Facility Spring Cleaning Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars48
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$18.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 6, 2016
I really enjoyed this book. There are a great many photos and interesting vignettes. Learned lots about Churchill- his taste in fashion, booze, food and cigars. I highly recommend it this read on a great British statesman.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2015
I found this to be an excellent description of a side of Sir Winston Churchill that is not often written about. I greatly enjoyed the history and descriptions of Mr. Churchill's fine taste in clothing. Would highly recommend this for anyone who enjoys timeless men's fashion.

John S.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2012
"Churchill Style May 2012 421 words

The Art Of Being Winston Churchill"

Barry Singer

Foreword by Michael Korda

Abrams Image

240 pages $24.95

A book about Winston Churchill's life in war and peace can have no better send-up than an `atta boy' from his own private secretary, Cecily "Chips" Gemelle, who remarked about this book: "...people who think they know everything there is to know will still find something new. What a treasure trove."

The author, Barry Singer, is proprietor of Chartwell Booksellers in New York City, the only bookshop, his blurb trumpets, that is devoted to the works of Churchill. Singer obviously has a vested interest, but if this book is any measure, he's good at what he does, having written for the New Yorker and the New York Times.

So what makes "Churchill Style" worth buying? To begin with, it's a touch small for your den table. That said, it does have 40 color photos and 100 black-and white photographs, along with a text that follows Churchill "from his years as a young, debonair schoolboy to his adulthood as a posh man who enjoyed gambling with his wife in Monte Carlo and hunting with Coco Chanel in France."

Singer tells us that Churchill loved an extravagant life and achieved it without much money. About this, Churchill wrote, "As one's fortunes are reduced, one's spirit must expand to fill the void." These days, that's an inducement to many with debt piling up and not many jobs available.

Michael Korda, an able writer himself and nephew of Alex Korda, the film producer and friend of Churchill's, tells a story about Churchill that shows how he amorally interposed himself among the rich when he thought it necessary. Korda writes about Winston,

"He happily accepted invitations from those who could give him a good dinner, and when somebody on his staff suggested that he should not have dined at Villa Mauresque, W. Somerset Maugham's house in the South of France, Churchill replied gruffly, "He may be an old bugger, but by God he never tried to bugger me."

There's a good deal to like about this jaunty book. Barry Singer details how hard and relentlessly Churchill worked, and describes his life away from politics, finding a new hobby like painting, remaking his house at Chartwell or starting a new book as a writer.

In brief, Churchill lived beyond his means and appears to have enjoyed every minute of it. "The Art Of Being Winston" puts on display his resourcefulness at doing it.

Michael D. Langan
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2012
This captures the man. In about 200 pages, you get a consise biography and a very strong feeling for this "most human of all great political figures."
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2014
My dad's been reading the Manchester series on Churchill, and I've been trying to find something to match his satisfaction with those books. The writing style is a bit simpler in this book (which is actually a downside in the case of my father), but it has a different focus and includes many high quality photographs. I feel like it's a great photographic companion to the Manchester books, and would be a fantastic gift for history buffs, especially Churchill fans.

Cheers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2013
This book was entertaining and amusing. If you admire Churchill and interested in his taste in things, this book is excellent. A lot of details, a lot of fun facts (especially in regards as to why Churchill kept writing!), will keep you entertained. Again however I add my complaint about the inability to see the provided illustrations and photos on my Kindle by the author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2013
What a wonderful book! I must confess from the outset that I have a significant collection of Churchill books. However, this definitely fills a void that exists in understanding some of the more quirky and personal aspects of Churchill's character. Beautifully illustrated, and logically laid out, this is a great book not just to read from cover to cover, but to revisit and dip into different periods in Churchill's life.

The most enjoyable aspect of the book is the authors use of little-known, or previously unpublished, snippets of Churchill folklore. My favourite is the story of Churchill purchasing his cigars in bulk (the Churchill cigar being such a prominent aspect of his personality) during the 1930s from a tobacconist kiosk in New York City because they were very inexpensive compared to his favourite Cubans. This was a fascinating revelation considering Churchill's reputation for being a man who simply liked the best of everything. In these somewhat austere times we're now living in it's fun to see such an extravagant character was also having to economize on one of his greatest pleasures 80 years ago!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2015
My daughter gave this to me for Christmas. I thought this was a good read with more insight gained into the Churchill lifestyle and the trappings of such rather than his life in general. While biographical in nature, it really scratches the surface of a complex historical figure. Of course, it's probably not intended to be the definitive work but is a good read, well organized and fun. Hard to put down once you start
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2013
This is a welcomed addition to the Churchill histories. Easy reading and gives one a better feel for the man without wading through many volumes. Sorta like eating peanuts, hard to stop!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2014
Simply stated: This little volume is OUTSTANDING! For Churchill fans this book is yet another verification of just how excellent a spokesman he was. For those unfamiliar with Sir Winston, this is wonderful volume to begin a lifetime of learning from his style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse