Customer Reviews


362 Reviews
5 star:
 (304)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


128 of 134 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cien años de soledad
Para ser franco, en realidad no soy muy buen crítico de libros ni mucho menos. Simplemente estoy de acuerdo con muchas de las personas que catalogan a esta novela como una obra cumbre de la literatura hispana. He leído tres veces este libro y debo confesar que cada vez me ha interesado más, me ha atrapado más. En conclusión: esta obra se...
Published on January 8, 2001 by Javier Zubillaga

versus
24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great book, lousy edition
If you are going to read only one book in Spanish this year, Cien años de Soledad is it. But beware of this particular edition. It has footnotes. Not illuminating notes. Not guiding notes. Not explanatory notes. Just dumb, distracting, unneeded, unasked for notes. If you can avoid reading them, great. I, for one, can't avoid looking at the footnotes, and in this...
Published on January 8, 2002 by L Delboy


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

128 of 134 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cien años de soledad, January 8, 2001
By 
Javier Zubillaga (Córdoba, Argentina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cien Años de Soledad (Paperback)
Para ser franco, en realidad no soy muy buen crítico de libros ni mucho menos. Simplemente estoy de acuerdo con muchas de las personas que catalogan a esta novela como una obra cumbre de la literatura hispana. He leído tres veces este libro y debo confesar que cada vez me ha interesado más, me ha atrapado más. En conclusión: esta obra se ha convertido en mi biblia. La recomiendo para todos aquellos lectores que se consideren dignos de leer un libro que es más que una novela; es una gran historia que yo considero muy real y explico el porque: analizando muchas notas periodísticas realizadas a su autor e investigando sobre la vida del mismo, uno puede notar las "coincidencias" que hay entre las historias de cada personaje y la historia del mismo García Márquez y todo su entorno (su pueblo, su familia). Además, realizando estas investigaciones, me encontré con la siguiente declaración de la esposa de "Gabo": "cuando estaba escribiendo 'Cien años de soledad', y llegado el momento de la muerte del Coronel Aureliano Buendía, para poder escribirla pasó una semana de muy mal humor, encerrado en su escritorio. Sólo bajaba para cenar. Hasta que un día me enfrentó y con profunda tristeza me dijo 'ya lo maté'". Se nota en esta declaración que es tan profunda la relación entre el escritor y los personajes que para aquella persona que conoce esta historia, les puedo asegurar que le apasiona mucho más la lectura de este libro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't get enough..., November 11, 2002
By 
HardyBoy64 "RLC" (Rexburg, ID United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Cien Años de Soledad (Paperback)
I'm not the smartest man on the block, but I consider myself to be fairly well-read. Usually, when I finish a novel I think about it for a brief while and then look for my next book to read.
CIEN ANOS DE SOLEDAD was a novel that when I finished reading it (I read it in Spanish) I automatically began with page one.
It is one of the most enthralling, awe-inspiring novels that I've ever read. Garcia Márquez es un genio.
READ THIS NOVEL! (You may even want to read it twice).
(Leete esta novela, que bien vale la pena. Es impresionante e inolvidable.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars La mejor novela contemporanea escrita en cualquier idioma, August 16, 2006
Este es un libro fascinante, lleno de realismo mágico, aventuras, drama y pasión. Un libro con el que se puede identificar cualquier latinoamericano por todo lo que tiene de cotidiano y de supersticioso. La historia tiene ciertas similitudes con la Biblia (Génesis, Exodo, Evangelios) , con las Mil y Una Noches y otras literaturas; lo que hacen que leerla le parezca a uno muy familiar aparte de que el lenguaje que utiliza García Márquez es muy sencillo y cotidiano. Nadie que la lea olvidará jamás a Ursula, o a Fernanda del Carpio, a Remedios la Bella o a cualquiera de los Aurelianos o José Arcadios. Es un libro adictivo para aquellos que dan sus primeros pasos en la buena literatura.

