Customer Reviews


2,285 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,879)
4 star:
 (197)
3 star:
 (66)
2 star:
 (43)
1 star:
 (100)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


487 of 531 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is this reissue worth it?
Released this fall, the "Christmas Story" collector's edition is really a 20th anniversary version of the classic. First, let me say I can't believe it's been out for 20 years. I thought 12, at the most 15. Wow.
Briefly, for readers who may not be intimately acquainted with the film, I strongly encourage you to purchase "A Christmas Story" and make it a regular part...
Published on December 2, 2003 by Robert Graves

versus
99 of 108 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hurrah for movie, Shame on DVD
This is a must-see, completely charming, wonderfully acted (and I usually don't like child actors), heart-warming without being too mushy, Holiday Season story.
But they made the DVD in Pan&Scan (except the opening credits, which are in widescreen). SHAME ON THE DVD PRODUCER!
The whole idea of DVDs was that there's ample space for both widescreen and...
Published on September 2, 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

487 of 531 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is this reissue worth it?, December 2, 2003
By 
Robert Graves (Thompson Station, TN USA) - See all my reviews
Released this fall, the "Christmas Story" collector's edition is really a 20th anniversary version of the classic. First, let me say I can't believe it's been out for 20 years. I thought 12, at the most 15. Wow.
Briefly, for readers who may not be intimately acquainted with the film, I strongly encourage you to purchase "A Christmas Story" and make it a regular part of your holiday routine. It will grow on you with each viewing and you'll soon find its one-liners making their way into your everyday vernacular. Which version should you get? That's why you're reading this review.
The original DVD release of "A Christmas Story" had no extra features. Nothing. No commentaries, no interviews, no documentaries. Just the movie. This was greatly disappointing, since I'm a big fan and was interested in the making of the film, what the actors are doing now, etc. So naturally I was looking forward to this special edition.
Well, I can't say I'm too satisfied with the reissue.
1. The documentary is very uninformative. The one positive aspect of it is the simple fun of seeing the actors all grown up. Ralphie is 30 now, but looks about the same. Flick has changed more in his appearance and his career choices. (Career choices? You'll have to look that up yourself. It's not on the DVD and I'm not about to ruin Christmas for you.) There just isn't that much to glean about the movie from the special features. If you would like to know what Ralphie wanted for Christmas when he was 10, or what the worst Christmas present Schwartz ever got was, then you'll likely be absorbed. I wasn't. What could've been an in-depth look at the making of this low-budget masterpiece, intermingled with musings from the actors turned into a Nickelodeon-style "what's your favorite color" type of Q&A session. What was particularly annoying was the graphics and sound effects that the editors added (e.g., if Ralphie says "my mom put her foot down," there's a big crashing sound with a monolithic stone foot superimposed over him. Just stupid). Bottom line, it's good for the serious fan who wants a peek at the grown up kids, but beyond that it's useless.
2. The other "special features" are even more lame. There's a trivia challenge (yawn), a decoder game where you match the dialogue from the scene, a history of the daisy rider BB gun, and the original radio readings from Jean Shepherd (the narrator). You might do these once, but it's nothing worth buying the DVD for.
3. The one bright spot is the commentary, and if there's a reason to buy the special edition, it's this. The director (Bob Clark) and Ralphie (Peter Billingsly) do provide some more insight into the making of the film, and if you're the type that enjoys commentaries, you'll find it's worth it.
4. Lastly, I don't think the film was restored in any way. We're talking 20 years here. The film was pretty marked up and I was disappointed they didn't go to any effort to fix it in the 20th anniversary edition. For those of you that don't know (and don't worry, I'll spare you the 1000 word treatise on the mechanics of film that another reviewer felt the need to share), artists go into the original film and frame by frame they remove specks of dust and dirt, and in some cases they even add paint to touch up obvious artifacts. This apparently didn't occur in "A Christmas Story" and it badly needed it. This would've gone a long way to help the value of this DVD set.
So what's the bottom line? If you intensely love this movie and have for years, then buy the DVD. It will be worth it. But if you're on the fence, maybe you've already got the first issue of the DVD, maybe you throw it in during the holidays, then save your money. And if you're just getting into the movie and don't yet own a copy, well, you should probably get the reissue since we're only talking about a few dollars in price difference.
This review applies mostly to readers who already have the first release and are considering getting the new version. If the features I mentioned appeal to you, then go for it. Otherwise, you might be better off just sticking with the original release and using your 20 bucks to get the "Christmas Vacation" reissue, which actually is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


