Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back a lot of childhood memories
Watching the annual Perry Como Christmas special (as well as those of Bing Crosby and others) was a tradition in my family and getting this wonderful DVD is a reminder of those special and simpler times. First, these are not complete episodes but excerpts from six Como Christmas shows in various locations: Colonial Williamsburg, Paris, French Canada, Mexico, Austria and...
Published on November 21, 2012 by DLT

versus
18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Different Viewpoint
I ordered this DVD because of the great reviews it received on Amazon but I was really disappointed when I watched it. The picture quality and sound quality are poor. The musical selections are repeated often as Perry moves from one country to another. How many times do you want to hear the same song? Many of the shows were poorly written and the producer made numerous...
Published on December 5, 2012 by Paul Drake


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back a lot of childhood memories, November 21, 2012
This review is from: Christmas Around the World With Perry Como (DVD)
Watching the annual Perry Como Christmas special (as well as those of Bing Crosby and others) was a tradition in my family and getting this wonderful DVD is a reminder of those special and simpler times. First, these are not complete episodes but excerpts from six Como Christmas shows in various locations: Colonial Williamsburg, Paris, French Canada, Mexico, Austria and The Holy Land. What makes these shows so special, along with the wonderful seasonal songs and carols, are seeing the different locales and Christmas customs/history of these diverse cultures.

Opening with Perry recalling his childhood Christmases
From Colonial Williamsburg (1978)

Twelve Days of Christmas...Perry
Little Drummer Boy...Perry
Scenes from various Williamsburg locales with Perry & John Wayne
Here We Come A Wassailing...choir
No Place Like Home for the Holidays...Perry
Banter between Perry & John Wayne in Governor's Hall
John Wayne reads a letter from a young Revolutionary Malitia Man to his mother on Christmas Eve
I Saw Three Ships....Perry & choir
We Wish You a Merry Christmas....Perry & John Wayne
O Come All Ye Faithful/Joy to the World....Children's Choir
Ave Maria....Perry

From Christmas in Paris (1982)

I Wish it Could Be Christmas Forever...Perry
Scenes of Paris
Wash women perform the Can-Can (don't worry it's G-rated)
It's Beginning to Look a Lot like Christmas/Deck the Hall....Perry & Angie Dickinson
Christ is Born....Perry & Boys Choir
Do you Hear What I hear....Perry

From Christmas in French Canada (1981)

He is Born (devine Christ Child)...Perry & Children
Christmas Medley....Perry, Debbie Boone & Diane Tell
Carol of the Bells....Pianist Andre Gagnon
Dorothy Hammil skates while Andre Gagnon plays piano
White Christmas....Perry with Andre Gagnon playing piano
O'Holy Night.....Perry

From Christmas in Mexico (1975)

Happy Holidays....Perry
Sing (Sing a Song)....Perry
Children re-enact The First Christmas
Silent Night....Perry, Captain & Tennille, Vicki Carr
Children breaking penyata/Dancing and fireworks
Ave Maria....Perry

From Christmas in Austria (1976)

I'm In Love With Vienna....Perry
O Tennenbaum/O Christmas Tree....Vienna Boys Choir,Perry
Deck The Halls....Vienna Boys Choir
Christ is Born....Perry, Vienna Boys Choir
Perry tells the story of the writing of 'Silent Night'
Silent Night (as it was first performed)....Perry
O'Holy Night....Perry

From Christmas in the Holy Land (1980)

