Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Churchill Never Ceases To Amaze
Whether you know nothing about Winston Churchill or consider yourself a Churchill expert, this book is a worthwhile read. "Churchill-The Prophetic Statesman" reveals a unique characteristic of the famous British Prime Minister. When most people recall the colorful statesman, his sharp wit and leadership skills usually come to mind. However, as the author, Mr. James...
Published on November 19, 2012 by Aeronaut

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Churchill's Prophetic Vision
There are many books about Winston Churchill but this one is unique. Whereas others may feature all or a portion of his life “Churchill: The Prophetic Statesman” is essentially a collection of statements and predictions made by Churchill that came true. The predictions run a broad gamut from the start of World War I, his own return to power, Arab Radicalism,...
Published 12 months ago by James Gallen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Churchill Never Ceases To Amaze, November 19, 2012
This review is from: Churchill: The Prophetic Statesman (Hardcover)
Whether you know nothing about Winston Churchill or consider yourself a Churchill expert, this book is a worthwhile read. "Churchill-The Prophetic Statesman" reveals a unique characteristic of the famous British Prime Minister. When most people recall the colorful statesman, his sharp wit and leadership skills usually come to mind. However, as the author, Mr. James Humes, points out, there's even more to Mr. Churchill than these well known traits: his uncanny ability to predict the future. The book chronicles some of his earliest predictions as far back as the turn of the 20th century to more modern occurrences such as the formation of the European Union. There is an additional plus derived from the book. Not only is the reader made aware of Churchill's prophetic abilities but insight is offered into his character, nature and beliefs. Also, interesting historical information surrounding his life is provided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Churchill's Prophetic Vision, January 6, 2014
By 
James Gallen (St. Louis, Missouri, U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
There are many books about Winston Churchill but this one is unique. Whereas others may feature all or a portion of his life “Churchill: The Prophetic Statesman” is essentially a collection of statements and predictions made by Churchill that came true. The predictions run a broad gamut from the start of World War I, his own return to power, Arab Radicalism, the fall of Hitler and the Iron Curtain, the development of atomic weapons and the date of his own death to name just a few.

I view this work with two biases in mind. First, I have the highest respect for Winston Churchill. Second, I have a suspicion for anyone who picks prior statements and finds fulfillment in subsequent developments. I think that author James Humes makes a good case for the premise that Churchill’s greatness was based in large part on his vision that extended far beyond that of most people. I remain skeptical that all of the examples he gives are really fulfilled prophecies. I suspect that some are taken out of context and applied to events to which they bear no relationship. That notwithstanding this is an interesting book that stimulates the mind to ponder Churchill’s greatness, his magnificent career and, yes, his prophetic vision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sure to Please Churchill Enthusiasts, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Churchill: The Prophetic Statesman (Hardcover)
I bought this for my brother-in-law who is a Churchill Enthusiast, and he started reading it the minute he opened the package and was taking notes within a few minutes. Wow! Good score!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fascinating look at Churchill, February 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am a Churchill fan, so reading this was fun and easy for me. Others may find it jumps around a bit and the language at times get a bit too flowery. But the nuggets and facts are more than enough to hold your attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quick read, January 25, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was hard to put this one down. Well written and referenced. I now like Winnie even more than before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, Amazon, March 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Churchill: The Prophetic Statesman (Hardcover)
Thank you for the right price and good condition. Coconut Diet hasn't arrived, but have been in contact with shipper about this.
As I am a reader, am so excited to get the read the other ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book, well written and finely illustrated, November 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Churchill: The Prophetic Statesman (Hardcover)
If you are searching for a history ofChurchill, this is the lace to begin and maybe end.
A wonderful book, well written and finely illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Churchill: The Prophetic Statesman (Hardcover)
New information and perspectives investigated and presented in an understandable format on a well researched and often reviewed subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book about a great man., February 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Churchill: The Prophetic Statesman (Hardcover)
I highly recommend this book. Humes wrote a previous book, but this one is the Cliff Notes of the life and times of WSC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, January 12, 2015
By 
Richard J. Barrett (Albany, New York United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Churchill: The Prophetic Statesman (Hardcover)
Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Churchill: The Prophetic Statesman
Churchill: The Prophetic Statesman by James C. Humes (Hardcover - November 19, 2012)
$27.95 $2.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.