Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

113 of 125 people found the following review helpful
on September 2, 2013
Just finished reading Cholesterol Clarity. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I am a family physician and must admit felt a little beat up at times as I read it. I have only recently begun to question some of the sacred cows of medicine including how we treat patients with elevated cholesterol. I have read many of the books by the experts in this book and appreciated how Jimmy was able to organize their comments with his to make such a readable and educational book. I don't feel that the material will be over the head of most people and will feel comfortable in recommending it to my patients.
Dave Laposky MD
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
90 of 102 people found the following review helpful
I am a Board Certified Internist and I passed the Lipids boards from the National Lipid Association. After reading Gary Taubes book Why We Get Fat? I became a convert to low carbohydrate high fat and high protein diet i.e. Atkins.
I believe Cholesterol Clarity is a good and important book because this subject needs discussion. Major kudos for:
1- Promoting LDL-P. Jimmies was 3451
2- Promoting CAC or CT heart calcium scores. Jimmies was zero
3- Promoting CIMT Jimmie needs to get one
4- Discussing Ancel Keys, the McGovern Gov't panel, and Dean Ornesh.
5- Using Dr. Thomas Dayspring as one of the experts quoted. He is a National Lipidologist.
6- Dr Ronald Krauss advising statins P 70

I listed major quotes that I agree with or give a reason why I don't.
Quotes:
p 166 Siri-Tarino "getting a CIMT can give you an actual measure of atherosclerosis"
p 165 "Consider getting a CT heart calcium scan"
p 151 Dayspring on "type, quality and number of lipoparticles on whether the dump truck will invade wall"
P 137 Dayspring on Tim Russert
p 117 Dayspring quote on TG/HDL ratio
p 110 Jaminet "The most common cause of high triglycerides is eating too many carbs"
p 109 Davis "Having Triglyceride of 150 is complete nonsense Aiming for 50 is more like it"
p 99 LDL-P "your insurance company may not pay for it, but I promise these tests are worth the cost"
P 97 Dayspring "least accurate way estimating your atherogenic risk on a cholesterol panel would be Total Cholesterol or LDL-C"
p 89 "Studies on high fat have always been done in conjunction with a high carb diet."
My note: Not True, Jimmie misses Gardner Trial [...]
p84 "Low fat diet did not significantly reduce the risk of CHD, stroke, or CVD."
My note: True, here is the actual link:
[...] ...
P 83 Dr. T Dayspring "I think greater acceptance of low carb message is coming."
p82 "Keys buried fact: more sucrose more ht dis." Keys wrote incidence of coronary dis correlated with the avg % of Carb from Sucrose is explained by intercorrelation with saturated fat "Lundell found it p 262 in Keys study
p80 Westman on false positive stress
p 75 Westman "and where does the fat in the liver come from? From dietary carbohydrates"
p73 & 74 My comment: These two lists of healthy and non-healthy food need close examination by media. I agree with these lists for people w Metabolic syndrome.

p70 "statins may provide some powerful anti-inflammatory effects"
p70 Krauss "people who have had a coronary event or procedure should be on statins out the door"
p 32 VIP Keys in debate. Very sad how slow science has been in correcting the data about low fat diet My comment
p 180 VIP Ornish in debate. Diamond correctly notes confounding covariables. Also weight loss & less carbs on low fat diet.
p 173 Krauss "some of us have been stepping ahead of the evidence all this time" Good Medicine
p234 Kudos to Dr. Westman for last paragraph on Sound advice.

The above list are the specific items that I think are important in the book.

Warning Cliche Alert.

This book does not see the forest for the trees.

The anti-cholesterol people won. Take the win and move on.

Jimmie rightly tells people it is all about the cholesterol particle number.

Yes inflammation is important but LDL-P gradient between lumen of artery and the wall of the article is very important.

I think DHA and EPA (fish oil) 1,000 mg a day may be the best nutrient for inflammation and the JELIS and GISSA trial give me some evidence for this.

However, there are no trials to my knowledge that diet with other nutrition anti-oxidants actually does anything.

That leaves us with statins to treat the inflammation as Jimmie states in his book.

Jimmie gets a lot right but then at the last moment the anti-statin hysteria kicks in.

Jimmie needs to get a CIMT tomorrow. He has a negative CAC because it is often falsely negative in younger people.
I recommend this book because there is good information above and I don't want to throw the baby out with the bathwater.