Después del Quijote, la mejor novela escrita en español, pero también la mejor novela contemporanea de nuestros tiempos. Es por eso, impresindible leerla.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars realismo magico, magia y realidad latinoamericana, December 27, 1999
By 
This review is from: Cien Años de Soledad (Paperback)
No cabe duda que en Cien años de Soledad, nuestra imaginacion se pone a jugar con el tiempo, los colores, olores, sensaciones, personajes y lugares, pero leyendo entre lineas, escudriñando entre las palabras, no solo se encuentra la magia caracteristica de la cultura latinoamericana, sino tambien su tragedia social y politica: la tirania, la dictadura, el liderazgo populista, la alienacion y perdida de lo nuestro a traves del tiempo, la soledad. Si se mantiene la mente alerta y se tiene una intensa suspicacia, Cien años de Soledad ofrece mas de lo que aparenta ofrecer. Se descubra lo que se descubra en ella, esta es una obra que una vez leida dificilmente se olvida.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Muchos años después, frente al pelotón de fusilamiento..., November 22, 2000
This review is from: Cien años de soledad (Paperback)
Quien dice que Cien años de soledad no es más que realismo mágico, tiene una visión muy restringida de la literatura. Es una épica, la historia de la humanidad, una historia que atrapa al lector desde la primer línea. La novela que terminó con el regionalismo y refleja siempre a la sociedad latinoamericana como un todo, influida por el mundo capitalista estadounidense. Un libro en el que un inventor fracasado, un coronel antiheroico, una madre de familia resignada y demás personajes estereotipados del mundo actual forman parte de la realidad de la que el autor hace burla, a tal grado de sentir compasión por sus propios personajes, por la suma de esfuerzos siempre inútlies por hacer bien las cosas, a causa de la falta de amor, a la que se hace referencia durante toda la novela. El personaje principal es Macondo, el pueblo mismo, que sobrevive al olvido por cien años de fracasos personales y acontecimientos fantásticos, para finalmente desaparecer sin rastro alguno, al igual que toda su historia. Excelente novela, es EL libro, narrado con el excelente lenguage poético tan propio de GGM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "100 years .." - it gives you all you need, August 2, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Cien Anos de Soledad (Paperback)
Having a soft corner for classification, one can classify everything. The books also can be classified. For example, into good and bad ones. In this case "100 Years of Solitude" is a good book. Or they can be classifies into great and good. Therefore "100 Years of Solitude" is considered a great book. Or into those, which got a Nobel Prize and those, which did not. Marques got Nobel Prize for his book "100 Years of Solitude". But to classify the contents of this book and to tell what is this book about...? it's next to impossible. It is about small town Macondo on the bank of the river, which runs its clear water in the white-stone polished bed. It's about the world of Latin America, quite a new world, that some things even do not have a name, and have to be pointed with the finger... About six generations of Buandia family... About love, loneliness and death. About endless cyclic recurrence and reiteration of love, loneliness and death. Reiteration, but already in other people, other characters, words and other life. In the life, which is impossible without love, loneliness and death. What amazes most in the book - is the great number of people, destinies and plots. Just imagine - the talented Shakespeare specialist made up his mind to summarize each Shakespeare play in one page. He has to carefully preserve grandeur, language, tragedy and humor. He selects two-three best quotations, unites the characters of all plays together as relatives or citizens of one town. He replaces castles and palaces by streets, where simple white houses sink in the heat under almond-trees for half a year, and for the rest of the year they sail in the rain like ships in an autumn sea. Replaces swords and man's sleeveless jackets by simple homemade clothes. Replaces crowded Europe by boundless selva, by poppy fields, where one can find the island of Spanish galleon and the Cordilleras, with peaks, buried in snow and clouds. The book might tuned out to be praise-worthy. But to make it similar to "100 Years of Solitude" it had to be saturated with unique rhythm and atmosphere of Latin America, as Marques did. One of his interview cited that the most difficult for him was to present the language of the novel. He had to tell this in such a manner, like his forefathers did: impassively, with absolute firm calmness, which can not be destroyed even if the world turns upside down. This fascination of impassivity in the face of joy and sorrow, impassivity, but not heartlessness, could not have appeared in Marques characters without any reason. It needed about 400 years of mixing blood of Spanish adventurer-conquistadors, which contained both European and Moorish blood, with Indian blood, which originated the art of patient waiting. Waiting, which is similar to many-hour immobility of condor soaring above the mountain canyons. It needed to happen mixing of risk of bullfights with ferocity of cockfights, mixing of Arabic and catholic styles of architecture in Spain, brought through calm and storm of the Atlantic, with the nature of Latin America, with jungles and salt sea winds. It needed to happen to give birth to an old man, which paid attention neither to ardent rose bushes, nor to spilled shine of sunset, and could answer the question of a stranger, which dared to break his loneliness: - What are you doing, colonel? - I am just sitting and waiting when coffin with my body will be carried by.
The novel "100 Years of Solitude" to some extend is written like a mirror. Marques looked into it and saw the town of his childhood, his granny, bustling about, and his grandpa, the veteran of the Civil war. Any reader of this book can look at himself in the mirror. In one of the pages he will see the reflection of his love, loneliness or death. But there is nothing sad in it. The life comes back again and again, but only Macondo will have been destroyed by hurricane and have been escaped from human memory. Those human generations, which are condemned to hundred years of loneliness, are not fated to appear on the Earth twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book Ever., January 8, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cien Años de Soledad (Paperback)
I'm writing this review in English because my Spanish is bad. I picked this book up for many reasons. But there's 2 main reasons why I picked it up in Spanish: It's the language in which it was written and I wanted to brush up on my spanish. Little did I know however, that I was reading the BEST book that I have ever read. One thing people gotta understand about this book is that it was written a long time ago... ~40years ago? Something like that. And so, a lot of the ideas presented in the book have been duplicated since then. And if you know them, it might subtract from the magic the book provides.

