Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buying in Costa Rica
This is a wonderfully well organized book. It also has a nice balance of factual information coupled with advice based on the author's 30 years in Costa Rica.

The introduction does a great job of summarizing the significant aspects of Costa Rica geography (very diverse - warm ocean, rain forests, mountains, volcanoes, little change in temperature summer to...
Published on October 13, 2009 by Tom North

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad read though
a little informative. Nothing you can't find on your own. Not a bad read though..
Published 5 months ago by ken serbin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buying in Costa Rica, October 13, 2009
This review is from: Christopher Howard's Guide to Real Estate in Costa Rica (Paperback)
This is a wonderfully well organized book. It also has a nice balance of factual information coupled with advice based on the author's 30 years in Costa Rica.

The introduction does a great job of summarizing the significant aspects of Costa Rica geography (very diverse - warm ocean, rain forests, mountains, volcanoes, little change in temperature summer to winter), government (also see Thomas Freidman's article in the NY Times "N0 Drill, Baby, Drill" => 95 percent of its energy from renewables), society (gentle except when behind the wheel), and economics (Yup, Intel is there but so are many large, protected nature areas). A section on the legalities is followed by detailed information on each of the very different zones offered by this diverse country.

All this is followed by more nuts and bolts information on how to look, buy / build, finance, evaluate brokers (the country has no broker licensing requirements, and many other important areas. If you are new to Costa Rica, and considering buying property this book offers comprehensive coverage, for others it may be more of an encyclopedia.

We have been to Costa Rica a dozen times and love it. A few of our trips have been for medical. We were delighted that the private hospitals (CIMA -etc) had state-of-the-art equipment and thoroughly trained staff.

Another delightful read is "Costa Rica The Last Country the Gods Made" by Kim Parsons. This book starts with the creation of the continent and continues through the evolution of people and other species. Our favorite guide book is by the Lonely Planet, and Mr. Howard also has a well done book on retirement in Costa Rica (our goal).

Enjoy and good luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb-A must before you buy real estate, November 9, 2009
This review is from: Christopher Howard's Guide to Real Estate in Costa Rica (Paperback)
This is not just an "overview" about Real Estate in Costa Rica, but is a comprehensive, fair & balanced and an essential tool for anyone considering real estate in Costa Rica. Christopher has combined his wisdom with two excellent authors to deliver a guide that is clear, concise and an encyclopedia of information regarding the culture, govt., legal system, architecture, real estate regions, etc. There are 18 Chapters of extensive information, honest information, helpful information regarding not only real estate but law, culture, government, finance, crime, investment potential, property ownership as a foreigner, hiring local help and a resource/reference section that is a wealth of information. This guide is a must for anyone considering a future in Costa Rica.
The information here is clear and easy to read. The practical and common sense information is quite helpful to understanding how to purchase real estate in another country other than your own. This book is a necessary investment to your future of owning property in Costa Rica. As realtors in the USA we urge you to purchase this guide!!
The "GUIDE to Real Estate in Costa Rica" is chock full of great information. Accolades to Christopher Howard, Lindsay Whipp and Peter Krupa !! We appreciate your labor of love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christopher Howard's Retirement Tours is for Baby Boomers of all budgets., February 27, 2010
This review is from: Christopher Howard's Guide to Real Estate in Costa Rica (Paperback)
Christopher Howard's Costa Rica Real Estate Book and Retirement Tours is for Baby Boomers of all budgets.

"There is nothing more comprehensive than a Christopher Howard Real Estate Book and his Relocation/Retirement Tours of Costa Rica. I can't imagine anyone considering investing in Real Estate and Retireing in Costa Rica on their own without his Real Estate Book and his time-tested licensed guided tours."
Daryl Burns, Retirement Editor, [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Christopher Howard's Guide to Real Estate In Costa Rica, November 5, 2009
This review is from: Christopher Howard's Guide to Real Estate in Costa Rica (Paperback)
Thinking about purchasing a house, a condo, or land in Costa Rica? Well you would do yourself a great favor by buying this book and reading it. It's the first book ever written that covers this subject in great detail and the information in it is right on the button. I lived in Costa Rica many years, built three homes, sold them and returned to US. Costa Rica is a beautiful country with an almost perfect climate, but you had better do your homework before you purchase property there. Chris's book covers it all..good and bad- pretty and ugly. Chris has spent over twenty years living in Costa Rica, and he has written several books on Costa Rica. I read his "New Golden Door to Living and Retiring in Costa Rica" and I give it five stars! See Chris's testimonial on the good life in Costa Rica on my and my husband's newly released video "Costa Rica, A Travel Adventure Spectacular". [...].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Very Best Costa Rica Real Estate Handbook!, October 13, 2009
By 
This review is from: Christopher Howard's Guide to Real Estate in Costa Rica (Paperback)
Christopher Howard has finally written the ultimate handbook about Costa Rica real estate! His expertize and knowledgeable presentation of one of his favorite topics is written in an easy to read and understand format. This is the book that I have been begging him to write for years because, without his insight from decades of research and experience, it's truly a jungle out there! After reading this treasure trove of enlightenment, I finally am able to see the whole picture in a way that I'm now ready to save a lot of time and many, many, Colones! I have a dozen books by Mr. Howard in my library and they have paid for themselves a thousand times over. I highly recommend his latest Magnus Opus to anyone even considering visiting or buying property in beautiful Costa Rica. Don't leave home without it! And, be sure to also buy Christopher Howard's latest version of The New Golden Door to Retirement and Living in Costa Rica! WOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chris Howards Guide to Real Estate in costa rica, February 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christopher Howard's Guide to Real Estate in Costa Rica (Paperback)
Excellent treatise on the in's and outs of buying or selling Real Estate in Costa Rica.

This book could help save you money and avoid possible fraudulent operators. Please read before any property transaction in costa Rica.

I refer to the book frequently.

Jim Holley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Estate Guide for Costa Rica, February 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christopher Howard's Guide to Real Estate in Costa Rica (Paperback)
My wife and I are just starting to look at and evaluate Costa Rica for a possible relocation. This book is the most informative and helpful source I have found on the subject of real estate and investing in Costa Rica. The author knows his subject and has done an excellent job with content and presentation. It was an easy read and chocked full of great tips and suggestions, including many do's and dont's for anyone considering buying property in Costa Rics. I highly recommend this book as an addition to your library on Costa Rica.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, February 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christopher Howard's Guide to Real Estate in Costa Rica (Paperback)
I am so glad I read this guide.So objective, realistic,particularly regarding Security and Buying.It explains why a "Gated Community" is... gated !,the real estate uncertainty "get an attorney",the squatters,the roads condition limiting your travel,the coastal equatorial climate.Yes it is a beautiful country (nature is never disappointing),it makes seductive photos."A nice place to visit but.."
Do get this book and the waterproof map,it's worth $30/40,I forgot the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must have book for the subject, August 31, 2013
By 
Chaz "martin1776" (Denver, CO United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christopher Howard's Guide to Real Estate in Costa Rica (Paperback)
You must read this book before buying Costa Rica real estate. It's not perfect, though. It repeats some text from at least one other of his books and does serve in part as self-promotion for the author's real estate tours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad read though, July 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christopher Howard's Guide to Real Estate in Costa Rica (Paperback)
a little informative. Nothing you can't find on your own. Not a bad read though..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Christopher Howard's Guide to Real Estate in Costa Rica
Christopher Howard's Guide to Real Estate in Costa Rica by Christopher Howard (Paperback - September 18, 2009)
$26.95 $20.37
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.