Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red velvet and cigars--Churchill's personal style in a unique bio
This is an unusual biography and I truly enjoyed it--Winston Churchill, that towering figure from World War II is described in terms of his clothing, his furniture, cigars, personal objects and tastes. I don't think I can recall another such book and I liked it so much, I hope the author will write some more of these book about iconic figures of our recent history...
Published on April 29, 2012 by Joanna Daneman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes a cigar is just... difficult to read.
A great book. Covers WC well. I would have given 4 stars except for the following:
The editor responsible for page layout should have his license taken away. You see, there's the body of the story which is presented less than page width, so there's white space margins covering 1/3 of the page. This in itself is OK because it allows for the occasional illustration...
Published 9 months ago by R. Plut


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shallow but interesting, March 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Churchill Style: The Art of Being Winston Churchill (Hardcover)
There are thousands of books on Churchill and this one focuses on the 'style' aspect of his life. Churchill liked nice things and lived a life of luxury and because he's so important, this was heavily documented. Having an almost scholarly familiarity with Churchill's life, I was a little disappointed at how much background information the author chose to include. It's essentially a cliff-noted biography of Churchill's entire life. The most interesting aspect of the book are the various asides where he talks about where Churchill was living at a given time, what he was waring, etc. This is what makes the book worth reading. If you're familiar with Churchill, you'll find little new content in the biographical portion of the book and can skim over most of it and instead focus on the pictures and asides that focus solely on his style. There are a lot of pictures I haven't seen in other books so that makes it worth it alone. It's presented nicely and was made with archival quality in mind. It's a worthy addition to any churchill library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, January 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Churchill Style: The Art of Being Winston Churchill (Hardcover)
This book gives the story on the style and "fabric" of Churchill as opposed to the typical exploits of this remarkable man. I have read probably 20 or more books about Churchill or by Churchill. It is a trifle light perhaps at times, but fun. Worth it for the fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique look at one of the greatest men of the 20th Century, December 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Churchill Style: The Art of Being Winston Churchill (Hardcover)
Winston Spencer Churchill was a journalist, a public servant, a soldier, a sailor, an aviation enthusiast, an author, an historian and ultimately the key leader in defense of freedom and democracy in the 1930s and 1940s. His enduring wit and charcter were shaped by his tastes in literature, in friends and even in the finer things in life. This book documents much of his evolution in style while discussing the rise and fall of his fortunes. An excellent book, it even gives you the internet addresses of many establishments which supplied Churchill over the years. A must-have for any Churchill enthusiast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful book, December 13, 2012
By 
Geoff Puterbaugh (Chiang Mai, T. Suthep, A. Muang Thailand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Churchill Style: The Art of Being Winston Churchill (Hardcover)
Fans of the Great Man will want this book, at least if they are interested in the books he actually read, the wine and spirits he drank, the clothes he wore. At the same time, readers get a pretty complete biography of Churchill -- it's nothing to compare to Martin Gilbert or William Manchester, but it does fit into some 200 profusely illustrated pages. I loved it!

Perhaps the most surprising fact which emerges is that Churchill made almost all of his money through writing. We tend to think of him as a politician (which of course he was) but his writing paid the bills for his opulent lifestyle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Book, by Michael D. Langan, reviewer for the Buffalo News, September 26, 2012
This review is from: Churchill Style: The Art of Being Winston Churchill (Hardcover)
"Churchill Style May 2012 421 words

The Art Of Being Winston Churchill"

Barry Singer

Foreword by Michael Korda

Abrams Image

240 pages $24.95

A book about Winston Churchill's life in war and peace can have no better send-up than an `atta boy' from his own private secretary, Cecily "Chips" Gemelle, who remarked about this book: "...people who think they know everything there is to know will still find something new. What a treasure trove."

The author, Barry Singer, is proprietor of Chartwell Booksellers in New York City, the only bookshop, his blurb trumpets, that is devoted to the works of Churchill. Singer obviously has a vested interest, but if this book is any measure, he's good at what he does, having written for the New Yorker and the New York Times.

So what makes "Churchill Style" worth buying? To begin with, it's a touch small for your den table. That said, it does have 40 color photos and 100 black-and white photographs, along with a text that follows Churchill "from his years as a young, debonair schoolboy to his adulthood as a posh man who enjoyed gambling with his wife in Monte Carlo and hunting with Coco Chanel in France."

Singer tells us that Churchill loved an extravagant life and achieved it without much money. About this, Churchill wrote, "As one's fortunes are reduced, one's spirit must expand to fill the void." These days, that's an inducement to many with debt piling up and not many jobs available.

Michael Korda, an able writer himself and nephew of Alex Korda, the film producer and friend of Churchill's, tells a story about Churchill that shows how he amorally interposed himself among the rich when he thought it necessary. Korda writes about Winston,

"He happily accepted invitations from those who could give him a good dinner, and when somebody on his staff suggested that he should not have dined at Villa Mauresque, W. Somerset Maugham's house in the South of France, Churchill replied gruffly, "He may be an old bugger, but by God he never tried to bugger me."

There's a good deal to like about this jaunty book. Barry Singer details how hard and relentlessly Churchill worked, and describes his life away from politics, finding a new hobby like painting, remaking his house at Chartwell or starting a new book as a writer.

In brief, Churchill lived beyond his means and appears to have enjoyed every minute of it. "The Art Of Being Winston" puts on display his resourcefulness at doing it.

Michael D. Langan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Unusual Biography, September 17, 2012
By 
Jeff Peirce (Salt Lake City, Utah United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Churchill Style: The Art of Being Winston Churchill (Hardcover)
I have read many Churchill biographies, but none as unusual as this. And I must say, it has been
a fun and rewarding experience.

