Customer Reviews


185 Reviews
5 star:
 (153)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 38 Years Old & Still The Greatest Christmas Album
The legendary producer Phil Spector hit his artistic peak with this yuletide classic from 1963. The arrangements found here have been copied over and over again through the years by less creative performers, but no one comes close.
My favorite recordings on the album are those by the Ronettes, in particular "Sleigh Ride" which will have you going...
Published on November 28, 2001 by James E. Bagley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great music, lousy sound quality
Listen to the pundits. The Sound quality really is bad. Wait/or pay for a Stereo release. It is however, a piece of Americana.
Published 15 months ago by Andrew Blitz


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 38 Years Old & Still The Greatest Christmas Album, November 28, 2001
The legendary producer Phil Spector hit his artistic peak with this yuletide classic from 1963. The arrangements found here have been copied over and over again through the years by less creative performers, but no one comes close.
My favorite recordings on the album are those by the Ronettes, in particular "Sleigh Ride" which will have you going "ringalingalinga dingdongding" for days, no, make that YEARS. Ronnie's playful, almost childlike voice, lends itself better to nonsecular Christmas songs than anyone I have ever heard.
If Ronnie captures the playful, innocent side of Christmas, Darlene Love with her powerful alto captures the emotional side. The original recording "Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)" drives home the heartbreak of being alone at Christmas, while "White Christmas" nails the longing we all have for the Christmases of our youth.
The Crystals and Bob B. Soxx & his Bluejeans aren't quite as distinctive as Ronnie & Darlene (who is?). Nonetheless, their enclosed holiday recordings are all enjoyable, particularly "Santa Claus Is Coming To Town" (Crystals) and "Here Comes Santa Claus (Bob B. Soxx).
I've never cared much for the last track, which finds the high pitched Phil wishing everyone a Merry Christmas , while Silent Night plays in the background. But since it is the last track, it doesn't mar the excellence created by the rest of the album/CD. Just hit eject as Phil starts to talk and I guarantee you'll have a musically Merry Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Orginial Spector Devotee, December 7, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I grew up in the 50s and 60s loving Rock 'n Roll and loving Phil Spector's Rock especially. His Christmas album is a yearly treat for me. I don't play my vinyl anymore (purchased just days before President Kennedy's assassination in November 1963); I don't play my cassette tape anymore; I've graduated to disc. And this will be my 41st Christmas with the Spector gang...they're family.

The greatest Christmas album to be sure. I would also put it in the league of a top-ten album of all time. The renditions and arrangements remain fresh after all these years. We hear Darlene Love and Ronnie Spector in their "glory days" with all the optimism the youth of the 60s shared before the realities of dead presidents and adulthood encroached on us. You hear Spector at his best muscially, before his productions become muddy or overwrought. Although each song on the album is a jewel, three stand out for me: Darlene's "Christmas Baby..." by Jeff Barry and Ellie Greenwich stands out because it was written especially for this album and it is the surprise tour de force of this collection. Not only does it work with the traditional songs, but it has become Darlene Love's signature to this day when she apppears each Christmas season on the Letterman Show. My second pick is "The Bells of St. Mary's". A somewhat unconventional choice for a Chirstmas album --- because it's not a traditional Christmas song ... again, this choice works with Darlene and Bobby Sheen and Fatima James (known on the label as Bobby Sox & the Blue Jeans). It works in a spectacular way because the arrangement is inspired, the vocal lines and performances soar and the drum work (Hal Blaine, I believe) is brilliant. Listen to the final few bars and fade-out on this track ---- have you ever heard drum work like that?

My third, and final, is "Silent Night". This was a discovery I made after years of ignoring this track. If you could remove Phil's silly narrative and listen soley to the music, what you would hear is one of the most beautiful renditions of this song recorded; it's silvery and transparent and yet we know that the chorus is peopled by the entire Phil Spector stable of singers (including Cher, who sang background in those days); the effect is transcendent.

