Trade in your item
Get a $0.65
Gift Card.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Chuck Close Prints: Process and Collaboration Paperback – August 25, 2003


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$36.95 $15.28

Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Image
Looking for the Audiobook Edition?
Tell us that you'd like this title to be produced as an audiobook, and we'll alert our colleagues at Audible.com. If you are the author or rights holder, let Audible help you produce the audiobook: Learn more at ACX.com.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 160 pages
  • Publisher: Princeton University Press (August 25, 2003)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 069111577X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0691115771
  • Product Dimensions: 12.6 x 9.3 x 0.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 2.2 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 3.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,841,941 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"If seen by enough people, Chuck Close Prints should go a long way toward correcting many misunderstandings about prints, not least the misapprehension that they must be the handmaiden to painting, a kind of 'quick fix.' For Close, who has a penchant for the conceptual reversals requisite in printmaking . . . prints have offered an unqualified extension of his practice, both expressive and technical."--Faye Hirsch, Art in America

"There have been numerous catalogs from exhibitions in which Close's prints were included and about a dozen on Close alone in the last ten years. . . . However, this catalog is one of the best ones."--Choice

"Chuck Close, the great postmodern pointillist printmaker, is a methodical perfectionist. Fittingly, Terrie Sultan goes much deeper than the usual artist appreciation in Chuck Close Prints. After Sultan's introduction and an essay by Richard Shiff, an art professor at the University of Texas, Austin, whole chapters are devoted to each type of printmaking that Close has mastered."--Ted Loos, New York Times Book Review

From the Inside Flap

"Closes relationship to printmaking is in the tradition of Durer, Rembrandt, Goya, and Picasso--who all used printmaking for its unique qualities as a creative process and as a means of solving esthetic issues. The interviews give a real sense of Closes enthusiasm for printmaking and for process, and the detailed illustrations are fascinating."--Judith K. Brodsky, Founding Director, The Rutgers Center for Innovative Print and Paper

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Gary Comoglio on March 19, 2008
Format: Paperback
Hmmmm, how do I start. This is one of my favorite printmaking artists. Chuck Close does not work within any printmaking boundaries, he goes beyond them. His etchings extend the boundaries of how many plates can be printed prior to the paper deteriorating, his blockprints are absolutely mind bending and astounding, his reduction linocuts are masterful, and his creativity for paper pulp prints is freakishly genius. I love, love, love this book, and if you have any connection to works on paper or printed images then you too will love the interviews with Chuck Close, and the explanation of the process and collaboration. need I say more? buy this book!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By clifford on April 21, 2006
Format: Hardcover
The first reviewer here is nuts. This is a book that was released when Chuck Close had a retrospective on his prints. This book has info on the prints and no paintings. what is great about 'Process and Collaboration' is the fact that it delves so deeply into Closes working habbits and how he pretty much invents his process from one small series of works to the next.

This book gave me a huge boost in my appreciation for Close. I liked him before, but this added so much depth to my understanding of him as an artist. I now feel as though Close is as complicated as any other artist that I have knowledge of. Even though he has built a long and vibrant legacy based on nothing more than close-up head shots. This is a must have book and I only wish that every artists retrospective went into a similar amount of detail.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Yi Ling Wu on July 15, 2006
Format: Paperback
The illustrations of this book are very good for understanding the works of the artist and the process as well.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By JEL on September 6, 2014
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This is a remarkable book outlining major forms of current printmaking in the U.S. Surprises are always on the next page as well.
An introduction to Woodbury type was notable. Those who collect prints need this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 14 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on May 24, 2004
Format: Hardcover
This book as described is about the prints, and talks very little about the paintings. There are very nice and clear pictures, but I really only found a few pages interesting, and the rest was just like one long interview about the materials he used and the stories behind who chipped what woodblock and how it got done, etc. Maybe some people will like this book but I only found it slightly interesting.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?