Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My #1 Christmas album!
I can't help it-- I've been listening to The Chipmunks for as long as I remember, my parents bought me this WHEN IT FIRST CAME OUT (in 1962), and I've never gotten bored with it during the holidays. There are several Chipmunks Christmas albums these days (some 2nd-rate "repackages"-- beware!) but only the 2 from the 60's are really worth owning to my...
Published on March 5, 2002 by Henry R. Kujawa

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Get 2007 version
Please note to get instead the new great sounding Capitol 2007 release which has ALL 24 songs (includes both Volumes 1 & 2) plus one bonus and is very reasonably priced. This is the disappointing 10 song abbreviated version. The 2006 version has a recording flaw. This is a classic Christmas album that should be FULLY enjoyed and the 2007 is the best version out there!
Published on December 25, 2007 by Nicholas J. Leipzig


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My #1 Christmas album!, March 5, 2002
By 
Henry R. Kujawa ("The Forbidden Zone" (Camden, NJ)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I can't help it-- I've been listening to The Chipmunks for as long as I remember, my parents bought me this WHEN IT FIRST CAME OUT (in 1962), and I've never gotten bored with it during the holidays. There are several Chipmunks Christmas albums these days (some 2nd-rate "repackages"-- beware!) but only the 2 from the 60's are really worth owning to my tastes.
EVERY song here is a classic, including "Here Comes Santa Claus", "Up On The House Top" and "Jingle Bells" (each of these is a close tie with Gene Autry's versions-- although "Jingle Bells" is the ONLY version I've heard that has ALL the lyrics, plus it slowly speeds up until by the end it's turned rock & roll!). "Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer" originally appeared on AROUND THE WORLD WITH THE CHIPMUNKS (1960), while "The Chipmunk Song"-- the very first "Chipmunks" song-- dates back to the 1958 single, and the 1959 album LET'S ALL SING WITH THE CHIPMUNKS. It's nice to have them both here, though, as this package would seem incomplete without them. While child (of any age) cannot relate to such heart-wrenching lyrics ("we can hardly stand the wait, please Christmas don't be late")?
A year later came the follow-up, CHRISTMAS WITH THE CHIPMUNKS VOL.2-- also essential. (Just be careful which one you get-- it's the one that starts with "Jingle Bell Rock" and should have a pic of Santa on a rooftop while Alvin, Simon & Theodore are raiding his parked sleigh!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fine new version of a Christmastime classic, November 29, 2007
By 
Matthew G. Sherwin (last seen screaming at Amazon customer service) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Christmas With the Chipmunks (Audio CD)
Ross Bagdasarian, a.k.a. David Seville, created the great sound of The Chipmunks (Alvin, Simon and Theodore) essentially by taking the sound of a few people singing and speeding it up to sound like small animals singing. This technique works well still today; their Christmas album is a delight for the kids and inevitably nostalgic for us adults. Just one listen proves it!

The CD starts with "Here Comes Santa Claus (Right Down Santa Claus Lane)." The Chipmunks perform a charming and somewhat amusing rendition of this classic Christmastime ballad. The percussion and flute add to the natural beauty of this number; and the harmonizing leaves nothing to be desired! The cute banter between Alvin the chipmunk and David Seville makes the number even cuter. Great! Next we get the remarkably famous "The Chipmunk Song (Christmas Don't Be Late)." This you've undoubtedly heard on the radio; and the sound on the CD is excellent. They harmonize well and the banter between The Chipmunks and David Seville near the end of the song resembles that of a parent and children having "a special moment."

"Rudolph, The Red Nosed Reindeer" also works well. The musical arrangement reflects good judgment and I predict that the children--and you--will like this number very, very much. "We Wish You A Merry Christmas" begins with a great harp solo even if the solo is brief; and this number shines like gold! "Frosty The Snowman" features The Chipmunks singing this children's Christmas song rather well; and the percussion sounds great on "Frosty The Snowman," too.

You're bound to like "Santa Claus Is Comin' To Town;" and "Christmas Time (Greensleeves)" features The Chipmunks singing their best vocals to the tune of "Greensleeves." Great! "Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas," a tune from Meet Me In St. Louis, sparkles as David Seville puts his stamp on this beautiful song.

The Chipmunk tracks end fittingly with "White Christmas." This ballad, although it's actually somewhat melancholy, sounds optimistic and very beautiful as David Seville sings this with great sensitivity. The flutes and strings enhance "White Christmas," too.

With this version of this album we get a bonus track by Canned Heat. It's actually quite good and it rocks; but it's a big difference from The Chipmunks!