I do hope the media looks carefully at Cholesterol Clarity and gives it the consideration it deserves. Let the discussion continue with science and truth.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
121 of 144 people found the following review helpful
on August 27, 2013
The evidence continues to accumulate that cholesterol is not the villain it is made out to be, but is actually part of your body's defense system against the real killers: chronic inflammation, the lack of good, natural fats, and stress. Dr. Dwight Lundell, one of the 29 experts interviewed by author Jimmy Moore in Cholesterol Clarity, noted that in the absence of inflammation, "Cholesterol would move freely throughout the body as nature intended."

Mark Sisson, another contributor, said, "Cholesterol is one of the most important molecules in the human body: we would die very quickly without it. It's an integral part of cell membranes. It's involved in the creation of vitamin D and in the formation of many important sex hormones, it is necessary for the production of bile, which is critical to our ability to emulsify and digest fats." Jimmy Moore points out another of its many health benefits, "Cholesterol is a major line of defense when your immune system comes under attack. So lowering cholesterol levels artificially with drugs could make you more susceptible to germs or bacteria, wreaking havoc on your health." Cholesterol is also essential for proper brain function, as the brain contains more cholesterol than any organ in the body. Both estrogen and testosterone are made out of cholesterol (is it a coincidence that the same companies that sell statins sell Viagra and Cialis?).

Here is a eye-opening quote from Dr. Malcolm Kendrick: "There is absolutely no correlation between saturated fat intake, cholesterol levels, and heart disease. The most accurate research looking at this issue in different countries is the MONICA (Monitoring of Trends and Determinants in Cardiovascular Disease) study that started in the mid-1980s and is run by the World Health Organization. If you look at the figures, it's extremely clear that the countries whose populations have the highest saturated fat intake tend to have slightly higher cholesterol levels, but all have lower rates of heart disease. We're talking about a difference of 700 percent! The country whose people eat the highest level of saturated fat in Europe is France. Their average total cholesterol is 215 mg/dL, and yet their rate of heart disease is one seventh that of people in Ukraine, where people eat less than half the amount of saturated fat and their average cholesterol levels are slightly lower. So from this data we learn that the countries with the highest saturated fat consumption all have lower heart disease levels than the countries with the lowest saturated fat consumption...."

What's more, we are learning that LOW cholesterol may be really bad for us. One study of 120,000 men, published recently in the Scandinavian Journal of Health Care, shows that higher than the recommended level of cholesterol is associated with a reduced risk of death in subjects 50 and over. (Association of lipoprotein levels with mortality in subjects aged 50 + without previous diabetes or cardiovascular disease: A population-based register study. Scandinavian Journal of Primary Health Care 2013;31(3):172-180.)

Dr. Chris Masterjohn, a specialist on dietary fats and another contributor to the book, had this to say, "...We do know that people who have low cholesterol tend to have a higher risk of cancer and a higher propensity for violent suicidal tendencies." This suggests to me that low cholesterol might be a contributing factor to the rise in horrific mass-murder/suicides that have become an almost daily occurrence in the U.S. Investigators have been searching to find the commonality between the shooters, but no one seems to see what might be the link to all our current epidemics, including obesity, diabetes, heart disease, autism, depression, attention deficit hyperactive disorder (ADHD), Asperger's, Celiac's, Alzheimer's, and so on. They may all be the result of the dramatic change in the eating habits of Americans over the last 30 plus years.

This quote from Cholesterol Clarity sums up what has gone wrong since the government officially endorsed low-fat and low-cholesterol diets in the late 70s: "Statistics from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Economic Research Service between 1977 and 1978 and 2005 and 2008 show that Americans dutifully cut their fat intake from 85.6 g to 75.2 g daily. Additionally, over the same periods, the percentage of total calories consumed from fat fell from 39.7 percent to 33.4 percent. And what has happened to the rates of obesity, diabetes, and heart disease since then? You already know the answer: Heart disease is now the number-one killer of both men and women, and nearly one million Americans have heart attacks annually. Obesity and diabetes have reached epidemic proportions. The financial burden of coronary artery disease alone totals close to $110 billion a year, and that trend is growing."

