Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three great movies, but what's so special about the price?
I'm tempted to dock one star mainly because you'd actually pay LESS buying them separately than in this "special" package. ($14.99 each for Waiting for Guffman and Best in Show, $23.76 for Mighty Wind = $53.74). The three-fer costs over $55. What gives? Well, I suppose you save something on shipping.
Regardless, these three films are easily worth the money at...
Published on January 11, 2004

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment
I thought I was ordering a box set but it ended up being three DVDs stuck together with packing tape. Those DVDs are $10 each from any video store so apparently I paid an extra $50 for the packing tape....
Published 3 months ago by Sarah Furlong


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three great movies, but what's so special about the price?, January 11, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Christopher Guest Collection (A Mighty Wind / Best in Show / Waiting for Guffman) (DVD)
I'm tempted to dock one star mainly because you'd actually pay LESS buying them separately than in this "special" package. ($14.99 each for Waiting for Guffman and Best in Show, $23.76 for Mighty Wind = $53.74). The three-fer costs over $55. What gives? Well, I suppose you save something on shipping.
Regardless, these three films are easily worth the money at either price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Movies, Terrible Presentation, January 8, 2004
By 
Nick (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Christopher Guest Collection (A Mighty Wind / Best in Show / Waiting for Guffman) (DVD)
Boo, Warner Brothers!!!
You've taken three amazing movies and packaged them terribly.
I was extremely excited to have received this "box set" for Christmas, until I unwrapped it. It's three seperate loose DVDs with no box to tie them all together. And to add insult to injury, all of the DVDs are encased in the old-school type packaging with the cheap cardboard cover and black "snap" latch.
Very disappointing. Warner Brothers SUCKS! They really need to work on how they showcase their work on DVD in the future. They could take a real hint from New Line which always releases their best films with pride and flair.
As far as the movies go, they are amazing and packed with extras. It's just sad that they would call this a collection and not treat it as such.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As always with this group of actors, well worth a purchase, September 23, 2003
By 
KaneRobot "kanerobot" (Rochester Hills, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Christopher Guest Collection (A Mighty Wind / Best in Show / Waiting for Guffman) (DVD)
It's hard to really rank what I call "The Four Spinal Tap Movies" (This Is Spinal Tap, Waiting For Guffman, Best In Show, and now A Mighty Wind) because they are all so good. For the uninitated, the common threads with these movies is that they all have involvement from Michael McKean, Harry Shearer, and Christopher Guest (Shearer wasn't in Guffman but did help with some of the music), and each movie picks a subject and builds a hilarious faux documentary around it. Spinal Tap did it with 80's metal, Guffman did it with community theatre, Best in Show did it with dog shows, and A Mighty Wind does it with folk music. I own all four and never regretted purchasing any of them.
This is a very worthy purchase for fans of any of the above mentioned movies (just be sure to pick up the Tap disc as well, as that's probably the best of the four). Improv humor at its absolute best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mockumentary classics, September 21, 2003
This review is from: Christopher Guest Collection (A Mighty Wind / Best in Show / Waiting for Guffman) (DVD)
The Christopher Guest mockumentaries are, with half-sibling production "This is Spinal Tap," some of the most unique and hilarious comedies out there. "Waiting for Guffman" and "Mighty Wind" are unalloyed excellence, while "Best in Show" limps in places. But all three are entertaining and enjoyable.
"Waiting for Guffman" introduces us to the quirky but proud town of Blaine Missouri, the Stool Capital of the world and a pre-Roswell UFO landing site. Disillusioned writer Corky St. Claire sees the perfect vehicle to get back to Broadway: The town's anniversary celebration, which will now host a musical called "Red White and Blaine." Among the actors: A dentist who dreams of stardom, a husband-and-wife team, and a Dairy Queen clerk. The stakes are upped when Corky is told that they might end up on Broadway, if Mr. Guffman likes the performance...
Who is "Best in Show"? Hard to say. At a major dog show things start going wrong. Among the contestants: A yuppie couple who think they scarred their dog with their Kama Sutra sex, a rather dull ventriloquist hick with a bloodhound, a bored bubblebrain trophy wife with a poodle, a gay couple, and a guy with two left feet (literally) who is haunted by his wife's colorful past. As they arrive at a hotel for the competition, human neuroses threaten to derail the dogs...
"A Mighty Wind" is blowing through the folk music world. Guest gets himself back on track with this film. The great folk music icon Irving Steinbloom has just passed away, and his son Jonathan wants to pay tribute to his daddy with a special memorial concert. To do that, he calls together various quirky groups (and ex-groups) for one last concert: aging ex-lovers Mitch and Mickey, odd Folksmen, and the color-coordinated "New Main Street Singers." Let the show begin...
"Waiting" is absolutely hysterical, brimming over with quirky jokes and likable weird characters. "Mighty Wind," while not as good as "Guffman," is nevertheless quite engaging and full of giggle moments. Both are affectionate even as they poke fun at their subjects (small towns/musicals and folk music), like the pal who is a goofball even though you like him for his oddities. "Best," however, stumbles a bit. The stereotypes go over the top at times, and jokes become a little repetitive (like the ex-boyfriend-in-every-town joke). It's still amusing, just not up to Guest's usual standards.
Fans of those kooky rockers in "Spinal Tap" will eat up the Christopher Guest collection. Funny, weird, occasionally a little deranged, these three mockumentaries are definitely keepers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movies at an AWESOME price., October 16, 2003
By 
cplewis "cplewis" (Merrifield, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Christopher Guest Collection (A Mighty Wind / Best in Show / Waiting for Guffman) (DVD)
It's hard to beat the "bang-for-your-buck" that these three solid films delivers -- getting the group of three at this amazing price (with an additional $10 rebate between now and February 2004) is well worth it no matter how many of these films you've seen so far or how familiar you are with Christopher Guest's work.
Guest absolutely nails the 'mockumentary' genre, no matter what his subject matter: a small-town theatre production ("Waiting for Guffman"), a dog show ("Best in Show"), or a folkie reunion ("A Mighty Wind"). Fans will argue all day about which of the three is the 'best', but it's certain that you will find something to love in each of them. Don't miss the deleted scenes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movies, terrible price, July 30, 2009
By 
David Baker (Mount Vernon, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Christopher Guest Collection (A Mighty Wind / Best in Show / Waiting for Guffman) (DVD)
Consider this...buying each movie separately:

