Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Cinderella (Two-Disc Special Edition)
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Adele Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$31.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 174 reviews(4 star). Show all reviews
VINE VOICEon February 10, 2006
There are two well known versions of Cinderella, the French version and the German Brothers Grimm. Disney and Rodgers & Hammerstein used the more family friendly French version and Sondheim & Lapine used the more grisly Brothers Grimm.

The story is very simple. A young girl's father remarries to vain and cruel woman with two daughters of her own. Her father dies and the stepmother turns Cinderella into a servant.

The King wants his only child, the Prince to marry. So he holds a ball with all the eligible maidens. The evil stepmother and her two daughters attend but make sure that Cinderella does not. Come to the rescue Fairy Godmother. She does her magic and uses Cinderella's animal friend. The Prince sees Cinderella and instantly falls in love. But she has to leave before midnight and only leaves her glass slipper.

A search for true love begins!

This is a fun version of the fairy tale with the most violent villains of all three main versions of the story. This is still a great movie but if you want the best get the Leslie Ann Warren version of the Rogers & Hammerstein TV special.

DVD EXTRAS:

Disc One -

Cinderella Stories presented by ESPN Classic: Joe Namath host 10 sports "Cinderella Stories" from teams like NY Jets in Superbowl III and 1980 US Hockey Team to individuals like Lance Armstrong and Mia Hamm. You can watch all ten or just the ones that you want. These are superficial but can be inspirational for young kids. (Total running time 34 minutes)

Music & More - Two music videos and a making of video (9 minutes total) A Dream is a Wish Your Heart Makes is done by Disney Channel stars and shows that with today's technology anyone can be made to sound alright. It also shows how you can take a great song and make it into drivel. This is followed by making of video. Every Girl Can be a Princess which uses clips from all the Disney "Princess" films. The song was written for a Princess album. It actually is very nice.

Disc Two -

Deleted Scenes - Two deleted scenes and an introduction by Don Hahn (Producer of Beauty and the Beast. The Cinderella Work song is newly recorded and has the original storyboards. Dancing on a Cloud is the original recording with the original storyboards. (10 Minutes)

Music & More -

Cinderella & Perry Como: A 7 minute excerpt of his show promoting the film. Perry narrates with Ilene Woods (Cinderella) and the Fontaine Sisters as the mice singing the song live. The end is a jazz version of Bibbidy Boobity Boo by Perry, Ilene and the sisters - this is great.

Cinderella Title Song: Original demo recording probably by the song writers (no storyboards). (2 minutes)

Unused Songs: 7 songs not used in the film - audio only (17 minutes). Disney animated films always had unused songs. Usually, the scene that it is used in was cut but sometimes it just didn't advance the story and this was the number one rule of songs. They do not give singing credits on these.

Radio Programs: Three radio program excerpts promoting Ilene Woods (12 minutes) - Village Store introduces Ilene as Disney's choice for Cinderella and she sings When You Wish Upon a Star. Gulf Oil Presents Ilene sings A Dream is a Wish Your Heart Makes. Scouting the Star with no singing.

Games & Activities -

House of Royalty: Three six minute vignettes on Look - Live - Act Like a Princess. These are for the youngsters only and they probably will not watch them more than once. Although Act Like a Princess has some tips everyone could use.

The Royal Life - DVD ROM game in which you can point and click to make your dream castle, ball gown or bedroom.

Princess Pajama Jam - A really silly 3 minute game on dancing like a princess. It would have been better if this lasted longer as a child's exercise program but it is really an advert for the Princess Party DVD.

Backstage Disney -

From Rags to Riches: The Making of Cinderella - Four featurettes totaling 39 minutes. This is actually an indepth look at not only the film but Disney and has interviews (from 1995) with the original animators. The section on the voice casting is really interesting as many of the voices were well known character actresses. It is really great.

The Cinderella That Almost Was: This is a 14 minute featurette on the genesis of the story from a Silly Symphony to various early incarnations that were never used. It is very interesting to see what didn't make it into the film.

From Walt's Table: A Tribute to Disney's Nine Old Men - This is a 22 minute round table discussion with today's top animated film makers discussing the original nine animators. It is nice but nothing special.

The Art of Mary Blair - A fifteen minute tribute to the artist who helped conceive the style of many Disney animated features.

Storyboard to Film Comparison: Opening Sequence - A seven minute comparison of the film to the original story boards or live action reference shot. These are always fun to watch.

