Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas in Beantown
In Boston, Christmas music is synonymous with The Boston Pops, and for many people, Christmas music is synonymous with its legendary conductor, Arthur Fielder. The album contains many Pops favorites including Leroy Anderson's arrangement of Christmas carols and his well known Sleigh Ride. We actually hear the authentic rendition of Sleigh Ride on this recording since the...
Published on September 26, 2003 by Timothy Kearney

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but ...
Being used to the excellent sounds of today's recordings, I was disappointed with the remastering of this album. Granted, if one wants to hear Fiedler with the Pops, it will be a recording made years ago. That said, I enjoyed the variety of the music and the orchestrations.
Published 6 months ago by "suedanym"


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas in Beantown, September 26, 2003
By 
Timothy Kearney (Haverhill, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Christmas Festival with Arthur Fiedler and the Boston Pops (Audio CD)
In Boston, Christmas music is synonymous with The Boston Pops, and for many people, Christmas music is synonymous with its legendary conductor, Arthur Fielder. The album contains many Pops favorites including Leroy Anderson's arrangement of Christmas carols and his well known Sleigh Ride. We actually hear the authentic rendition of Sleigh Ride on this recording since the Pops made Anderson's music famous. The recording includes classical favorites such as music from the opera Hansel and Gretel, Mozart's Sleigh Ride, a highlight from The Nutcracker, and Fantasia on Greensleves. Newer works include Al Hirt's Toy Trumpet. The recording concludes with the Pops timeless rendition of Santa Claus Is Coming To Town.
As soon as the music of this recording begins, the listener is transported to Boston's Symphony Hall. So take a break from the hectic holiday season and enjoy the sound of the Boston Pops!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Traditional Songs of the Season Instrumentally, April 19, 2001
By 
rodboomboom (St. Louis, Missouri United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Christmas Festival with Arthur Fiedler and the Boston Pops (Audio CD)
Pops fame of Fiedler and Boston Pops is well illustrated in this Christmas collection.
Well done recording balanced with religious and secular offerings. Especially enjoy the versions of "Carol of the Bells" and "What Child Is This?"
Worthwhile addition to play to provide variety of sung and instrumental holiday cheer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasctic all instrumental Xmas music, December 5, 2000
By 
R. Shaw (Hanford, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Christmas Festival with Arthur Fiedler and the Boston Pops (Audio CD)
Arthur Fiedler has created a timeless classic album with the Boston Pops. All the Christmas standards are here, all in instrumental form (which is hard to find these days). Even if you aren't a classical music fan you will find these renditions exciting and fitting for any Christmas occasion. The songs will draw pleasant memories of your youth at Christmas time. Especially unique is the whimsical "sleigh ride" with the clip clop sounds of horses hooves, a whip snapping, sleigh bells ringing, and for the finale, the neighing of a horse (portrayed by a trumpet of course).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Festival, December 18, 2006
This review is from: A Christmas Festival with Arthur Fiedler and the Boston Pops (Audio CD)
Arthur Fieldler takes you to "A Christmas Festival" where he will lead you on a "Sleigh Ride" to a "Winter Wonderland" to celebrate an absolutely beautiful "White Christmas" with the Boston Pops Orchestra and Chorus.

Make it a "Silent Night" and listen to some of the classic Christmas carols of all-time - "The Nutcracker: Dance of the Sugar-Plum Fairy," "What Child Is This?" and a host of heavenly chorus singing a "Christmas Medley" of "Here We Come A-Caroling," "O Christmas Tree" and "I Saw Three Ships."

This is one my favorite Christmas music of all-time. The music of Arthur Fiedler and the Boston Pops Orchestra has been a part of our very musical household when I was growing up. Likewise, this recording takes me back to my cherished memories of Christmases in the past. This is Christmas music at its best. The arrangements are perfectly done, the orchestration is superb, the choice of material is truly impeccable, and the chorus is outstanding.

Merrily recommended for your Holiday listen and let your ears capture its magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have Christmas Disc, November 13, 2010
By 
Gardngoyle (Shelbyville, VT) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Christmas Festival with Arthur Fiedler and the Boston Pops (Audio CD)
I love this disc. When I was a kid my parents owned this one on a cassette tape and we played it until it wore out. From the first amazing notes of 'Joy To the World' ("Christams Fetival" is a fantastic medley of favorite carols) - straight through to 'Santa Claus Is Coming to Town' this is a perfect instrumental offering of Holiday music. Excellent background music for the dinner hour or opening the presents on Christmas morning. If your folks had this one on vinyl or cassette it will take you right back home for the holidays. Assuming you want to go there.....I know I'm starting to sound like an infomercial (But wait - There's More!) but no kidding it is also a perfect gift for those folks that seem to have everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Create a Real Christmas Atmosphere, September 23, 2008
By 
This review is from: A Christmas Festival with Arthur Fiedler and the Boston Pops (Audio CD)
This album was released on compact disc in October of 1990 but it was released on vinyl records sometime between 1969 to 1972. I grew up listening to it most years until I started on my own path. Of course in my younger days the appreciation for Christmas orchestra music was not there. Only rediscovered it on amazon.com in 1994. It's great to play low as background music on Christmas day while opening gifts or while friends and relatives are talking about. The music has a whimsical flare which really brings out the Christmas spirit. Highly recommended for initiating cheer and maintaining calm in the household.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Christmas Music, August 31, 2007
By 
Jim Classic (Pine Bush, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Christmas Festival with Arthur Fiedler and the Boston Pops (Audio CD)
As far as I'm concerned this is a "must have" for any Christmas music collection. I also own two other Boston Pops Christmas CD's conducted by John Williams and Keith Lockart which are newer and also great but this one from Artur Fiedler is the "Master". Over an hour of pure classic holiday pleasure. Christmas music like fine wine only improves with age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful Christmas instrumental to have!, October 16, 2005
This review is from: A Christmas Festival with Arthur Fiedler and the Boston Pops (Audio CD)
Next to the selections by Mannheim Steamroller, The Boston Pops and Arthur Fiedler put together some of the wonderful instrumental melodies of the Christmas season.Every one is first rate to listen to. I don't know which one I like. Anyway.. you will like this!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Festival w/ Arthur Fiedler & the Boston Pops, March 1, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Festival with Arthur Fiedler and the Boston Pops (Audio CD)
Fantastic Christmas music ob this album, I really love "Fantasia on What Child is This?" It is a beautiful & longer version. Part of it was composed by Ralph Vaughn Williams. I also love this particular version of "Winter Wonderland" w/ it's dreamy, spellbinding & magical beginning & ending to THIS song. BOTH songs, that I just mentioned are the reason that I purchased this CD. Actually, this whole album is great & it's definitely recommended & worth whatever the price may be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is classic!, December 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Festival (MP3 Music)
Now this is the music I grew up with. Classic and should be required purchase to pass along from this to next generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.