Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of CLAMP's Best
This is an excellent anime, and a very nice take on the more traditional "boy meets girl plots". Some have said in the past that this series is yet another one about a lonely guy often a nerdy type, who is lucky enough to meet a lovely, and (not always) submissive female. In most anime, this female robot or android just happens to be a robot or android of some sort either...
Published on November 1, 2005 by Archmage Ryokosha

versus
64 of 79 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars for the Blu-Ray, not the Series
I feel sad that I have to rate this product two stars. Chobits is a wonderful series - a long time favorite of mine, and definitely one I would introduce to other people. The style perfectly manages to capture both the adorable and the innocent, while still being serious enough for the deeper storyline.

I have the Pioneer-released DVD box set to compare this...
Published on May 12, 2011 by Julia A. Lichty


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of CLAMP's Best, November 1, 2005
This is an excellent anime, and a very nice take on the more traditional "boy meets girl plots". Some have said in the past that this series is yet another one about a lonely guy often a nerdy type, who is lucky enough to meet a lovely, and (not always) submissive female. In most anime, this female robot or android just happens to be a robot or android of some sort either created by or stumbled upon by the main character. However, that is far too simple a way to explain it and I think unjustly labels "Chi", the Persocom (android) within this story, and the other female androids.

Looking only at "Chi" as the story moves on it is obvious she is not submissive but filled with childlike innocence. This is what helps make the story so different from others with female androids. Chi is truly a child learning about the world around her and the very important rule it will seem she will play seemingly as one of the legendary "Chobits", the Peroscoms that legend holds are have real emotions and need no traditional programming to function.

As she learns about this world around her, and at times has her innocence exploited, something that can easily be mistaken for her being submissive, Hideki, the main male character and one that finds Chi, finds himself both as her teacher and her caretaker. As they both grown and learn together and begin to see the world through each other's eyes they naturally grow closer together in a way that works as being very easy to accept and believe could happen.

The climax itself and what happens when all the pieces are in place, the pieces of the puzzles that build through mysterious photos, and searches to see if Chi really is a "Chobits" is something not to be missed and is one of the most stunning and emotionally filled endings I have ever seen to an anime.

With a story that is so well written that it is very easy to grow to love the characters and feel excitement about the characters this ending was perhaps even more emotional. Overall this is not an anime you should miss and is one that should be on everyone's "Must See" lists no matter your typical favorite genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great anime series in a space-saving package, November 19, 2005
In the future, personal computers have developed into humanoid 'Persocons'. A prep school student named Hideki Motosuwa desperately wants to buy a Persocon but can't afford to. One fateful day he finds a Persocon in a garage pile and so he takes her home. When he turns on the Persocon, she can only say 'Chi' and that's what he names her. Over time it becomes apparent that Chi is more than an average Persocon. It seems that Chi might be a "Chobit", a type of advanced Persocon rumoured to have independent thought and feeling. How far will Hideki go to protect her and what will their relationship become.

The Chobits Collection contains all 7 DVD volumes and the Character Song Collection CD - a total of 8 discs in 4 double thinpak cases. The artbox has a plastic slipcase with the description and specs on it, so the artbox itself is pretty much free of any text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chobits Anime, November 13, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Though there are a lot of scenes that differ from (or were not present in) the manga, Chobits is a great anime series to watch. The way that the ending plays out is slightly different from the manga, but it still holds true in tone and execution (and is still a happy ending).

In regards to the dvd, the picture is beautiful with bright colors popping off the screen. Thankfully (as many tv shows on dvd do not have this feature) there are chapter stops for the intro and ending themes, though while they are catchy, I don't particularly want to see them for every episode. A cd is also included entitled the Chobits Character Song Collection.

If you liked the Chobits manga or are a fan of anime in general, don't hesitate to buy this dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 79 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars for the Blu-Ray, not the Series, May 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chobits: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I feel sad that I have to rate this product two stars. Chobits is a wonderful series - a long time favorite of mine, and definitely one I would introduce to other people. The style perfectly manages to capture both the adorable and the innocent, while still being serious enough for the deeper storyline.

I have the Pioneer-released DVD box set to compare this blu-ray release against and, unfortunately, it seriously disappoints. There is almost no appreciable difference in video or audio quality - the DVD actually looks a bit more vibrant. For a blu-ray, the menus are atrocious - there aren't many options, but with almost no way to tell what you're doing (text change from dark magenta to black, with no highlighting), it's difficult to tell what option you're on, and whether or not you've selected the right one. Where it truly fails, however, are the subtitles. On the DVD release, the subtitles were ugly and chunky, but easily readable. On this release, Funimation (a company that deals only in anime), has opted for illegibility. The font is light (not bold), white in color, and has almost no black stroke around it. Chobits has its darker scenes, but overall the palette is pastel, and these subtitles are unreadable and headache-inducing. It's almost as if they didn't bother to watch their product after putting it together. Subtitles might appear slightly different depending on what device you're using to play your disc, but this was on a PS3 - undoubtedly one of the most common blu-ray players.

