Customer Reviews


264 Reviews
5 star:
 (227)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


178 of 186 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Timeless Classic Returns
Pros:

+A very well done storyline
+A good battle system
+Several sidequests to undertake
+Some new content to experience
+Lots of replay value

Cons:

-There's a good amount of new content but it might not be worthwhile to those who've already experienced Chrono Trigger before; likewise, there's no improvement in the...
Published on November 25, 2008 by S. Rhodes

versus
55 of 81 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A 16-bit classic good for new RPGers.
I know this review will be stormed by fanboys patrolling the page to make sure no one gives the game anything less than a 5, and vote 'no' on if this review is HELPFUL or not, which is always weird to check reviews for things you've already played. But this review comes from someone who loved Chrono Trigger when it first came out for the SNES. I had just finished Secret...
Published on May 28, 2010 by Armando N. Roman


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

178 of 186 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Timeless Classic Returns, November 25, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Chrono Trigger (Video Game)
Pros:

+A very well done storyline
+A good battle system
+Several sidequests to undertake
+Some new content to experience
+Lots of replay value

Cons:

-There's a good amount of new content but it might not be worthwhile to those who've already experienced Chrono Trigger before; likewise, there's no improvement in the visuals... this may or may not please some gamers

In 1995 Square released Chrono Trigger. A game commonly hailed as one of the greatest games of all time. In the years following it became one of the most highly sought after Super Nintendo games of all time. The game saw a rerelease on the Playstation in 2001 along with Final Fantasy IV in the Final Fantasy Chronicles package. This marks the third time Chrono Trigger has seen a release since it first debuted. The game has aged very well but some gamers may find there needs to be more of an update.

Chrono Trigger has a well known story but it never hurts to go over it for some who may not have played this gem. In the year 1000 AD, the Kingdom of Guardia has the Millennial Fair. You play as Crono, who goes to the fair and bumps into a girl named Marle. After wandering the fair with her for a while, Crono and Marle decide to check out his friend Lucca's new invention, a teleportation device. When Marle steps into the device, it reacts to her pendent and she is suddenly transported through time. Feeling somewhat responsible, Crono decides to go through time after her. What begins as a simple rescue mission turns into something so much more when you go into the distant future and see that the world has ended. Now, in an attempt to save the future, Crono and his friends will stop the apocalypse from happening. Their adventure will take them through time and they'll meet several interesting characters.

It is because of the characters and the well put together story that Chrono Trigger is so memorable. This version features a newly translated script that is much better than the original (as if the original needed a tune up).

Another aspect that makes Chrono Trigger stand the test of time is the gameplay. You'll roam the field normally until you come into contact with an enemy. Where as most RPGs have to transition from the field mode to the battle mode, Chrono Trigger instead has your characters spread out and pull out their weapons. The battle system itself utilizes the ATB battle system from Final Fantasy for some fast paced action.

Where the game truly shines, however, is its Tech system. Every character has a series of unique techniques that they can utilize. At first the system doesn't sound that interesting, but your characters can combine their techniques together to pull off double and triple techs. It helps to make battling more interesting and fun. It also assures that you'll try using every character at least once just to uncover all the double and triple techniques out there. More than that, however, it adds a lot of strategy to the game given that each characters techniques are unique to them. You may find that what makes the difference between sending a character into battle and not has to do more with their techniques than their base statistics.

There are plenty of side quests to keep you busy, and the time traveling element makes some of them more fun to partake in than others. As if that wasn't enough, the DS version also includes all the animated cutscenes from the Playstation release. If you'd prefer to enjoy the game in a completely classic way, you can turn them off if you desire. There are also a few extras added to the DS version such as new dungeons and touch screen controls. The touch screen controls themselves work fairly well, although you may still find that using the buttons and D-pad is still much easier.

Chrono Trigger is by no means a challenging game. It's also a fairly short one. At most you'll probably take twenty hours to complete it your first time through. Veterans may find themselves completing the game in less than fifteen hours. Chrono Trigger makes up for being a short game by having a lot of replay value. First there's the New Game+ feature which lets you go through the game again carrying over your techniques, items and equipment. The game also throws in multiple endings, which will encourage you to play the game again.