How could it be possible for the medical establishment to go down a dead- end road and become so hopelessly lost? Let me tell you a story. I posted an article on my blog in 2008 about a new drug called Vytorin. (carbwars.blogspot.com/search?q=vytorin) Dr. Michael Eades also wrote about it on the Protein Power blog (proteinpower.com/drmike/statins/vytorin-dis-enhance-d/)

Vytorin is a combination of Zocor (simvastatin), which reduces the production of cholesterol by the liver, and Zetia (ezetimibe), which inhibits the absorption of cholesterol from the digestive tract. Like all newly developed drugs, it is very expensive and gives Merck, the maker of Zocor, a way to continue making money from a drug whose patent has expired and is now available as a generic.

The combination drug must have sounded like a slam dunk for the pharmaceutical companies: If one drug could lower cholesterol, a combination of two that worked in two different ways should lower it even more. Both drugs had already been approved for sale separately, so Vytorin could be sold before it was tested. You undoubtedly remember the commercials for Vytorin: Cholesterol comes from two sources, from fettuccine Alfredo or your grandpa, Alfredo. From Barbecue ribs or your grandma Barbi. They showed goofy pictures of your pretend relatives dressed to look like high-fat foods. The remarkably effective, direct-to-the-consumer campaign convinced about five million people to take the drug. Here's an example from YouTube if you don't remember it: [...]

The ads reportedly cost at least 100 million dollars a year to run and two-page ads were featured in all the major newspapers and magazines as well. The first line in the ads asked, "Do you have high LDL cholesterol? It's important to talk to your doctor about ways to lower it." After a few sentences about how the drug works, they stated in bold type, "Vytorin has not been shown to reduce heart attacks or strokes more than Zocor alone." The second page lists the devastating side effects of the drug, but it fails to mention that Merck's own trial, called, ENHANCE, showed MORE heart attacks and an INCREASE in the thickness of artery plaque, known as atherosclerosis, in people taking the combined drug, even though it was 20% more effective at lowering cholesterol than Zocor alone. (The control group taking only Zocor also showed an increase in plaque.)

The obvious conclusion from the study by a rational person would be that lowering cholesterol did not prevent heart attacks and strokes. But a clever marketer can always find a way to spin a story--it might be better to take one statin than two. Too bad they didn't include a dietary change or even a placebo for comparison.

So why would a company spend huge amounts of money to advertise a drug that not only doesn't have any benefit, but actually makes the targeted problem worse? Just the fact that the ad is there gives the impression that this is a useful medication and may lead many people to pressure their doctors to prescribe it. Cholesterol is so firmly established in the minds of most of the population as the world's most dangerous substance that lowering it may be seen as a good thing in and of itself. Perhaps Merck and partner, Schering-Plough, hoped to cut their losses on a failed drug by continuing to have doctors put patients on it, in spite of the consequences. After all, they told us flat out that this drug didn't work, giving them a surefire defense against lawsuits.

When the results of the first study done on Vytorin were released, a story in the New York Times said, "A clinical trial of a widely used cholesterol drug has raised questions both about the medicine's effectiveness and about the behavior of the pharmaceutical companies that conducted the study." The article by Alex Berenson, goes on to quote Dr. Steven E. Nissen, the chairman of cardiology at the Cleveland Clinic, who said the results were "Shocking...This is as bad a result for the drug as anybody could have feared, Millions of patients may be taking a drug that does not benefit them, raising their risk of heart attacks and exposing them to potential side effects." (nytimes.com/2008/01/15/business/15drug.html?pagewanted=2&_r=1&sq=vytorin&scp=1) Other publications called it a PR debacle and predicted that the company would not survive the scandal.

The results were known to the company when the study was completed in April of 2006, but not released until January of 2008, and then only after a House of Representatives Committee began an inquiry into the delay. Schering-Plough's president was investigated for selling off $28 million worth of stock between the time the trials were completed and the results were released.

The study did not measure heart attacks or strokes, so the American College of Cardiology suggested that major clinical decisions not be made on the basis of this one study alone and the manufacturers promised follow-up studies to see what affect Vytorin had on those events. The first of the studies was due in 2012, but has now been extended to 2014. Meanwhile Vytorin continues to be heavily advertised and sold, giving Merck and Schering-Plough another year to rake in billions of dollars in profits. Multiply this sad story thousands of times and you may begin to understand how we got to where we are today.

The printed inserts that come with prescriptions for statins tell you to eat a low-fat, low-cholesterol diet when taking them. The tag lines for statin commercials say, "When diet and exercise aren't enough, ask your doctor if (fill-in-the-blank) is right for you!" Translation: "When the diet we tell you to eat and exercise don't help, ask your doctor to line our pockets!"

