Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warm & Heartfelt
Truman Capote does an amazing job of telling us three delightful stories of a young boy's favorite Christmas & Thanksgiving memories. Told with the candor and innocence that only a child can hold, you'll fall in love with Buddy and his favorite Aunt Sook. Buddy's love and affection for his dear Aunt Sook are evidenced in how he refers to her throughtout the...
Published on December 5, 2001 by Sandra Mitchell

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars They are each others best friends. They scrounge up money all year long ...
A Christmas Memory:

A short little story about seven year old Buddy and her sixty-something year old cousin. They live together and often conspire together. They are each others best friends. They scrounge up money all year long in order to buy the ingredients to make fruitcakes for friends and acquaintances. This was a very simplistic short story. Not bad...
Published 2 months ago by Jamie W.


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warm & Heartfelt, December 5, 2001
By 
This review is from: A Christmas Memory: One Christmas, and The Thanksgiving Visitor (Modern Library) (Hardcover)
Truman Capote does an amazing job of telling us three delightful stories of a young boy's favorite Christmas & Thanksgiving memories. Told with the candor and innocence that only a child can hold, you'll fall in love with Buddy and his favorite Aunt Sook. Buddy's love and affection for his dear Aunt Sook are evidenced in how he refers to her throughtout the stories...always calling her "my friend." Buddy & Sook will feel like your friends too! Plagued by a painful childhood and seemingly drawn on Capote's own life, Buddy is the victim of his parent's bitter divorce and custody battle and ends up living with his spinster aunts & hermit like uncle. It is during his time living here, that he recalls some of his most cherished memories. You'll remember the troubles of your youth as well as be amazed at this young boy's insightfulness. A great holiday tradition would be to re-read this book once a year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three polished and charming stories, January 26, 2001
By 
Mike Christie (Cold Spring Harbor, NY, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Christmas Memory: One Christmas, and The Thanksgiving Visitor (Modern Library) (Hardcover)
The three stories in this little book--it's a hardback only slightly bigger than a paperback, and barely 100 pages--are skilfully told and charming; all are based on Capote's southern childhood. "A Christmas Memory" is the most straightforwardly nostalgic, told in the present tense, and covering the Christmas rituals the narrator, a little boy, shares with Miss Sook Faulk, an eccentric little old lady who appears in all three of these tales. The narrator of "One Christmas" is six years old and the child of divorced parents. He travels to New Orleans by bus to spend Christmas with his father, and the story is about his coming to terms with reality, as much as he can. The third story, "The Thanksgiving Visitor", is the tale of how Miss Sook invited the school bully to Thanksgiving dinner one year, and what happened.
All three are perfectly formed short stories. The first two are sad, or at least nostalgic; the third, the longest of them, is surprisingly upbeat. Capote was witty, precise and talented, and these three stories are a wonderful showcase for his talents. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a book, but a priceless holiday tradition, August 9, 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: A Christmas Memory: One Christmas, and The Thanksgiving Visitor (Modern Library) (Hardcover)
These wonderful stories touch my heart and stir my spirit like no other holiday stories ever have. If you can read these, and NOT recall people in your past who the stories remind you of, laugh or get a tear in your eye, you may need your pulse checked. Not only are they loaded with sentiment, humor, and emotion but Capote's incredible talent and style paint a picture that make these treasures even more precious
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read during the holiday season, November 3, 2002
This review is from: A Christmas Memory: One Christmas, and The Thanksgiving Visitor (Modern Library) (Hardcover)
I love this book! Plain and simple. I always save it for the holiday season though and never read it at any other time. It's become a holiday tradition.
The three short stories all take place in holiday seasons during the depression and feature the same setting and characters, so they form a nice group for a single volume.
"A Christmas Memory" is my favorite short story ever. I've read it every Christmas for six or seven years now and I have the same powerful, emotional reaction every time. I smile, laugh, cry, and daydream about my own memories every time I read it. No other story affects me like this one, and I think everyone will see a little of themselves or their childhood somehwhere in these pages.
The other two stories are very well done. I'd probably rave about them much more if I could value each on its own merits, but they do get lost in the glare of "A Christmas Memory."
Excellent literary work, but I really value the beauty, simplicity, and truth in these stories. Highly recommended for a holiday evening with hot chocolate, a lit tree, and Xmas carols playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching, indeed, but so much more as well., December 21, 1999