99 of 108 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hurrah for movie, Shame on DVD, September 2, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Christmas Story (DVD)
This is a must-see, completely charming, wonderfully acted (and I usually don't like child actors), heart-warming without being too mushy, Holiday Season story.
But they made the DVD in Pan&Scan (except the opening credits, which are in widescreen). SHAME ON THE DVD PRODUCER!
The whole idea of DVDs was that there's ample space for both widescreen and pan&scan versions. P&S (now called "Full Screen Format" -- to make you think it's a good thing) makes movies look like made-for-tv shows, with no vistas and too many closeups.
How about an un-modified version of this terrific movie?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


117 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Collector's Edition mainly for collectors and those who don't have the movie on DVD/Blu-ray yet, July 16, 2008
By 
Amazon has combined the reviews for the Blu-ray and standard DVD versions of this set, which aren't exactly the same in their features. This review is for the Blu-ray version. My review of the standard DVD version is here too, so be sure you're reading the one you're interested in.

The movie is excellent, a Christmas classic (see below). Should you upgrade to the new Ultimate edition if you already have the 2006 Blu-ray edition? That depends on how much you like memorabilia. The new edition is a repackaging of the 2006 edition, with a couple new non-DVD extras:

-- a collectible retro Christmas cookie tin (the container for the set)
-- a strand of leg-lamp Christmas lights (Blu-ray exclusive)

Those look like fun, if you're into that kind of stuff. Amazon has a photo of the tin and a second photo that shows the tin and the leg-lamp lights. (The announcement for this set said that the items from the standard DVD set (here) would be included in this one, but that isn't correct.)

The Blu-ray DVD won't be remastered from the previous one. The video quality of the 2006 release was only fair for hi-def, soft with fairly good color, with fair mono sound.

The 2006 Blu-ray didn't include everything that was on the HD or the 2-disc SD set. Here's what's actually included:

-- audio commentary by director/co-writer Bob Clark and star Peter Billingsley (Ralphie)
-- Another Christmas Story featurette, includes interviews with Clark and a few members of the cast
-- Get a Leg Up featurette, about the making and ongoing sale of the (in)famous leg lamp
-- A History of the Daisy Red Ryder featurette, on the object of great desire's actual history
-- original theatrical trailer

The features from earlier editions that aren't included are trivia and decoder games, readings (audio only) from Jean Shepherd, and an ad for the real leg lamp.

Now, about the really good stuff, the movie. A Christmas Story is that odd film that appeals to a cross-section of viewers who often can't agree on what to watch. Fans of sweet Christmas cheer are happily joined by people with a more jaundiced eye to the holiday. To be sure, the movie leans more to the sweet than the sour, but it has enough edge and good-natured twistedness to please some of our darker Christmas angels too. It conveys a genuinely warm nostalgia and some sharp, sometimes pretense-deflating observations about human nature.

The story is set at some indefinite time around 1940 in an Indiana town approaching the holidays. Young Ralphie (Peter Billingsley) wants only one thing for Christmas, the Official Red Ryder Carbine-Action 200-Shot Lightning Loader Range Model Air Rifle with a compass in the stock. (That is, a BB gun, a very particular one.) He plans carefully well in advance how to lay the groundwork for this while avoiding the dreaded rebuff, but almost everyone says it anyway: "You'll put your eye out!" The relentless struggle for the one true gift develops alongside several other small stories and amusing details, a tongue-on-frozen-pole triple-dog dare, facing the local bully, the notorious leg lamp, the Santa slide, Peking Duck for Christmas, and several others, each memorable in itself.

The actors aren't very well known, but they're all just right. There is narration throughout, representing an older Ralphie, done by the originator of the story, Jean Shepard, also just right.

This movie, made in 1983, has gradually become a favorite Christmas classic, now shown in an annual 24-hour Christmas marathon on cable, which attracts a huge number of viewers. If you've never seen it, give it a try, even if you have a little Scrooge in you, and you'll probably enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly the same as the 2003 release, November 7, 2008
Revised 12/09: The 2003 "Anniversay" edition of the DVD is now out of print, making this the only deluxe version of the movie available at the current time. A year ago, there were two identical Christmas Story DVD sets on the market at the same time, and this was the more expensive of the two. Seeing as how this is no longer and issue, I'm upping the score for this item from three stars to five.

