Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Cyber Monday Deals Week Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Indie for the Holidays egg_2015 Fire TV Stick Grocery Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer mithc mithc mithc  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage R6 Siege Outdoor Deals on HTL

Format: DVDChange
Price:$3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on December 10, 2012
I am a huge fan of the original and I am such a fan that anything Christmas Story interests me so I figured I would give this movie a chance. Within the first 10 minutes I wanted to rip the DVD player out of the wall and throw it out the window. This movie is so bad, so horribly wrong that I cannot believe I wasted money on this. My first though is that it was a joke and maybe a play on the original which is fine. Pranking on the original is always sort of funny. The bad thing is, that this is not a prank and is serious. The actors including Daniel Stern and the kid who plays Ralphie are so bad, such bad acting that you will cringe when you see it. The narrator is no Jean Shepard and actually makes the movie even worse trying to throw in verbage from the first movie in referencing other things. The plot and the storyline are similar except that Ralphie is getting his license and a car and thats his Red Rider plus the swearing and rude behavior is not proper and almost forced. Plus the age difference between Ralphie and his brother is odd since in the original there was only like a 5 year difference and now there is a 10 year difference? I cannot believe they were even allowed to make a sequal to this movie. Trying to reenact the scenes from the original in a sequal is the dumbest thing I have ever heard. Do yourself a favor, do not ruin your impression of the original by watching this movie. It is one of the worst attempts at a sequal I have seen since the American Pie presents Band Camp. Stay away, stay far away!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on November 3, 2012
That was all I could think about. Is this better or worse than Gilbert Godfrey doing Shakespeare? It certainly wasn't as funny. This film incorporates some really sad acting. The narrator attempts to copy the original, but lacked the enthusiasm. They copied many lines from the first film and in a way, horribly recreated it.

The first film had universal appeal to both young and old. This one has much of the humor aimed at kids, yet in the first 5 minutes drops three "S.O.B." bombs. Later, Ralphie practices removing a bra from a mannequin. Ralphie (Braeden Lemasters) dreams of a convertible and a girl. The worse portrayal by far was by Daniel Stern as "The Old Man."

Perhaps if you are the type of person who has enjoyed all those "The Wizard of Oz" sequels you might find some enjoyment in this one. I thought it was sorry entertainment. The best part of this DVD was the trailer for the original story. Not worth watching for free, but not quite a reason to go to war with Canada where this "Genuine, Authentic, 100% American Christmas" was filmed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on December 10, 2013
I love the original , but this sequel is pathetic. The plot is silly and the characters are poor attempts to imitate the originals. I would not waste my time watching this a second time.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on November 25, 2012
Not as good as the first one but still really good! Worth watching if you liked the original. Four Stars!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on December 14, 2013
Awful. Nothing like the first film. Not funny and acting was bad. I would not recommend this film to my enemy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on April 7, 2014
How this film can even USE/BORROW the film title is beyond me. The first profanity uttered by a 'sweet child' is utterly repulsive. The film doesn't even deserve one star. What it deserves is usually found in a cat litter box. DON'T waste you time viewing this poor excuse of film work. I'm sorry to say I spent more than ten cents for the copy I bought.

Donald Frederick Curie
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on November 3, 2012
One of the biggest flaws this film (and A Summer Story) suffered from was the written narrative. In the 1983 film, the narrative Ralphie lines had finesse, style, elegant fluidity, unbridled enthusiasm and non-arrogant sophistication. The succeeding stories just lacked everything wonderful about the 1983 narrative.

Beyond that, while this latest effort isn't the same story, it is, and too many old situations and lines from 1983 are used here to total despair. Without getting too lengthy, nobody was believable in their role. You had mediocre actors who were trying to imitate characters of actors who had nailed it perfectly the first time. "It's a clinkeeeeeerrr!" Sorry...Darren was believable, Daniel was very much not.

As a standalone Christmas film, it's neither charming, heart-warming or endearing. Christmas with the Kranks, Jingle All the Way and even Deck the Halls are far more Christmacy than this film. It misses the mark by a mile. Just bad acting, poor set designs/backdrops, and a plot line no one really cares about.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on November 5, 2012
im a christmas story nut ! 7 differ leg lamps ..countless rr bb guns... bunny suit .. autographs , hell i even have a Pink Nightmare Tattoo! ... when i saw this was coming out i had very very very little hopes of anything . but i tell ya it aint half bad . so go into to with idea of haveing some fun . it is bob clarks original , not close ... but it is enjoyable if ya allow your self just to have some fun . it blows christmas vacation 2 out of the water , i know that aint saying much . at least they didnt try to remake the original! merry christmas ra ra ra ra ra .... ra ra ra ra
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 22, 2013
"A Christmas Story 2" (2012). I am familiar with Jean Shepherd’s work which includes vintage radio programs, and later made for TV (American Playhouse on PBS) movie specials center around “Ralph Parker”. In retrospect a semi-factual flashback into Jean’s own childhood while growing up in Indiana during the 1930s. “A Christmas Story” (1983) is not the first in the "Ralph" series, as there were a few other television movies where Jean narrates a "Ralph" growing-up flashback similar to this movie. The leg lamp award plot was first featured in “Phantom Of The Open Hearth” which aired on TV in 1976. "Phantom Of The Open Hearth" is similar to “A Christmas Story”, but the plot is set during Ralph’ junior high prom instead of Ralph being a nine year old during Christmas time. So, these “Ralph” growing up tales have several films behind them, all with different cast and plots. Films such as “The Star Crossed Romance of Josephine Cosnowski” from 1985 which features Ralph falling in love with his new neighbor's Polish daughter, and “The Great American Fourth of July” from 1982. “A Christmas Story” was theater released in 1983, and is not the first or original in this series, and the cast in that film was not in the previous installments or later installments. So, we have “A Christmas Story 2” (2012), which is an official direct sequel to “A Christmas Story” (1983). It features a new cast, considering the film is made twenty-nine years after the original film, that is no surprise. While the earlier “Ralph” films focused on Ralph as a teenager usually in high school around spring/summer or Thanksgiving, “A Christmas Story” took the character and placed him at nine years old around Christmas season. In “A Christmas Story 2” Ralph is a teenager as in the original stories. In many aspects, this sequel is true to the original PBS 1970s/80s made for TV films of this series.

You have to go into this film knowing that Ralph’ is now a teenager, and the film’s plot is not around a nine year old wanting a BB Gun for Christmas nor the main character acting like a nine year old. This film is not trying to recreate the original, but expand on it as a sequel set several years later when kids of that age/era became interested in girls and cars instead of BB Guns and toys, yet at times still make mistakes like they did when they were kids. I'll admit, having seen the original "A Christmas Story" back in the 1980s, I was never a huge fan of it. I always thought that film was a little silly, and at times over-eccentric. Yet, it was still a good movie, that became more popular in the 1990s when it started to air repetitively on television (after “It’s a Wonderful Life” started airing less and less due to TV licensing issues). "A Christmas Story" was not as well popular in the early 1980s as it is today. That is not into it became the new “It’s a Wonderful Life” because of the Thanksgiving or Christmas TV marathon runnings that started during the late 1990s which allowed more people to catch on to this film, making it a modern cult classic. Most likely there was never an official sequel to the original because the original, similar to films like “Eddie and the Cruisers”, didn’t become popular into months or years later after its original release, and into it started airing on regular TV. By the end of the 1990s “A Christmas Story” became a modern classic. With that said, a sequel was made in 2012.

"A Christmas Story 2" is set five years after the original film, and Ralph is a teenager. I won’t spoil the plot, but it’s fairly good. The re-capturing of post-war 1946 Indiana is A+. The only mistake is when the film portrays the president as Roosevelt when Roosevelt had died in 1945. The town, scenes, cars, nostalgia is that of a true 1940s period. For a direct-to-DVD release the set and costumes were perfect, and I applaud the film makers for that. Now, as for the story, I like it. It picks up on a little of the previous “Ralph” films that I mentioned earlier, and reminisces without copying some of the first film. I thought the acting was fine. Daniel Stern played the “old man” as good as one can play it. The other cast members were just as good, if not better (in my opinion) than the original cast. With the story line being entertaining, the casting superb, and the filming scene lots, costumes, props, and 1946 era Indiana being right to target; I see almost nothing negative to review about this film. So, the question is, why do so many people hate this film?

