Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb holiday offering
Last December, I was privileged to see one of the performances of this magnificent holiday concert and have been eagerly awaiting the DVD ever since. The choir was in top form singing of what they love, the dancers were amusing if a little campy, and the narrator Micheal York was expressive and warm. But the standout of the evening was soloist David Archuleta (only 19 at...
Published on August 6, 2011 by Catherine R. Nobe

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Concert, but weak-voiced Guest
While David Archuleta is a teen idol, his voice simply does not match that required by this choir and orchestra. The annual Christmas Concerts (provided free to the public and recorded for broadcast the following year) are best served by strong singers who are used to projecting their sound in public performances without aid of special amplification. Otherwise, the usual...
Published 10 months ago by Old Timer Too


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb holiday offering, August 6, 2011
This review is from: Glad Christmas Tidings Featuring David Archuleta and Michael York (DVD)
Last December, I was privileged to see one of the performances of this magnificent holiday concert and have been eagerly awaiting the DVD ever since. The choir was in top form singing of what they love, the dancers were amusing if a little campy, and the narrator Micheal York was expressive and warm. But the standout of the evening was soloist David Archuleta (only 19 at the time) whose voice soared yet caressed each lyric. The love in David's voice was felt by each one of the 10's of thousands in he audience and I know I am not the only one who left with tears in her eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feel the Spirit and Joy of Christmas Early - David Archuleta is Poignant & Masterful., September 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Glad Christmas Tidings Featuring David Archuleta and Michael York (DVD)
Though I have and will continue to travel far and wide to see the wonderful musical talent that is David Archuleta, I was not among the lucky few who attended this Christmas concert, and have waited since last December to finally see this dvd. It does not disappoint. The show is a beautiful, traditional, and joyful celebration of the Christmas holiday, the Choir is on point, as one would expect, and Michael York an elegant pro. But, by far and away, for me, it is David Archuleta that shines with his characteristic grace, stunning vocals, and polished professionalism beyond his young years. David elevates any music he sings, and particularly Christmas songs, which he says are among his favorites and most meaningful to perform, and are a fit for his stunning vocals and the emotionality he evokes from a song. As someone else said here, he doesn't sing, but rather caresses each lyric, finding the emotion in each song and telling the story with careful intention.
He is a master craftsman with music.
My neighbors must wonder why they hear Christmas music coming from my condo in early Sept., but they better get used to it...as with David's "Christmas From The Heart" cd, this performance dvd will be enjoyed in my home all year, when the spirit moves...it is, after all, simply beautiful music! This dvd is one for anyone's Christmas collection. Well Done & Thank You.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Glad Christmas Tidings' WILL Gladden Your Heart!, October 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Glad Christmas Tidings Featuring David Archuleta and Michael York (DVD)
Once again the Mormon Tabernacle Choir and Orchestra's Christmas offering makes for superb visual and aural entertainment with unequalled sound and picture quality - just magnificent! Each year the programs are becoming more spectacular, and this, the latest in 2011 on DVD is a testament to the on-going commitment of all of those concerned in its production, from the television director Lee Wessman to the conductor Mack Wilberg and every competent volunteer in between. It goes without saying that they are truly professional in every respect of their craft.

What a refreshing talent David Archuleta is in this modern dysfunctional world of greed and unhappiness. Not only does he sing with a glorious pitch-perfect tone, but his eyes simply glow with the joy of singing with such a marvelous choir and orchestra in front of an audience of some 21,000 appreciative concert-goers in one of the world's largest concert halls. He is certainly a top role-model for today's youth.

The other prominent guest artist is the fine British actor of stage, screen and television, Michael York [ Zeffirelli's Romeo and Juliet (68); Cabaret (72) and as John the Baptist in Zeffirelli's Jesus of Nazareth (77) ] who beautifully narrates the story of the Tabernacle Choir's humble beginnings in Wales to their formation as a choir in a pioneering Salt Lake City. This disc also contains Backstage interviews with David Archuleta and Michael York. Well worth the viewing.