Original review:
Don't get me wrong - I love "A Christmas Story," and I would give the film a 5-star review. The issue here is that the 2008 DVD release is EXACTLY the same as the 2003 version (aside from some slightly different artwork on the slipcover and case). There are no new special features, and the print quality is the same as before. There is absolutely no need for the studio to release this needless double dip DVD. If you don't already own the 2003 version, then this is a must have DVD; if you do, there's no need to buy the new version, unless you go for the Ultimate Collector's Edition, which has some neat extras (which admittedly aren't worth the price if you already own the film on DVD). Check out the Blue-ray version if you're looking for slightly improved picture quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This modern Christmas classic deserves better treatment, December 16, 2002
By 
Daniel S. Russell "syzygy121" (Blacksburg, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Christmas Story (DVD)
As many other reviewers have queried: Why isn't this movie in widescreen format? And couldn't the producers come up with any extra features? The DVD itself gets 3 stars, but the movie deserves 5.
These gripes notwithstanding, this movie is a modern-day Christmas classic. It captures the joy and fear and exhilaration and disillusionment of what it was like growing up in an America of a by-gone era. The late Jean Shepherd is from my parents' generation, but I can still relate completely to Ralphie, Randy and all their friends -- bullies at school -- Not getting what you really want for Christmas -- having your mouth washed out with soap and fantasizing about the day when they'd all be sorry... It's all there!
Darren McGavin is great as the blustery but sentimental dad and Melinda Dillon as the mom who is wiser than her kids give her credit for. The movie is touching and hilarious at the same time. It's so hard being a kid sometimes!
This is one of the few movies I can watch over and over again and still laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll shoot your eye out, September 28, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was almost finished recording "A Christmas Story" on last Christmas morning. Fifteen minutes before it ended, my father walked in and said that we would get the special edition.

That I didn't go postal at losing an hour and a half on something that would shortly be redundant shows how much I love "A Christmas Story." This 1983 classic is not just a heartwarming little story about a loving (if bickery) family in the dour America of the late 1940s, but a hysterical comedy about what it's like to be a kid at Christmas.

Ralphie Parker's (Peter Billingsley) Christmas wishes are simple: a official Red Ryder, carbine action, two-hundred shot range model air rifle with a compass and a "thing that tells time." But his mom says he'll shoot his eye out. So Ralphie begins a quiet crusade to get it as a present -- he writes an essay on it and even asks Santa, only to get the same terrible reply: "You'll shoot your eye out."

As the days tick down to Christmas -- with no sign of an air rifle -- Ralphie hits other obstacles when he clashes with bullies, says "the mother of all dirty words," and watches his parents battle it out over a tacky "major award" (leg lamp). But there are surprises in store for the Parker family on Christmas morning -- and some of them involve smelly bloodhounds.

Yes, the plot is pretty simple -- it's the delivery that makes it special. It's narrated by an adult Ralphie who offers his slightly sardonic take on everything ("We plunged into the cornucopia quivering with desire and the ecstasy of unbridled avarice"), mingled with a hint of nostalgia. And it's completely tuned in to how kids think, and how a toy can seem like the most important thing in the world.

Fortunately the scriptwriters never condescend to the audience by adding some kind of syrupy message -- after all, real life doesn't work that way. Instead there are all sorts of classic moments -- the leg lamp, Chinese turkey, the terrifying visit to Santa ("HOOOO HOOOO HOOO!"), and Ralphie's fantasies of defending his family with "Ol' Blue" against a bunch of inept, unarmed bandits.

And Jean Shepherd -- the co-writer and narrator of the movie -- deserves especial credit for bringing this movie to life. He covers the movie with a snowstorm of one-liners and hilarious dialogue: "Over the years I got to be quite a connoisseur of soap." "He looks like a pink nightmare!" "Oh FUUUDDDDGGGE!" and others.

Billingsley is a little stiff as Ralphie, but gives the portrayal of this everykid his charming, slightly frenetic best. Melinda Dillon and Darin McGavin are the comic geniuses here, with their slightly kooky but loving parents (one of the highlights is Dillon's "show me how the piggies eat!" scene, and McGavin's revolted response), and there's an array of very convincing bullies and classmates too.

"A Christmas Story" didn't get much notice when it came out in 1983. But now it's one of the quintessential holiday movies, and a must-see at Christmastime. HOOOOO HOOOOO HOOOO...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Family Christmas Classic, December 26, 2006
How do movies become classics? I am clueless to answer. I do not remember seeing "A Christmas Story" advertised in 1983. This movie did very poorly in theaters. Perhaps this low-budget film suffered from lack of support. The movie does not compare with typical Christmas movie releases that emphasize mega-budgets and big-name stars. Maybe we were all looking in the wrong place for entertainment.

