Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Beginning to a Great New Series
It's been thirteen years since the evil Teeleh has laid waste to the beauty of Elyon's creation. The Horde roams the desert-filled earth seeking to destroy the followers of Elyon that remain. Thomas Hunter is the commander of the Forest Guard, warriors who have given their lives in service to Elyon and fellow believers. The Horde greatly outnumbers the Forest Guard, and...
Published on December 6, 2007 by Jake

versus
41 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ted Dekker needs to write from the heart again
I've been a Ted Dekker fan since reading his Circle Trilogy a couple of years ago and have read every book he's written since then. His writing is some of the best I've seen from anyone, books like Thr3e and Showdown captured my imagination and kept me hungry for more. But something has happened to my favorite modern writer that I can not explain. His slide from great...
Published on January 27, 2008 by Jonathan "Jimmy Dean" ...


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun, and meaningful read, April 25, 2010
Yesterday, Chosen was given to me, and I started reading it today. Five chapters in, and I realized that real life around me needed my attention. Chosen, as part one of the Lost Books quartet set in the midst of The Books of History Chronicles, is very easy to get into, and the characters are fresh and interesting, their dilemmas compelling, and the world they live in very rich with history and conflict.

As a YA novel, I am recommending it to my fifth grade daughter for some fun reading,and I hope to be able to discuss some of the Biblical themes present in the story. For starters, there is the theme of being "chosen" for a specific task and destiny, shaped uniquely to fulfill that destiny, and choosing to embrace that destiny. I believe we are all uniquely fitted by God for his glorious work, right where we are, with the skills he's given us, and the path that he sets in front of us. The path, and the tasks, may not seem glorious to us, but God has a plan for each of us.

If you are looking for a fun, and yet meaningful read, I highly recommend Chosen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, July 26, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chosen (The Lost Books, Book 1) (The Books of History Chronicles) (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book! I loved how this story shows how being "chosen" isn't always based on being the strongest, but maybe for some special inner quality that only God can see. The main characters have their faults, which make then easy to identify with, but it's so great to see them begin to grow and develop their strengths. This series is a must read for anyone who enjoyed the Circle Trilogy, especially as it gives more understanding of life in the forests there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More like 4 1/2 stars..., July 30, 2009
By 
Evil stalks the people of the forest. Teeleh has overtaken most of the land and his people are covered with a scaly disease, one that clouds their thinking while ravaging their bodies. The Horde, as Teeleh's people are known, fear the cleansing waters of Elyon, while the Forest Guard led by Thomas Hunter still fights for Elyon. But is it all just a myth?

Johnis had been easily dismissed from the tryouts to join the Forest Guard. Small of frame, he is still mourning the loss of his mother. However, circumstances in the final round of tryouts involving a strange game of football bring Johnis to the attention of all. Now, Johnis finds himself the companion of three other teenagers, Darsal, Billos, and Sylvie, as they set off on the final test to join the Forest Guard. Fate has another plan in store for them all, however....

Ted Dekker is an author renowned for his Adult Christian fiction stories. CHOSEN is related to his Circle Trilogy but is easily read and understood on its own merits. However, after reading CHOSEN, I definitely want to visit the world seen in the other books as the glimpses we see are fascinating.

Ted Dekker does a marvelous job at world building. The evil stalking the land is palpable and frightening. We see echoes of the Christian theme throughout the story in both the images and the storyline. In fact, all the elements of salvation and redemption are subtly woven into the story as we see a world in which Evil is the overriding force and yet pockets of Good still exist.

On the surface, CHOSEN is a fast-paced young adult fantasy novel but there is so much more beneath that. Readers will find themselves pondering elements of the story long after the last page is finished- while grabbing book 2 to start reading, of course. CHOSEN is well done, with even the title having true meaning. Well done!

COURTESY OF BOOK ILLUMINATIONS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The start to an exciting and fast-paced series, July 31, 2008
By 
This review is from: Chosen (The Lost Books, Book 1) (The Books of History Chronicles) (Hardcover)
Prolific author Ted Dekker once again demonstrates his superior skill at weaving in multi-level themes, character profiles and belief systems, all framed within an action-packed dynamo of thrilling chase, fight and escape scenes.

In CHOSEN, the first installment of the Lost Books series, Dekker has the famed Thomas Hunter inciting his forest dwellers to fight for the chance to win one of four top leadership positions. As an unlikely candidate because of his size and interest in books, Johnis doesn't think he has a chance. But by using his mind and his heart, he outwits and outfights other choice warriors and is appointed one of the four to go on a mission issued by Hunter. With little to recommend himself, Johnis is at first ridiculed by his fellow warriors, who see little worth in this upstart.

Together, Johnis, Darsal, Billos and Silvie head toward the desert and the Horde. En route, Johnis begins seeing signs of the evil bat-like mythical creatures, the Shataiki, swarming in the trees above their heads. They are attacked and divided, and all too soon are confronted by Teeleh, the originator of all evil and instigator of much pain against Elyon's people, the forest dwellers. Johnis must try to save his comrades and trick Teeleh into setting them free in exchange for one of the seven lost books of history. After gaining help from the Roush, the pure-hearted bat-like counterparts to the Shataiki, all four warriors get further lessons in listening to wise counsel and not going off task because of fear.

After almost dying due to lack of cleansing in the fresh water, Johnis, Darsal, Billos and Silvie do manage to join together with the aid of the Roush and rescue two of the seven books. Each of the teens gains much insight and fortitude as they re-enter their forest dweller camp and report on their mission. Hunter sees something special in Johnis and predicts his rise as the leader of his people.