This review is from: A Christmas Memory: One Christmas, and The Thanksgiving Visitor (Modern Library) (Hardcover)
While as other reviewers have stated, these three stories unfailingly and unflinchingly touch the heart and celebrate the spirit in ways far too many holiday tales only aspire to, Capote's stories, like his longer finished works like IN COLD BLOOD, are also pure literary delights. The characters of Buddy, Miss Sook, Odd Henderson, and Buddy's New Orleans father are richly individual and fully realized, yet resonant of some of the most colorful characters in the vast and lovely muddy swamp of Southern literature. Capote has often been reviled as a dissipate, degenerate, and decadent social butterfly, but these tales show him to hold the highest moral standards, of such degree that his defamers could never mete. The appeal of his work is wide and varied. There is a bit of the Dickensian in his characters as well as echoes of Faulkner, Tenessee Williams, Flannery O'Connoer and his chum, Carson McCullers. Stylistically, if one listens carefully, Poe and Melville, even Hawthorne and Cooper, and especially Capote's beloved Proust ring through and true. Truly, a holiday treat. Read it annually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can go home again!, July 24, 2000
This review is from: A Christmas Memory: One Christmas, and The Thanksgiving Visitor (Modern Library) (Hardcover)
Truman Capote is the champion of the human heart in these tales of childhood memories that echo the spirit of love and celebration that we all wish for and find in these pages. Keep this volume on your bookshelf to warm the hearts of yourself and your loved ones throughout the year, and especially during those times that we rejoice in the love we have for one another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for the cold seasons., February 7, 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Memory: One Christmas, and The Thanksgiving Visitor (Modern Library) (Hardcover)
Every year, on the first chilly day of autumn, I get this book off the shelf and read "A Christmas Memory." The story is a beautiful, elegiac account of Miss Sook's seasonal ritual of fruitcake-baking and gift-giving, which she and Truman Capote shared. The story encapsulates the spirit of the season. And the spirit carries me through my own fruitcake-baking for the season.
The other Christmas story in this collection, entitled "One Christmas," is probably my favorite short story of all time; the ending always makes me cry as few writings can. The story is a perfect, crystalline window into Truman Capote's soul as shaped by his sad childhood. Utterly heartbreaking. If you are looking for a gift for someone who celebrates Christmas and does not have the good fortune to have read these beautiful stories, this is the perfect little gift.
Do not be tempted to read these stories any other time of year. Keep these stories sacred to the season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where Are You Christmas?, March 14, 2006
By 
Grandma (Tooele, UT, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Memory: One Christmas, and The Thanksgiving Visitor (Modern Library) (Hardcover)
The answer is in this book. You will be surprised to find that reading this book is like unwrapping the brightest gift under the tree and discovering your childhood soul inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Memory, One Christmas, & The Thanksgiving Visitor, September 28, 2005
This review is from: A Christmas Memory: One Christmas, and The Thanksgiving Visitor (Modern Library) (Hardcover)
I read the story, A Christmas Memory for the first time in Jr. High School some twenty-five years ago. A few weeks ago, some friends and I were talking about great short stories and Truman Capote's name to the forfront of my mind as I remembered this sad little story . Reading it again, I felt akin to Mr. Capote, being brought back to a time in my own life that was alittle slower and more innocent. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes to read...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for each Christmas, August 26, 2004
This review is from: A Christmas Memory: One Christmas, and The Thanksgiving Visitor (Modern Library) (Hardcover)
A Christmas Memory

Each Christmas for the last 5 or 6, I am taken back to a two hundred year old home in CT, where I first heard Sister Cassidy read aloud to us A Christmas Memory by Truman Capote. To say read aloud is not quite right, for when you are surrounded by sepia toned pictures, large floral throws, sipping hot cocoa with goodies to munch, and the reader, who could be the main character herself and all ready has a lilt to her words, you know you are in for a delightful memorable experience. Of course we all know that the best Christmas gifts are not in satin tied cellophane, for they are as Capote remembers, time spent with loved ones, memories of kite flying, and cousins like Sook, who may give you a "dime wrapped in toilet paper." This story is a wonderful remembrance.

This book is my favorite gift to give.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Christmas Memory: One Christmas, and The Thanksgiving Visitor (Modern Library)
$15.95 $12.18
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.