Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Christmas With the Rat Pack
Safety Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Recess Monkey The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars62
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$17.22+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 30, 2013
The music on this CD is really good, but there's little reason to buy it. Sinatra and Martin have great Christmas CD's you should buy separately. I recommend Sinatra's Capital and Reprise Christmas collections, and I recommend Martin's CD "A Winter Romance." Primo stuff.

Now, it's true that the Sammy Davis material is not available elsewhere, and it's good. BUT, this CD is still a rip-off, even for Sammy fans. Why? Because the earlier version of this CD has more songs. That's right--this CD is a shortened version of the previous CD, which has the same title.

The earlier CD is also entitled "Christmas with the Rat Pack," but it has a green cover, with two candy canes in the shape of an "11." It has 21 songs on it, including Martin's "I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm," Martin's "Baby It's Cold Outside," Sinatra's "I Believe," a live Sinatra-Martin duet "A Marshmallow World," and a live Sinatra-Martin duet "Auld Lang Syne."

This later CD has a tan and red cover, with a martini glass, and it's the rip-off. It has only 16 songs on it--and they're the same songs that were on the earlier CD, just in a different order. Amazingly, it deletes the five songs listed above, which are the best reasons to buy it! You can't find those two duets elsewhere.

Consumers, you're welcome to spend $15 on this rip-off. Or, you can find a used copy of the earlier CD, pay as little as one cent for it, and get five more songs.

Capital Record Company, or whichever lawyers are responsible for this, you should be ashamed of yourself.
33 comments|64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2010
unless you can't get an older version. You CAN get an older version.

This CD contains only 16 of the 21 selections from the previous "Christmas With the Rat Pack" albums.

The 2002 compilation, which has all of these, plus 3 more from Dean(including The Christmas Blues which you may remember from the movie LA Confidential), 1 more from Frank(I Believe), and 2 duets from Dean Martin TV shows featuring Frank.

The 2007 version, which is the SAME as the 2002. Simply reissued, not remastered.

If you can't find either of these for a reasonable(whatever that is for you) amount, just download it from Amazon, which strangely includes the extra songs.

The music here is very good, and a couple of the songs are hard to find elsewhere. The cover artwork is better than the earlier versions. Use it when you put this on your ipod, just don't leave 5 songs "on the table".
22 comments|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2013
Chrsitmas music has a history of being repackaged,recut,rearranged and remixed.In 2002,there was renewed interest in the Rat Pack,due to a successful 2001 remake of Oceans 11.Capitol wisely put together a 21 cut CD of Frank,Dean & Sammy doing Christmas songs.The used multiple sources,not only the obvious material both Frank & Dean recorded for Capitol.The Martin estate was needed for some of the tracks and Sammy's Christmas material was a challenge to bring together.The cover had a candy cane striped image of "11".Seek this out,as it is proably still affordable.What you have here is one of the repackagings of the 2002 album,with five less tracks for about the same amount of money.A wiki article suggest that there was religious opposition over the candy cane cover.Highly doubtful,as what was usually happening during the years was that Capitol was repackaging the album,as they did with their Beach Boys and Chipmunk holdings.In every case,there is one pretty much definitive version,and with the Rat Pack,the candy cane "11" is the way to go.Universal Music now controls Capitol,so the shenanagins may continue.
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2012
Dean and Frank have several Christmas albums out so if you want to hear Sammy sing Xmas songs this is the album for you. I wanted to hear Sammy since I have Xmas albums by Sinatra and Martin. It'a a great album.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2012
This was the era of my growing up. I've been a Sinatra fan from way back. Throw the rest of the rat pack in and it's really great.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2015
December 2015 has been a significant month in the history of the Rat Pack: Sammy Davis Jr. would have been 90 on December 8th, Pack Leader Frank Sinatra would have been 100 on December 12th, Christmas Day marked the 20th anniversary of Dean Martin's death, and the following day, the 31st of non-singing Rat Pack member, Peter Lawford's.
But this CD of 16 stylized carols performed between 1954 and 1965 celebrates the zingy swagger of the three singing Rat Packers.
It begins with Dean Martin's lighthearted 1959 rendition of "Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!", followed by Frank's equally lighthearted 1957 classic, "Mistletoe and Holly", which begins with a tick-tock synchronized meter and paints warmhearted, idyllic imagery of Christmas with loved ones, followed by Vegas' flashy triple threat Sammy's lively and joyous, "It's Christmastime All Over the World", featuring a delightful chorus of children singing Christmas greetings in various languages. Davis' treatment of Hugh Martin's lyrics--particularly the line, "...as old St. Nick gets ready to ride" jibes well with the often colorful Rat Pack linguo.
Franks' reverent version of "Hark! The Herald Angels Sing", follows, after which we hear Dean's "I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm", and then we hear Dean's playful "Rudolph (Or Rudy) the Red-Nosed Reindeer".
Sammy's very Vegasy styling of"Jingle Bells" greets us next, followed by Frank's "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas"(Hugh Martin's better-known hit), and Dean's "Baby It's Cold Outside".
Next is Frank's "It Came Upon a Midnight Clear", then Dean's "Winter Wonderland", then Sammy's "The Christmas Song".
We end with Frank's "The First Noel", "Dean's "White Christmas", and lastly, Frank's "I'll Be Home for Christmas".
This was given as a present for my Mom, this year. She enjoys it very much, and it's a lovely way to memorialize three phenomenal talents whose appearances and specials I, like many,remember from childhood. Compilations like these will ensure that future generations will continue to enjoy these iconic performances.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2016
Can't go wrong with these icons 🎶 These are the timeless artists singing the classic Christmas songs. Many of us grew up watching their tv specials. I now have a greater appreciation for these guys. Even my daughter likes this. Another generation who enjoys The Rat Pack even though most were already dead by the time she was born. Now that's a classic! True artistry is timeless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2013
Turn up the sound, lay back, and close your eyes. This album is going to take you back to those days when you could watch the Rat Pack do their thing and then sing their hearts out. I can only say this is a great album for those Rat Pack lovers out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2013
The Nutty Rat Pack! How great this CD is and perfect for the customers shopping in our antique shops in Montgomery TX. CD arrived in good shape and promptly. I know there will be people ordering this one
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2013
Bought this for my mom as a pre-Christmas gift, and she absolutely loved hearing all the holiday classics as performed by the Rat Pack. The tone alternated between playful jazzy and upbeat on some songs (Dean Martin's "Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer") to gorgeously somber (Frank Sinatra "I'll Be Home For Christmas") and everywhere in between. Great mix.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.