Customer Reviews


189 Reviews
5 star:
 (146)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season Four, you had me at sexting
Every new fall season, there's this fear that my favorite TV shows wouldn't be on the roster. With CHUCK getting the nod for a fifth and final season, there's a sigh of relief. It's very hard for me to be impartial and critique this show. And I won't even try, really. But, okay, maybe I'll mention that perhaps CHUCK's getting only one more season may be a good thing. In...
Published on May 15, 2011 by H. Bala

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars experienced poor picture quality on season 4 discs
I have also just had an experience with poor picture quality on a Chuck season 4 DVD set purchased from an Amazon merchant. The image quality was so poor - and so much lower than seasons 1-3 - that I returned the set within 48 hours.

The packaging and discs looked new and authentic, but viewing from 8' away, the picture exhibited a significant loss of detail,...
Published on March 27, 2012 by C. B. Marquis


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season Four, you had me at sexting, May 15, 2011
By 
H. Bala "Me Too Can Read" (Recently moved back to Carson, California, or as I call it... the center of the universe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chuck: Season 4 (DVD)
Every new fall season, there's this fear that my favorite TV shows wouldn't be on the roster. With CHUCK getting the nod for a fifth and final season, there's a sigh of relief. It's very hard for me to be impartial and critique this show. And I won't even try, really. But, okay, maybe I'll mention that perhaps CHUCK's getting only one more season may be a good thing. In Season 4, there's been a creeping sense of familiarity, a nagging worry that maybe, just maybe, the show's slowing down some.

It's still a cool premise, hapless nerd secretly a brilliant spy. And the cast still demonstrates that banging chemistry. But the central tension always was in Chuck and Sarah's relationship. Once they formally became a couple in Season 3, I was happy as pigs in mud but also concerned about where the show would go from here on out, what with that central conflict being resolved. Remember what happened to MOONLIGHTING once David and Maddy hooked up?

But CHUCK isn't all about a nerd's hopeless romantic pinings. And, in the area of wicked espionage and devilish plot twists and just plain exploiting the Intersect, the show exhibits plenty of legs. In Season 3's finale, Chuck had promised his sister that he's out of the spy game for good, and I think we all got a good snicker out of that. Like a phoenix from the ashes or a cockroach shrugging off the holocaust, the Burbank Buy More store is back, rebuilt and revamped and become a full-fledged, covert joint NSA/CIA operation. Because when Chuck Bartowski doesn't come to the spy game, the spy game comes to Chuck Bartowski.

It's all a subterfuge, of course, his fellow spies assuming that Chuck had quit espionage, with Sarah pulling off missions with John Casey while Chuck frets at home. But Chuck is up to something. He's following leads on his long-thought-to-be-dead mother, with Morgan as his only backup. The subterfuge lasts only during the season opener, though. And, somewhere in this first episode, for fun, we get "sexting" between Chuck and Sarah, except that it's really between Morgan and an unwitting Sarah (ugh!). Chuck and Morgan even find time to attend a hand-to-hand combat class in, uh, "strip-kick," a discipline which combines the "self-defense of Krav Maga with the intense core workout of pole dancing." Heh.

The rest of Season 4 tracks Chuck's search for his mom and the agents' ongoing mission to take down Volkoff Industries, a new criminal organization. Just about each episode explores a facet of Chuck and Sarah's relationship, ranging from their first fight as a couple to their inability to air out their feelings to why Sarah refuses to bring personal mementos with her on missions. But the show doesn't neglect its other characters, whether it's John Casey's own relationship with his daughter or Awesome and Ellie's pregnancy or Morgan's gradual inclusion into the inner circle (Morgan more or less worms his way in).

Viewing CHUCK is like going to fan boy heaven. It's a big get, casting Linda Hamilton as Chuck's mom. Another nice conceit is that the new BuyMore regularly rotates a roster of agents whose name tag is always "Greta." For the first few episodes, each week unveiled a new star cameo. So we see "Greta" being played by the likes of geek goddess Olivia Munn, Summer Glau, and even by the Old Spice guy. For villains, we get familiar sorts like Timothy Dalton, Lou Ferrigno, Richard Chamberlain, and Dolph Lundgren (who even quotes his famous Ivan Drago line).

Another thing I love about CHUCK is that it never hesitates to upend the status quo. I love the unpredictability of the episodes. The characters evolve (well, maybe not Jeffster), and, as for Chuck's mom, for plenty of episodes, I wasn't entirely certain which side she'd fall on. At this stage, the challenge is how to keep Chuck Bartowski a total badasss on the field while still retaining his nerd creds. Thank goodness you can't totally shed your neuroses. I guess if you're a sorry bloke what happened to land a smoking hot girlfriend, chances are there's a part of you that'll always be insecure. Except that, lately, Chuck's development hasn't been as arrested.