Americans spend more on health care than any country in the world, but a substantial part of our economy is based on our being unhealthy. It takes roughly a billion dollars to bring a new drug on the market. They literally bet the company on its success. If the best selling drugs were to go away, the repercussions would likely result in a financial melt-down bigger than the Wall Street scandal of 2007-2008. Big Pharma may now be considered too big to fail. If there is any hope of reversing the health crisis we face in this country, it is for brave people to speak out, people like Jimmy Moore and the top doctors, researchers, and experts who contributed to Cholesterol Clarity, including luminaries like Dr. Eric Westman, Dr. William Davis, Gary Taubes, Dr. Robert Lustig, Stephanie Seneff PhD, and many others.

A new nonprofit organization called the Nutrition and Science Initiative (NuSi), founded by Gary Taubes and Dr. Peter Atia, plans to carry out meticulous, unbiased experiments that will give us definitive answers to clear up the current confusion about diet and health, but those results won't be in for up to six years. In the meantime, we will have to take responsibility for our own well-being. Reading Cholesterol Clarity is a good place to start.

Disclaimer: I received an advance copy of this book as a pdf. It in no way affected my review.
1616 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
105 of 133 people found the following review helpful
Widely-held beliefs, many of them propagated by "official" agencies like the FDA, USDA, American Heart Association, Academy of Dietetics and Nutrition, American Diabetes Association, etc., are crumbling under the scrutiny of informed people uninfluenced by the pharmaceutical industry, agribusiness, or the excessive profiteering ways of modern "healthcare."

In Cholesterol Clarity, Jimmy Moore, along with the help of a couple of dozen other vocal critics of the Lipid Hypothesis, systematically take apart the flawed logic often used to justify a $23 billion per year statin drug industry. He exposes the overly-simplistic thinking and the "research" used to prop up this example of how far wrong medical care can go when richly funded. Jimmy shows how the fiction that "cholesterol causes heart disease" belongs with other fairy tales like "Cut your fat and saturated fat for heart health" and "Fat makes you fat."

We live in a time when the messages in health have been distorted by bad science and biases introduced by corporate interests that stand to gain from a campaign of half-truths. In his characteristically genuine and straightforward style, Jimmy helps the reader understand how to navigate the real arguments behind heart disease risk unemcumbered by self-serving financial interests.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
49 of 61 people found the following review helpful
on August 27, 2013
I have been looking forward to reading this book. Cholesterol Clarity is 21 chapters of everything you might want to know about cholesterol, from what cholesterol is, to what all those funny words and acronyms mean (HDL, LDL, triglycerides and the rest), possible reasons for high cholesterol, and even a little test, yes a test, if you want to see if you understand what the authors and their experts are on about take the test.

All the way through the book I was thinking to myself that I really must make sure I add a link to this review so that people who don't use the US measurements can convert their numbers if they want. There's no need though, at the end of the book there are conversion charts. If you use a different measurement to the ones used through the book, and you want to be able to compare your numbers to the examples in the text, then you might want to do your conversion before you start reading.

Cholesterol Clarity contains many `Moments of Clarity' which are little snippets of information from the huge range of experts Moore has brought together to contribute to the book. For my Australian readers `our' experts include Ron Ehrlich, David Gillespie and Ken Sikaris. The rest of the world contributes Chris Masterjohn, Robert Lustig, Gary Taubes, Cate Shanahan... and many more. Each chapter includes a note from Eric Westman and closes with a summary of key concepts. You could either read this book from start to finish, as I did, or just skip through the chapters that catch your attention. Either way this is not a long book, nor is it full of dense scientific terms that make for slow reading. A free afternoon should see you through most of the book.

As you might expect if you are familiar with Jimmy Moore's style, and that of many of the experts featured in the book, this is informative while not beyond the reach of the average non medical person, and is also fast paced and entertaining. I suspect that anyone who has any niggling questions about their cholesterol levels (or have had that look from their doctor), or knows someone who has, would benefit from reading this book. The simple fact is that most doctors just look at the numbers and, if over a given level, will start to write out a prescription. We need and deserve more information and more options and this book will give you that. I have this lurking desire to present my copy to my local doctor, I suspect it would be a waste of a good book... but you never know.

