Facility Spring Cleaning BDD_MSW16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing May4th

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars23
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$63.37+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 7, 2007
This book is large! And it has excellent reproductions and bio of the life of this magical man. Chuck Close has made a career,while battling disabilities that would have stopped lesser men.Christopher Finch noted art writer,assists Close in making this book autobiographical and personal,like the unpretentious Mr. Close.
The author and the artist together guide you through the evolution of Chuck Close noted modern portrait artist. You follow from air brush, to finger painting,collage disc painting, to the new color geometric masterpieces.
Chuck personally supervised color choices in the lay-out and it is truly impressive. 95 percent of his major work is here. Self portraits,friends , his wife etc. are all vividly executed. Seeing Chuck in action shows the scale of the major works!The works are huge,and the pictures show the studio environment he works in.
I was fortunate to attend his lecture,with both men ,and it Chuck says this is the definitive book!
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2008
This really does not need to be that long. I am a huge fan of Chuck Close and have been so for years now. My personal library reflects this, with four other books and catalogs spanning his career. These books get brought out on a semi-consistent basis, as they all have something important to say about this mans art.

"Chuck Close: WORK" is a definitive piece that fills in any small holes about the story of this artist that might be obscured in some out of print catalog, as well as talking heavily about his process. If you are in the market for a book that gives the full Chuck Close biography while supplementing itself with beautiful illustrations and plenty of dialog about his process, do not hesitate to purchase this book.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2007
Christopher Finch has done a wonderful job of revealing both Chuck Close the man and the artist. This one of the best art retrospectives I have ever actually 'read' and enjoyed.

I too had a chance to hear both artist and author speak this week. While Chuck did say this is the definitive book on his work one can hope that he still has many productive years left to continue to awe and amaze his many admirers.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2012
Yes, its a big book and it's a great one about a great living artist. The story here is about the process Chuck Close goes through to overcome obstacles and the process of how he approaches creating portraits that are truly unique. In fact its the various limitations he is faced with that cause him to make some of the best portraiture ever seen. Not only does the reader get insight into Mr. Close's artistic skill and technique but the reproductions of the paintings and various prints are gorgeous. Perhaps the most inspirational thing about the book, and it could be said about Close himself, is the drive he has to make wonderful work with no sign of a physical disability that would overwhelm the average person. I highly recommend.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2008
I enjoy this book very much and keep it open in the studio to study a painting for a while. It is remarkable to see so many paintings that come forward out of pure color shapes. It is full of well written commentary too.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2008
Excellent reproductions and very informative text. A good resource book for artists and students. Worth the cost to have this one in your collection.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2014
If you're a Chuck Close fan, as I am, then this a book that should be in your collection. It's a survey of his entire career, with fantastic plates and all his essential periods and works. The book measures ~ 12" x 14" and feels like it weighs about ten pounds! I feel like I have what I need now in the way of a comprehensive Close reference. Beautiful book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2010
It is befitting the work of painter Chuck Close that he has a large format coffee table collection of his mammoth sized groundbreaking portraiture output. After all, it was Close who uniquely created the wall format, head-shot paintings that have solidified his decade's long reputation as one of America's premier portrait artists.

Author and curator Christopher Finch has been following Close `closely' (sorry...) since arranging for Minnesota's Walker Art Museum to make the first museum purchase of one of Close's paintings almost four decades ago. In `Work' (re-released in conjunction with a complimentary volume, `Life,'), Finch showcases nearly all of Close's significant work alongside numerous examples of the artist's work in progress as well. From his famed `prismatic grid' paintings to large format polaroids; from portraits of ordinary people to famous faces like Philip Glass and Bill Clinton, `Work' showcases the full range of Close's work from 1969 to the present.

In addition to Close's remarkable work, Finch reveals much of the artist's personal life including the challenge of regaining his painting career in the wake of a debilitating stroke. After four decades, Close is clearly one of America's most important living artists and Finch's `Work' does both an excellent and complete job of elucidating exactly that.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2013
Christopher Finch, forty years a friend of artist Chuck Close, produced two brilliant works on the painter in 2010--Chuck Close: Life, and Chuck Close: Work. Both books contain hundreds of excellent reproductions of Close's work and an enlightened examination of of the painter's life, in and out of the studio. I purchased Chuck Close: Life at a museum store and was led to look for Chuck Close: Work, after not being able to put down Life, I looked to Amazon the locate Work. Finch is a studied artist himself, and a superior, scholarly critic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2014
This cocktail table book is large and beautifully printed. I am lucky in that I viewed some of Chucks original works at the museum in Washington DC. These are very large painting which by design has you view it from a distance , this you get close the face breaks down into hundreds of individual square abstract paintings .

This book tell some the inspiring courage he exhibits with disease that work have stopped others from doing this work. He painted up close, not stepping back to view it. An amazing book about an amazing individual .

The book came shipped properly. I am very pleased with this purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.