Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic!, January 11, 2000
By 
Marin Carpenter (Sunnyvale, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Church Mice Adrift (Paperback)
I first received this book when I was very young, and enjoyed it completely. Through various household moves the book was packed and unpacked with other childhood treasures, and at every unpacking I would sit down and read it again. Now as an adult I still enjoy an occasional sit down with Sampson the Cat and the rest. A clever story, suspense <and suspension>, and humor, combined with hilarious illustrations makes for a great read for young and old alike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars memorable characters, May 7, 2009
This review is from: The Church Mice Adrift (Paperback)
Thirty years later, my children still talk about this book. The adventures and the vocabulary are unique. The personalities with which Oakley invests his characters are so memorable. My grandchildren are going to be introduced to Sampson and the church mice now, in their turn. Giggles to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love the church mice!, January 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Church Mice Adrift (Hardcover)
graham oakley's church mice books are super fun. the facial expressions on the mice and sampson, the church cat, are hilarious. the plot in the church mice adrift is very funny. the story is also told in the detailed illustrations. some of the humor is lost on my kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Favorite Kids Books, April 1, 2010
By 
Norm Walker (River Falls WI) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Church Mice Adrift (Paperback)
My mother started collecting these books when they first came out way back in the 80s. She now has every single one. I am pretty sure this is my favorite one. I love reading them to my two little boys it brings back warm memories of sitting on my Dads lap while he read to me and my brother. Stories are written well but the great parts of these books is the wonderful illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My childhood favorite, March 19, 2014
By 
Meg Larson (Round Rock, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Church Mice Adrift (Hardcover)
The Church Mice books by Graham Oakley were my favorite books when I was very little, and I bought a couple of my old favorite for my mom as a present for Mother's Day. The drawings are just as intricate and beautiful as I remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The books are really for me!, January 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Church Mice Adrift (Hardcover)
As I purchase each book for my grandchildren, I look forward to re-reading them again. My 2 children and I found the Oakley books many years ago in the local public library. How we laughed at the silly plots and wonderful depictions of the character mice and Sampson.
Time passed and the books were forgotten until we had the grandchildren and I began to search for reading materials. It was a joy to find the series again and know how much the grandchildren would enjoy the wonderful illustrations by the gifted artist and author. Using the pictures alone, one can tell the story to the younger children and bypass the text until they are older. The truth is, the older they get, the more they will treasure the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Being a cat lover and the book was bought for a friend who is also a lover of all things Cat!, January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Church Mice Adrift (Hardcover)
Graham Oakley has given us many hours of delightful reading, as I have purchased several of his
books and happily shared them with friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful illustrations and story, January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Church Mice Adrift (Paperback)
Appreciate the art as well as the story. I own all in the series, and well worth keeping for generations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars cute, September 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Church Mice adrift (Paperback)
enjoy all the books in this series - read them to my own kids years and years ago and they loved them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Pleasure for All Ages, May 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Church Mice Adrift (Hardcover)
The stories about the church mice and Sampson the church cat are hilarious to kids and have plenty of puns for the adults reading to the young ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Church Mice Adrift
The Church Mice Adrift by Graham Oakley (Hardcover - March 1, 2010)
Used & New from: $35.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.