Musically, Chrono Trigger has one of the best soundtracks around. Some of it sounds better than the original Super Nintendo game. Many tunes will be stuck in your head for years to come, mainly because so much of it can convey so much emotion.

Graphically, however, is where Chrono Trigger can be a mixed bag. The character models and backgrounds look incredibly detailed, and in the DS port some things have been smoothed out. Artistically, Chrono Trigger will probably never fade into oblivion. On the other hand, Square-Enix released Final Fantasy IV and Dragon Quest IV earlier this year with improved graphics, bringing the games into 3D. Final Fantasy IV, in particular, showed major improvements in its presentation that made the story more emotionally gripping. It's a wonder why Square-Enix wouldn't do the same with Chrono Trigger. It would've been stunning to see some of Chrono Trigger's best moments in a new light.

The good news, however, is that Chrono Trigger hasn't had many releases, and there's so much more added than simply a new dungeon. This means even if you did play an older version of the game, there's a good berth of new content worth checking out. Whether or not it's worth forty dollars is subjective.

Chrono Trigger is a remarkable game. If you've played it before, one more go can't hurt. If you've never played it, this is the definitive version. Every RPGer should play this timeless classic at least once. Age has not slowed Chrono Trigger down one bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic game to transcend time, December 1, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Chrono Trigger (Video Game)
Finding Chrono Trigger for the DS was like finding a free $100 bill on the ground when you're starving for a dollar cheeseburger.

This game is an immense breath of fresh air, and is a time-tested classic RPG that delivers on every element of what a good RPG should be.

The story is intricate, the characters are colorful and inviting, the gameplay is smooth and interesting, the graphics are pleasant and crisp for the DS, and there is never a dull moment. I found myself playing Chrono Trigger with the same ferocity as reading a good book you can't put down.

The menus are customizable and easily navigated, especially with the use of the touch screen (which is optional). The battle system flows in a very traditional style, with the options of using Active Time Battle or Wait styles. The story has a multitude of endings depending on the choices you make in the game and other factors, guaranteeing even more playability past the first run-through.

This is, hands-down, the best RPG for Nintendo DS (and maybe other platforms) I have played. It has a sense of beauty and intrigue that transcends modern RPGs, and will have you playing until your hands cramp up.
It has successfully been ported from the Super Nintendo to the Playstation Entertainment System and now to the Nintendo DS with new dungeons and touch-screen capability.

A must for RPG lovers everywhere, and a great Christmas gift idea!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ageless Story Telling, November 27, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chrono Trigger (Video Game)
If you consider yourself a gamer, and have not experienced this title, you owe it too yourself to pick it up. It doesn't have to be on the DS, though I believe that version to be the definitive one.
The SNES version is the original masterpiece and I just bet you could find it here on Amazon.
The PSX (Play Station 1) version has all the extras of the DS version but loses stars for strange load times before and after battles and while opening the menus which can detract from the over all immersion of the experience.
Sound:
This is the only video game I have ever ordered the sound track for! Haunting melodies from the forests of Guardia, epic themes while rocketing through time, and a sweeping final theme you may find yourself humming for hours. The battle music is standard Final Fantasy fare, but hey, is that such a bad thing? The sound effects are witty and even though this is still midi sound you can tell a lot of thought went into putting it together.
Graphics:
This is a game for the Super Nintendo. It has sixteen-bit graphics. No particle effects, no bump/mip/or any other form of texturing, no specular lighting or bloom effects, but let me tell you... the art direction and simple, yet sometimes powerful animations of the characters convey a sense of nostalgia that's hard to come by these days.
Game play:
You won't find another Final Fantasy game like this. And I find that hard to understand. The tech system is brilliant, combining techs to create effects is sometimes a greater joy then that last 10 minute mega summons you pulled off in the last Final Fantasy game. you just can't wait to get to the next one and see whose battle strategies it will effect.
Presentation:
Highly customizable. Everything is tweakable right down to the backgrounds you look at on the text and menu screens. Battle speeds, active/wait battle gauges. Best of all the battle menus are now removed from the play field and pushed down onto the second screen so you can watch everything unfold without any clutter.
Lasting appeal:
If you grind through this epic game the first time, you'll find a feature waiting for you the next time you fire it up(and you will!!)on the menu screen called new game plus. It allows you to keep your stats and items collected from the previous game and go through for another round. Which is handy becuase beating this game at different stages of the story will give you new endings. There is a multi player mode for raising monsters(haven't had time to review this yet) and two new dungeons that seem to be placed just right for grinding out those 99 levels for each character. They also add some new story elements and a new ending.
Just go get this game...you won't regret it, and if you do, well, it makes a great christmas present for that other nerd you know with the DS....happy time traveling!!.....