David Seville and The Chipmunks were a huge hit in the early 1960s; and they remain a favorite of many a child even today. You just can't keep good entertainment down; and this fine CD is sure to remain in print for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Get 2007 version, December 25, 2007
By 
Please note to get instead the new great sounding Capitol 2007 release which has ALL 24 songs (includes both Volumes 1 & 2) plus one bonus and is very reasonably priced. This is the disappointing 10 song abbreviated version. The 2006 version has a recording flaw. This is a classic Christmas album that should be FULLY enjoyed and the 2007 is the best version out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 25 Great songs for the 25th day of December by Alvin and the Chipmunks, November 15, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christmas With the Chipmunks (Audio CD)
Hello kids ,tell Mommy'and Daddy's that you want this CD,and adults to.
If you want to stay merry this holiday season and all year around,then buy this CD. 25 Great songs for the 25th day of December By Alvin and the Chipmunks. Excellent remastering by Capitol/EMI.
It sounds like the chipmunks are right there with you in the studio.
My favorite of course is Greensleeves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better Volumes Available Now, September 16, 2007
By 
This CD version of an original 1963 vinyl LP (the original cover is shown on the reverse) came out at the dawn of the CD age and, at the time, was eagerly grabbed up by fans of David Seville (born Ross Bagdasarian on January 27, 1919 in Fresno, California).

He had been cutting records since the mid-1950s, scoring in early 1956 with The Trouble With Harry (# 44 Billboard Pop Top 100) under the billing Alfi And Harry, and inspired by the Hitchcock film of the same name. Then, from late 1956 to 1959 he registered six more hits under the billing The Music Of David Seville, the most successful of which was early 1958's The Witch Doctor which hit # 1 on both the Pop and R&B charts.

But later that year, and in time for Christmas, his voice over-dubbing technique hit upon the idea of three cute Chipmunks named Alvin, Simon and Theodore after Liberty Records execs Alvin Bennett, Simon Waronker and Teodore Keep. And with the debut The Chipmunk Song, a whole new industry was born as it soared to # 1 Pop Hot 100, where it remained for 4 weeks, as well as # 5 R&B on Liberty 55168 b/w the Seville solo, Almost Good.

Numerous hits would follow, a few more related to Christmas and usually with a Seville solo as the3 flip, and so when that first LP was released it was gobbled up by fans.

But this CD has long since been surpassed by releases with many more tracks and far better sound quality (on this, the voice of David on Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer, is barely legible). Also, there are no liner notes at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Me, I want a hu-la hoop!", January 11, 2011
When mom bought our family's beloved EMERSON console stereo, a rectangular veneered wooden box on spindly metal legs that had speakers at the far ends covered by glittery grill cloth, CHRISTMAS WITH THE CHIPMUNKS was one of the first stereo LPs we played on it.

This 1961 record album is on the teal LIBERTY label. Its cover is printed on shiny foil. Ross Bagdasarian's #1 hit from 1958, "The Chipmunk Song" is the set's highlight. Bagdasarian, aka David Seville, had only one other #1 song under his Seville alias ("Witch Doctor"), while the invented Chipmunks trio never again scaled the heights this triple-Grammy-winning single reached.

"The Chipmunk Song" was the last Xmas record to reach #1. It re-entered the Pop charts every year for almost a decade and is still regularly resurfacing every holiday season, six decades after it was recorded!

For this session, Bagdasarian recorded all three Chipmunk voices himself. Later Alvin, Simon and Theodore sides (including the balance listed below) feature women vocalists as the Chipmunks.

PROGRAM--

SIDE ONE
[1:46] Here Comes Santa Claus (Right Down Santa Claus Lane)
[1:34] Up on the House Top
[2:18] Silver Bells
[2:31] Rudolph, the Red-Nosed Reindeer
[2:38] Jingle Bells
[1:59] Over the River and Through the Woods

SIDE TWO
[1:47] Santa Claus Is Coming to Town
[1:47] It's Beginning To Look a Lot Like Christmas
[2:01] Frosty the Snowman
[2:38] White Christmas
[2:21] The Chipmunk Song (Christmas Don't Be Late)
[0:56] We Wish You a Merry Christmas

