The More the Merrier (Cinderella Smith) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Cinderella Smith: The Mor... has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Eligible for Amazon's FREE Super Saver/Prime Shipping, 24/7 Customer Service, and package tracking. 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. Dust jacket in Has dustjacket condition.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Cinderella Smith: The More the Merrier Hardcover – April 24, 2012

12 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover, April 24, 2012
$15.99
$2.92 $0.01

Anastasia Krupnik
Anastasia Krupnik
Being ten is very confusing and her awful teacher who doesn’t like her non-rhyming poetry doesn't help! See more | Full Anastasia series
$15.99 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Cinderella Smith: The More the Merrier + Cinderella Smith: The Super Secret Mystery + Cinderella Smith
Price for all three: $44.72

Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

Review

Fans of Clementine and Ramona will enjoy good-natured Cinderella’s triumph over mean girls and her success at a tap-dance recital, all embellished by Diane Goode’s simple black-line illustrations. (Seattle Times)

“Cinderella’s bouncy energy, captured expertly in Goode’s emotive line drawings, is infectious…It’s hard to leave Cinderella behind. (Horn Book Magazine)

“Cinderella’s narration carries this early chapter book, and her upper-elementary woes are perfectly captured in her eager and personable voice… Goode’s energetic sketchwork adds to the spirited narrative.” (The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books)

“Funny and clever! Readers will love this modern day Cinderella. It’s a delight…with the most satisfying ending.” (Patricia Reilly Giff, Newberr Honor winner and author of best-selling Polk Street School series)

Goode’s appealing line drawings keep things light and help readers cheer for Cinderella.The invented words, the spelling bee and Cinderella’s voice, which is maturing and becoming more likable, make this a great offering for youngsters who are figuring out the confusing social terrain of third grade (Kirkus)

Cinderella is back and as irrepressible as ever. A simple joy of a book, Barden’s story has given third-graders their very own hero whose final decision of inclusiveness is warming. (Booklist)

The plucky heroine is right at home beside Judy Moody, Clementine, and Ramona. Her experiences are true to life and she remains comfortable in her own skin. Cinderella is an ally to the kids in her class, and might inspire some readers to speak up themselves. (School Library Journal)

“The sweet first-person narrator [and] black-line illustrations by Diane Goode add to the charm.” (Seattle Times)

From the Back Cover

Vexylent.
V-E-X-Y-L-E-N-T.
Vexylent.

Okay, okay, "vexylent" isn't a real word! Cinderella Smith made it up as a combination of "very" and "excellent." But Cinderella and Erin are hard at work learning to spell real words, because whoever wins first place in the spelling bee gets to pick the theme of the class party!

Speaking of words, Rosemary T. has been using some pretty mean ones lately. So Cinderella decides to give her the silent treatment. But Cinderella's aunt Flora tells her that it's time to have a "what's what" with Rosemary.

Will Cinderella be able to say, and spell, everything she needs?

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Age Range: 6 - 10 years
  • Grade Level: 3 - 7
  • Lexile Measure: 690L (What's this?)
  • Series: Cinderella Smith (Book 2)
  • Hardcover: 144 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins (April 24, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0062004409
  • ISBN-13: 978-0062004406
  • Product Dimensions: 5.5 x 0.6 x 8.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 8.8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (12 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,929,510 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5 star
75%
4 star
25%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See all 12 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By L. Lobster on May 2, 2012
Format: Hardcover
Once again Cinderella Smith steals our hearts as she navigates a sticky situation with Rosemary T and prepares for an important all school spelling bee. All our favorite characters are back in fine form: younger sister Tess, best friend Erin and aspiring basketball star, Charlie. This book also introduces fabulous Aunt Flora and her flying machine.

Stephanie Barden has done a fantastic job creating characters who are believable and endearing. The illustrations are delightful. I can hardly wait for the next installment in the Cinderella Smith series!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Grandma Pat on January 14, 2014
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Bought this for 2nd grade grand daughter, she has to read chapter books. She loves to read and said she liked this book. I will buy more of series.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover
I jumped right into Cinderella Smith: The More the Merrier after reading the first book, excited to join in Cinderella's merry dance once again.

Cinderella Smith, the quirky and charming third grader is back with even more friendship troubles, missing shoes and fun adventures. Cinderella's lifelong friend Rosemary T. continues her mean teasing, but Cinderella's cool Aunt Flora is around to help her deal with anything. And Cinderella's new hobby of making up new words comes in handy when the big spelling bee arrives. Whoever goes the farthest in the bee gets to decide the theme of a big class party and Cinderella thinks that's a vexylent (very excellent) prize.

In The More the Merrier, author Stephanie Barden brings to life Cinderella's sparkling and captivating personality once again. I gobbled up this chuckle inducing MG read quickly and loved getting to spend more time with my newest favorite third grader. When Cinderella's parents go away on a trip, her dental hygienist Aunt Flora, along with her grumpy cat, come to stay and she brings a lot of fun, excitement and silliness into the Smith home.

From purple pancakes to mismatched high-tops to awesome new words, the fun and laughs never stop. But, Barden explores the topic of bullying and broken friendships more in-depth in this second book. Cinderella and Rosemary T.'s feud is relatable and very realistic. Young readers will be able to identify with Cinderella's hurt feelings and anger. I really liked the "what's what" Cinderella finally has with Rosemary T.

Cinderella's journey to the spelling bee is exciting and even makes spelling fun! But, more importantly, Barden offers a wonderful message in the way Cinderella discovers that you should always just be yourself and true to who you are.

This book is fantabulous, F-A-N-T-A-B-U-L-O-U-S, fantabulous!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover
Cinderella Smith: The More the Merrier was a wonderful sequel to Cinderella Smith. Things continue to get worse in regard to Cinderella and Rosemary T's friendship. Cinderella's aunt Flora gets introduced in this sequel. I liked her aunt a lot. Quite a few of the things she said and did made me chuckle. In this book, it finally feels like Cinderella is starting to have more friends on her side. She still gets bullied quite a bit by the Rosemarys, but she has a lot of people that stick up for her as well. She starts to make friends with the smart boys. The plot was a lot better than the first book. The purple potion that Cinderella and Aunt Flora me laughing pretty hard. As this book is about Cinderella participating in a spelling bee, parents could use it as an educational tool with their child while the child has fun reading and learning at the same time. I liked The More the Merrier a lot better than the first book in the series. The only thing that bothered me were a few grammar misusages. The author was writing from the point of view of Cinderella (who happens to be a third grader, prone to grammar errors). I recommend this book for girls that have read the first Cinderella Smith book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover
Book Title: "Cinderella Smith: The More the Merrier"
Author: Stephanie Barden
Published By: Harper Collins
Age Recommended: 8 - 12
Reviewed By: Kitty Bullard
Raven Rating: 5

Review: Based on one of the cutest, quirkiest little girls ever, Cinderella Smith, the More the Merrier, is a wonderful read for children from 8 to 12 years of age. This cute book sends a great message about bullying and how it's not nice to say bad things about or be mean and thoughtless to others.
Teaching a valuable lesson such as this in a sweet and sensible way is what Cinderella Smith is all about. Children and parents are sure to enjoy her uniqueness and her wonderful penchant for making up interesting new words! This is a wonderful series for children!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Frederick L. Ashworth on December 28, 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Our grand daughter is completely enjoying these delightful books. Anything to get her to read is great, but when it brings giggles too it is the best.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Cinderella Smith: The More the Merrier
This item: Cinderella Smith: The More the Merrier
Price: $15.99
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?