If you prefer your anime subbed rather than dubbed, I can't recommend this release unless you're viewing it while using software that allows you to alter size, font, stroke, and color of subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've never reviewed a product before it's release but - -, February 17, 2011
This review is from: Chobits: The Complete Series (DVD)
I've got to do it for this. I'm ancient by most anime standards (over 60), but have loved good anime ever since my son talked me into watching this. I don't get into details on movies in my reviews, not wanting to "spoil" the watching for others. I will, though, say this much: Chobits, while seemingly aimed at younger viewers on a casual look, is really quite an in-depth view at taking advantage of innocence. And alot of light-heartedness in this makes it an almost laugh-out-loud movie, very enjoyable indeed! I recommend this to anyone who has never seen an anime. It's a great first plunge into the genre! Follow this up with Spirited Away, then Princess Mononoke, and I think you'll be hooked for life! RP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funimation Saves Another Great Series!, April 30, 2011
By 
gdfan78 (New England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chobits: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Chobits was one of the few series that really got me hooked on anime, even though it was probably an "older" title by the time I saw it. A great series and a very high quality release by Pioneer/Geneon. However it's been out of print for years and has become very expensive to get your hands on.

Now Funimation has re-released Chobits on dvd and blu-ray at a very affordable price. I just got my blu-ray set from rightstuf a few days ago and I'm loving it. The entire series is on 3 discs, which are held in a standard size case. It came with a nice outer slipcase and the dvd cover is reversible. The artwork on the discs could be a little more diverse, with all three featuring Chi.

I've watched the first few episodes and so far I think the video and audio quality are great, but honestly I'm not very picky. The back of the box lists the video as being 1080i high definition, 16x9 (SD Remaster). Audio: Dolby TrueHD English 2.0, Dolby TrueHD Japanese 2.0.

And for anyone wondering, all the content from the original disc 7 is included on both dvd and blu-ray versions of this release. Yes, that includes the Chibits special. Not much else for extras, texless songs and trailers.

Overall this is a great story, which is much more than it seems at first. And a quality, affordable release by Funimation, makes this a must buy. Now if only they'd re-release Haibane Renmei someday...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not what it first appears, May 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chobits: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Its easy to make assumptions about Chobits from just the first few episode: the main character, Hideki, immediately seems incredibly shallow, loud and seems to have mainly dirty thoughts on his mind. The primary love interest is found half-naked, has no common sense, and her only purpose is apparently to appear adorably cute, and mimic Hideki, and unknowingly strike suggestive poses. On top of that, Hideki immediately fantasizes that every girl he meets may be crushing on him. In short, Chobits at first appears to be a very typical, very generic fan-service laden harem love story. Luckily this isn't the case, and if it were, I couldn't possibly rate this show 5 stars.

As the story goes on, the supporting characters develop their own complicated stories outside of Hideki, and Hideki's delusions of being the object of affection for every girl are revealed to be just that: delusions. Chi grows into her own character, eventually learning how to speak, and the proper etiquette for living in society, and taking on a part time job. And the fan-service... never really goes away, but it does lighten up considerably by the end.

And rather than the story being about how awesome it would be to find a totally sexy, perfect robot girlfriend, the persocoms in Chobits are made imperfect themselves, and a variety of relationships are examined between humans and persocoms, like the rich recluse who's trying to replace a loved one with a persocom made in their image to the woman who was dumped for a persocom. Ultimately, Hideki himself is redeemable if only because throughout most of the story, as he finds himself playing the supporting character in other people's romances, he takes it all in good stride: he's a good guy all in all, even if his over-the-top reactions and general helplessness get on your nerves.

Aside from being much deeper than it first appears, Chobits looks and sounds great. The opening theme is memorable and addictive, and the background music is a step or two above being generic or boring. On top of that, the performances by the English voice-actors are surprisingly decent. The Blu-ray looks great, and there are no significant imperfections revealed by whatever upscaling has been done. Many people may remark that the blu-ray release doesn't really look any better than the DVD, and that may be true. Televised anime series aren't made in a way that upscaling can really improve them a lot the way a blu-ray release can improve the quality of Lord of the Rings or something. The advantages of having the blu-ray release is that you'll be able to watch Chobits on your blu-ray player into the next generation of media.

