Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars *Unrated* and rated versions of Curse of Chucky included in set!! Excellent Buy!
Recieved the set this morning from Amazon and let me tell you, it does not dissappoint! Excellent quality sound and picture! Picture quality for the first 3 are the best they could make it. You can tell they tried, but there is only so much you can do with the type of film they used. What is really big is that I thought they might not include the Unrated version of...
Published 11 months ago by Michael Hopkins

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "This is the End, Friend."
There are six Child's Play movies in this 6-disc Complete Collection on Blu-ray (Child's Play, Child's Play 2, Child's Play 3, Bride of Chucky, Seed of Chucky and Curse of Chucky). This collection is a good way to own the Child's Play movies in one place. Child's Play is one of only four horror franchises to get a complete collection box set (Chucky fans should rejoice)...
Published 12 months ago by MacheteJason


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars *Unrated* and rated versions of Curse of Chucky included in set!! Excellent Buy!, October 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chucky: The Complete Collection - Limited Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Recieved the set this morning from Amazon and let me tell you, it does not dissappoint! Excellent quality sound and picture! Picture quality for the first 3 are the best they could make it. You can tell they tried, but there is only so much you can do with the type of film they used. What is really big is that I thought they might not include the Unrated version of Curse of Chucky but it is there! It adds 2 minutes to the footage instead of replacing or changing it, which is a big plus! 2 minutes may not seem that big of a deal but the way they use it makes a world of a difference!! Also included is the unrated version of Seed of Chucky! Again adds great footage! Great special features, truely a classic set. Great featuretts and comentarys. MUST OWN SET!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "This is the End, Friend.", September 2, 2013
This review is from: Chucky: The Complete Collection - Limited Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
There are six Child's Play movies in this 6-disc Complete Collection on Blu-ray (Child's Play, Child's Play 2, Child's Play 3, Bride of Chucky, Seed of Chucky and Curse of Chucky). This collection is a good way to own the Child's Play movies in one place. Child's Play is one of only four horror franchises to get a complete collection box set (Chucky fans should rejoice). Overall, the picture quality is good and the audio is great. My only complaint is that the older films haven't been remastered and this release offers fairly light bonus supplements overall (Child's Play 2 & 3 get only trailers). The total bonus content is only 141 minutes so it isn't a deluxe release.

In the original trilogy, Chucky was possessed by a serial killer and is much darker in tone then the later films (more horror, less comedy). He tries to kill Andy, his young owner, while torturing Andy's family. Part 2 features the beautiful Jenny Agutter (Logan's Run, American Werewolf in London). Part 3 stars a young Justin Whalin (Dungeons & Dragons) as Andy who is now a teenager in a military school. In Bride of Chucky, Chucky discovers the perfect mate to kill and revive into the body of another doll. In Seed of Chucky, Chucky (Brad Dourif) and Tiff (Jennifer Tilly) return, resurrected by their son (Billy Boyd). In Curse of Chucky, Nica begins to suspect that Chucky is responsible for her mother's mysterious death.

Audio Formats: English DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1, English DTS-HD Master 2.0 Stereo, English Dolby Digital 5.1, English Dolby Digital 2.0, French DTS 5.1, French DTS 2.0, French Dolby Digital 2.0, Portuguese Dolby Digital 5.1, Spanish DTS 5.1, Spanish Dolby Digital 5.1
Subtitles/Captions: English SDH, Cantonese, French, Korean, Portuguese, Spanish
Supplements: Audio Commentaries, Featurettes, Deleted Scene, Photo Gallery, Storyboard Comparisons, Gag Reel, Trailers

[Curse of Chucky] Fans who own the previous collector's box set may want to purchase the 2-disc unrated Curse of Chucky stand-alone BD instead. You get both the uncut and R-rated cut of Curse of Chucky in this collection. Special features for the stand-alone Curse of Chucky are also identical to this collection (Feature Commentary with Director Don Mancini, Playing With Dolls, Deleted Scenes, Gag Reel, Trailers) but some bonus material is *only* available in this Blu-ray collection or the previous DVD collection (Living Doll: Bringing Chucky to Life, Voodoo Doll: The Chucky Legacy, Storyboard Comparisons).