Cinderella Still Galleries - Massive stills galleries from concept drawings to posters

1922 Laugh-o-Grams: Cinderella - An early animated short based on Cinderella set in current times.

Excerpt from The Mickey Mouse Club with Helene Stanley (1955): A four minute sequence with live action model Helene Stanley.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2005
We got this for our 3 year old daugther who is obsessed with all things Disney. She absolutely loves this movie and it is the only movie she requests anymore. She loves all the animals that are in it and she always dances during "Bippety Boppity Boo."

We like it because there are no scary villians or "tense" scenes like most Disney cartoons have. Of course, the stepmother is not nice to Cinderella, but our daughter just talks about how she is not being nice. It's also nice because it's not too long of a movie.
11 comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2005
This story was originally animated during Disney's golden age. Absent trendy sidekicks, the storyline is fairly straight forward.

A young girl who is being abused by her cruel stepmother and stepsisters ultimately gets the chance to go to the ball through the aid of a fairy godmother. She quickly escapes the ball to avoid being recognized, but the prince tracks her down with a discarded glass slipper.

This version is packed with tons of interesting extras. There are two unused songs which never went into the film (I like Cinderella's work song) and two documentaries on the making of this classic. Perry Como himself summarizes the plot and there are some other related radio programs included.

Kids are going to prefer the music videos, and the Extreme Makeover: Home Edition featurrette where a young woman is turned into a princess. I understand this story has a very powerful impact for a certain generation, but think that a family film still ought to have more features for the kids to enjoy. The big oversight is the only reason why I took away the one star from my review.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2013
CINDERELLA--2-Disc Special Edition, Released 10-4-05/Rated G/74-minute run-time

Walt Disney's 1950 animated classic, "Cinderella," was originally inspired by Charles Perrault's fairy tale "Cinderillon." As the twelfth edition in the series of Walt Disney Animated Classics, "Cinderella" became a saving-grace for the studio [which had previously suffered considerable losses on "Pinocchio," "Fantasia," and "Bambi"]; the success of "Cinderella" put Disney back on track for the first time since the release of "Snow White and the Seven Dwarves" and allowed Disney to form its own distribution company. "Cinderella" currently holds a rating of 97% from Rotten Tomatoes. "Cinderella" joins "Aladdin," "Sleeping Beauty," and "Mulan" in my list of favorite Disney Princess-Movies; despite being a pretty independent female, I rewatch these movies often not only to reminisce with my childhood, but also because, for a moment, it can be very comforting to fantasize about living a fairy tale. I hardly ever watch the `special features' from DVDs, but for this movie in particular, I thought they were extremely interesting; the behind-the-scenes clips provide insight on how many of the Disney Animated Classics came to be as well as describe the process of creating some of my favorite animated films.

DIRECTORS: Clyde Geronimi, Hamilton Luske, and Wilfred Jackson.

SONG WRITERS: Mark David, Jerry Livingston, and Al Hoffman.

CAST: Ilene Woods as Cinderella, Eleanor Audley as Lady Tremaine, Lucille Bliss as Anastasia Tremaine, Don Barclay as Footman, June Foray as Lucifer, Betty Lou Gerson as Narrator, Luis Van Rooten as Grand Duke/King, Jimmy MacDonald as Jaq/Gus/Bruno, William Phippe as Prince Charming, Rhoda Williams as Drizella Tremaine, and Verna Felton as Fairy Godmother.

Cinderella's style and grace are credited to influences from both her live-action model, Helene Stanley, and her voice actor, Ilene Woods. Prince Charming, modeled after Jeffrey Stone, initially played a larger role in the film; some of the cut scenes survive in the video game "Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep."

SUMMARY:

A widowed aristocrat wants his gentle and sweet daughter, Cinderella, to have all the fortunes life can offer, including a mother's care. Hoping to fill this void, he marries the cunning Lady Tremaine--who also has two daughters, Anastasia and Drizella. The stepsisters serve as foil characters to Cinderella; they are rude, annoying, and inherently jealous of Cinderella's grace and beauty. When her father passes away, Cinderella is left as the mercy of her new step-family who, in turn, force Cinderella into servitude. Over the years, Cinderella is treated like a slave by the Tremaines and their cat, Lucifer; Cinderella finds comfort in Bruno, her dog, and by befriending several mice that inhabit the estate. The mice also provide much of the movie's comic relief as well as a voice for the frustration Cinderella must feel regarding her poor treatment.

