Customer Reviews


281 Reviews
5 star:
 (235)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW !!!
Straight No Chaser's latest holiday album is full of brand new recordings by this group and it's all about Christmas. Indeed, this is going to be a terrific stocking stuffer this year! Everything about the track set is brand new except that we get the album version of "The 12 Days of Christmas" instead of a live recording of "The 12 Days of Christmas" that was on their...
Published on November 3, 2009 by Matthew G. Sherwin

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wanted to Like it but still think last year's was better
Don't get me wrong, I still think this is a terrific group! Their voices are amazing and blend beautifully together. It's the choice of arrangements for the songs on this album that are not my favorite. My personal preference is 'standard' versions of Christmas songs - like those on their first Christmas Album - a much better collection - songs you can sing along with.
Published on December 10, 2009 by Mary in CA


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW !!!, November 3, 2009
By 
Matthew G. Sherwin (last seen screaming at Amazon customer service) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Christmas Cheers (MP3 Music)
Straight No Chaser's latest holiday album is full of brand new recordings by this group and it's all about Christmas. Indeed, this is going to be a terrific stocking stuffer this year! Everything about the track set is brand new except that we get the album version of "The 12 Days of Christmas" instead of a live recording of "The 12 Days of Christmas" that was on their album entitled "Holiday Spirits." Moreover, Straight No Chaser sound wonderful; I could listen to this CD every day and never tire of it! They are exceptionally gifted performers. The quality of the sound is very good and the artwork is excellent, too.

"The Christmas Can-Can" starts the album with a fun tune that has Straight No Chaser squarely in the spotlight and I love the way they do this one to perfection! Great! "We Three Kings" is very well done; and the members of Straight No Chaser handle the tempo and key changes like pros. Other very good numbers include "Christmastime Is Here" which I first heard in "A Charlie Brown Christmas" television special; and "Let It Snow" charms me with its natural beauty. Listen also for "Dónde Está Santa Claus" which adds a lot of mirth to the album and the incredible "I'll Be Home for Christmas" which was my mother's favorite Christmastime song. There are also outstanding renditions of "Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer" and "O Holy Night" while "God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen" gets a particularly creative arrangement to let Straight No Chaser put their own stamp on this classic holiday ballad. "The 12 Days of Christmas" is also extremely well done to the theme of "Africa" which was recorded by Toto.

But Straight No Chaser adds even a few more fun, secular tunes to add a special kick to this CD. I really like that electric "Hey Santa;" "You're A Mean One, Mr. Grinch;" and "Who Spiked the Eggnog?" Excellent!

Straight No Chaser fans will love this holiday album; and this is absolutely perfect for anyone who enjoys a mixture of classic holiday music with songs that are more secular but every bit as special. I highly recommend this fine album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent SNC Offering, November 4, 2009
By 
Tracy Vest (Northern California) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christmas Cheers (Audio CD)
Straight No Chaser is hands down one of the most entertaining groups to come along in years. And the fact that they were "rediscovered" decades after first performing makes their trek all the more amazing. Last year they released their first official CD Holiday Spirits which soon soared to the top of the charts. Their latest release, "Christmas Cheers," comes on the heels of the excellent EP Six Pack [Amazon Exclusive]. The songs are a mix of timeless classics and entertaining comical songs mixed with original material. They are definitely the holiday go-to guys.

Kicking off with the peppy "Christmas Can-Can" which includes original lyrics featuring melodies from several traditional holiday songs (as well as the "Can-Can" from "Orpheus in the Underground"); in an arrangement only they could come up with. Other stand out songs include "We Three Kings" which is performed to the melody of "Mission Impossible," the fantastic Vince Guaraldi tune "Christmastime is Here," the always pleasing "I'll be Home for Christmas," a funky version of "Let it Snow" listeners won't recognize, and a great version of "You're a Mean One Mr. Grinch" which allows the bass singers to finally sing... lyrics. The album concludes with a studio version of "12 Days of Christmas," a medley of numerous songs and garbling of the lyrics - and the song that made them famous. It is a nice crisp alternative to the live version released last year.

Fans of the a cappella group will not be disappointed. And it doesn't have to be the holiday season to enjoy the songs. And if you are fortunate enough to see them live, you will be amazed - they sound exactly like they do on their CD's, with the added bonus of their interactions with the audience and each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cappella Harmonies Splashed With Christmas Fun, November 22, 2009
This review is from: Christmas Cheers (Audio CD)
Straight No Chaser is an acapella group from Indiana University. This 10 man group was founded in 1996. Their video clip of "The 12 Days of Christmas," posted by a group alum, became a YouTube phenomena in 2007. It was the best.