This album is forever fresh, forever young and forever one of my favorites. If, God forbid, I had to leave my home for fire or flood or locusts, THIS album (vinyl, cassette and disc) would be among the possessions under my arm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The classic album, October 26, 2003
This album was something of a revolution in its time, at least where Christmas music was concerned, although all that Phil Spector actually did was apply his normal production style to Christmas music.
The Crystals, famous for Then he kissed me and Da doo ron ron, sing brilliant, energetic versions of Santa Claus is coming to town, Rudolph the red-nosed reindeer and Parade of the wooden soldiers. The Ronettes, famous for Be my baby, are equally brilliant on Frosty the snowman, Sleigh ride and I saw mommy kissing Santa Claus. Bob B Soxx and the blue jeans, famous for Zip-a-de-doo-da, also excel on Bells of St Mary's and Here comes Santa Claus.
Darlene Love, whose biggest success was as lead singer of the Crystals on He's a rebel, sings four songs here, a rare chance for her to be credited as a solo performer. Christmas (Baby please come home) is the only original song here. White Christmas includes the rarely heard verse about being in Beverley Hills. The other two, Marshmallow world and Winter wonderland, are also outstanding.
The closing Silent night is just a series of spoken acknowledgements set to a backing track. Don't worry about that - the twelve songs that go before set the standard for Christmas rock albums when it was first recorded and still do, because nobody has bettered it in the forty years since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hearing Darlene Love sing "Christmas, Baby Please Come Home", November 29, 1999
By 
Tommy Mun (The People's Republic of the United States) - See all my reviews
gets better every year!
Darlene is a national treasure and my biggest thrill at Christmas time is to watch for her to appear on David Letterman each year to see her sing "Christmas, Baby Please Come Home" again.
What a thrill!
This CD is loaded with lots of Darlene Love... even if they call it Bobby Soxx and the Blue Jeans or whatever....we know it's you Darlene!
We LOVE you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST ROCK & ROLL CHRISTMAS ALBUM EVER, September 21, 1998
By A Customer
This collection of Christmas music by Phil Spector sounds as timeless today as when it was first released 35 years ago. Phil pulls out all the stops on each song; bringing into his wall of sound studio his top artists such as Bobb B. Soxx & the Blue Jeans, The Crystals, Darlene Love and especially The Ronettes. This Christmas CD should be included in any holiday party, right alongside the traditional music by Como,Crosby,Mathis, etc. Highly recommended and your holiday music would be incomplete without it. Enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best CDs for Christmas/Holidays!, December 2, 1999
By 
An absolute treat to listen to this cd over and over again...every song is done extremely well and Phil Spector is one of a kind! This CD gets you into the spirit of the season like no other. Darlene Love is phenomenal when she sings, Christmas, Baby Please Come Home! Buy this cd and you won't be disappointed, that is, unless you're Scrooge! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too Good....., October 24, 2004
A Kid's Review
The album is our favorite each year my grandmother get a group of kids at the daycare to sing and dance to it every christmas.

It is her most favorite. She says marshmallow world and winter wonderland make the heart fill joy.

and she help me write this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest Christmas albums ever. A true, timeless classic, August 26, 2007
There was a time when Christmas CDs weren't put out on an assembly line. There didn't seem the need to put out a Christmas album for every flavor of the day artist just to be contemporary and not miss out on money making opportunities. That's not to say there aren't good modern CDs of the holday category. It's only to emphasize how special and enduring some Christmas CDs are. "A Christmas Gift For You From Phil Spector" is just that type of CD. It's why you hear it so widespread at the holidays, at such a wide variety of stores and radio stations. It's flawless. It has all the classics. It's pointless to go through them one by one since they're all fabulous. There's not one rendition of any song that isn't recognized by any generation. This is like "A Charlie Brown Christmas," which not only is as esssential to the holiday season as the Christmas tree, but is magical in the sentimentality and nostalgia it evokes. There are many other Christmas standards that fit into this category- Bing Crosby, Frank Sinatra, Johnny Mathis, Rosemary Clooney and Stevie Wonder to name a few have all put their stamps with their interpretations of Christmas classics. But for comprehensive collectioins, Phil Spector's Christmas CD is almost unmatched. It's why you hear most of it wherever you go during the holidays. It brings out the little kid in all of us at Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spector's Masterpiece, October 18, 1999
By A Customer
I've replaced this several times over the years whether vinyl, tape or cd. This is the album by which all other holiday rock & pop collections are measured, and this always comes out on top. Even now, 36 years after it's release, Phil Spector's true genius stands out, and hopefully future generations will still be listening to this one at Christmas 36 years from now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas golden oldie, March 7, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Thought this one was lost for sure. Ah yes, Phil Spectors "wall of sound" in a rock n roll Christmas album. For those of us with an old vinyl LP version we can now hear these timeless renditions without the crackle, hiss, and pop,from the worn grooves. Although some of the tracks are a bit muddy, the engineers did an admirable job in committing these songs to CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0cc272c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.