A Mighty Wind: $5.99
Best in Show: $7.99
Waiting for Guffman: $13.49
Total: $27.47

Buying this package which includes nothing extra: $49.49

Is is just me or does something not add up here? You could throw in For Your Consideration for $5.99 and This Is Spinal Tap for $9.49 making your total $42.95 and it's STILL cheaper than this package.

Conclusion: DO NOT BUT THIS! But DO buy these movies. They are brilliantly hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You either love it or hate it----and I love it, January 3, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christopher Guest Collection (A Mighty Wind / Best in Show / Waiting for Guffman) (DVD)
I admit to an unexplained fondness for clever parody and satire. These three films by Christopher Guest fall right into my slot. Each highlights a different form of unwarranted self-importance, but rarely crosses the line of easy insults or demeaning caricature. The realism is ----well, very real (although it doesn't go to 11 as in an earlier semi-related film).

All the characters are clearly drawn from real life. Although employing many of the same actors in diverse roles, the films allow each individual improv performer to shine a unique light that fully illuminates the target subjects. My two 20-ish daugthers and I often quote from these films. The biting wit is timeless. Outstanding talent, craftsmanship, and creativity forms the heart of all these stories. Very, very funny stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much more than meets the eye,, September 1, 2003
This review is from: Christopher Guest Collection (A Mighty Wind / Best in Show / Waiting for Guffman) (DVD)
you'll need to watch it several times to pick up on all of its charm and humor. We all know characters like the ones depicted in this movie. Seeing them on the screen makes it feel like watching your friends being comfortable being your friends.
The humor is both blatant and subtle, and may not be everybody's taste. But if it is yours, you will enjoy it immensely.
Guest plays the likable (lovable?) displaced Broadway wanna-be, transplanted in the midwest small town of Blaine, MO. Now in charge of making a show celebrating the town's 150th anniversary, Guest has delusions this show is the ticket to his return to Broadway. All he needs is the support of the town, his stars, and some money. What happens will captivate your attention, imagination, amusement, and heart.
Check out Guest's original, "This is Spinal Tap", another classic mockumentary. Both are must-haves, and must-views again and again. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great films, poor packaging, February 3, 2005
By 
D. Campbell (Vienna, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Christopher Guest Collection (A Mighty Wind / Best in Show / Waiting for Guffman) (DVD)
The DVDs are great. They have lots of great extras, including commentary on additional scenes, insightful commentary in general, cast bios, etc. I was disappointed in the packaging -- flimsy cardboard and are smaller than more traditional packages.

I received these as a gift, and I think that as a gift, they are great.

I have watched these films over and over again and enjoy them each time. The acting is incredible and it amazes me that it's improvised -- the actors make it look so easy, which means it must be difficult! In A Mighty Wind, all the actors sing and play their own instruments, with some learning just for this film. Great dedication to their artform.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment, May 12, 2014
By 
Sarah Furlong (St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christopher Guest Collection (A Mighty Wind / Best in Show / Waiting for Guffman) (DVD)
I thought I was ordering a box set but it ended up being three DVDs stuck together with packing tape. Those DVDs are $10 each from any video store so apparently I paid an extra $50 for the packing tape....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.