Just about each episode is terrific, but I did like some better than others, and here's a SPOILERS alert. In "Chuck Vs. The Cat Squad," Chuck reunites Sarah with her old spy team. I love "Chuck Vs. Phase Three" because it reaffirms Sarah Walker's badassery. I love that a legend builds around Sarah as she carves a swath thru the jungles of Southeast Asia, beating up on guy after guy in her quest to find an Intersect-less Chuck. "Chuck Vs. The Muuurder" challenges Chuck's leadership skills when he's put in charge of a crucial mission, and then a murder mystery surfaces. And in "Chuck Vs. The Wedding Planner," Chuck and Sarah are scammed out of their wedding money and Sarah reluctantly goes to her con man dad to get the money back.

Despite mad support from its ardent fans, CHUCK, each season, has been on the brink of cancellation, so it's amazing and really gratifying that it's lasted this long. And, dammit, you know what, I take back what I said earlier. This show isn't in danger of growing stale. The stories are too inventive, the cast is too good, the humor too water cooler, and the hook simply too irresistible. Hell yes to Season 5. That new car smell forever!!

This DVD set comes with 5 discs with the following bonus stuff:

- 18 Declassified Scenes (also known as Deleted/Extended Scenes)
- "Buy Hard: The Jeff & Lester Story: The Chronicle of Their Quest for an Elusive Video Game" - Three months on the run after their perceived crime of arson at the Buy More, Jeff and Lester re-enter society in search of the new Halo Reach game - this mini-episode is told in 5 parts (totaling 00:13:25 minutes long)
- "Chuck versus Directing: Zachary Levi Takes Charge" - follow Zachary Levi as he directs the episode "Chuck Vs. the Leftovers," and also meet his film crew (00:13:26 minutes)
- "Spying on the Cast: Operation Gomez" - goofing around with Joshua Gomez as he shows off his newfound spy skills, including installing a hidden toilet cam in Yvonne Strahovski's bathroom (00:10:00 minutes)
- Gag Reel (00:04:45 minutes)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All in the Family..., March 23, 2011
This review is from: Chuck: Season 4 (DVD)
In its surprisingly good fourth season, "Chuck" continues its highly entertaining blend of drama, comedy, and romance. Nice guy computer nerd and newly minted CIA agent Chuck Bartkowski (Zachary Levi) is finally teamed, both personally and professionally, with the lovely and deadly CIA agent Sara Walker (Yvonne Strahovski).

At the beginning of Season Four, Chuck and best buddy Morgan (Joshua Gomez) search for Chuck's long missing mother Mary Bartkowski (extended cameo by Linda Hamilton), thought to be a rogue agent working for the villainous international arms dealer Alexei Volkov (a superbly over-the-top Timothy Dalton). In a multi-episode sequence, Chuck, Morgan, Sara and the famously gruff NSA agent John Casey (Adam Baldwin) track and eventually confront Mary Bartkowski and Volkov. Mary's loyalties are something of a mystery, especially after she deprives Chuck of the use of the Intersect embedded in his brain, which provides him with his spy skills.

Season Four was originally scheduled for 13 episodes, before being extended to a full season. Lucky fans get two season finales. In the first, Team Bartkowski tries to protect Chuck's sister Ellie from the Volkov gang, as she prepares to give birth to her first child with husband Captain Awesome, and as Chuck seeks a quiet moment to propose to the evasive Sara. In the second, Chuck and Sara must escape the revenge of the Volkov family long enough to bring off their own wedding.

The steam could easily have gone out of the series after Chuck and Sara finally got together, but the creative team of Josh Schwartz and Chris Fedak keeps finding ways to keep it funny and interesting. Any number of boomer TV series and movie dramas get hilariously ripped off this season, while a parallel storyline has Casey and Morgan as mismatched house mates and agent partners, with Morgan trying to keep secret his relationship with Casey's daughter Alex.