It’s simple. They’re expecting it to be like the original or have the same plot/actors/mentality of the original. Which it does not. This film, if it had the character names changed, and given a new title, could stand on its own. You have to go into this film expecting a whole new and different film. Don’t sit there and try to compare this scene to the original film’s scenes, or this actor to the original film’s actor, or this plot to the original’s plot. Just watch the film for what it is, ignore the first film, and enjoy it. You’ll find this film warming, fun, eye candy for those that like 1940s nostalgia especially 1940s cars, and a fun plot that doesn’t “over do it”. Keep in mind, Ralph is a teenager now, so you’re not going to see this film through the eyes of a nine year old, but now an almost fifteen year old. Even his “daydreams” are typical teenager daydreams (dating the perfect girl, and having the perfect car.) The sub-plot of liking the prettiest girl in his school, and dreaming about dating her, was originally found in Jean Shepherds “Phantom Of The Open Hearth” .

I’m almost thirty-four years old, I remember the original from the 1980s when it was popular after being released onto VHS/Betamax, and I’ve seen the original countless times over the years. Yes, this film is not equal or a copy to the original…because it’s not meant to be. It’s meant to stand as a story of its own, and take on a new plot of its own. I found this movie enjoyable, fun, and at times better than the original. If you go into this movie not trying to compare it to the original or expecting the same antics/cast of the original, or look at is as an entirely new movie not related/copy to the original, you won’t be disappointed. A reviewer mentioned about “the old man’s” constant use of a swearing word. This is a semi-factual account from Jean’s own life of his father, and in all the “Ralph” films I’ve mentioned above, where the father in that film uses that word often. If anything, I can say “A Christmas Story 2” picks up more on the PBS films of the 1970s/80s than it does the 1983 “A Christmas Story” version of Ralph.

I give this film 4.5 out of 5 stars. I drop a half a star because of two film errors that could of easily been noticed by the producers with a little research of 1946 history. The Roosevelt being president in 1946 scene mistake; when in fact Roosevelt had died in 1945. That is one of those "no excuse" historical errors. Plus, most Americans were unaware Roosevelt was in a wheelchair as he kept that hidden from public display/photographs. And the town’s movie theater had only “It’s a Wonderful Life” listed as its main (and only) playing film. When in fact “The Best Years of our Lives” with Myrna Loy and Fredric March would have been the top billing title film, as that film had been released in November of 1946, and was by December 1946 already Academy Award bound for Best Picture. “It’s a Wonderful Life” was semi-released on December 20th, 1946 and didn’t gain much reception/theater release into January, 1947. In fact "It's a Wonderful Life" was not that popular (raking about 26th at the box office in 1947) upon it's original release, and like “A Christmas Story” didn’t become a Christmas classic in years later due to re-releases and eventual television airings. Outside of those two minor mistakes, I found nothing else wrong or disappointing about "A Christmas Story 2". Go into this film without biased towards the original, and you’ll without a doubt enjoy this film.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 28, 2013
no.... no no no no no no no.... no no.... You just don't make sequels to classics... this movie is an example as to why. When they did the first "fantasy scene" where Ralphie imagines something outlandish... (for example: in the original he imagined that he went blind from soap poisoning and made his parents feel guilty... in this movie he fantasizes that he rescued his love interest from a nazi)

they've basically taken the same joke and the same schtick and updated it to be coming from a teenager rather than a little kid. They even did the "Oh Fudge" bit. Sorry sweetheart, but lighten doesn't strike the same place twice. That scene in the original movie was hilarious... this one was just sad because they were trying too hard.

The actors are decent actors... but they're trying too hard to be the originals. The kid who plays Ralphie is trying to use the same mannerisms as Peter Billingsley in the original film... but that Ralphie was 9. it was cute... this Ralphie is suppose to be 16... now it's annoying.

Also, there was a lot of subtle jokes in the original... like the father's inaudible swearing... here they all just swear outright. Instead of Dang nabbit gum dunging mammbie betler... it's "Son of a bitch" - I mean, he does some of the mumbling swears, but there is a lot of actual swears too.

What I don't get... I wonder why they didn't use any of the original actors. Billingsley who played Ralphie grew up to be really hot. They could have given him some part.

THIS should be a warning to the people who want to make a sequel to "It's a Wonderful Life" - JUST DON'T DO IT! Leave classics alone already Hollywood!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
A Christmas Story (Full-Screen Edition)
A Christmas Story (Full-Screen Edition) by Peter Billingsley (DVD - 2007)

Christmas Story
Christmas Story by Katherine Borowitz (DVD - 2009)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.