Gabriel Garcia Marquez can't possibly be human, this is a true masterpiece. I highly recommend for people that know a little spanish or more, to read this book as there are some words and sentences that may be lost in translation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars La más grandiosa novela Latinoamericana, October 23, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Cien Años de Soledad (Paperback)
Cien años de soledad es probablemente la mejor obra que haya escrito Garcia Marquez o cualquier otro escritor latinoamericano hasta ahora. Esta escrita con un riquísimo lexico, las descripciones del ambiente alrededor, de las diversas situaciones que enfrentan los personajes, y la increíble cantidad de detalles sobre estos y sus vidas, hacen de este libro un indiscutible merecedor del Premio Nobel que ganó. Si no has leído este libro, leelo, ya que el sólo hacerlo es una experiencia inolvidable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great book, lousy edition, January 8, 2002
By 
L Delboy (New York, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cien Años de Soledad (Paperback)
If you are going to read only one book in Spanish this year, Cien años de Soledad is it. But beware of this particular edition. It has footnotes. Not illuminating notes. Not guiding notes. Not explanatory notes. Just dumb, distracting, unneeded, unasked for notes. If you can avoid reading them, great. I, for one, can't avoid looking at the footnotes, and in this case, the pleasure of reading an insanely great novel sours into the anger of being interrupted with subnormal comments (do you need to be reminded of a phrase that appears a few lines before?), long-winded diversions (do you really need the definition of the Real Academia Española to understand what is a Yuca?) or truly gratuitous opinions of the editor, de cuyo nombre no quiero acordarme. I am lucky the book I bought also had some imperfections in the cover, so I had a formal reason to return it. Now I am buying another edition, free of footnotes. It will be a bit more expensive, but I know, because I've read the book many times, that an unobstructed reading of Cien Anos de Soledad is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable!, October 7, 2005
By 
Gustavo J. Doble (Juncos, PR United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cien Años de Soledad (Paperback)
This is possibly the best novel ever written in the Spanish language, together with Don Quijote de la Mancha. If you want to read something great, this novel is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cien años de soledad (Spanish Edition)
Cien años de soledad (Spanish Edition) by Gabriel Garcia Marquez (Paperback - September 22, 2009)
$15.95 $9.04
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.