For someone like myself, and I seem to just have high-ish total cholesterol no matter what I do (but beautiful HDL and triglycerides), this book is likely a well needed assurance that we probably should just keep doing what we're doing... and ignore those looks from the Dr when we admit to cooking our eggs in butter.

[...]
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on September 30, 2013
I'd become aware of this book by chance when I saw its pending release advertised through a wellness website. Given I also have had a history of worsening cholesterol results, I was keen to obtain more specific information to better understand the relationship between wellness, in particular cholesterol and diet.
Jimmy Moore has gathered a number of subject matter experts who present alternative arguments to challenge conventional medical wisdom regarding cholesterol embodied within his own weight loss journey. His book contains some very useful and compelling information regarding the importance of cholesterol to the body, how cholesterol is affected by diet, good cholesterol bad cholesterol , cholesterol tests, how to interpret test results, how to treat yourself if you have high cholesterol and other very useful information which you're unlikely to get from your average doctor.
Given that I've been doing other research on this particular topic, this book nicely sums up what I've read elsewhere across a number of sites and is very consistent with those who continue to challenge conventional medical wisdom, which is to treat the problem with a pill (statin).
I found it easy to read and the chapter summaries were useful. I actually used the book to analyse my last cholesterol test to see where and how the numbers stacked up. Much to my surprise, I'm actually OK but conventional wisdom would tend to suggest otherwise. While there is still room for improvement, I now know what to focus on in order to gain further improvements across my metabolic markers. It was further proof to me that following a high fat low carbohydrate diet was a proven methodology to better health.
I would encourage anyone with high cholesterol and especially those taking statins to read this book, for no other reason than to be armed with some alternative but more insightful information. To know that your high cholesterol can be addressed through changes in diet alone is worth the cost of the book. I would have no hesitation in recommending this book to others.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
33 of 42 people found the following review helpful
on September 2, 2013
For over fifty years now, big pharma and the medical community have colluded to pull the wool over our eyes when it comes to cholesterol, how we measure it and what it means. All in the name of generating a 29 billion dollar a year statin drug industry. Statin drugs are now the number one prescribed drug in the world, topping anti-depressants and acid reflux medications. Jimmy relies not only on resources from 29 of the world's most cutting edge cholesterol experts, but draws from his own journey battling the side effects of statin drug use as prescribed by his physician. These side effects include joint and muscle pain, decreased strength and memory loss to name just a few. The book points out the glaring details in regards to how big pharma and a vast majority of our medical community have no regard for our health whatsoever and are "quite simply motivated by profit under the illusion they are making you healthier." Is it any wonder that big pharma's touting of its wonder drug flies in the face of current statistics? "Heart disease is now the number-one killer of both men and women, and nearly one million Americans have heart attacks annually. The financial burden of coronary heart disease alone totals close to $110 billion dollars a year, and that trend is growing."

Through all of this, cholesterol has quite un-fairly emerged as the villain. Cholesterol is to human beings as chlorophyll is to plants. It's one of the most essential components of our metabolism. Without it, we would die. Did you know that our dietary cholesterol, or the cholesterol we consume, accounts for only 15% of the total cholesterol in our body and that excess cholesterol is eliminated or excreted naturally? We don't continue to stockpile it as doctors would have you believe. Also, our total cholesterol is a meaningless number by itself and all of the components of blood cholesterol levels must be closely examined. Jimmy goes on to point out that it's critical to examine HDL to triglyceride levels and that there are several components to the so-called bad LDL cholesterol such as LDL-a (the good LDL) and LDL-b (not good), all of which need to be factored in to test results.

As the book points out, the enemy is inflammation and that "without inflammation, there can be no heart disease". When inflammation occurs, cholesterol comes to the rescue to help our bodies compensate. As Jimmy points out, "blaming cholesterol for heart disease is like saying that firefighters cause the fires!" Inflammation occurs when we expose our bodies to toxic and or food like substances that our bodies are simply not designed to process, pure and simple. The so-called medical experts have wrongly assumed that fat and cholesterol build up in our arteries because of the food we eat. As I will always allude to, a whole foods diet and regular exercise are the game winners here.

Unfortunately, the cholesterol myths are perpetuated by the industry due to enormous profits. They continue to try and dumb us down with over-simplified, grossly inaccurate total cholesterol theories in an attempt to funnel more cash through big pharma's statin drug cartel. As I've stated previously, it's you and I that are helping these guys make their yacht payments. Our best defense is to stay informed and Cholesterol Clarity delivers on this front.