TOTAL TIME: 30:10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There's a present for you and I hope the rest are for me., December 24, 2008
By 
This review is from: Christmas With the Chipmunks (Audio CD)
This CD collects all the Christmas songs recorded by the REAL original Chipmunks. Of course, the very first Chipmunks record in 1958, "The Chipmunk Song", was a Christmas song and is the second or third best selling Christmas single of all time. Two years after that, they recorded another Christmas single, a cover version of "Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer", which was a pretty sizeable hit in its own right. In 1962, The Chimpunks released their first Christmas album, which included "The Chipmunk Song" and "Rudolph" plus ten newly recorded songs. One year later, a second Chipmunks Christmas album with 12 new songs was released. A final Chipmunks Christmas single, a team up with blues-rock group Canned Heat, was released in 1968. All the songs I just mentioned are featured on this CD, which is a great thing for fans of the Chipmunks. But I am a little disappointed that the songs aren't in the same order that they were on the two Christmas albums. That's a minor complaint, though. I recommend this for fans of the Chipmunks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chipper chipmunks, December 5, 2011
Christmas With The Chipmunks is an all-time Christmas classic. This album gives you ten songs. Here they are:

1. The Chipmunk Song
2. (All I Want For Christmas Is) My Two Front Teeth
3. Jingle Bells
4. Frosty The Snowman
5. Santa Claus Is Comin' To Town
6. Rudolph, The Red-Nosed Reindeer
7. The Night Before Christmas
8. Silver Bells
9. White Christmas
10. We Wish You A Merry Christmas

This stuff has served me well around the holidays over the years. I highly recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Me, I want a hu-la hoop!", January 11, 2011
When mom bought our family's beloved EMERSON console stereo, a rectangular veneered wooden box on spindly metal legs that had speakers at the far ends covered by glittery grill cloth, CHRISTMAS WITH THE CHIPMUNKS was one of the first stereo LPs we played on it.

This MISTLETOE LP is a reissue. The original 1961 record album is on the teal LIBERTY label. Its cover is printed on shiny foil. Ross Bagdasarian's #1 hit from 1958, "The Chipmunk Song" is the set's highlight. Bagdasarian, aka David Seville, had only one other #1 song under his Seville alias ("Witch Doctor"), while the invented Chipmunks trio never again scaled the heights this triple-Grammy-winning single reached.

"The Chipmunk Song" was the last Xmas record to reach #1. It re-entered the Pop charts every year for almost a decade and is still surfacing almost every holiday season, six decades after it was recorded!

For this session, Bagdasarian recorded all three Chipmunk voices himself. Later Alvin, Simon and Theodore sides (including the balance listed below) feature women vocalists as the Chipmunks.

PROGRAM--

SIDE ONE
[1:46] Here Comes Santa Claus (Right Down Santa Claus Lane)
[1:34] Up on the House Top
[2:18] Silver Bells
[2:31] Rudolph, the Red-Nosed Reindeer
[2:38] Jingle Bells
[1:59] Over the River and Through the Woods

SIDE TWO
[1:47] Santa Claus Is Coming to Town
[1:47] It's Beginning To Look a Lot Like Christmas
[2:01] Frosty the Snowman
[2:38] White Christmas
[2:21] The Chipmunk Song (Christmas Don't Be Late)
[0:56] We Wish You a Merry Christmas

TOTAL TIME: 30:10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Me, I want a hu-la hoop!", January 11, 2011
When mom bought our family's beloved EMERSON console stereo, a rectangular veneered wooden box on spindly metal legs that had speakers at the far ends covered by glittery grill cloth, CHRISTMAS WITH THE CHIPMUNKS was one of the first stereo LPs we played on it.

This PICKWICK LP is a reissue. The original 1961 record album is on the teal LIBERTY label. Its cover is printed on shiny foil. Ross Bagdasarian's #1 hit from 1958, "The Chipmunk Song" is the set's highlight. Bagdasarian, aka David Seville, had only one other #1 song under his Seville alias ("Witch Doctor"), while the invented Chipmunks trio never again scaled the heights this triple-Grammy-winning single reached.

"The Chipmunk Song" was the last Xmas record to reach #1. It re-entered the Pop charts every year for almost a decade and is still surfacing almost every holiday season, six decades after it was recorded!

For this session, Bagdasarian recorded all three Chipmunk voices himself. Later Alvin, Simon and Theodore sides (including the balance listed below) feature women vocalists as the Chipmunks.

PROGRAM--

SIDE ONE
[1:46] Here Comes Santa Claus (Right Down Santa Claus Lane)
[1:34] Up on the House Top
[2:18] Silver Bells
[2:31] Rudolph, the Red-Nosed Reindeer
[2:38] Jingle Bells
[1:59] Over the River and Through the Woods

SIDE TWO
[1:47] Santa Claus Is Coming to Town
[1:47] It's Beginning To Look a Lot Like Christmas
[2:01] Frosty the Snowman
[2:38] White Christmas
[2:21] The Chipmunk Song (Christmas Don't Be Late)
[0:56] We Wish You a Merry Christmas

TOTAL TIME: 30:10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Christmas With the Chipmunks
Christmas With the Chipmunks by Alvin & the Chipmunks (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.