Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Incredible Collection Of Blu-Ray Releases: A Couple New Collectibles, But Repackaged Movies
The Christopher Nolan Director's Collection is one of those fabulous Blu-ray sets that very few people will actually need. Nolan is a genius to be sure, but it's hard to imagine that most DVD collectors don't already have one or more of these terrific films. All of the Blu-ray releases in this set are just repackaged versions of what has been available previously, there...
Published on June 14, 2012 by K. Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good collection to have
Inception and the final Batman top this package. A must if you are a Christopher Nolan fan. Rated 3 Stars.
Published 6 months ago by W. SACHEN


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Incredible Collection Of Blu-Ray Releases: A Couple New Collectibles, But Repackaged Movies, June 14, 2012
The Christopher Nolan Director's Collection is one of those fabulous Blu-ray sets that very few people will actually need. Nolan is a genius to be sure, but it's hard to imagine that most DVD collectors don't already have one or more of these terrific films. All of the Blu-ray releases in this set are just repackaged versions of what has been available previously, there is NO new actual disc content. Due to licensing reasons, the collection does NOT include Nolan's first film "Following" (rumored to be a potential Criterion release) or "The Prestige." This is still an awesome group of five films, all of which look great in Blu-ray. If you don't own them, this comes with the highest recommendation. As most are familiar with the movies themselves, I will limit my comments to what is included in this item's contents.

In addition to movies, the set has the following exclusive content: 10 Collectible Photo Cards, 40 Page Photo Book and an (up to) $8.00 Movie Cash Credit to see "The Dark Knight Rises" in theaters.

The box has five movies over 7 discs. All of the Bonus Features are from the original releases, but I'll include them here as a reference point.

1) Memento (2000): Here you get the more comprehensive release that was put out for the film's tenth anniversary. Bonus Features include "Remembering Memento" (a 10-year anniversary look back on the making of the film), "Anatomy of a Scene," IFC Interview with Writer/Director Christopher Nolan, Audio Commentary with Director Christopher Nolan, "Memento Mori" (Short Story by Jonathan Nolan), Feature Script, Tattoo Gallery, and Leonard's Journal.

2) Insomnia (2002): Bonus Features include an additional scene, Commentary by Nolan, Commentary by Hilary Swank, production designer Nathan Crowley, editor Dody Dorn, cinematographer Wally Pfister and screenwriter Hillary Seitz. There are four featurettes: Day for Night: Making The Movie, 180 Degrees: A Conversation with Nolan and Al Pacino, In the Fog: Cinematography and Production Design, and Eyes Wide Open: The Insomniac's World.

3) Batman Begins (2005): Bonus Features that include MTV's Tankman Begins spoof, The Journey Begins: Creative Concepts, Story Development and Casting, Shaping Mind and Body: Christian Bale's Transformation into Batman, The Tumbler: Reinvention of the Batmobile, Gotham City Rises: Production Design of Gotham City, the Batcave, and Wayne Manor, Saving Gotham City: Development of Miniatures, CGI, and Effects, Genesis of the Bat, Confidential Files, Cape and Cowl: The New Batsuit, Path to Discovery: Filming in Iceland, and Character/Weaponry gallery.

4) The Dark Knight (2008): This is two discs with Bonus Features that include Gotham Uncovered: Creation of a Scene, BD-Live: An Interactive Gateway to Exclusive Content, Batman Tech: Gadgets and Tools, Batman Unmasked: The Psychology of The Dark Knight, Gotham Tonight: 6 episodes of Gotham Cable's premier news program, and the Galleries: The Joker Cards, Concept Art, Poster Art, Production Stills, Trailers and TV Spots.

5) Inception (2010): This is two discs with Bonus Features that include an Extraction Mode Describing The Film's Signature Moments, Dreams: Cinema of the Subconscious, The Cobol Job: Comic Prologue in full animation and motion, 5.1 soundtrack selections from Hans Zimmer's score, Conceptual Art, Promotional Art, and Trailer/TV Spot Galleries. KGHarris, 6/12.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Excellent Films in a Stunning Box Set, August 8, 2012
Length:: 1:23 Mins

This set includes 5 Movies from director Christopher Nolan:
- Memento
- Insomnia
- Batman Begins
- The Dark Knight
- Inception

Each blu-ray is identical to the previous individual release in terms of video/audio quality and bonus features.
In total, this is a 7-Disc set (both "The Dark Knight" and "Inception" have two discs).

