Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Gifts Under $50 Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Black Friday Deals Outdoors Gift Guide on DOTD

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
on August 2, 2012
Martin Gilbert is the foremost expert on Churchill in the world, beginning his work for Randolph Churchill on the biography in the early 1960s and taking over at Volume III upon Randolph's death in 1968. If there is anyone qualified to do this work,it would certainly be Sir Martin.

It is a good work in one volume and the author presents his choices of WSC's speeches and writings through his years. Of course you can buy multi volume works of his speeches but this book relieves you of the brunt of the weight and provides you the best. While I am familiar with many of his most famous, there are many very interesting parts in here, for example "The Supreme Hour", when Winston had to tell the House of Commons that on July 4, 1940, the French fleet was sunk by His Majesties Ships and 1,297 French sailors were killed. How do you bear and bring this horrible news? England had watched France cave in to the Nazis and now he has to tell the House that the Royal Navy had to sink a large part of the French fleet. This was when England stood alone and things were bleak indeed. The power of his argument and presentation is brilliant and this one I had not come across before. There are others of interest that I won't spoil, but what a master of words he was.

In some ways the book is like a box of fine chocolates. You really don't want to sit down and digest it in one sitting but it makes for a very interesting repast when you have a little time and want to go exploring with WSC again.

I like it very much.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
on December 18, 2012
Being an Indian, ever since my childhood I have heard only bad things about this man; and with all honesty almost all of it is true. He was directly responsible for a devastating famine in India during the war. But as I grew up, I understood that the situation was beyond his control. He was leading a war against tyranny and his interests lied in victory of his country. Every human being is flawed and they take wrong decisions and in this case we were in the wrong side.
So I thought of learning a bit about his life and works and purchased this book.
The first good thing is, the organisation of the materials. It's like a journey through the life of Churchill rather than a boring documentary. Every section has an introduction to what follows, to put things in the right context. As you keep reading, you will see a certain new character trait of Churchill which he developed from a certain experience. Churchill's writings are sharp and clean and the author of this book has done a great job in sketching a brief picture of Churchill's life.
The second second is History: I learned a lot about the world the world history by reading this book. Whenever I found anything that I have not heard before, I just went to Wikipedia and learned about that chapter of history.
To cut the long story short, this book tells you a lot about Churchill's life and his journeys. A well read man who had travelled to far corners of the world and had all sorts of experiences. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and learned a lot from it. I would advise the reader to go slowly through the book and use the internet to find more information about any incidents that she/he is not aware of. It might improve your history by a significant amount, at least it did for me.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
on July 7, 2012
No matter how many times I read about Churchill, I'm still star-struck. This book did it again, only this time, in the middle of a presidential contest that's taking place during an atrocious economy with the background of terrorist threats, I'm pining for someone who can provide the extraordinary leadership that Sir Winston did. This is an edition of what the editor, the esteem historian, Martin Gilbert, believes to have been among Churchills best speeches. In addition to showing Churchill's leadership skills, I was also impressed with just how decent Churchill was: never holding a grudge, always respecting the opposition's right to debate with civility and graciousness. These latter characteristics are particularly striking in a speech given after Indian independence; something which he strongly opposed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
on September 15, 2012
This magnificent work by Martin Gilbert shows Churchill's life through his speeches and writings, placed in chronological order, with constant reference to Churchill's age. It is striking to note that his life had long moments of apparent political stagnation, periods in which he was demoted or reduced to playing a subordinate role in England's political affairs. But is also remarkable that he never gave up, never lost his supreme self-confidence. Ever since he was a school boy he seemed certain that he would play a huge role in the history of the nation. At 22 he became famous when he escaped from the hands of the Boers. His descriptions of the River War against the Derviches are very powerful. He would have to wait until he was 65, an age at which most politicians are thinking of retirement, to play his most stellar role as Prime Minister during the II World War. His leadership made a big difference in its outcome. And he did it through the power of his words.President Kennedy said it beautifully: "He mobilised the English language and sent it into battle".
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on October 19, 2012
I have always been fascinated by the Wit of Winston Churchill and this book does not disappoint. He is one of the greatest orators of the 20th century. I have also been inspired to read more books regarding his famous speeches as well as his personal and political life. A must read for all Churchill enthusiasts!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on March 16, 2013
This was one of the two best references I found on Churchill for my history report. Full of quotes and stories that describe Churchill's incredible impact during WWII. Easy to read and entertaining. I'd highly recommend this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on March 17, 2013
I have always been a great admirer of Winston Churchill. I loved the book CHURCHILL: THE POWER OF WORDS. He was one of the most remarkable men of his century. He saved the West.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on July 11, 2013
Churchill excelled as a writer and speaker. To immerse oneself in his writings is to take on some of his skills. This book is a classic of its kind.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on April 9, 2015
I haven't really delved very deeply into this book. I use it mainly to read speeches and writings pertinent to a particular moment in history and the book is organized extremely well for that purpose; the year on the top of the left hand page and his age on the top of the right hand page with the title of the subject at the start of an entry. I'm a moderate, although avid, Churchill historian; pitiful by some standards but vast in comparison to most Americans. In my view he was England's greatest statesman. A man of remarkable energy, vision, and wit. His use of the English language, disparaged by some literary scholars, I find immensely involving. Try to think of another 20th century personality quoted so widely and frequently; his ability to "turn a phrase" almost unparalleled. And one finds these pearls on almost every one of the 429 pages. For example on page 148 he discussed "the foul balboonery of Bolshevism" and the next entry on the same page is entitled "The Future Was Heavy With Foreboding." For me this work is best used as an excellent reference source. His "Never Give In" speech to Harrow School in 1941 should be required reading in the US Public School System. Of course omissions must occur when 429 pages cover the life works such a Titan. Pertinent to our country, when discussing (in his 6 volume compendium of WW II) the Battles of The Coral Sea and Wake Island which broke the spine of the Japanese Navy the wrote: "The annals of war at sea present no more intense, heart-shaking shock than these two battles, in which the qualities of the United States Navy and Air Force and the American race shown forth in splendour... the bravery and self-devotion of the American airmen and sailors and the nerve and skill of their leaders was the foundation of all."

President Obama sent the bust of Churchill, a British Gift, a statuary resident in the Oval Office, back to England as one of his first acts in office... and that says so much about our obverse leader.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on December 6, 2014
One star for the shoddy hardcover. Be forewarned potential buyers, Da Capo publishers glued this baby together instead of stitching it. Glue eventual dries out and shrinks. That's when pages start falling out. The point of a hardcover is for it to last, perhaps to pass to children or resale. This is constructed like a paperback with boards. Additionally, the paper itself seems to be of poor quality. This is neither what the Man of the Century or Martin Gilbert deserve.

N.B.: Manchester's three volume biography in hardcover is also glued together; even more disappointing considering how big those volumes are.

See my photo for the difference between a stitched book (on the bottom) and a glued book (on top, this is what you are getting).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed

The Wit & Wisdom of Winston Churchill
The Wit & Wisdom of Winston Churchill by James C. Humes (Paperback - Jan. 1995)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.