"Chuck: The Complete Fourth Season" is very highly recommended to fans of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a great show, April 2, 2011
This review is from: Chuck: Season 4 (DVD)
Chuck is in its fourth season now and it's still highly entertaining, fresh, and funny. Personally, I even prefer it to the third season of the show. Hopefully, NBC will renew the show one more time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait for the Blu Ray!, April 4, 2011
By 
Richard Cowand "rcmeister" (Phoenix, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a bit premature since we are still in the middle of season 4, but we record each episode and watch it multiple times. Chuck is one of the few shows that the entire family must watch together, and we have a strange demographic in that there are 3 girls and one guy (me) in our viewing family. I thought Chuck might be a little too "boy-oriented" with the beautiful Yvonne Strahovski and Sarah Lancaster, but the ladies in the family love the entire cast and absolutely swoon over Zachary Levi, Adam Baldwin and Ryan McPartlin. The episodes might stretch reality a bit, but are great fun. One reviewer said that Chuck did not fit into a contemporary television genre while I would suggest that Chuck might be described as a cross between Charlie's Angels (which is spoofed in a Season 4 episode) and Get Smart. With the stunning cast members, HD and Blu Ray are the best ways to enjoy Chuck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NBC's Chuck - The Best TV in the World Evolution, March 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chuck: Season 4 (DVD)
NBC's Chuck is one of those "little" shows that crawls under your skin in way that you find yourself in one point where you realize you are a complete addict. Yes, I am one of them - Chuck's addicts and my judgment cannot be objective, but if you wanna check my theory just browse wast space of internet and you will find millions of post (mostly on twitter) where this "little" show is glorified beyond any other TV show. Why is it so. Well, reason one is for sure the fact that show doesn't it in any TV cliche - although it looks like one of several newly streamlined nerd/geek shows, it's actually - TV genre on its own. It is Action, Drama, Comedy, Romance, Spy Thriller & Sci-Fi - all in one amazing mix of 1 hour of TV entertainment. Genre of its own is Chuck's blessing that makes it so appealing to millions of dedicated fans but at the same time it is its curse cause it doesn't fit in networks "usual" & one-faced program slots. As a result - this amazing show is in constant flux and permanent state of "bubble".
Unfair ratings - over Nielsen, are disappointing cause statistics as always takes "representative" household models & test subjects - typical families. But If you are a part of any social network and if you browse people who are interested in Chuck on generic level - you will find that Chuck's audience ages spread goes (at least) 11 - 50, men & women, mainly between 19 & 40 all over the world. That says something about the quality & variety of Chuck - isn't it?
Amazing Zachary Levi (plays main character - Chuck) is so comfortable in his role you got a feeling he doesn't even have to try to act - he looks like he is not playing Chuck - but he is Chuck in a real life. Beautiful and amazingly talented actress Yvonne Strahovski (plays Sarah Walker, CIA agent and Chuck's fake girlfriend - handler / girlfriend / *** spoiler) leaves viewer stunned & not just because of her top-model looks, but cause she is "chameleon" capable to express entire palette of emotions in single one hour episode (i.e. Season 4 Episode 9 "Chuck versus Phase 3). Adam Baldwin (colonel Casey), Joshua Gomez (Morgan), Ryan McPartlin ("Captain" Awesome), Sarah Lancaster (Chuck's sister) and many more are team that creates magic. Sure, as any show, Chuck has great and not so great episodes, but overall it's a fun filled hour of TV entertainment.
Season 4 is giving us amazing guest star extravaganza - Linda Hamilton (Chuck's mother), Timothy Dalton (amazing villain Volkoff), John Laroquette (again as charming agent Roan Montgomery) and many, many more.
As far as storyline goes I don't want to spoil anything 4 international Chucksters - but main thing is that the show is growing in a natural way that real life goes without usual forward/backward steps in other shows. Season 4 is next step in the evolution of this amazing show & I sincerely hope (I pray to God) there will be Season 5 of fun/action/drama/comedy/romance/Sci-Fi TV entertainment called - Chuck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars call us Chuckaholics!, May 6, 2011
This review is from: Chuck: Season 4 (DVD)
Our entire family of 4 and extended family .... cousins, grandparents ..... love watching Chuck. Just call us Chuckaholics ... we have just finished the 3 seasons of Chuck and can't wait to get the season 4 dvd. We prayed that NBC will renew CHUCK for another season. It is the talented writers that give us such good stories and the brilliant actors to bring those characters to live. Who says spies cannot be a married couples .... Chuck and Sara make a pair of ideal mates ... (Mr. & Mrs Smith ... almost) We love them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sad but good, May 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chuck: Season 4 (DVD)
As a series, Chuck has everything I am looking for in TV entertainment - a love story, character development, and excitement. This season was no exception, although it seems that the writers had a harder time writing it. There is some back-story that explains why this season isn't as strong as the first ones: apparently it was on the chopping block at NBC, despite the fact it was one of their strongest shows. The fans of this show are amazing though, and have brought it back for yet another season by means of a grass roots campaign for Subway and some of the other advertisers. I like to think that I played a tiny part of this, buy buying the DVDs for the first three seasons, preordering season 4, and writing a few emails to NBC executives. The possibility of a Season five was looking bad right up until the week that the final episode of season 4 aired - then NBC announce it would bring back Chuck for a fifth and final Season, and give it an ending that it deserved. I look forward to Season 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best show ever!!, May 18, 2011
This review is from: Chuck: Season 4 (DVD)
Chuck is the best show ever! Hope season 5 gets an overwhelming amount of viewers and they change there minds and keep it on for more seasons!! This is literally the only show I watch! Busy on Monday nights, so we set the channel to get the viewing then watch it Tuesday nights on nbc.com one of the highlights of my week :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, June 1, 2011
This review is from: Chuck: Season 4 (DVD)
Chuck is a serial format TV show - the shows must be watched in series in order to follow the story line and character development. If you haven't seen the series, start at season one, episode one, and work your way forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back on Track, December 8, 2010
Most of the old cast is in this episode which I like/prefer and Linda Hamilton with one of the 2000 era James Bond movie stars Timothy Dalton(he still has it)! Plot is getting good again. Cannot wait to see what they have cooked up in the coming episodes.
"Guys, I know kung fu....again".!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.