Edit: I stand corrected....you will find all the extra content from the playstation version on here....as well as quite a bit more...including much much more powerful weapons and armor for each character...if you can put the time in to find it. And if that doesn't tweek an RPG enthusiasts interest, I don't know what will....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DS Must Buy, December 14, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Chrono Trigger (Video Game)
There's something to be said for nostalgia in games; the games that were awesome then might be a little formulaic and even boring now but still, that game managed to entertain for long, long periods of time back when cartridges had to be blown into to get to run and the war was either Sonic or Mario. Now with so many high-tech graphics, vast amounts of sidequests and things to do as well as multiplayer options, is it worth going through "Chrono Trigger", an old-school RPG with appropriately old-school graphics. Well if you're a DS owner, the question isn't "why would you" to "why haven't you by now?"

Story: Taking place literally across all ages, Crono and his friends Lucca, Marle and several others they encounter throughout time have to prevent a possible future from happening: that of the being Lavos and his complete destruction of the world in 1999. Together, you'll travel from the dinosaur-laden Prehistoric times to apocalyptic 2300 A.D. and hopefully stop the world from falling into ruin.

Graphics: Square Enix released a port of "Final Fantasy IV" originally for the Gameboy Advance with some spiffier, less pixelly graphics while also providing a remake of the game with more improved graphics and CG sequences for cutscenes. What does Chrono Trigger do then? The former. Not that I mind since the game's a classic either way and the art style is still as strong as ever for each era and the cutscenes made for the "Final Fantasy Chronicles" package on the Playstation are here (though rather compressed quality), it's not the most technically accomplished game but I welcome keeping the original look intact despite cries of outdatedness...as opposed to the "why can't we have the original" cries.

Sound/Music: Arguably, Square Enix's most well-known composer to work on their games is Nobuo Uematsu though they also have another musical weapon, that of Yasunori Mitsuda who also provided the soundtracks for "Chrono Cross" and "Xenogears", his 2 masterworks. His soundtrack here is just as noteworthy with several notable themes and unlike some soundtracks which work solely with the game, this is easily a soundtrack to own. Voice acting? Pssh, don't be silly.

Gameplay: Typical RPG with levelling up, new equipment, specialized attacks for certain characters though there's a couple unique features. The more popular "enemy on screen" system is here rather than random encounters and it doesn't take long to be thrown into battle so thankfully no stylish battle entrances here. Characters have unique attacks called "Techs" which can be combined with other characters for even more special attacks/benefits. The techs also can hit more than one enemy should the attack be close enough so for example, a straight fire attack by Lucca might eat one enemy but line up enough and it can nail them all. This adds a bit of strategy since a well-timed wide area attack can clear the battle arena much faster.

The usual sidequests are a-plenty here, not a single character is wasted and the story is quite engaging but is there more to see beyond just re-experiencing the game's greatness? Well it's common now but back then the concept of New Game + and multiple endings were relatively new if not brand-new and should you defeat the final boss at a certain point in the story the second time, you got to see a different ending which ranged from the interesting to hilarious. As far as new DS content, it's really just new dungeons, touch screen controls for battle (though being able to specifically click a menu page than scrolling like the original is welcome) and a handy map is good to see.