The movie is based on the late Jean Shepherd's book, "In God We Trust, All Other's Pay Cash." Jean Shepherd also narrates this marvelous movie, as well as appearing in the film. Jean's narration is wonderful and really helps to make this movie successful. The story is inspired by real life events (even if they did not happen to Jean, they happened to others - trust me on this). Jean managed to capture the feel of Christmas in the Midwest in the post-World War II era. Actually, the Midwest had this feel into the 1950's and 1960's. I recall myself asking for a BB gun in the 1960's and the answer was - yep, you guessed it - you'll shoot your eye out!

The Midwest has always been a peculiar place when compared with the coasts. While the Midwest is just as advanced as either coast, it somehow feels more nostalgic and archaic. In some small towns, like the fictional Hohman, Indiana, entering town feels like stepping back several decades. The display windows of stores were a big deal in past decades, from coast to coast. Toy trains were often a feature of window displays. The display in Higbee's (which was a real chain of stores in Ohio) was a classic store display. I admit that I fail to recall the kind of store Santa that Higbee's had. The Santa's that I visited in the past had fancy chairs, but they were on the ground.

The bully was nicely played in this movie. As Jean Shepherd noted after the incident between Ralphie and Farkus, once you stood up to the bullies they often stopped bothering you. I guess it was only fun being a bully when the smaller kids ran away.

Ralphie and the broken glasses is also classic. Glasses were expensive and parent continually advised their children to take care of them. Ralphie had to think fast after accidentally crunching his glasses. If Ralphie had revealed that he stepped on his glasses after they fell off because of a ricocheting BB, his parents would like have confiscated his BB gun until he turned 50, or maybe older.

The list of events in this movie that defines an era is lengthy. As I noted before, while the specific incidents may not have been true, they were inspired by actual events. Jean Shepherd did a phenomenal job of capturing the essence of a region and an era. Jean clearly loved his childhood in the Midwest, his parents and had a strong nostalgia for an era that is rapidly fading into the distant past.

Does the movie have a "message," which one reviewer suggested the movie does not? This movie has lots of messages. Note Ralphies' reaction to his Little Orphan Annie decoder; Message: It's a crummy commercial. Ralphies' first experience with his Red Ryder BB gun; Message: Your parent's may actually know what they are talking about and you should take greater care in following their advice. Ralphie and the bullies; Message: Sometimes you need to stop letting bullies push you around. Okay, enough messages. This movie is filled with messages. If you failed to find one, you were looking somewhere else - like your navel, or a picture book.

Though there is minimal significance to awards for a movie like this, this movie obtained nominations for thirteen awards of various types, and it won two. Good job!