Meanwhile, the King is determined to see his son marry. Hoping the Prince will find love soon, the King tasks his Duke to plan a grand ball in which Prince Charming will be made to dance with every eligible maiden in the land. Lady Tremaine is determined to see one of her daughters marry the Prince, so when Cinderella requests to attend the ball, her stepmother agrees on the condition that Cinderella first completes an impossibly long list of chores. Resolved to see Cinderella to the ball, Jaq, Gus, and the other mice get to work on making a dress; they borrow an unwanted string of beads and sash from Drizella and Anastasia. Somehow, Cinderella manages to complete her chores in time to leave for the ball; a surprised and fearful Lady Tremaine notices Cinderella is wearing her daughters' discarded beads and sash, allowing Drizella and Anastasia a reason to tear apart Cinderella's gown. With nothing to wear to the ball, Cinderella is left behind and the Chateau while her stepsisters ride off to meet the Prince.

All of Cinderella's woes culminate as she weeps in the courtyard. Suddenly, her Fairy Godmother appears to bestow on her a ball-gown, carriage, and glass slippers for her dainty feet; the only caveat is that the spell with end at the stroke of midnight, meaning Cinderella must hurry. At the ball, the Prince is bored and unimpressed with the maidens--at least until he catches a glimpse of Cinderella. Prince Charming sleeps Cinderella away into a dreamlike love. Just before midnight, Cinderella remembers the spell and quickly runs away before her stagecoach and gown are turned back into a pumpkin and rags; the only clue the Prince has to his love's identity is a glass slipper left behind on the palace steps.

In order to find Prince Charming's mystery Princess, the Grand Duke takes the glass slipper to every home in the kingdom, attempting to find the lady it fits. Suspecting the Cinderella is the mystery princess, Lady Tremaine locks her away in the attic bedroom. Suspense peaks when the Duke arrives at the last home in the kingdom, the Tremaine Estate. Jaq and Gus scramble to steal the bedroom's key and carry it up the steps to free Cinderella. Drizella and Anastasia fail to cram their feet into the glass slipper; the Duke is just about to leave when Cinderella breaks free. In a final stand, Lady Tremaine sees that the glass slipper shatters before it can be tried on Cinderella's foot--killing any chance of identifying her as the mystery Princess. All hope seems lost, that is until Cinderella reveals that she has the other slipper; it's a perfect fit.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A DVD review is more than just a review of the film. Yes, we get DVDs to keep an archived version of the film to watch for years to come, but the nature of the format is that it has the capacity to hold much more than just the film.

Dedicatioin to integrity:

The film has been digitally remastered, making the colors and outlines really pop out on my HDTV... even though I have a 7-year-old DVD player without progressive scan, it looks nice on screen and there is no distortion in wide format. Viewers can listen to the DVD in English, Spanish or French. Subtitles are in English only, however. The film is a timeless classic, with upbeat, memorable songs, easy-to-hate villains and a rags to riches story where young lovers live happily ever after... replete with singing, altruistic animals. This is a film that can be enjoyed for generations ad infinitum by all ages - a great addition to any established DVD library.

Picture & Sound:

Digitally enhanced on both ends - sound is almost surround quality, the original soundtrack has been digitally restored as has the visuals.

Games & Activities:

Macintosh owners be warned - the Royal Life DVD-ROM does NOT work on a Mac. There is no note ANYWHERE on the disc or the packaging to tell you what the computer requirements are. You can use the DVD player to view the film and access the various features of the DVD, but the Royal LIfe DVD-ROM just shows a preview - then tells you to put the disc into the DVD-ROM drive of your computer. Considering it was in my computer when it said that, one can only conclude that Macs are left in the cold. Shame on Disney for this - a flash-based or Java based game would work on both platforms.

The House of Royalty section features some un-named hipster 11-year-old who tries to become the ultimate princess. Some parents may object to the notion that being a princess is so important and that the best clothes and a custom-designed bedroom are the key to being a princess. It's a sweet story for young girls - but should 11-year-olds (and younger) be so pre-occupied with lasso-ing Prince Charming? What about making mud pies, catching butterflies and doing other kid stuff first? It's entertaining, but this is a section I'd personally want to be present for when my children were watching so I could pepper in some parental wisdom on what is truly important in life.

