Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album
Love Francesca as it is but to have her beautiful voice singing Christmas music is an added bonus. I purchased this at Walmart for an additional disc of 4 of her hits. Not one bad song on the entire album.
Published 17 months ago by B. Olson

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seems unfinished...
I loved Francesca's first two albums so I was excited when I heard she was doing a Christmas album. But starting from the picture on the cover, it just didn't seem like she had much fun with this one. The classic songs are there, and a few original ones that had potential, but it just seems like something is missing from the whole album. It feels like they got in a...
Published 16 months ago by Rebecca Nims


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, October 29, 2012
This review is from: Christmas (Audio CD)
Love Francesca as it is but to have her beautiful voice singing Christmas music is an added bonus. I purchased this at Walmart for an additional disc of 4 of her hits. Not one bad song on the entire album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great CD!, November 20, 2012
This review is from: Christmas (Audio CD)
I have been a big fan of Francesca Battistelli for some time but I have not heard her sing Christmas Music before. Her smooth voice makes me smile and through this CD I felt the same. What I loved about the album was that there was great mix of old favorites, but also, some amazing new Christmas songs that were catchy and made me and my family all sit wrapped in the Christmas spirit that this artist provides her listeners. I was very pleased with the CD and know that if you are already her fan you will love it, and if this is your first time, hang on, as you will definitely be coming back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new favorite for my collection!, November 6, 2012
This review is from: Christmas (Audio CD)
I'm highly addicted to Christmas music. I ordered 'Christmas' from the Francesca Battistelli website, and I could not be happier with the album! Francesca sounds beautiful and unique on songs that have been done countless times over the years. Battistelli also features 4 original songs on the album: Heaven Everywhere, Christmas Is, Christmas Dreams, and You're Here. My personal favorites from 'Christmas' include Christmas Is, Marshmallow World, The Christmas Song, Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas, and Christmas Dreams. Battistelli's voice is pure and spirited, and I can't listen to this album without smiling and singing along! Buy this album for yourself. It'll find a place in your Christmas collection!

Track listing:
The Christmas Song
Heaven Everywhere
Christmas Is
What Child Is This?
Marshmallow World
O Come, O Come, Emmanuel
Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
You're Here
Joy To The World
Christmas Dreams
Go Tell It On The Mountain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of "Christmas", November 20, 2013
This review is from: Christmas (Audio CD)
Christmas is indeed the most wonderful time of the year for a recording artist. There is no need for them to circumscribe their song choices to recording only radio tailored hits that every critic thinks it de rigueur to praise but secretly wonders where the melodies and singing have gone. Thus, without such an imposing “I–need-a-radio-hit” gravity on this record, Francesca Battistelli floats back to the bygone times of cabaret greats where singing rather than guitar riffs is at the fore. And she steps into a time where music is driven by transcending melodies that you could hum to your grandkids in 20 years time rather than non-descript ones that only re-vibrates radio airwaves for a flash. Even though “Christmas” was released late last year, Word/Curb/Fervent Records have recently re-released this album again as a repackaged set of the original audio CD augmented with a DVD. The DVD features Battistelli singing the same songs as on the CD (plus the non-album bonus track “25th of December”) live at the Pepsi Studio Gallery in Nashville with some commentary in between tracks.

Let’s get to the album proper first before we return to say a few more words about the DVD. As the first note of Mel Torme and Robert Wells’ “The Christmas Song” strikes, we are transported into a time warp harkening back to the jazzy days of Rosemary Clooney and Bing Crosby. The inviting tango calls of the brass section, Battistelli’s tonsil testing vocal glory and the ever endearing words of “Chestnuts roasting on an open fire/Jack Frost nipping at your nose/Yuletide carols sung by a choir…” are enough to get us prancing with glee and nostalgia in the euphoria of the season. Though it’s almost customary these days for artists to interspersed their Christmas records with their own originals, Battistelli is of no exception. Here she offers 4 of her own compositions: preceding the parade is the lead single “Heaven Everywhere.” While songwriters struggle to put to words the transforming joy that Christmas brings, Ben Glover and Battistelli have made it palatable through offering some concrete flesh and blood examples of the difference Christmas brings: “It’s the smile on a man who has finally found hope/It’s the tears of a mother whose child has come home/It’s the joy that we feel and the love that we share.”

Battistelli’s attention to details again shows on “Christmas Is.” In a season where we are most easily distracted by fighting for a parking spot in the mall, trying to remember not to burn the turkey and remembering to say “thank you” to the gifts we’ve returned, “Christmas Is” details all these jarring (and at times humorous) anecdotes. Yet, the song’s crowning moment comes when amidst all of these chaos, Battistelli sings “Christmas is Jesus,” a clarion call that gets s back to the season’s real reason. Moving away from the bustling tempo of “Christmas Is” is the touching ballad “You’re Here.” One of the most gruesome nightmares for a mother is to have your newborn baby being mistreated. The slightest thought of someone inadvertently dropping your baby on the floor is enough to send tumours down a mother’s spine. So, how must Mary the mother of Jesus have felt when she knew right from the start that her newborn baby was to be mistreated, abused, humiliated and murdered in the hands of cruel men? “You’re Here” finds Battistelli exploring some of those emotions with a maternal exasperation that you could hear Mary’s (and God’s) heart(s) breaking with every syllable.

Back to the DVD: frankly the newly augmented DVD leaves more to be desired. Though the DVD is dubbed as a live recording of Battistelli singing these Christmas songs, there are little variations Battistelli brings to her live renditions. Other than some interactions with the audience at the beginning of the songs, the songs seemed to be lifted off from the studio recordings. Also, the purpose of a live recording is to allow fans to be able to interact with Battistelli but here there were hardly any camera shots of the audience at all. Other than the addition of “25th of December,” the DVD is a luxury and not really a necessity. Nevertheless, don’t let this distract you from getting one of the most heartwarming and enjoyable Christmas CD to be released in the last couple of years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, October 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christmas (MP3 Music)
This is one of my favorite Christmas albums. Francesca has such a great voice. Some of the songs are classics with new twists. Some are new songs or songs that aren't normally on Christmas albums. I recommend this to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, February 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christmas (Audio CD)
Francesca has a great voice, great message, and having some contemporary [Christian] Christmas music is really nice. Recommend very highly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Christmas cd, February 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christmas (Audio CD)
If you like Francesca you will enjoy this cd with some classic Christmas songs! I got it as part of my wife's gift and gave it to her early so she could listen to it in season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!!, March 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christmas (Audio CD)
This album is terrific and well worth getting. The songs fun to listen to and Francesca Battistelli has one of the best voices I have heard. My daughters love her songs too. I would say buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Her Voice!!, March 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Francesca has an amazing voice, and I'm glad she's one of the few using it for the Lord. I just hope she keeps it that way and isn't using CCM as a stepping block toward mainstream music like a lot of women who were in CCM before her
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful!, March 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christmas (Audio CD)
grand-daughter is a huge fan and loves anything by her. this was no exception. great find and at a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa1abdd14)

This product

Christmas
Christmas by Francesca Battistelli (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.