"A Christmas Story" may only be a great family Christmas movie for a while. That "while" may only be as long as there are enough of us that remember the 1940's, the 1950's and the early 1960's. Until then, I plan to watch this movie again and again.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN ABSOLUTE GEM, DESPITE CLAIMS TO THE CONTRARY!, June 30, 2000
This review is from: A Christmas Story (VHS Tape)
Just a quick note to "Jamie" who hates this movie--how can you possibly recommend that our children watch and subsequently enjoy the R-rated "Roger and Me" but thoroughly trash this wonderful movie? There's only one cuss word uttered throughout the entire course of this film, and what person on this planet hasn't been moved to utter something very similar when faced with the same type of utter disappointment that Ralphie was? CHILL OUT!
Now, on to the main attraction: this is one gem of a Christmas-time, family-oriented movie! Perfectly cast and acted, beautifully filmed and expertly representing the 1940's of the Midwest, Jean Shepherd's wonderfully comedic remembrances of his early Christmas experiences really come to life on the big screen. Darren McGavin and Melinda Dillon are absolutely perfectly cast as the typical 40's Mom and Dad. They're spousal jousting is hilarious and a wonder to behold, yet may ring very true with our own memories of dear old Mom and Dad, while Peter Billingsly and Ian Petrella fit together really nicely as the combative/frustrated/competitive siblings. It's all here, told in funny, touching and often hilarious ways; the "I dare you" friends, the despair of having the write a "theme" in class, the scarey walk home as you watch for and hopefully miss an encounter with the neighborhood bully, the wonder and excitement of listening with rapt attention to the radio programs of the day, and of course, the tremendous build-up and anxious waiting for "The Day" to arrive! This fine film will conjure up those wonderful memories of Christmas when we were kids, no matter what the generation or the decade. The cheerful, hopeful glee that all children have when it comes to Christmas-time is so beautifully and hilariously represented here that you will still be enjoying your favorite moments long after the final credits have run. Watch it with your kids later this year as Christmas 2000 draws near, and as with so many other families, you'll have a new family tradition by next Christmas--watching this glorious film once again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, funny, well-done film, December 11, 2001
This review is from: A Christmas Story (DVD)
This movie remains so fresh with each viewing, it is easy to forget that it is almost twenty years old. Told from Ralphie's viewpoint, these are the Christmas reminiscences of an adult whose pre-teen Christmas wish is a BB-gun that adults discouraged with the phrase "You'll shoot your eye out."
In his quest to convince his parents that he is old enough to have a BB-gun, young Ralphie hatches several plots, including writing the best "What I Want for Christmas" essay in his class, being leaving BB-gun ads in conspicuous places, and, as a last resort, asking Santa Claus. (Parents with young sons, beware: you may want to delay purchasing this film until you are ready to deal with a similar request.)
Told in episodic fashion, there are many vignettes which stand out: Ralphie wearing Aunt Martha's Christmas present, visiting Santa Claus and helping his father change a flat-tire come to mind immediately. Exaggerated acting, distorted camera angles, and day-dream sequences all enhance the child's viewpoint, but do not detract from the film's excellent portrayal of 1950's small-town Christmas ritual.
Melinda Dillon and Darren McGavin have a tongue-in-cheek style as Ralphie's parents. Peter Billingsley has just the right pre-teen balance between adorable and obnoxious, and Ian Petrella is downright irritating as baby brother Randy. Among the smaller roles, Zack Ward is perfect as the clay-footed bully and Tedde Moore excellent as Ralphie's kind, but practical teacher. (Jean Shepherd, the author and narrator of the film makes a cameo appearance standing in line, waiting for Santa.)
This is one to enjoy each Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie!, ok dvd., October 9, 2003
By 
If you're like me, you've been looking at "A Christmas Story" dvds every year and wondering, "Why no features?" Well finally for the 20th anniversary our wish has come true, kind of.
If you've never seen this movie before, (considering TNT plays it 24 hours straight every Xmas, I find that hard to believe) this is a true classic. This is a movie that can be enjoyed by the whole family, kids and adults. We've all gone through what Ralphie goes through for that perfect present. Plus there's a lot of heart in this movie. Even technically though it's a period piece, in a way it's timeless. But enough about the movie, let's talk extras, one by one.
1) Widescreen and fullscreen on the same disc- I honestly don't undertstand this tactic. If you have widescreen, why would you want the other?
2) Commentary by Bob Clark and Peter Billingsley- Very nice, although I think it would have been better with the other 'kids' reminiscing as well. You can tell everyone had fun making this film, although at the time no one knew of the future it held. (Side note: On the package Melinda Dillon is listed for the commentary. Incorrect, she is nowhere to be found on the extras. Too bad)
3) Radio readings ny Jean Shepherd- A nice addition, but some visuals other than a picture of a radio would have been better.
4) Documentary- It's great to see some of the other 'kids' today. Flick, Schwartz, and Scutt Farkas join Bob Clark and Peter Billingsley in talking about making this film. But at just 17 minutes, I would hardly call it a documentary. Since they did this featurette, why couldn't they join in the commentary? They all have good things to say about being in the film.
5) Leg Lamp and Red Ryder gun featurettes- Here's where things start to go downhill. While the piece on the gun was interesting, the lamp was way over the top. Yes, the leg lamp was funny, but you don't need to treat it like it's the History Channel.
6) 'Interactive' Trivia- 'Interactive' is their word, not mine. They ask you questions, you answer them, with no big payoff.
7) Decoder ring- Just a simple match-the-quote-to-the-scene deal, with some corny jokes from the actors thrown in.
8) Easter eggs- Just 2, real easy to find and definitely not worth the effort. It's the kind of egg where you think: That's the best they could come up with?
Don't get me wrong, I don't wish to sound all negative. It's truly a great holiday movie. I just think the extras could have been better. With all the junk movies that come out loaded with tons of stuff, it's frustrating to see wonderful films like this one get either nothing or stupid stuff. We want extras that enhance watching the film, not a bunch of flotsam just so you can call them 'extras'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Christmas Story [Blu-ray]
A Christmas Story [Blu-ray] by Bob Clark (Blu-ray - 2010)
$24.98 $9.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.