Ultimately,if you're a DS owner and you like RPG's, Chrono Trigger needs to be bought right now. I know its 10$ more than most but honestly, it beats the absurb Ebay prices. No longer an illegal download or a rare and expensive find, every DS owner can now experience the timeless game that is "Chrono Trigger".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chrono Trigger - a timeless classic better than ever!, July 16, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chrono Trigger (Video Game)
Ever since its debut on the Super Nintendo way back in 1995, Chrono Trigger has remained one of my favorite games of all time. I had played it over again so many times that I had the game script memorized. When Chrono Trigger (CT) was announced for the DS in 2008, I rushed out to pre-order a copy. In fact, this game was the reason I bought a DS. I was in no way disappointed in my decision!

What makes Chrono Trigger great

The original game was ahead of its time (no pun intended) and groundbreaking in many ways. The graphics and music were jaw-dropping in their day, and while they have no doubt aged, there's nothing ugly about them. Toriyama's style definitely comes through, characters' expressions are clear, and tech attacks look like they would actually hurt! The music is moving and always fits the situation. The story really shines; I have not seen another RPG (or any other game for that matter) before or since that has incorporated all of the aspects of time travel the way CT has. You travel back and forth through time, from prehistory to the post-apocalypse to try to find a way to stop the inevitable evil coming to destroy the planet. Your actions in one time period have consequences, affecting an individual or even an entire town in the future. And there's never a place in the story that feels slow or seems to drag on. The characters are also unique, ranging from a robot from the future to a feisty, barefisted cavewoman, to a chivalrous knightly frog-man. Each character's magic or "tech" attacks are unique to them and can even be combined with other teammates to perform devastating (and just plain cool looking) double or even triple tech attacks. This is such a fun and cool idea and adds so much more to the battle experience and game strategy; I wonder why Square hasn't incorporated this into other games.

As others have pointed out, the game is fairly short for an RPG, especially by today's standards. On my first play through, I completed every single side quest and the DS extra content (more on that later) and still finished the game in about 26 hours. But this isn't so bad. I've found that in RPGs of the last decade, there's usually a point in the latter part of the game where I'm just ready to be done with it and that the story feels unnecessarily dragged out just for the sake of having extra hours of gameplay (I'm looking at you Final Fantasy!). But as much as I've played CT, I've never felt that way. The story moves forward and concludes at a good pace. And this game is definitely meant for replay. CT was one of the first (if not the first) games to introduce the New Game + feature. This allows you to replay the game but with all of your previous experience and items. This makes subsequent playthroughs easier and faster, and you're also able to challenge the final boss at just about any time, which allows you to unlock the game's multiple endings. The game boasts 10 different endings, ranging from just silly (Good Night) to showing the consequences of beating the game before certain storylines or time periods were concluded. There are also variations on the standard ending, ranging from small to great, depending on how you faced the final boss and what actions you took or didn't take beforehand. And as much as I've played and re-played CT, it seems like I always find something new I had missed before.

DS Version = better Chrono Trigger

In my opinion, the DS version is the definitive one. Keep in mind that this is a port of the original 16-bit game, not a complete remake like, say, Final Fantasy IV DS. The Playstation port was nice in that it included anime cutscenes by the game's art and character designer, Akira Toriyama (of Dragonball fame), and also the extras feature that allowed you to unlock art illustration, music, a catalog of the endings you unlocked, etc. But I didn't like how the game had to load between each "map" (sometimes a single room, walking from one door to another) or how the background music would reset itself if you went to your menu, got into a battle, changed rooms, etc. And the music is definitely great enough to want to listen to. The DS version has everything that the PS version had (cutscenes, extras feature already unlocked) plus new content, without any loading or slow down or resetting.