Christmas Cheer is the second Christmas collection. The 21 songs in this CD are a mix of straight and fun. The subdued 'Holy Night', 'God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen' and Christmas Time Is Here. The CD gets off to a rollicking start with 'Christmas Can-Can'" a hot 'We Three Kings', a brilliant parody of 'Donde Esta Santa Claus', a wonderful 'Hey, Santa', a sleazy 'You're a Mean One, Mr. Grinch', a priceless Elvis lead on 'Santa Claus is Back in Town', a crazy 'Jingle Bells', a drunken 'Who Spiked the Eggnog'. And, this all leads into the song that started it all. 'The Twelve Days of Christmas'. Each song has unexpected surprises. The arrangements are entertaining. And the CD has 5 extras, not necessarily Christmas songs but fun never the less. Amy Winehouse's 'Rehab' was never sung better. Jack Johnson's rollicking 'I'm Yours' and 'Over the Rainbow'. To the divine 'Can't Take My Eyes Off Of You'. This is a Christmas CD for everyone, the young will love the fun songs and the traditional songs are there for everyone. A Capella brings tone and a myriad of sounds to music- this grou[ of ten men has set the music world on its ear, let's listen!

This CD demonstrates the group's talents and skills and marvelous voices. They blend and meander and finally come in to their own. CHEERS!

Highly Recommended. prisrob 11-22-09

Holiday Spirits
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boy Band, Male Choral Group, Doo-Wop or Jazzy? Who are these guys?, December 2, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christmas Cheers (Audio CD)
For many of us, our first exposure to Straight No Chaser (SNC) was with their inventive a cappella rendition of the classic carol The Twelve Days of Christmas. There is something delightfully playful about that arrangement. It leads the listener through familiar territory while on an unfamiliar path. Where were they taking us next? Their talent is clear, their voices are pure and their sound meshes beautifully together.

This latest CD features mostly traditional carols done in a generally recognizable way. The flights of fancy are more grounded than soaring. Even with that observation, this is a simply terrific CD with some subtle touches I appreciated. Other reviewers have noted obvious musical style influences in some of the songs. What is most impressive is how deftly SNC handle any style - they really can sing. Below is a brief synopsis of each song. Note that when I use the term "boy band" to describe the style they've selected for a particular song, I intend nothing but respect because when they perform that style, they do it better than almost anyone.

Christmas Can Can - High energy novelty song - cute and borderline annoying.

We Three Kings - Starts with the intro to the Mission Impossible theme song, which, of course, given the Three Kings task, is quite clever. The rest of the song is otherwise traditional.

Christmastime Is Here (Charlie Brown Christmas) - Uses the opening bars from the O' Christmas Tree carol. The song itself is otherwise a straight rendition with the style being a male chorale group.

Let It Snow - R & B treatment of the song with a creative arrangement that is quite unique. The lyrics remain as written.

Donde Esta Santa Claus - Song is effectively performed in a 50's Doo Wop style.

I'll Be Home for Christmas - Beautiful "boy band" harmonies. They moved the song introduction to the middle to great effect. It actually was much more moving re-positioned.

Hey Santa! - Manhattan Transfer style with great energy.

Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer - Done in a jazzy style with some altered lyrics.

You're a Mean One Mr. Grinch - Interesting sound from the Bass members of the group with a "boy band" sound. Traditional lyrics used.

Oh Holy Night - the style used is the one that defines them - a male a cappella chorale group. This is a very traditional and also a very beautiful rendition.

Santa Claus is Back in Town - is an impressive imitation of Elvis' classic version with some additional lyrics.

God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen - Definitely has a Manhattan Transfer feel to it, and the opening howling wind sound effect is quite ethereal.

Jingle Bells - SNC's choral ability shines in this song, a tune that has been done so many times it is impressive that they managed a fresh arrangement and some new lyrics.

Who Spiked the Egg Nog - Jazzy style and the song is surprisingly sophisticated.

The Twelve Days of Christmas - Studio version of the version on the first CD. It is fun to have another version of the song.