I should mention that the reason I give this show only 4 out of 5 stars, isn't for the cheap fan-service, or slow, shallow beginning: Chobits was originally a manga (recently released in 2 omnibus editions from Dark Horse), and a lot of plot details have either been lost or changed in the translation. Most notable are the changes to the ending, which is pretty awful compared to the original manga; it's confusing and doesn't really make any sense, while the manga is much simpler and better in every way. I actually recommend the manga over the anime if you're not opposed to manga. But while the manga has the better story, the anime contains more filler with Hideki and his persocom, which surprisingly are a delight to watch. Chobits as a whole is a delight to watch, and I urge people not to be put off by it's shallow, formulaic first couple of episodes: it really does get better... until you get to the magical, nonsensical end. Then I urge people to pick up the manga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BOOTLEG DVD'S, November 11, 2009
DO NOT BUY, THIS IS A PIRATED SET.

What you are looking at is a Hong Kong bootleg of the Chobits DVD collection. This means poor picture quality, and a mangled English translation (they translate it into Cantonese from Japanese, and then Cantonese into English).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This IS the Anime you're looking for..., August 2, 2011
This review is from: Chobits: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
My wife and I are in the final episodes of this wonderful anime. It was recommended to us by a friend - a great recommendation.

We purchased the BluRay despite some suggestion that the subtitles were difficult to read. At first that appeared to be so, but in fact I feel that they are simply unobtrusive, but effective. We generally watch in Japanese with English subtitles because we both feel that the original voice work is generally superior with anime. Subtitles are interesting because as I have watched more Anime and picked up an ear for the language as well as being able to recognize many more phrases and words during the dialog, the subtitles seem to fade. I still read them, but I hear the dialog spoke by the character and somehow the full text from the subtitle I read is what I hear. This makes watching in Japanese a pleasure because the original voicing matches the characters so well, and of course the lip-synch is perfect.

That said, the English voice cast for Chobits is an excellent one. In fact when we started the second disc, it automatically selected the dubbed version and it took a minute or two for us to realize that it was the English dub. The voice work on the dub matches the original character voices pretty well, although there is something intangible about the vocal quality of Japanese voice actresses that is never repeated by western actresses. Male characters in Anime often have a certain manic quality that seems to be something that the Japanese voice actors can handle with ease, but Western voice actors somehow just can't quite get. With Chobits, the English voice work is excellent however, and well matched and really does a good job of replicating the feel of the original Japanese presentation.

The story of Chobits is very touching, and the series explores the themes of human interaction with technology. It looks at what happens when technology allows us to create personal computing devices that look and move like humans, but function as a combination of all the mobile smart devices and desktop computing devices we own. They are called Persocoms and of course because they look and move like humans, they are made in both genders and inevitably, they are aesthetically pleasing. In other words, they can be quite cute. The central question relates to how humans react to the Persocoms in their life, and how they form relationships. The series looks at how society might change, and how human relationships might change.

The central characters are Hideki - a 'good guy' who'd moved to Tokyo for College and is currently cramming his way through prep-school for a year, and Chi - a Personcom Hideki finds abandoned in a pile of trash. Chi starts off with no memory or knowledge of herself, or anything else. She is a blank canvas and has to learn everything from scratch - including learning who she is, and what she wants. Of course the central story is that of Hideki and Chi, how Hideki helps Chi to learn and grow, and their relationship - which is both complex and incredibly simple at the same time.

Overall, the story is quite well done, the animation is excellent, and Chi is a completely endearing character. There are lots of small touches in the animation and dialog that connect with previous scenes. These touches grant the story and characters lat much more depth.

Chobits is not a comedy, but there are lots of laugh out loud moments - mostly at Hideki's expense. It's not a harem drama, despite the number of female characters that revolve around Hideki. It is a very gentle romance with deeper thoughts on technology and it's effect on society and human-kind.

The package for Chobits is relatively plain. The cover is reversible, and there are special features on the final disk, though I have yet to watch those. The menu's are quite plain, and on the PS3 at least, the audio options menu uses an extremely small character type face. But these are minor complaints about the packaging. The important part of the package here is the Anime itself, and it is simply excellent.

I would recommend this to anyone that likes Anime, especially those that prefer their anime to be the kinder, gentler, more whimsical kind. There are laughs, and moments of deep emotion, you become attached to the central characters and the show can make you think. To me, those are all traits of something special these days.

So now, I approach the final disc, and I wait to see what the future holds for Chi and Hideki and their friends. The story is hotting up as we get through the last 13 episodes. I must admit, I pity those who viewed episodically on TV because waiting a whole week to find out what happens next would be pure torture.

If you are an Anime fan who likes Anime other than the action series, then Chobits is definitely worth your money. Chi wants you to buy it, she doesn't want to say that, but you can see it in her eyes, she'll be happy if you do...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what Im talking about, January 22, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Awsome anime. I may be a guy but I still like a quote "chick flick", even more so since its still anime. The love story here is top notch, grade A, premium choice. Sadly it left me wanting more, but thats just how I am, the ending was great. Yet I still want more, sorta an after story as it were. Well all in all its one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Chobits: The Complete Series [Blu-ray]
Chobits: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] by Morio Asaka (Blu-ray - 2011)
$54.98 $25.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.