You can choose to play the game in classic mode or DS mode, which moves menu choices and enemy data in battle to the lower screen, effectively freeing up the top screen. Outside of battle (in both modes), the lower screen displays the map of whatever area you are in and also allows you easy access to different menu functions (items, magic, equipment, changing characters, etc.) with a simple tap. Wisely, the developers made the game so that you run by default while moving (because who walks all the time?) and only walk by holding down a button.

DS Extra Content

Had this game been released without any extra content, I still would have snatched it up and loved it. These extras that are included are nothing spectacular but a nice little bonus.

Arena of the Ages - this is basically a monster raising/battling mini-game, where you train up a little monster that resembles a nu. I personally don't care for these type of games. I played with this the first playthrough and have not bothered doing it again since. For me, it distracted too much from the real fun of the game, which was the story!

Lost Sanctum - This extra town/dungeon appears near the end of the game and spans two time periods. It involves a lot of "go-fer" quests that can get annoying. But doing so can earn you many rare and new items and weapons/armor that can even rival your already-ultimate weapons/armor.

Dimensional Vortex - opens up after beating the game for the first time. The vortices span three time periods. It's a mixture of randomly-generated previous-dungeon rooms plus new areas with new monsters (mostly palette-swaps of previous enemies). Like the Lost Sanctum, completing these provides more better-than-ultimate gear and maxes out the stats of your present-age heroes. It also unlocks a new final boss (and ending) and works to tie together some story elements to the game's somewhat-sequel, Chrono Cross (another good but very different game). Very cool. Definitely the best of the extra content IMO.

New Translation Controversy

I feel like I should mention this since others here have brought this up. The DS version does have a new translation so that dialogue and the names of some items are different than how they were translated in the original game. I suspect this won't matter to anyone but people like me who have played the game enough times to have the original Ted Woolsey translation memorized.

I feel that, in some areas, the new translation has improved the game and in other ways it hasn't. I don't think it would be fair to call it a "bad" translation just because it isn't the original. On one hand, I think the original translation had a certain light-heartedness to it that added to the humor and fun of the experience while the new one seems to add some depth and seriousness to the game. The Woolsey translation was also overly PC in that it edited out references pertaining to alcohol, etc., which did cause some (unintentionally?) funny moments (Taban: "Yum! Lemonade sure tastes great outdoors!" when he's clearly chugging from a large beer stein. And soup races with Ayla??). I do miss some of the jokes from the original, such as the references to the Knights of the Square(soft/EA) Table. Frog's Shakespearean speech is also missed since it added so much to his chivalrous character. On the other hand, the new translation clarifies and adds humor to some otherwise odd moments in the game (Dalton's: "what's that behind you?" and Nizbel II explaining why you had to fight him after walking right past him).

The DS at least acknowledges Woolsey's creativity by letting most of the names of characters remain the same. For instance, the three villains from the Middle Ages, Ozzie, Slash, and Flea, are all named after rockers; in the original Japanese, they're named after condiments I believe. But why are Mystics renamed as Fiends? I'll never know.

All in all, there's nothing in the new translation that doesn't match the essence of what's contained in the original one. Sure, I admit I'm nostalgic and I miss the original one many times, but I personally don't think it's fair to knock an awesome game to a one star review just because of that.

The Verdict on Chrono Trigger DS

To summarize what I meant to be a shorter review: This is a truly great game. And this version of it on the DS is super. I have never come across another RPG (or game for that matter) before or since that has matched it in its variety and depth of story, its simplicity and fun, and its replayability. This version has everything that the PS version had and more. And it's going for such a bargain price right now. I bought the game at full price (30-something dollars!) in November 08. I just recently bought another copy here on Amazon when it was going for $16 (because three save slots doesn't seem like much sometimes). That should say something about how great a game it is. I can highly recommend this game to anyone looking for a superb RPG. If you haven't experienced CT before, you owe it to yourself to see what this game is all about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best RPGs ever, January 9, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chrono Trigger (Video Game)
Chrono Trigger is simply one of the best RPGs ever made. When it came out in the mid-90's for the Super Nintendo it was ahead of its time. It has made the transition the DS flawlessly, and is more or less the same game it was 15 years ago with a few added features utilizing the touch screen technology. However, that has little to do with why anyone would want to purchase this game. Chrono Trigger is great. It is to videogames what Star Wars: A New Hope is to movies.