They have not duplicated the magic of The Twelve Days of Christmas and perhaps it isn't necessary. I enjoyed this CD very much and would highly recommend it to all who like male a cappella music and aren't offended or annoyed by a slight twist on tradition. This is not a CD to listen to when cuddling by the fire, it is too high energy. It is better suited for a party or when the listener needs a second wind to finish up gift wrapping or cookie baking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but preferred last years version better, December 9, 2009
By 
Porter (Houston, TX) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Christmas Cheers (Audio CD)
One of the things I loved about Holiday Spirits was that it took traditional christmas carols that you knew and grew up with and redid them. The album took old favorites and revitalized them while keeping the classic feel alive. (Well, the 12 days of Christmas was an exception.) When I purchased this album, I was expecting more of the same.

I was disappointed, while the titles may be familiar, most of the songs have a feel that is not traditional. I've listened to this a fair number of times and now I really enjoy the album, but unlike last years album it wasn't immediate. Perhaps my expectations were too high? Perhaps my expectations were pointed in the wrong direction, but once I got over the shock of "that's a traditional song, but it's not sung traditionally" I enjoyed the album. I think last year they played it safe and conservative. This year they let a little more of their personality come out. If you are not expecting a traditional sound, then I think you'll enjoy it from the start.

Christmas Can Can has become one of my favorite Christmas songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wanted to Like it but still think last year's was better, December 10, 2009
By 
Mary in CA (Rancho Santa Margarita, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Christmas Cheers (MP3 Music)
Don't get me wrong, I still think this is a terrific group! Their voices are amazing and blend beautifully together. It's the choice of arrangements for the songs on this album that are not my favorite. My personal preference is 'standard' versions of Christmas songs - like those on their first Christmas Album - a much better collection - songs you can sing along with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Instant Christmas Classic, December 1, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christmas Cheers (Audio CD)
Straight No Chaser has come through with a second Christmas Album and it is new, refreshing and simply awesome. There are new versions of Christmas Classics with exceedingly unique arrangements, along with a couple of originals like "The Christmas Can-Can" and "Who Spiked The Egg-Nog". And there is a studio version of "The 12 Days of Christmas", the same arrangement as the live version featured on their previous album that also became a YouTube sensation.

The entire album is performed a-cappella. The arrangements are jazzier than the previous album and the sound is exceedingly polished while retaining that spark of fun. Jazz, R&B, funk, rock-a-billy influences along with bits of tongue-in-cheek musical humor are sprinkled throughout. Any fan of Bobby McFerrin, Manhattan Transfer or Brian Setzer will find a Christmas home here.

Highlights include "The Christmas Can-Can", an excellent opener and a perfect way to start the Holiday Season. "We Three Kings" is set in a swinging 5/4. "Christmastime is Here" is an excellent version of the Charlie Brown classic. There is a funky version of "Let it Snow". "Rudolph" and "Jingle Bells" are each given a refreshing new take. And it goes on until you are left guessing "Who Spiked the Egg-Nog".

When you see a classic Christmas song title on the album, be assured it has been given a unique and original treatment. When you come across a tune with which you are not familiar, just sit back and listen.

A true listening pleasure, this is a sparkling follow-up Christmas album from Straight, No Chaser. I give it my a whole-hearted Holiday recommendation. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST ACAPELLA GROUP IN THE WORLD!!!, June 28, 2011
These guys are the absolute best!! They are all I listened to at Christmas, and all I listen to now!! They can do it all, serious pieces and comedy, ALL with lovely complex harmonies and mature, full range voices. The HIGHS and the LOWS are incredible!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not traditional = Not boring, November 16, 2009
By 
Taber E. (Newport, RI USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christmas Cheers (Audio CD)
Lots of humor, clever arrangements, more original songs. An upbeat addition to your holiday music collection. The roster of performers seems to have changed slightly from their first CD, but the quality of the vocals is happily consistent. Only criticism: Starting to sound a little too polished, with occasional studio effects that make you wonder how much of what you hear might NOT be their voices alone. Only other criticism: Studio version of their mistake-riddled 12 Days of Christmas really doesn't work. They should have recorded it straight (or not at all) and left the legendary live version alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Va. Book Rat, November 21, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christmas Cheers (Audio CD)
I bought the SNC Christmas album last year and found myself really enjoying listening to this music, something different for the season, well needless to say I was VERY excited to see the new album this year and I have not been the least bit disappointed.....in the fact I think the group is just getting better.......I love the first track...."The Christmas Can-Can it brings a smile to my to my face each time I hear it.....it is a good CD to put in the middle of the more traditional music to get let a new sound to "clean out your ears".......please give this CD a try for the holidays
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Christmas Cheers
Christmas Cheers by Straight No Chaser (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.