Scenes from the Holy City of Jerusalem
I Wonder As I Wander....Perry
More Scenes from the Holy Land with Richard Chamberlain reading the gospel.
Perry & Richard Chamberlain at the Mountain of Beatitudes
The Lord's Prayer sung by Perry
Perry tours the Town of Bethlehem/The Story of the Birth of Jesus with several carols included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality, but four stars because it's Perry Como, December 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christmas Around the World With Perry Como (DVD)
Four stars because it's Perry Como and is the only work of his available. As noted by another reviewer, the video and audio quality are not what they should be. This dvd would have benefited tremendously if the company had taken advantage of imaging technology to actually upgrade the image quality to HD. As it is, some of the scenes look almost as though they were taped off of a television screen as opposed to using the original tapes. With the economical processing power and computer imaging capability available today, there is really no reason for a studio to release a product with picture quality that is this bad. For example, distance shots are so distorted you cannot make out Mr Como's face let alone his features and there is considerable video distortion when any of the subjects are moving. Additionally, the audio could have been cleaned up and balanced across the different segments. Also, as noted by another person, becaused this consists of different specials that have been cobbled together some of the songs are repeated. One thing viewers can do to improve the viewing experience is to set your HDTV from a 16:9 to 4:3 aspect ratio. This will not eliminate the image problems mentioned above but will reduce their effect. Hopefully someone will get the message and produce a full HD quality release of this dvd. Compared to the video and audio quality of other dvd releases of old television programmes (e.g., A Ford Show Family Christmas - also available on Amazon), this one is poor indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Entertainment as It Used to Be, January 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christmas Around the World With Perry Como (DVD)
This DVD captures moments from a few of Perry's Christmas specials of the 1970's and 1980's. These specials were always a very classy affair, produced with what are known today as "high production values." While we get some different performances of the same songs, this is not a problem; there is nothing unpleasant about hearing/seeing Perry's moving, stunningly beautiful rendition of Franz Schubert's Ave Maria more than once. My only wish is that Perry's estate would release each of these specials intact, as they were originally broadcast. I'm sure there is a market for them that would justify the expense of tracking down approvals of his guest stars. If for no other reason, these should be made available to allow future generations to know that there was actually a time when gentle, reverent beauty was possible in the entertainment world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A walk down memory lane!, November 7, 2012
By 
Kathryn Toth (Trabuco Canyon, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Christmas Around the World With Perry Como (DVD)
I can still remember as a kid watching Perry Como with the family, having him be a large part of out Holiday Spirit. This Special has some of my most poignant memories of Perry Como and it's a down right pleasure to finally get the chance to share this with my kids and grand kids. My parents will be revived with life after getting this for their Christmas season. A MUST BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous entertainer and human being, May 24, 2013
When someone spoke of a classy person, one always thought of Perry Como in this vein. He was a very understated man and singer whose soft-spoken style and grace made you want to make sure you didn't miss any of his TV appearances and specials ... and this Christmas special(s) is one of 'em. He was a crooner in the best sense of that description, and one always remembered that he could laugh at himself as he did many times during his TV shows and specials. G-d doesn't make 'em like Perry Como anymore or else the world would be a better - and more musically melodious - place!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Different Viewpoint, December 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christmas Around the World With Perry Como (DVD)
I ordered this DVD because of the great reviews it received on Amazon but I was really disappointed when I watched it. The picture quality and sound quality are poor. The musical selections are repeated often as Perry moves from one country to another. How many times do you want to hear the same song? Many of the shows were poorly written and the producer made numerous blunders. It is very obvious that most of the scenes were filmed in the summer or fall. If it was in a bin at K-Mart for $4.99 I would tell you to buy it but it is not worth the asking price. Save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars PERRY IS THE BEST BUT THIS DVD CONTAINS JUST SHORT BITS FROM MULTIPLE SPECIALS, December 3, 2013
This review is from: Christmas Around the World With Perry Como (DVD)
Perry Como Is Magnificent but this DVD is only highlights from various shows
so provides just small portions of specials in the late 1970s and 1980s. More
satisfying is the MPI DVD release of the entire "Perry Como's Christmas Show"
from 1974 with The Carpenters. You get the whole classic program plus lots
of bonus material. Hopefully more complete Como TV presentations will be
issued in full format and better quality but this Christmas Around The World
compilation is just an appetizer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Christmas Compilation, November 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christmas Around the World With Perry Como (DVD)
This is everything we hoped it would be and more, one of the greatest Christmas collections out there. My family has traveled to Quebec, Williamsburg, Paris, Mexico and Salzburg, Austria, many times, and are very happy to see these places as backdrop to one of the great singers and a great collection of traditional Christmas songs, including many religious songs which remind us of the true meaning of Christmas. I am sure we will watch it many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perry Como one of his finest performances, November 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christmas Around the World With Perry Como (DVD)
This was a great Christmas show performed in many different countries around the world by Perry Como. Loved seeing the different Christmas traditions and hearing Perry's voice again! He had some great guests on performing with him, great choirs
and if you like Perry Como you will love this dvd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Around The World with Perry Como, September 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christmas Around the World With Perry Como (DVD)
If you don't believe in the real spirit of Christmas after viewing this Christmas special with Perry Como, then chances are you will never really know the real spirit of Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Christmas Around the World With Perry Como
$19.98
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.