These are 4-star films in a 3-star release because Chucky fans won't find new material other than Curse of Chucky and its associated bonus supplements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, July 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chucky: The Complete Collection - Limited Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Everything was perfect, I love the design, and it was in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars worth buying, July 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chucky: The Complete Collection - Limited Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It's great having these classic horror movies on Blu ray if your a fan definitely recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chucky: The Complete Collection - Limited Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Excelent product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chucky: The Complete Collection - Limited Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Long live Chucky!, July 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Long live Chucky!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, June 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Chucky is still scary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 6 times the chucky in 1 set!, August 4, 2014
This review is from: Chucky: The Complete Collection - Limited Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Got this shortly after it was released a while back for $39.99. Cant beat that for a brand new box set of 6 movies with the little red headed friend till the end. Heres hoping they dont take another 8 years to release the follow up sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "You just can't keep a Good Guy down", September 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chucky: The Complete Collection - Limited Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
PLEASE NOTE!: This is my personal review and not a official review. When reading my review it may contain a few spoilers from the first 5 Chucky movies (not Curse of Chucky). My review is based on my personal thoughts but you be your own judge on the series and product.

I am really excited about this release as I have been a Chucky fan since I was three years old and the first one released on VHS (that's showing my age!). Chucky has always been a interesting horror series as this was the first horror series to take a doll and make him into a foul mouth killer. Child's Play open the door for many other toy killers such as Puppet Master, Dominic Toys, Dolly Dearest and others.

The first Child's Play movie kept you guessing and weather you believed Andy Barkley (played by Alex Vincent) that his Good Guy doll was really coming to life and committing murders.

The second Child's Play movie took it a step further and added more carnage and more scares. Chucky even takes us to his factory for the final scene. This was personally my favorite besides Child's Play one.

The third Child's Play movie felt it kind of dragged. I didn't like the whole military scenario but it gave us a look at how Andy Barkley grew up and the troubles he had to over come to get pass his horrible childhood (which won't stay dead).

Bride of Chucky introduced us to Tiffany, Charles Lee Ray's (Chucky) girlfriend before he was shot dead in the toy store. The two of them go on a rampage and this movie added a little humor.

Seed of Chucky was probably the worst out of them all (as many Chucky fans would agree) as it was too much of a comedy than being a dark-tone horror movie. Although we were introduced to Glen/Glenda it still couldn't make up for the lack of horror.

Finally we reach the sixth film, Curse of Chucky, which I am looking forward too. It takes us back to the original roots of Child's Play 1-3. There are many surprises (which I am not going to spoil for anyone, but if your curious just look up stuff on YouTube) in this film. From the things I saw, it looks to be a promising movie.

This collection of Blu-Ray movies has it's good and bad, which I will break down (PLEASE NOTE!: Again, this is my personal review and it's not an official review. So please take in what I say but you be your own judge on it).

The Good: The fact that all 6 films are in one set makes it easy to have the entire collection. In the set is Child's Play, Child's Play 2, Child's Play 3, Bride of Chucky, Seed of Chucky and the newest film Curse of Chucky. This is the first time that Child's Play 2 and Child's Play 3 have been released on Blu-Ray format, as they have always been released only on VHS or DVD Format. They also released with the movies audio commentary, the history of Chucky and Don Manici's work, deleted scenes, original trailers and more. The fact that this is also a limited edition set for only $58.99 (on Amazon) makes it worth the price.

The Bad: The only two things I can find disappointing in this set is Child's Play, Bride of Chucky and Seed of Chucky are the same features as they were released before. Child's Play features are directly from the 20th Birthday release and Bride of Chucky and Seed of Chucky are the directly from their original release. Child's Play 2 and 3 have no special features which is the other disappointing factor. In a interview with Don Manici (from Fear.net), he mentioned that he had video footage from the making of all the films that he wanted one day to release with the movies and he also had some fun moments with the cast. I think adding this to The Chucky Collection would have made a difference or giving the fans some new material that hasn't been seen on previous DVD/Blu-Ray releases. Child's Play 2 in my personal opinion, should come with deleted scenes (such as the clips that were from the made for TV version as majority of those clips were never put on to VHS or DVD).

My final thought: I think this is a great set for any fans of Chucky (like myself) or anyone who has never watch the Chucky series. If your expecting anything new from this box set, there's nothing really new except the new film Curse of Chucky and all of it's features, but if your looking to have the entire series and on Blu-Ray this is the perfect set.

By the way, can anyone guess what film the quote (in the title) is from?

Chucky: The Complete Collection [Blu-ray]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Chucky: The Complete Collection - Limited Edition [Blu-ray]
$69.98 $46.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.