Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books available on CBG's!
This is the best book I have seen on cigar box guitars. There are a few other very good books, but this is the best. I really enjoyed reading the player profiles and found several to be very inspirational. I have been building CBG's for about a year and I take every opportunity to learn a little more about the history and maybe pickup a few tips here and there. This book...
Published on March 21, 2012 by Bad Penny Guitars

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mandatory reading for beginners
Think of this book as being organized into 3 sections (recipes / plans, photo galleries, and biographies of successful builders.) The recipes / plans section is certainly extremely useful (5 stars); I just wish there was more content. The photo galleries provide a lot of creative hints if you study them very carefully, so let's call that part 3.5 stars. The...
Published 13 months ago by auilachs


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books available on CBG's!, March 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cigar Box Guitars: The Ultimate DIY Guide for the Makers and Players of the Handmade Music Revolution (Paperback)
This is the best book I have seen on cigar box guitars. There are a few other very good books, but this is the best. I really enjoyed reading the player profiles and found several to be very inspirational. I have been building CBG's for about a year and I take every opportunity to learn a little more about the history and maybe pickup a few tips here and there. This book is perfect for both. Very informative and awesome photography. Nice work David, appreciate your hard work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cigar Box Guitars, April 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cigar Box Guitars: The Ultimate DIY Guide for the Makers and Players of the Handmade Music Revolution (Paperback)
This is a very well done book! From the beautiful photographs to the bits and pieces of construction. A high quality made book.
Suitable gift for that budding luthier that likes folk instruments.
The book's focus is more on the current state of this venerable instrument instead of it's history.
It arrived in the Amazon cardboard shipping package (that protects it from damage and is totally recyclable!) in perfect condition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for building CBGs, July 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cigar Box Guitars: The Ultimate DIY Guide for the Makers and Players of the Handmade Music Revolution (Paperback)
This book is packed with good information on how to build a cigar box guitar. I had not built a CBG before and this book made it possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cigar Box Guitars: The Ultimate DIY Guide...., May 19, 2012
By 
Jess. (Kankakee, IL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cigar Box Guitars: The Ultimate DIY Guide for the Makers and Players of the Handmade Music Revolution (Paperback)
This book is exactly wnat I wanted to start making CBGs. The information is reasonably detailed and illustrates examples to support the information. Interesting biographies about others with the same inclination. It is an encouraging book with excellent photographs, presented in a logical manner for anyone else so inclined. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three Stringer, April 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cigar Box Guitars: The Ultimate DIY Guide for the Makers and Players of the Handmade Music Revolution (Paperback)
I have purchased this for a friend who made a three stringer and
upon receiving this book has gone on to make a one stringer and
is now making a Diddly-Bow with intentions to follow that with a
Tea-Chest, Upright Bass.
He has hand carved the necks himself and found it easy to find
other components, all at a reasonable price
for a lifetime of enjoyment with friends.
This has been a very positive purchase - Skeif
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mandatory reading for beginners, July 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cigar Box Guitars: The Ultimate DIY Guide for the Makers and Players of the Handmade Music Revolution (Paperback)
Think of this book as being organized into 3 sections (recipes / plans, photo galleries, and biographies of successful builders.) The recipes / plans section is certainly extremely useful (5 stars); I just wish there was more content. The photo galleries provide a lot of creative hints if you study them very carefully, so let's call that part 3.5 stars. The "biographies of successful builders" section is kind of interesting, but really does not belong in a book subtitled "The Ultimate DIY Guide for Makers and Players..." Unfortunately, most of the text is "biographies of successful builders." I could have saved myself some time and money by buying this book and carefully studying it before starting my first build, so I would recommend the book to beginners. Still, more technical building information and less "Jimmy was born in North Carolina" would make for a better DIY book. The really important technical details are missing. For example, the author notes that Piezo pickups (where most of us start) are prone to feedback, but makes minimal efforts to explain why, or what to do about it - that seems like a significant oversight. As far as information for "players," there is virtually zero advice. Buy it as a reference, but realize it is just a place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, April 5, 2013
By 
GH "Ross" (Southeast United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cigar Box Guitars: The Ultimate DIY Guide for the Makers and Players of the Handmade Music Revolution (Paperback)
Worth the money and worth the read. I haven't tried to build using the instructions yet but Im happy with the possibilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars evryone interested in CBG should have one, March 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cigar Box Guitars: The Ultimate DIY Guide for the Makers and Players of the Handmade Music Revolution (Paperback)
A great book for players and builders of CBG Excellent resouces and photos for building step by step to make your own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, October 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cigar Box Guitars: The Ultimate DIY Guide for the Makers and Players of the Handmade Music Revolution (Paperback)
Perfect amount of build details and pictures, how to narratives and examples of guitar builds. If you are looking to get into building these guitars, this is a great start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book on cigar box guitars, May 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cigar Box Guitars: The Ultimate DIY Guide for the Makers and Players of the Handmade Music Revolution (Paperback)
This book makes the art of cigar box guitar making sound possible for someone to actually do. We borrowed it from the library and then knew we wanted to own the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cigar Box Guitars: The Ultimate DIY Guide for the Makers and Players of the Handmade Music Revolution
$29.95 $22.47
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.