Chrono Trigger has a deeply involved, yet incredibly charming story that no gamer should miss out on. Especially one who considers themselves a fan of RPGs. It also has a truly interesting cast of diverse characters who you will genuinely care about as you traverse through time from one historic problem to the next. The story is linear to a point, but then becomes very open-ended and offers a variety of ways to finish - and you can always level grind. However, the difficulty level is set well enough that if you fight your normal battles you shouldn't have to do much level grinding. There's also many side-quests that allow you to discover more about the histories of each character and ultimately the entire story of the game. As far as the story is concerned, there aren't many RPGs that can even compare to Chrono Trigger and its brilliance.

The combat is a little different from other RPGs in that there aren't really random encounters. You can see your enemies, and usually know what you are dealing with before you stumble into an impossible fight. It's also slightly more simple. You will never have more than three characters at a time with which to explore and fight. It makes the battles a little more enjoyable in my opinion - there's certainly less to micro-manage. Also, the story changes ever so slightly when you have certain characters in your party during certain missions.

Overall, Chrono Trigger is nearly a perfect RPG. In the 15 years since it came out, few games can hold a candle to it in the areas of story, presentation, and gameplay. If you own a DS, this is a MUST-HAVE for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, December 3, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Chrono Trigger (Video Game)
It is hard to say anything about this game that has not been said before, or that you may not have heard about this game. It's a classic. Even when I picked it up for the first time a year and a half ago (versus many here who got it on the game's first run) on my Playstation, I knew it right away. I picked it up, hesitantly (it had been sitting on my bookshelf for well over a year) and I could not put it down.

Even without the extra endings, this is one of those games that you could pick up and replay over and over again with only getting rarely bored (the only other game that comes to mind here is Ocarina of Time). It's a wonderful game with a very engrossing storyline. While it is in a "save the world" style, it's quite different from the games of today. Not many feature the time travel style that Chrono Trigger does and does well, if not perfectly. And of course, there are always the hidden endings, as you can fight the final boss far earlier than the true ending of the game, as well as a new one for beating the hidden boss that, an ending that is meant to tie into the game's sequel, Chrono Cross.

Much like a great number of other Square titles, this game features a soundtrack that is really a cut above the rest. (not unlike FFVI, VII and X) Everything fits the mood and does it well. It's one of those things you need to hear for yourself to really believe. It's a little hard to imagine MIDI sounds to still sound amazing after 13 years. Many stuck with me even after I finished the game, to the point even where I went and purchased the soundtrack for myself.

The gameplay is largely unchanged. Those familiar with FFVI, VII, and VIII will easily recognize the Active Time Battle system that can be changed to "wait" mode either at the beginning of the game or by going into the options menu and switching it out. (Speaking of options, I'd like to note my agreement with other video game magazines that have said that it is almost impossible to go into the options menu, change your settings, and be able to come out unsatisfied that you weren't able to change something. The options menu is very intricate) The new DS mode utilizing the touch screen is wonderful and best played with the "Wait" setting. This is only because chances are your reflexes may not be as fast with tapping a screen as they would be pressing a button. So with that in mind, I tend to opt for the alternative, which is the original SNES style. While not as cleaned up as the touch-screen version, it actually gives a much greater feeling of nostalgia than the other version.

The amazing thing about the touch screen with Chrono Trigger is that it really does not feel just "tacked on." In battle it is used to it's fullest, which is a great thing as always. No matter which style you use (and this actually intrigued me the most) your characters' HP and MP statuses are displayed at the top of the screen, so you always know when you need to heal. When in battle, it also displays status ailments. All of the menus outside of battle use the touch screen with hotkeys on the screen making things more quickly accessible. It's far cleaner than ever before. The final thing is that there is a map now, which makes retracing steps far easier (but not making your initial way through, as the amount shown on the map increases only as you explore the area, much like in the DS version of Final Fantasy IV, if you have played it).

