Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars memories of long ago
This was the era of my growing up. I've been a Sinatra fan from way back. Throw the rest of the rat pack in and it's really great.
Published on December 2, 2012 by Helen Smith

versus
48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't be cheated
The music on this CD is really good, but there's little reason to buy it. Sinatra and Martin have great Christmas CD's you should buy separately. I recommend Sinatra's Capital and Reprise Christmas collections, and I recommend Martin's CD "A Winter Romance." Primo stuff.

Now, it's true that the Sammy Davis material is not available elsewhere, and it's good...
Published 23 months ago by John Clayton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't be cheated, January 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The music on this CD is really good, but there's little reason to buy it. Sinatra and Martin have great Christmas CD's you should buy separately. I recommend Sinatra's Capital and Reprise Christmas collections, and I recommend Martin's CD "A Winter Romance." Primo stuff.

Now, it's true that the Sammy Davis material is not available elsewhere, and it's good. BUT, this CD is still a rip-off, even for Sammy fans. Why? Because the earlier version of this CD has more songs. That's right--this CD is a shortened version of the previous CD, which has the same title.

The earlier CD is also entitled "Christmas with the Rat Pack," but it has a green cover, with two candy canes in the shape of an "11." It has 21 songs on it, including Martin's "I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm," Martin's "Baby It's Cold Outside," Sinatra's "I Believe," a live Sinatra-Martin duet "A Marshmallow World," and a live Sinatra-Martin duet "Auld Lang Syne."

This later CD has a tan and red cover, with a martini glass, and it's the rip-off. It has only 16 songs on it--and they're the same songs that were on the earlier CD, just in a different order. Amazingly, it deletes the five songs listed above, which are the best reasons to buy it! You can't find those two duets elsewhere.

Consumers, you're welcome to spend $15 on this rip-off. Or, you can find a used copy of the earlier CD, pay as little as one cent for it, and get five more songs.

Capital Record Company, or whichever lawyers are responsible for this, you should be ashamed of yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Do Not buy this(2010) version, November 29, 2010
By 
Bonehead (Way Down South, NC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Christmas With the Rat Pack (Audio CD)
unless you can't get an older version. You CAN get an older version.

This CD contains only 16 of the 21 selections from the previous "Christmas With the Rat Pack" albums.

The 2002 compilation, which has all of these, plus 3 more from Dean(including The Christmas Blues which you may remember from the movie LA Confidential), 1 more from Frank(I Believe), and 2 duets from Dean Martin TV shows featuring Frank.

The 2007 version, which is the SAME as the 2002. Simply reissued, not remastered.

If you can't find either of these for a reasonable(whatever that is for you) amount, just download it from Amazon, which strangely includes the extra songs.

The music here is very good, and a couple of the songs are hard to find elsewhere. The cover artwork is better than the earlier versions. Use it when you put this on your ipod, just don't leave 5 songs "on the table".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Less is...less, November 1, 2013
By 
jimac51 (Allentown, Pa United States) - See all my reviews
Chrsitmas music has a history of being repackaged,recut,rearranged and remixed.In 2002,there was renewed interest in the Rat Pack,due to a successful 2001 remake of Oceans 11.Capitol wisely put together a 21 cut CD of Frank,Dean & Sammy doing Christmas songs.The used multiple sources,not only the obvious material both Frank & Dean recorded for Capitol.The Martin estate was needed for some of the tracks and Sammy's Christmas material was a challenge to bring together.The cover had a candy cane striped image of "11".Seek this out,as it is proably still affordable.What you have here is one of the repackagings of the 2002 album,with five less tracks for about the same amount of money.A wiki article suggest that there was religious opposition over the candy cane cover.Highly doubtful,as what was usually happening during the years was that Capitol was repackaging the album,as they did with their Beach Boys and Chipmunk holdings.In every case,there is one pretty much definitive version,and with the Rat Pack,the candy cane "11" is the way to go.Universal Music now controls Capitol,so the shenanagins may continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars memories of long ago, December 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was the era of my growing up. I've been a Sinatra fan from way back. Throw the rest of the rat pack in and it's really great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sammy Davis Xmas, October 30, 2012
By 
P. Thompson "Sinatra Fan" (Westchester County, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Dean and Frank have several Christmas albums out so if you want to hear Sammy sing Xmas songs this is the album for you. I wanted to hear Sammy since I have Xmas albums by Sinatra and Martin. It'a a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, August 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My sister love this CD , it sounds good. I think I will have to order one for my self next Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essentials, February 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Classic! Dont hesitate in buying this album -- I listened to it on repeat this past Christmas season in December.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect addition to any Christmas CD collection, January 3, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christmas With the Rat Pack (Audio CD)
My family and I love Christmas music, whether it is old, new, popular or classical. Christmas with the Rat Pack was a perfect addition to our collection. It's classy, smooth, and timeless. I rate this album right up there with Bing Crosby's Christmas album. The voices of Frank Sinatra, Sammy Davis Jr., and Dean Martin really shine on these tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice memories, May 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this disc for my husband who loves Frank Sinatra. He really enjoyed it. This will be a repeat play at Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, April 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you love Christmas music and the Rat Pack, this is the CD for you. It's simply enjoyable to listen to, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Christmas With the Rat Pack
Christmas With the Rat Pack by The Rat Pack (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.