A MUST READ if you're on a statin drug or want to avoid ever having to take them.

Michael Blaustone - The Nutritional Militant
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
32 of 41 people found the following review helpful
on September 6, 2013
First off, I purchased this book, it was not given to me for free. In fact I'm going to buy several other copies because I'm becoming sort of a 'cholesterol evangelist' now.

The book itself is very easy to read and not only explains cholesterol in great detail in a way that almost anyone can understand it, but also explains the role diet plays in manipulating the numbers. Speaking of manipulating, it also gives a good background on how statins have become the love child of the pharmaceutical industry and how they aren't all they seem.

I have been on a Low-Carb/High-Fat diet for a few months now and have seen dramatic weight loss, a surge in energy, better rest at night, lower blood pressure and greater mental clarity. My only concern was due to a bad cholesterol screening I had before I started the diet. Not only did this book help me understand how bad that reading was, but it prepared me to go to my doctor as a very well-informed patient with a clear goal and expectations. When my numbers came back I was very excited and the results met my expectations. In just 2 months, my triglycerides had dropped from 191 to 123-- 68 points! However the doctor was still trying to cling to 'total LDL is the BAD cholesterol' dogma. I set him straight (in a nice way) and he was receptive because at this point I was able to demonstrate that I really knew what I was talking about!

I've also been able to help clarify the issue with my mother, aunts and grandmother-- all of whom have been struggling with cholesterol and statins. Several have now already read the book and they too feel 'enlightened', more empowered and ready to discuss the issue further with their doctors.

If you want more detailed, in-depth information on cholesterol, follow up with the many experts Jimmy Moore consulted in his book. Those experts have treated thousands of real patients with obesity and heart disease by using the concepts presented here in the book. But, if you are like me and not a medical expert, then you should start here first! This book is such a great first step towards 'Cholesterol Clarity'-- especially for us laymen-- that it should be required reading for any adult that's ever been remotely concerned for their health.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on April 30, 2014
A few years ago I had my first cholesterol test at age 39. My doctor said my numbers were terrible (329 Total, 237 LDL). He immediately put me on Lipitor 10mg. Consequently my numbers dropped to 199 Total, 99 LDL. However, during this time on Lipitor I was miserable with muscle pain, fatigue, etc. After doing research about what I could possibly do to get off the statin, I found Jimmy's site and adopted a low-carb diet. I immediately dropped 30 pounds and felt much better energy-wise, and just overall honestly. I told my doctor that I had changed my diet and lost 30 pounds, although I didn't say it was low-carb for fear he might reject that, and I asked him if I could stop taking Lipitor to see if my diet and weight loss had any impact on my cholesterol numbers. He agreed to let me give it a shot, and after six weeks of being off Lipitor and feeling almost like my old self again, I got another cholesterol test; this time my numbers were even higher: 343 Total, 261 LDL. He insisted I resume Lipitor but I pointed out that, while my TC and LDL were high, my HDL and Triglycerides were a stellar 66 and 61 respectively, but that didn't matter to him. Luckily by this point, Cholesterol Clarity had been published, and I gave him a copy. A few weeks later he apologized for telling to go back on the statin, and he said he had every intention of telling the majority of his patients that they didn't have to take a statin if they didn't want to. He said he felt like he had been betrayed by all of what he was taught in medical school, and he was going to tell anyone who would listen about how unnecessary and detrimental statin drugs are. All of this was because of Jimmy Moore's excellent book. Cholesterol Clarity is saving lives, people! Bless you, Jimmy Moore!!!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on September 29, 2013
Since the release of this book, I have been recommending it to everyone I know. I've received overwhelming positive feedback -- from the way complex things are explained, to the "moment of clarity" quotes dispersed through out the book. We have been taught that cholesterol and fat are bad and the lower your cholesterol, the healthier you are. Cholesterol and saturated fat have both been demonized for far too long and the fact of the matter is we NEED both to be healthy. Cholesterol Clarity is a concise compilation of the latest research, breaking down scientific information into simple terms that make it easy to understand. It is a practical guide and valuable reference that can be read from beginning to end. You won't find this compilation of cutting-edge information anywhere else. I strongly urge you to get your copy of Cholesterol Clarity today. Read it, then share it with a friend, family member -- maybe even your doctor! There is far too much mixed information going around on this topic and it's time that this information is shared. Learn what we know about cholesterol and what it really means for your health.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.