The translation and graphics have been fixed up as well. The translation is probably one of the biggest changes in the game. Some people will be offended by certain changes made (see the only one-star review for this item) and even I was surprised when I first noticed the absence of Frog's old accent. Still, I found it a wonderful reworking and, in a way, reimagining of what Chrono Trigger really was supposed to be. The graphics have been adjusted, but only minorly so. Mostly it was done in an effort to fit the game onto such a small screen, but it actually gives all of the sprites a much cleaner and crisper look, something I took notice of almost 5 minutes into picking the game up. Fans that missed the Playstation version will be happy to see the included Anime videos as well (and if not, then there is an option to turn them off even, though I personally cannot understand why you would want to in the first place).

Unfortunately, I have not been able to play through all of the new areas and the new multiplayer arena feature yet, and I will revise this review. However, my viewpoint is that even if you don't like these new features, you still have the original full game that is unchanged at its core if you decide to just skip these. If you do, you still have the original instant classic game.

As a final note, all of the Playstation extras (and a few additional tidbits) are included. They load faster and play better than ever here. If you're an aspiring artist like myself, having the original concept artwork at your very fingertips is always a wonderful bonus. All the anime videos are viewable here and the music and endings are also viewable once you have unlocked them in the actual game.

Final Word: If you didn't get the game the first time it came around, learn from that mistake the same way I did: pick the dang thing up and give it a shot. It's easily worth the price tag (realize it cost more than that in the game's hay day, and definitely a lot more for the original cartridge today). I wouldn't be surprised if the game didn't sell as well as I would like it to (much like Final Fantasy VI didn't sell too well when it was finally released on the Game Boy Advance at the end of the system's run. If you own a DS, pick that one up too. You won't be disappointed) but that said, I really CANNOT stress enough how highly I recommend this title. Maybe, just maybe, other Chrono Trigger fans will see another sequel in what is truly a beloved series. The game's only sequel to date, Chrono Cross, is still available on Amazon for $20. If you own a Playstation 1 or 2, pick it up. It's well worth your dollar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Quintessential Chrono Trigger, September 29, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Chrono Trigger (Video Game)
OK - so maybe it isn't the ideal quintessential version, but it is the best one out there so far.

The game originally came out on the S-NES, was ported to the Sony PS with beautiful animated cut-scenes, and now it is a DS Game with the most features to date.

The game itself was flawless on the Super Nintendo. The PS version had lag-time due to CD-ROM load. The DS Version boasts a beautiful touchscreen control scheme, includes the cut-scenes, lots of unlockable informational extras, extra quests, a new english translation, and a new ending.

I have replayed Chrono Trigger several times on SNES and emulator, and I had a blast replaying it on the DS. The new english translation is not essential, but I highly enjoyed it! The new ending was the most exciting aspect of the game as it expands upon the original story.

Did I mention that Chrono Trigger, the story, the characters, the imagination, the style are all beautiful, classic, and iconic. Well they are.
This is easily one of the best rpgs, no, best games of all times. I really wish they would do a quality motion picture big screen adaption. It would be awesome to see Hayao Miyazaki and his amazing Ghibli Artists bring this thing to life. Anyways I digress.

The new quests are tedious, tedious, tedious! They do not add anything. They really suck! But the new ending that is unlocked is worth it!

I cannot recommend this game enough (especially this version). Yes, ideally, they would have remade the game in 3D with voice-overs,and done well, that would have been MUCH better; still this is the best version to own right now.

Chrono Trigger is a classic, and it still more than holds up to this day. Now if only they will remake it with enhanced graphics or a big screen movie adaption, I will get that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's About Time, August 27, 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Chrono Trigger (Video Game)
There are many who feel that Chrono Trigger is the greatest game ever made. Certainly it is one of the greatest RPGs ever made, in my own experience equaled only perhaps by Final Fantasy VII (never did care for any other Final Fantasy games). It's a rolicking-good-time for fans of adventure and sci-fi, and as RPGs go a whole lot of fun. More than that, the genius of its design and brilliance of its story is not debatable. It's legendary. Even better, it makes for a game that's fun!