This set includes these exclusive bonus items:
- 10 collectible Art Cards
- Booklet containing info/photos from Nolan's films
- Outer box (measures approx. 7 x 5.5 x 3.5 inches - will fit on standard blu-ray/DVD shelf)

** As a director, Nolan has made three other films to date: "Following", "The Prestige", and "The Dark Knight Rises", but these are not included in this box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't own these now is a perfect opportunity, October 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christopher Nolan: Director's Collection (Memento / Insomnia / Batman Begins / The Dark Knight / Inception) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Christopher Nolan is, by far, the greatest director of all time in my opinion. I love all of his movies but because my brother is moving out and taking all of these with him I was looking for a chance to buy them for myself. This box set is a great start to get back all my treasured Nolan films. But let's give a quick rundown.

Memento- My favorite movie of all time. Most unique directing ever. 10/10
Inception- 2nd favorite movie of all time. One of the best concepts of all time. 9.5/10
Batman Begins- Great movie. Love Cillian Murphy as scarecrow. Very well done. 8/10
The Dark Knight- Best Batman flick ever. Joker is fantastic and so is the rest of the movie. 9/10
Insomnia- Not written by Nolan, just directed, and it shows. But who doesn't love Robin Williams as a killer? 7.5/10

All this for $25? I'm in. The only gripe about this box set is no Prestige! I would have much rather of had that then Insomnia. Also need to get Following and Dark Knight Rises. But, like I said, this is a great start.

UPDATE: Just got in in and thought I would review the packaging. It is a hardcover box and the front flips open to the left which reveals screenshots from the inside. All the movies are individually packed with their own bluray cases on the right inside (Dark Knight and Inception come with an extra disc of bonus features). They slide out along with a art book with summary's of the movies a a few quotes from the cast and lines from the movies as well as a collection of screenshot cards from the movies (some really cool ones in there such as a closeup of scarecrow). I would say it has some pretty awesome packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy! Good Price!, June 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Cant ask for more! 5 Christopher Nolan movies for 30 bucks!
Also got 8$ credit for Dark Knight Rises movie ticket along with 10 Photo cards and 36 Page photo book with some behind the scenes.
Received on the release date. Over all I am happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best deal ever, July 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's been all said already before me. But I just can't help writing about this great collector's edition. Christopher Nolan it not only one of the best Hollywood directors these days but for some people he is actually a Messiah of Hollywood. I've just received my package and can honestly say that it's not only worth $30 but makes it a symbolic price. You get these 5 incredible movies almost for free! Apparently the best deal ever on Amazon. Buy it before they run out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good thing I ordered this!, June 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Really good price for this set! I always have
enjoyed Christopher Nolan's films... too bad "The Prestige"
isn't included in this.... But that's alright.

Looking forward to watch the movies when I get this in mail!

Enjoy the set, y'all, that bought it for this awesome price! =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christopher Nolan Collection VIDEO Review, October 31, 2012
By 
This review is from: Christopher Nolan: Director's Collection (Memento / Insomnia / Batman Begins / The Dark Knight / Inception) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Length:: 2:35 Mins

Christopher Jonathan James Nolan is one of the most intellectual, original, and influential directors of this century.

His 8 films, Following (neo-noir), Memento (psychological thriller), Insomnia (thriller), Batman Begins (superhero), The Prestige (period mystery), The Dark Knight (superhero action), Inception (sci-fi action), and The Dark Knight Rises(superhero), are some of the greatest, most influential and iconic films of the decade.

In this combo-pack, you will find Memento, Insomnia, Batman Begins, The Dark Knight, and Inception.
That is EVERY one of Nolan's brilliant resume except for the little known Following, The Prestige, and the recently released The Dark Knight Rises (+Ultraviolet Digital Copy).

P.S. Thanks for reading and watching. This review is part of a series of video reviews on Director Collections I'm writing.
Feel free to comment, your opinions are appreciated~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Already had Dark Knight Rises on blu ray so this set fit my needs perfectly!, December 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christopher Nolan: Director's Collection (Memento / Insomnia / Batman Begins / The Dark Knight / Inception) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The "6 disc set" that I purchased was cheaper than the "7 disc set", but there was indeed 7 discs total ("The Dark Knight" and "Inception" both have 2 discs each). These are repackaged movies each in their blue plastic cases. The 5 movies along with a bonus photo book and a pack of photo cards are bundled in a nice hard cardboard box with the descriptive picture on one side. "The Dark Knight Rises" is not included in this set, but I already had that on blu ray, so this set fit my needs perfectly. (The next version of the Christopher Nolan: Director's Collection includes "The Dark Knight Rises", so get that one if you want the full Batman trilogy.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not bad, July 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christopher Nolan: Director's Collection (Memento / Insomnia / Batman Begins / The Dark Knight / Inception) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
its cool but u wont get DKR so dont waste ur money i got batman`s collection much better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movies., July 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christopher Nolan: Director's Collection (Memento / Insomnia / Batman Begins / The Dark Knight / Inception) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Each of these movies is great on their own merit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.