The Princess Pajama Jam seems a little ridiculous if you ask me. It's just some out-takes from other Disney films involving dancing that is over quickly and then it says "Play again?" as though you've just played a game... I didn't feel like I did a thing. Perhaps if I was 7 and had a bunch of girls over for a slumber party, we'd dance to this without being bored for maybe about 4 seconds - it is lame and doesn't need to be in there - or it should have been redone.

Deleted Scenes:

This is a misnomer - there are no missing or deleted full-motion sections that are visible. There are sketches that are set to music that didn't make it. Interesting, but not deleted scenes in the true sense of the word - more like "the scenes that were considered but never rendered"....

To me, the best bonus features are the interviews with the animators and voice talent that went into the film, including a commentary by the voices of Cinderella, Prince Charming and Anastasia.

The Cinderella Stories section presented by ESPN Classics is an apparent attempt to make little brothers sit still while their sisters enjoy the film. Personally, I think the film is enjoyable for both genders and all ages - the animals and their antics cross the gender lines - and while I doubt there is any little boy out there that asks for Cinderella for Christmas, it's still a film that a young boy could enjoy watching.

Sneak Previews:

The continuous theme of "Coming Soon!" will really date these DVDs - in 10 years when you've already seen the new films a million times. I personally would have preferred to see the original movie trailer for Cinderella!

I haven't seen Cinderella II, but the preview for Cinderella III is disturbing, in my opinion. The evil stepmother now has the ability to cast a spell and rewind time to before the ball. This transcends evil and segues into witchcraft and the desire to control the destinies of other people. If my kids were watching this film, we'd be skipping that trailer and the movie of which it previews. Ech!

The second DVD with the fun interviews does not have closed captioning. I am not hearing impaired but not everyone on earth articulates well - I like closed captioning to supplement the audio. Plus, if you are deaf or hearing impaired, you're not going to be able to enjoy the second DVD. That is a pity.

I am relieved that Disney does not force commercials as they have in other DVD installments, in which the menu button does not work and you have to sit through 20 previews everytime you pop in the DVD. They have finally heeded the voice of their audience. In a nutshell, a great film, an OK DVD.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2013
So far I have Snow White, Peter Pan, Alice, Fantasia, The Princess And The Frog, and now Cinderella and the quality of Disney's transfers to Blu-Ray are astonishingly beautiful. I had not seen Cinderella since I was a kid seeing it at the movies when it was re-released in the 60s, and as a 54 year old man reviewing this most estrogen-rich of the "Classic Disney" offerings it is a treat of a story even if the animation is decidedly several notches below its contemporaries "Alice" and "Peter Pan". I had forgotten how funny the mice are, for example. The story moves right along, MUCH better than Peter Pan which does not really get going until the pirates show up. However, if your are a fan of Disney animation, Cindy is a bit of a letdown. The only real moment that will make you go "WOW!" is the bubbles scene at the beginning; it is simply brilliant but it lasts for only 15 seconds. The scenes at the palace are well done, but overall both Alice and Peter Pan are far superior in comparison. Overall, it is still a great movie, the Blu-Ray transfer is impeccable, the story is fun, the animation quality is decidedly inferior to the others from the "Classic Disney" era, but for $20 from Amazon vs $30 retail it is worth every penny and I will be enjoying it for years to come. Rating: 4 Stars
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2014
This was just what I was looking for. My daughter loves it. Only thing that I didn't care for was the extras included "Cinderella Stories". So when we tried to watch the extras expecting short stories or short cartoons instead it was a bunch of stories about sports players (baseball if I remember correctly). Seems like sort of an odd mash up. It was like they were really struggling hard to find extras to include in this so the set could sell for more in stores. My daughter was a little disappointed when we realized these extras weren't anything she was interested in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2015
I forgot how wonderful this movie was! I love the classic animation in this movie. My one and only complaint is not about the movie itself, but about the case it came in. The cardboard cover has a scratch/cut on the side of it. It isn't really a big deal, but I am very picky about certain things and when I order something new, I would like for it to be in perfect condition.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2002
Other than Winnie the Pooh, this is one of very few Disney films that doesn't have at least one scary scene in it.
My twins are almost three and this is the first full length film they have loved. Its magical and has great music.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2015
Lovely classic! G'kids liked it, but not quite as much as newer movies like Nemo, Ariel, or Cars. No matter, I think every one should have a copy of this beautiful film. It will never go out of style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.