Dekker concludes CHOSEN on a high note of community rejoicing and celebration, but hints that the second installment will have the four heroes relying on every ounce of skill, cunning and heartfelt courage to meet their next challenge. Riveting and fast-paced, readers will find the Lost Books series up to the author's usual excellent standard.

--- Reviewed by Michele Howe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a kids book, June 5, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chosen (The Lost Books, Book 1) (The Books of History Chronicles) (Hardcover)
I have to say that way i purchased this it was for a light read. Nothing too deep. I was mistaken. This book ties in at least 3 other books of his outside of the Black, Red, White. Be on the look out for those references. Great writing, very engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is mind greater than muscle?, December 5, 2008
This review is from: Chosen (The Lost Books, Book 1) (The Books of History Chronicles) (Hardcover)
In a grassy stadium field, twelve of the forest's strongest and bravest young fighters compete to determine who will be the four new squad leaders to serve with Forest Guard commander, Thomas Hunter. Johnis watches with his father from the sidelines as the twelve play this game called football, impressed with the strength of the contestants, but not their wit.

When the ball rolls into the audience and up to Johnis' feet, he hides it, rather than throw it back out. Thomas urges the contestants to find the ball, but they cannot. But Thomas knows Johnis has it and calls him onto the field with the declaration that he thinks Johnis can run circles around his mighty contestants.

Johnis is terrified but determined to show them all that the mind is greater than muscle. He uses his wit to prove Thomas right. Then Thomas announces that the Horde is gathering, and the new recruits, barely adults, will fight in four days time. But who will lead? Thomas calls out three names of the competitors, but instead of the fourth predicted leader, he points to Johnis. Shocked, Johnis shakily and reluctantly accepts his commission.

The four new leaders are first sent on a quest to prove themselves, but their mission changes when they meet a special someone who sends them on a new mission: find the seven lost Books of History before the Dark One does.

As always, Ted Dekker weaves a fantastical story with adventure, suspense, and danger. I loved his Circle Trilogy, and it was great to read a continuing story based in that world. Fans of the Circle Trilogy will love this story as will new readers. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impossible to put down! Riveting!, April 19, 2008
This review is from: Chosen (The Lost Books, Book 1) (The Books of History Chronicles) (Hardcover)
This was an amazing story. I read it straight through. Couldn't put it down. It reminded me of the Song Of Albion series written by Stephen Lawhead in the mid 1990s. I loved the premise, the plot, the action, the emotion. It was amazing. And those characters were in perilous situations so often it was downright thrilling. I love it when situations seem hopeless, but then something happens to turn it around. But like life, it's never easy. Love isn't easy, nor is faith, not when the facts tell you all is lost. But if you listen with your heart and choose not to filter everything through your head, you will hear the truth. Awesome, gripping fiction. A bit gory and graphic at times, but certainly no worse than what you see on television. I highly recommend it. Ted Dekker knows how to pull you into a story with the best of them. No wonder he's a NY Times best-selling author. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still hasn't happened..., January 18, 2008
By 
John Hosmer (North Augusta, South Carolina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chosen (The Lost Books, Book 1) (The Books of History Chronicles) (Hardcover)
Well, my fears have been set to rest yet again by the fabulous, Ted Dekker.
I keep thinking he's going to be bomb on a series or book (because everything else is SOOOO good!), but it definitely isn't happening here!

I don't know how he does it! This book was written technically as a 'Teen Series', but I'm hooked. I read 'Chosen' in one day and loved it!
Read the 'Circle Trilogy' first though! Follow it up with Showdown and Saint and then Skin. You'll enjoy this series even more if you read it in order!

I won't give anything away because Mr. Dekker always surprises you!
Just order the books and enjoy them! You won't regret it!
Plus, they look pretty awesome sitting on your bookshelf (there are gonna be 6 different colors representing the 6 Stories of History! How sweet is that?!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking for a page-turner?, December 5, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chosen (The Lost Books, Book 1) (The Books of History Chronicles) (Hardcover)
Chosen is the first in a series of 4 "the Books of History Chronicles" based in the Black-Red-White trilogy world. If you haven't read those, never fear, because you will still become enraptured by this series. You will travel with Johnis through his triumphs and defeats as he attempts to complete a divinely appointed task. It's an amazing little series that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

Beware, you may want to order the next book as you begin the first because you won't want to wait to long to read the next installment.

If you are new to Ted Dekker's writings, then get ready for a suspenseful, unexpected ride because he is known for plot twists that will keep you addicted to his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dive into another world again!, February 3, 2009
By 
Jon Wymore "jnwymore" (Midland, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Many have gone over the basic plotline of this story, so I won't rehash it. I will say that this, along with the other Lost Books Series, is a great return back to the Circle Trilogy. Johnis, Silvie, Darsal and Billos lead us into an amazing adventure into the world between Black and Red. If you loved the circle trilogy, you should love these books. They are great stories and Chosen gets you right in the action starting off with a rather strange "football" game. I was hooked from the beginning and can't wait for Ted Dekker to finish out the series someday....Here's to Green being this good later this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Chosen (The Lost Books, Book 1) (The Books of History Chronicles)
Chosen (The Lost Books, Book 1) (The Books of History Chronicles) by Ted Dekker (Hardcover - January 1, 2008)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.