic tension on the screen and at the same time, the lack of steamy sex scenes which was more than compensated with the subtle communication between two women, older, Catherine and younger, Nathalie and between Catherine (Ardant) and her husband of many years (Depardieu) whom she still loves but does not know anymore how to make them both happy.

Both movies run almost the same time, French film - 100 minutes, and North American -96 but I prefer the intelligent, insightful, nuanced, implying and not shoving in your face the sensational fatal attraction ending film Nathalie. It is not to say that Chloe is worthless. It is gorgeous to look at, and three main actors, Julian Moore, Liam Neeson, and Amanda Seyfried all gave very good performances. The young Amanda Seyfried was a very worthy screen partner to Juliana Moore who can do no wrong to me. I was especially impressed by Amanda's face and how it changes from young and innocent to sexy and seductive, resentful, dangerous in a course of seconds. The problem of Chloe is its script which goes weak and out of breath in the final part. The final of Chloe makes me think that the authors of the film don't trust their audiences and feed us with sex, melodrama, and very unsatisfying a la fatal attraction climax because they are afraid we don't get the subtleties that made the original film so thrilling.

Another problem I have with Chloe is the character of Catherine and David's son, Michael. He existed in the French film but on the background. In Nathalie, he left his parents' house and from what I could judge, he had quite normal relationship with them which allowed the plot to concentrate primarily on the unusual and quite fascinating relationship between Catherine and the call girl Nathalie whom she hired to find out if her husband cheats on her and what he actually expects from a woman. In the film Chloe, the character of Michael was annoying, and in the end his only purpose was to justify unsatisfying final act of the film.

Chloe - 5.5/10, Nathalie - 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chloe is a remake: Original was better, October 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chloe (Amazon Instant Video)
Atom Egoyan is one of my favorite directors, but the original version of this movie--a 2003 French film called "Nathalie"--is much better. Egoyan, though Canadian in upbringing, has managed to "Hollywoodize" the story here...complete with a kind of blockbuster-y BIG ending, which is unnecessary. The original film is far more subtle, nuanced all the way through, and more of a psychological study that keeps you guessing. "Chloe" comes off as a thriller with a typical storyline & even predictable twists. Along these same lines of contrast, it is interesting then to note that the French version is directed by a woman: Anne Fontaine. Anyway, I recommend "Nathalie" instead. The female lead in that one--although I love Julianne Moore--is the very beautiful Deneuve-like Fanny Ardant. Or better yet, if you like Atom Egoyan, as I do--he captures Canada SO WELL--and are looking for a GREAT film, try "The Sweet Hereafter." It's one of my top five favorite movies of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chloe Chloe Chloe, August 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chloe (DVD)
Okay so i had imagined something a taf bit different. But when i recieved this product i watched that night and thought it was amazing, it had such a talednted cast, and amazing story line, and great acting. This movie is deffinatly not a family movie, but a great one to watch by yourself or with a date. This movie is truely amazing and i will deffinatly be telling my freind's and family about this gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Chloe [Blu-ray]
Chloe [Blu-ray] by Atom Egoyan (Blu-ray - 2010)
$19.99 $10.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.