The author skillfully weaves the events of Churchill's long life with the whiskey, cigars,
clothes, books , friends, and passtimes he enjoyed. What one gets is a delightful reading
experience. In a way, you get to know the man better.

I have not enjoyed a book as much as this in a while. I am so glad I read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Style and Substance are One, August 15, 2012
By 
Joseph G. Wick (Los Angeles, California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Churchill Style: The Art of Being Winston Churchill (Hardcover)
Recently a friend called Winston Churchill "that old blowhard." Now I've always admired Churchill and that started me reading several books about him again after years of inattention. Churchill was eccentric and histrionic, but hardly a blowhard. This book describes, accounts for, and explains how his personal "style" was genuinely a product of the man's origins, values and goals. A life of substance and consequence was in part created by, and grew, from this style.

This book portrays a man whose greatness was often obscured by his antics. He was a man who crafted his life like he crafted his paintings. While concentrating on elements of Churchill's "style," this book is also a greatly concentrated but detailed biography. It has a wonderful set of endnotes and a copious bibliography. It is a hagiography and so is hardly unbiased or objective. But, it is a terrific read and quite effectively humanizes Churchill.

This portrayal of Churchill's life and spirit should be an inspiration for anyone encountering shattering disappointments or needing to see just what one person can accomplish in a long lifetime regardless of obstacles and competing demands.

Of the many Churchill books I've read, this is one of the best. The writing is crisp and moves quickly. Illustrations abound throughout the book. It is attractively produced and even feels good in your hand. If you have any curiosity or interest in why Churchill was one of the greatest men of the twentieth century, you should read this book. If you are interested in the world and its problems as they are today, you should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winston the Irresistible, July 11, 2012
By 
VerbRiver (Falls Church, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Churchill Style: The Art of Being Winston Churchill (Hardcover)
Barry Singer is to Churchill precis what Martin Gilbert is to Churchill explication. In CHURCHILLL STYLE, Singer is on stage as master of his craft.

Although it is hard to humanize a lion, Singer has done it, writing a solid pocket biorgraphy, precise, full, and lively. He embraces the unorthodox device of measuring Churchill's rises and falls by quantifying his habits -- the painting, the bricklaying, cigars, champagne, clothing, and the sustaining fuel of books, both those he purchased and those he wrote.

For example, during an extended period of household austerity, Churchill ordered cheap American cigars from a stand in the lobby of a New York office building. Later, as Prime Minister in 1941, the President of Cuba sent him 2,400 Havanas in a wooden cabinet. Apparent trivial information on the surface, yet two of the many hooks on which Singer hangs companion landmarks in Churchill's life.

To illustrate further, shortly after receiving his first government post in 1905, Churchill binged on books, amassing a personal book alp in a matter of weeks. To the number of volumes, Singer adds titles giving an intimate sense of Churchill's mind and range of curiosity.

Churchill could not possibly have done everything he did unless he was the original owner of Hermione Granger's Time Turner. Yet, somehow he flourished without it, and Singer lays out this overstocked and oversized life both by fact and with grace.

This is a splendid and satisfying job. One wonders how Churchill himself would have reviewed the book. Certainly with the elan of a Nobel laureate in literature. He likely would not have been pleased with advertising how many bottles he bought, how often and large were his debts, or how many different buildings he lived in. Yet, his reaction overall might easily have been like the Karsh photo, but with a slightly un-tightened scowl and a hand raised with the victory sign.

Regardless of your acquaintance with Churchill -- acolyte, archbishop or agnostic -- this book will happily find you out and fill you in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Churchill trivia, April 29, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have read every book about or by Churchill I can get my hands on. I have a ceiling to floor bookcase full of books by or about Churchill. I started this collection in my early teens. Now I am gathering a collection of e-books. Needless to say I know most of the information in this book, “Churchill Style: The Art of Being Winston Churchill” by Barry Singer. Barry Singer is the owner of Chartwell Books in New York City, a bookstore famous for its focus on the works of Winston Churchill. Singer writes about Churchill’s sense of style. For those looking for a book that provides a large amount of trivia information about WSC this is a great book for that. The book has information from, who made his hats to wear, where he bought his bowties, the brand of whiskey he prefer to the brand of pens he preferred to write with. I enjoyed the parts where the author talks about the various houses that the Churchill family lived in. He’s most famous for living in Chartwell, but he lived in many other interesting places. There are lots of pictures in the book. The author also writes about WSC passion of horses, from his childhood horse, his polo ponies to his race horses. Churchill’s favorite pastime was horseback riding. I did learn a few items from the book I was unaware of. For example, I did not know Churchill was friends with Alexander Korba (one of my favorite movie directors). Apparently during the depression when WSC was struggling financially Korba hired him to write or edit some movie scripts. One was on Lawrence of Arabia which Korba chose not to make but sold it off to Hollywood. I just love picking up these little pearls of information. If you are looking for a book that is more about Churchill’s lifestyle or want some trivia information, this is the book for you. It is well-written in an easy going style that drips of information with lots of photographs. I read this as an e-book on my Kindle app for my Ipad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A New Approach to Churchill, April 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Churchill Style: The Art of Being Winston Churchill (Hardcover)
This book gives the personal glimpses of Churchill that other biographies overlook. You might say it humanizes Churchill, not that he even needed that !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Churchill Style: The Art of Being Winston Churchill
Churchill Style: The Art of Being Winston Churchill by Barry Singer (Hardcover - May 1, 2012)
$24.95 $16.10
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.