Having said all of that I can heartily recommend 'Glad Christmas Tidings' as an uplifting and beautiful escape from the troubled world we live in today. I might also recommend re-visiting some of the past Tabernacle Choir's Christmas programs of the 21st century that are still available to buy on DVD.

For the true DVD buff: This program is anamorphic widescreen (1.85:1) and NOT 1.33 and the running time is 73 minutes and NOT 66 minutes as listed incorrectly on this sites product information.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oustanding!, September 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Glad Christmas Tidings Featuring David Archuleta and Michael York (DVD)
I had the privilege, too, to watch the live concert in Salt Lake City. I flew from Boston to see David and the choir together. That was a dream come true. David was superb, his velvet voice, his radiant smile, his good look ( he looked gorgeous in his tuxedo) and that wonderful choir of angels just made worth every single cent I spent to get there. I'm so happy to have this DVD soon. Since David was at American Idol I dreamed of a Christmas DVD with him and the Mormon Tabernacle choir. It's a tradition in our house to trim our Christmas tree while listening and watching to a DVD by the Mormon Tabernacle Choir. What a treat we have now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cutie McCutie-pie croons Christmas carols with the choir, September 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Glad Christmas Tidings Featuring David Archuleta and Michael York (DVD)
My adorable, magical, musical monkey-boy pretend-imaginary son, David Archuleta --- the kid I lost at the mall in 1997 whom some nice family in Utah found and raised and he's just fine --- rings in Jesus' birthday with the Mormon Tabernacle Choir and I couldn't be happier.

Watching the MOTAB Christmas specials every year was already a family tradition for ages, but having The Official Cutest Human Being Ever Born (well, at least since Jesus himself) as this year's guest just makes it that much more special.

No, my impulse to take Archuleta home, give him a room, a basket of kittens and cupcakes, and pay for his college will likely never come to pass. But events like this, the Mormon Tabernacle Choir Christmas Concert, is the next best thing to having him in your living room, giggling, gasping and warbling angelically.

Why the American music industry ignores (and, in fact, actively squelches) talented, money-making and popularity-poll winning people like Archuleta while giving all their support and promotion to magazine cover-ready kids who can't sing and need Autotune 24/7 is a mystery --- except that the latter are easier to "control" (i.e., yank the Autotune chord, and their careers are over). Meanwhile, David's a significant star overseas.

We need more David Archuletas. Not fewer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas in September, September 7, 2011
This review is from: Glad Christmas Tidings Featuring David Archuleta and Michael York (DVD)
Only few of us were very blessed to see this live and now that it has come out on DVD those who didn't see it can now feel what we felt on that day. I totally recomend it even if you are not LDS/Mormon you would love it especially with the Christmas season coming up. I would problably listen to it even if it not around Christmas because I just love David's angelic voice.One of my favorite songs is the Los Pastores a Belen sang in spanish and the one that got me all teary was defitnetly Silent Night.Don't miss on buying this wonderful DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please see my comment on the CD, September 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Glad Christmas Tidings Featuring David Archuleta and Michael York (DVD)
I bought the DVD but I made my comment on the CD. Sorry. I wish I could fix it. But I can't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very up lifting, December 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Glad Christmas Tidings Featuring David Archuleta and Michael York (DVD)
Love this dvd has the great chior and david archuleta, what a wonderful combo. David has the most beautiful voice and he really knows how to connect to the audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glad Christmas Tidings, November 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Glad Christmas Tidings Featuring David Archuleta and Michael York (DVD)
We wwere not able to see this concert in person last year. I am so happy to receive this DVD and CD set with my Amazon reward points. It is a beautiful concert that we will enjoy each Christmas for many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A spectacular Christmas concert, January 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Glad Christmas Tidings Featuring David Archuleta and Michael York (DVD)
Amazing concert, good arrangements, very large symphonic orchestra with choir, organ, dancers, a stage full of very professional artists. A spectacular Christmas !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Glad Christmas Tidings Featuring David Archuleta and Michael York
$24.98
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.