When I first started the game I was wondering exactly how the game would make me feel. I like the deep story of RPGs, but hate dungeon crawling, random battles, and that very irritating feeling of having absolutely no idea where to go next to get the story moving again. I need not have feared, though. Chrono trigger has no random battles, it's castles and dungeons are brief not every-lasting, and thankfully, you will always know where to go next.

The story starts with you in your village on the day of the millenial fair, and you quickly meet a girl there and (using your friend's new teleportation machine) find the girl gone and yourself back in time trying to rescue a queen who has been kidnapped (and who your friend has been mistaken for because {surprise, surprise} she is the crown princess and the descent of that queen. You have some adventures come back to your time, get put on trial for kidnapping the princess, and see one of the greatest scenes in any videogame ever, as all your actions in the first hour of the game are played back as evidence against or for you. Eventually you get out of that situation (one way or another) and find yourself again traveling through time, only to find that the world was destroyed by a monster far in the future, unless you can stop it...

The prologue is awesome but the main story of the game is really amazing. You have all the classic trapping of a great legend, from a hero turned into an animal, to an ancient sword that has to be reforged, to a princess and an unlikely hero out to save the world. That's enough to make a good game. What propels Chrono Trigger into greatness is the power the story is given by the strength of the characters and writing, and absolutely fantastic presentation and gameplay. The game is loaded with humor character, from the little girl accusing you of not rescuing her cat at the trial, to a tiny furry creature who is the master magician (and keeps popping up in different times doing everything from hiking on the mountain of monsters to playing rag-time on the piano in an inn), from the goblins who wonder why you just popped out of a time portal in their closet to the Frog who talks in noble Shakesparian and the cute robot you find in the future. There were so many times when I played this game and felt real joy in the moments it presented. When I first discovered the robot in the future and his theme played, I felt attached to him instantly (he's so cuuuute), and when the hero frog leapt off saying he had failed to protect the queen, I felt so bad for him (he was really handy with sword and saved my bacon). That's the kind of thing that gets to you. I haven't felt that way about an RPG since Xenosaga's Cyborg said "Call me Ziggy", and Final Fantasy VII had girls asking a certain brooding hero whether he remembered his promise or would be their bodyguard.

It cannot be overstated how much the lack of random battles, and the constant boss battles (which you will almost always win) increase the amount of fun you have with this game. The excellent battle system which highly encourages teamwork amoung your party keeps you constantly on your toes and nervous that you could lose the battle, and never gets tedious or frustrating. The graphics may be old-school, but that about as good sprite-based graphics get. The music is very atmospheric and catchy, and the main themes are just beautiful. The story twists and turns, and how you play can determine the way certain events unfold (the game has more than one ending and you can even play past the "end"). But above all, the story and characters are just impossible not to love if you like a good story. If you like RPGs and don't mind if they're a little old, you will LOVE this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Game is now Portable, December 16, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Chrono Trigger (Video Game)
It still blows my mind that this game (which was revolutionary when it first came out) can now be played on a small handheld device. They even managed to include the additional animated movies while eliminating the annoying load times of the Playstation version.

Die hard fans will notice the significant changes in the translation (which seems more direct from Japanese), but this isn't game-breaking stuff. Obviously this is only an issue for those who have grown up with the Super Nintendo version.

This game has aged just as well as I hoped it would. It manages to present a unique story and great characters without dragging at all. The gameplay is easier than I remember, but still offers enough depth, challenges, and replayability (beating the game at various points will result in different endings).

I highly recommend Chrono Trigger. It's undoubtedly one of the greatest games of all time, and now you can take it with you everywhere for only $30-$40. Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Chrono Trigger
Chrono Trigger by Square Enix (Nintendo DS)
$27.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.